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EPSDT PROCEDURAL POLICY INSTRUCTIONS  

Background 
Federal Medicaid law at 42 U.S.C.§ 1396d(r) and 1396a(a)(10)(A), a(a)(43), and d(a)(4)(B) [1905(r) of 

the Social Security Act] requires state Medicaid programs to provide Early and Periodic Screening, 

Diagnostics, and Treatment (EPSDT) for recipients under 21 years of age. Within the scope of EPSDT 

benefits under the federal Medicaid law, states are required to cover any service that is medically 

necessary “to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition identified by 

screening,” whether or not the service is covered under the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan. The 

services covered under EPSDT are limited to those within the scope of the category of services listed in 

the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act].  

 

EPSDT services include any medical or remedial care that is medically necessary to correct or ameliorate 

a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem]. “Ameliorate” means to improve or 

maintain the recipient’s health in the best condition possible, compensate for a health problem, prevent it 

from worsening, or prevent the development of additional health problems. Even if the service will not 

cure the recipient’s condition, it must be covered if the service is medically necessary to improve or 

maintain the recipient’s overall health. This means that EPSDT covers most of the treatments a recipient 

under 21 years of age needs to stay as healthy as possible, and North Carolina Medicaid and all Managed 

Care Organizations (MCO’s) must arrange and provide for (either directly or through referral to 

appropriate agencies, organizations or individuals) corrective treatment when the need for such treatment 

is identified through a child health screening service or encounter with a licensed practitioner. Any 

qualified provider operating within the scope of his or her practice, as defined by state law, can provide a 

periodic or interperiodic screening. The screening need not be conducted by a Medicaid provider in order 

to trigger EPSDT coverage for follow up diagnostic services and medically necessary treatment by a 

qualified Medicaid provider.  

 

EPSDT makes short-term and long-term services available to recipients under 21 years of age without 

many of the restrictions Medicaid imposes on services for adults or under a waiver.  For example, a 

service must be covered under EPSDT if it is necessary for immediate relief. It is also important to note 

that treatment need not ameliorate the recipient’s condition taken as a whole, but need only be medically 

necessary to ameliorate one of the recipient’s conditions. The services must be prescribed by the 

recipient’s physician, therapist, or other licensed practitioner and often must be approved in advance by 

Medicaid. See the Medicaid Health Plan Billing Guide, Section 3.27 (on the Web at Health Plan Billing 

Guidance | NC Medicaid), for further information about EPSDT and prior approval requirements. 

 

Consistent with federal disability rights laws and the Supreme Court’s decision in Olmstead v. L.C., 527 

U.S. 581 (1999), state Medicaid programs and their contractors, including managed care organizations,  

must ensure that services covered under EPSDT are provided in the most integrated setting appropriate 

for the child, which includes clinics, or in schools, and at home, and must avoid unnecessary placements 

in segregated treatment settings. 

 

EPSDT Criteria 
It is important to note that the service can only be covered under EPSDT if all criteria specified below are 

met. 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/health-plan-billing-guidance
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/health-plan-billing-guidance
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1. EPSDT services must be coverable services within the scope of those listed in the federal law 

at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act]. For example, “rehabilitative 

services” are a covered EPSDT service, even if the particular rehabilitative service requested is 

not listed in Division of Health Benefits (DHB) clinical policies or service definitions. 

2. The service must be medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental 

illness, or a condition [health problem] diagnosed by the recipient’s physician, therapist, or 

other licensed practitioner. By requiring coverage of services needed to correct or ameliorate a 

defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition [health problem], EPSDT requires payment of 

services that are medically necessary to sustain or support rather than cure or eliminate health 

problems to the extent that the service is needed to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or 

mental illness, or condition [health problem].  

3. The requested service must be determined to be medically necessary. 

4. The service must be safe. 

5. The service must be effective. 

6. The service must be generally recognized as an accepted method of medical practice or 

treatment. 

