

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Division of Medical Assistance

2501 Mail Service Center ● Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-2501 Courier # 56-20-06

Michael F. Easley, Governor Carmen Hooker Odom, Secretary Gary Fuquay, Director (919) 857-4019

January 8, 2004

Re: 2004 Monitoring

Dear County Director of Social Services:

Counties that failed the Adjusted Report Card 3 or more times from January 2003 through December 2003 must be monitored. The monitoring process is outlined in MA-3217/MA-2305, Evaluating County/DDS Performance. In addition, every county must be monitored at least every other year; therefore, if your county was not monitored during 2003, you will be monitored this year.

The monitors determine which counties will be monitored in 2004 based on the failures in the report cards for 2003 and if waivers were granted for those failed report cards. The cases will be pulled rrom the 12 months prior to the month monitoring will begin for your county.

Attached is a list of the counties who will be monitored. These counties will be contacted at some point in the coming months to send their records to the Application Monitoring Section.

Those counties who failed once or twice may have received a waiver of the report card failure. By seeking a waiver of the report card failure, the county may postpone the monitoring until 2005. However, even though a waiver request is approved, the Lead Monitor can decide to monitor a county since each county must be monitored at least every other year.

As indicated in MA-3225/2306, Application Processing – Corrective Action Procedures, the counties will only receive copies of the forms when the monitors cite a record for an improper action.

We hope this information is helpful. If you have any questions, please contact your Medicaid Program Representative.

Gary Fuquay

Counties to be monitored 2004 (January 2004 through December 2004)

Alamance	Franklin	Martin
Alleghany	Gaston	Montgomery
Anson	Gates	Pender
Ashe	Greene	Perquimans
Bladen	Halifax	Polk
Brunswick	Harnett	Richmond
Burke	Haywood	Rowan
Cabarrus	Hertford	Rutherford
Camden	Hyde	Scotland
Chowan	Iredell	Stanley
Cleveland	Jackson	Stokes
Columbus	Johnston	Surry
Dare	Jones	Tyrrell
Duplin	Lee	Washington
Edgecombe	Lincoln	Wayne
Forsyth	Madison	