

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Division of Medical Assistance

Pat McCrory Governor Aldona Z. Wos, M.D. Ambassador (Ret.) Secretary DHHS

Carol H. Steckel, MPH
Director

March 11, 2013

Subject: Beneficiary Notice regarding changes and general information for Medicaid and NCHC recipients

Dear County Director of Social Services:

During March 2013, a mass mailing will be sent to all Health Choice and Medicaid beneficiaries, including MQB beneficiaries, with important information and upcoming changes for both the Medicaid and North Carolina Health Choice programs. One notice will be mailed to each casehead/payee, regardless of how many cases are in the Eligibility Information System (EIS). The language of the notice (English or Spanish) is determined by the language preference in EIS for the casehead. An English version of the notice has been posted on the website at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/pub/consumerlibrary.htm and is also attached. A Spanish version of the notice is being translated and will be posted upon completion.

If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact your Medicaid Program Representative.

Sincerely,

Carol Steckel, MPH Director

CS/scr Attachments



Beneficiary Notice, Late Winter 2013

This notice is being sent to <u>all</u> Medicaid and NC Health Choice (NCHC) beneficiaries so that everyone knows about the important information and changes.

Important Information For Medicaid Beneficiaries Under Age 21

This applies to all services mentioned in this notice. Children under age 21 who have Medicaid are entitled to medically necessary screening, diagnostic and treatment services that are needed to "correct or ameliorate defects and physical and mental illnesses and conditions" under the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) program. EPSDT is important for the reasons stated below.

- Beneficiaries under 21 years of age are eligible for all Medicaid services listed in the Social Security Act § 1905(a) even if the service is not covered by the state Medicaid plan.
- Some of the restrictions (location of service, numerical limits, other specific coverage criteria) listed in medical coverage policies may not apply
 to beneficiaries under 21 years of age.

For more information about EPSDT, please refer to: http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/epsdt. EPSDT does not apply to children who have NC Health Choice.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR NORTH CAROLINA MEDICAID BENEFICIARIES

This notice is to let you know about important information and changes that are taking place in Medicaid.

Estate Recovery

North Carolina Medicaid has an Estate Recovery Program that is required by federal law. Medicaid beneficiaries are told about the estate recovery program during the application process. The Third Party Liability Unit (TPL) manages this program. TPL recovers the amount paid by the Medicaid program for certain medical services from the estates of beneficiaries. It is important that the family of a deceased Medicaid beneficiary tell the caseworker when the Medicaid beneficiary dies. The family must give the caseworker all information about the estate of the deceased. Medicaid will later contact the family with more information about the Estate Recovery process.

Pharmacy Opt-In Program Ending February 7, 2013

The Pharmacy Opt-In Program that asks beneficiaries who get more than eleven prescriptions a month to be locked into one pharmacy is ending February 7, 2013. Beneficiaries who are locked in may use any pharmacy they want after this date.

Important Reminders about Medicaid Beneficiary Service Appeals

- O Decisions are mailed to the beneficiary or authorized representative by certified mail. It is important for you to sign for certified mail. If you do not sign for your certified mail, you will not know what is happening in your case. If you are currently receiving services and wish to appeal a decision made by Medicaid, submitting an appeal request after the dates contained in the certified letter will affect services during the appeal process. If you send your appeal request to OAH:
 - Within 10 days of the date of the letter, services will continue without a break in service during the appeal process.
 - More than 10 days after the date of the letter but before 30 days from the date of the letter, services will stop until OAH receives your appeal request.
 - More than 30 days after the date on the letter, services will not be provided during the appeal.
- o If you move or have an authorized representative, please report your new address or name and address of your authorized representative to the agency that approved your Medicaid. Your Medicaid was approved by either your county Department of Social Services or the Social Security Administration. If you do not report these changes, you will not receive your Medicaid mail timely. Submitting an appeal request after the deadlines will affect your services during an appeal as stated above.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR NORTH CAROLINA MEDICAID BENEFICIARIES

This notice is to let you know about important information and changes that are taking place in Medicaid.

Attention all Mental Health, Substance Abuse, and IDD Beneficiaries:

Beginning in 2013, behavioral health services will begin to be managed for the following areas by the following Local Management Entities (LMEs). LMEs will make this change on the proposed timeline:

- January 1, 2013 Eastpointe, consisting of Bladen, Columbus, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Lenoir, Nash, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Wayne, and Wilson Counties.
- February 1, 2013 Alliance Center, consisting of Durham, Cumberland, Johnston, and Wake Counties.
- February 1, 2013 CenterPoint, consisting of Davie, Forsyth, Rockingham, and Stokes Counties.
- February 1, 2013 Partners Behavioral Health Management, consisting of Surrey, Yadkin, Iredell, Catawba, Burke, Gaston, Lincoln, and Cleveland Counties.
- March 1, 2013 CoastalCare consisting of Brunswick, New Hanover, Pender, Onslow, and Carteret Counties.
- March 1, 2013 MeckLINK consisting of Mecklenburg County.

You may have a change in who provides your services. The provider must be someone who is enrolled to provide services with the LME in your county. Your LME is responsible for making sure that your treatment needs are covered by an approved provider. Once the LME begins managing your services, Targeted Case Management (TCM) will no longer be a covered service. For guardians, your child could still receive TCM under EPSDT if needed. They may receive a similar service to address their needs.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR NORTH CAROLINA MEDICAID AND NORTH CAROLINA HEALTH CHOICE FOR CHILDREN BENEFICIARIES

This notice is to let you know about important information and changes that are taking place in Medicaid and NC Health Choice.

Parents/Caregivers: Important Information About Dental Services for Children

The American Dental Association, the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, and the American Academy of Pediatrics all recommend that children have their first dental visit before age 1. Regular dental check-ups every six (6) months are important for not only the optimal oral health of your child, but also for his or her overall health. Oral disease that goes untreated can affect children in many ways beyond pain and infection such as difficulty sleeping, difficulty eating, absences from school, and poor concentration at school. Dental decay is one of the most common diseases of childhood that can be prevented through routine visits to a dentist. Don't wait until dental problems develop to visit a dentist. Remember that preventive oral health care is important for the well-being of children of all ages, including children with baby teeth. To locate a dentist for your child's dental care, refer to the NC Medicaid Dental Provider List on the DMA website at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/dental/dentalprov.htm or call the DHHS Customer Service Center at 1-800-662-7030.

Free Radon Test Kits Available

Living in a home with radon can cause lung cancer. Radon does not have a smell. Radon is invisible. The only way to know if radon gas is in your home is to test for it. The N.C. Radon Program is helping families with newborn children by giving them free radon test kits. The results of your test will be mailed to you for free. To test your home for free, send the following information to the address provided: Parent's name; Address; Phone number; County where you live; Month & year child was born. Mail to: N.C. Radon Program; c/o NC DHHS Newsletter Promotion; 1645 Mail Service Center; Raleigh, NC 27699-1645. Visit www.ncradon.org for more information.

Who to Contact With Questions About Information in This Notice: For questions or concerns please contact the DHHS Customer Service Center at 1-800-662-7030 (English/Spanish) or 1-877-452-2514 (this is a TTY number and only those with TTY equipment can talk to a person when this number is dialed). The DHHS Customer Service Center is available to assist you Monday – Friday 8 am to 5 pm.