7. The service must not be experimental/investigational. 

8. EPSDT includes preventive screenings for beneficiaries under the age of 21, per the guidelines 

in the American Academy of Pediatrics: Bright Futures Periodicity Schedule, which can be found 

here: AAP Bright Futures Periodicity Schedule (aap.org) 

 

Additionally, services can only be covered if they are provided by a North Carolina Medicaid enrolled 

provider for the specific service type. This may include an out-of-state provider who is willing to a0nd 

completes enrollment if an in-state provider is not available. 

 

For beneficiaries enrolled with a Managed Care Organization (MCO), if the provider network is unable to 

provide necessary services, covered under the contract, to a particular enrollee, the MCO, PIHP (Prepaid 

Inpatient Health Plan), or PAHP (Prepaid Ambulatory Health Plan) must adequately and timely cover 

these services out of network for the enrollee, for as long as the MCO, PIHP, or PAHP's provider network 

is unable to provide them [42 CFR 438.206(b)(4)]. 

 

EPSDT Features 
Under EPSDT, there is: 

1. No Waiting List for EPSDT Services 

EPSDT does not mean or assure that physicians and other licensed practitioners or 

hospitals/clinics chosen by the recipient and/or his/her legal representative will not have waiting 

lists to schedule appointments or medical procedures. However, Medicaid cannot impose any 

waiting list and must provide coverage for corrective treatment for recipients under 21 years of 

age. 

 

2. No Monetary Cap on the Total Cost of EPSDT Services* 

A child under 21 years of age financially eligible for Medicaid is entitled to receive EPSDT 

services without any monetary cap provided the service meets all EPSDT criteria specified in this 

policy instruction. If enrolled in a waiver program, the recipient under 21 years of age may 

receive BOTH waiver and EPSDT services. However, it is important to remember that the 

https://downloads.aap.org/AAP/PDF/periodicity_schedule.pdf
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conditions set forth in the waiver concerning the recipient’s budget and continued participation in 

the waiver apply.  

 

For child beneficiaries who are waiver enrollees, approval of the waiver services which cannot be 

covered under EPSDT as well as the delivery and cost of the recipient’s waiver services must be 

in compliance with the requirements established by the waiver and with applicable Medicaid 

policy. 

When a child who is enrolled in a waiver program is otherwise eligible for Medicaid, all 

conditions set forth in the waiver concerning continued participation in the waiver apply as to 

waiver services.  

If the requested service is both a waiver service and an EPDST service, it must be covered as an 

EPSDT service and should not be counted toward the recipient’s waiver budget. 

The beneficiary participating in a North Carolina waiver program may exceed policy or program 

limits on any individual service qualifying as both a waiver service and as a coverable service 

under the child Medicaid EPSDT Benefit. Prior approval for the over-limit service must be 

requested and approved before the service is delivered and before the waiver limit is exceeded. 

*EPSDT services are defined as Medicaid services within the scope of the category of 

services listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act]. 

See attached listing. 

 

3. No Upper Limit on the Number of Hours or Units under EPSDT 

For clinical coverage policy limits to be exceeded, the provider’s documentation must address 

why it is medically necessary to exceed the limits in order to correct or ameliorate a defect, 

physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem]. 

 

4. No Limit on the Number of EPSDT Visits to a Physician, Therapist, Dentist, or Other 

Licensed Clinician 

To exceed such limits, the provider’s documentation must address why it is medically necessary 

to exceed the limits in order to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or 

condition [health problem]. 

 

5. No Set List that Specifies When or What EPSDT Services or Equipment May Be Covered 

Only those services within the scope of those listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) 

[1905(a) of the Social Security Act] can be covered under EPSDT. See attached listing of services 

covered under 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. However, specific limitations in service 

definitions, clinical policies, or DHB billing codes MAY NOT APPLY to requests for services 

for children under 21 years of age. 

 

6. No Co-payment or Other Cost to the Recipient 

Children under the age of 21 are exempt from copayment.  

