

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Division of Medical Assistance Recipient Services MEU

801 Ruggles Drive – 2501 Mail Service Center - Raleigh, N.C. 27699-2501

Michael F. Easley, Governor Carmen Hooker Odom, Secretary L. Allen Dobson, Jr., M.D., Assistant Secretary for Health Policy and Medical Assistance (919) 855-4000

September 29, 2005

RE: Changes In Co-Payment Amounts

Dear County Directors of Social Services:

Co-payments for certain medical services will increase effective November 1, 2005, for Medicaid recipients subject to co-payments.

On October 14, 2005, timely notices will be sent by the State to Medicaid recipients (including money payment recipients who receive Medicaid) with the exclusion of MQB and North Carolina Health Choice recipients. This letter includes text from the notice that will be sent regarding the increase of Medicaid co-payments. Please share this information with your Medicaid, Work First, and Special Assistance staff.

Contact your Medicaid Program Representative if you have questions.

Sincerely,

L. Allen Dobson, Jr., M.D., Assistant Secretary for Health Policy and Medical Assistance

Enclosure

Dear Medicaid Recipient:

Beginning November 1, 2005, there will be a change for Medicaid recipients required to pay a co-payment for certain medical services.

For chiropractic services, the co-payment will be \$2.00.

The co-payment will now be \$3.00 for the following medical services:

Optical, Podiatry, Non-emergency emergency room visit, Hospital outpatient visits, and Generic drugs

The \$3.00 co-payment for generic drugs is the same as the co-payment for brand name drugs. Medicaid will continue to pay for no more than 6 prescriptions per month unless you meet certain criteria. Beginning January 1, 2006, for those Medicaid recipients who have Medicare, Medicaid will no longer pay for prescriptions. Medicaid will continue to pay for other medical services.

The change in co-payments is made under the authority of Senate Bill 622, Session Law 2005-276. Providers are being notified of this change. However, a provider who accepts you as a Medicaid patient cannot refuse to see you because you are unable to pay the co-payment at the time of service.

APPEAL RIGHTS: Since this was a change approved by the NC General Assembly, an appeal is not allowed unless the reason for the appeal is incorrect computation or there is a factual issue regarding whether the change applies to you. If you request an appeal, call your worker at the local county department of social services to request the appeal by the 60th calendar day from the date of this notice. The 60th day is December 13, 2005.

If you have any questions regarding this change, please call the CARE-LINE, Information and Referral Service, toll-free at 800-662-7030 or in the Triangle area, 855-4400. For TTY users, call 1-877-452-2514 or in the Triangle area, 733-4851.

Sincerely, Division of Medical Assistance