 

7. Coverage for Services That Are Never Covered for Recipients 21 Years of Age and Older 

Non-covered services may be covered under the EPSDT if those services are within the scope of 

those listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act]. See 

attached listing of services covered under 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. Provider 
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documentation must address why the service is medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a 

defect, physical and mental illness, or condition [health problem]. 

 

8. Coverage for Services Not Listed in the N.C. State Medicaid Plan 

Services not listed in the N.C. Medicaid State Plan may be covered under EPSDT if those 

services are within the scope of those listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of 

the Social Security Act] and they are determined to be medically necessary to correct or 

ameliorate the child’s health condition. See attached listing of services covered under 1905(a) of 

the Social Security Act. 

 

IMPORTANT POINTS ABOUT EPSDT COVERAGE 
 

General 
1. If the service, product, or procedure requires prior approval, the fact that the recipient is under 

21 years of age does NOT eliminate the requirement for prior approval. 

2. EPSDT services must be coverable within the scope of those listed in the federal law at 42 

U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act]. EPSDT requires Medicaid to cover 

these services if they are medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or 

mental illness, or a condition [health problem]. “Ameliorate” means to improve or maintain 

the recipient’s health in the best condition possible, compensate for a health problem, prevent it 

from worsening, or prevent the development of additional health problems. Even if the service 

will not cure the recipient’s condition, it must be covered if the service is medically necessary 

to improve or maintain the recipient’s overall health and meets federal EPSDT requirements. 

3. Recipients under 21 must be afforded access to the full array of EPSDT services, covered 

under 1905(a) of the Social Security Act.  

4. EPSDT services need not be services that are covered under the North Carolina State Medicaid 

Plan or under any of the DHB clinical coverage policies or service definitions or billing codes. 

5. Under EPSDT, North Carolina Medicaid and the Managed Care Organizations must make 

available a variety of qualified providers willing to provide EPSDT services. 

6. EPSDT operational principles include those specified below. 

 

When state staff or vendors review a covered state Medicaid plan service request for prior approval or 

continuing authorization (UR) for an individual under 21 years of age, the reviewer will apply the EPSDT 

criteria to the review when it falls outside the clinical policy limits, scope and duration. This means that: 

1. Requests for EPSDT services do NOT have to be labeled as such. Any properly 

submitted request for services for a recipient under 21 years of age that fall outside of 

clinical policy limits, scope and duration is a request for EPSDT services.  

2. The decision to approve or deny the request will be based on the recipient’s medical need 

for the service to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical [or] mental illness, or condition 

[health condition]. 

a. The specific coverage criteria (e.g., particular diagnoses, signs, or symptoms) in the DHB clinical 

coverage policies or service definitions do NOT have to be met for recipients under 21 years if 

the service is medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or 

condition [health problems]. A child who meets EPSDT eligibility criteria is not required to have 
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a specific diagnosis for the provision of services, as screening may identify symptoms that require 

attention but do not meet diagnostic criteria. This requirement may be of particular importance to 

children who need behavioral health services. 

b. The specific numerical limits (number of hours, number of visits, or other limitations on scope, 

amount or frequency) in DHB clinical coverage policies, service definitions, or billing codes do 

NOT apply to recipients under 21 years of age if more hours or visits of the requested service are 

medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition 

[health problem]. This includes the hourly limits and location limits on Medicaid Personal Care 

Services (PCS) and Community Support Services (CSS). 

c. Other restrictions in the clinical coverage policies, such as the location of the service (e.g., PCS 

only in the home), prohibitions on multiple services on the same day or at the same time (e.g., day 

treatment and residential treatment) must also be waived under EPSDT as long as the services are 

medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition 

[health problem]. 

d. Out-of-state services are NOT required to be covered if equally effective services that are 

medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition 

[health problems] are available anywhere in the state of North Carolina. Services delivered 

without prior approval will be denied. There is no retroactive prior approval for services that 

require prior approval, unless there is retroactive Medicaid eligibility.  

e. DHB vendors, contractors and MCO’s must review any properly submitted request for state 

Medicaid plan services that fall outside the clinical policy limits scope and duration, for a 

recipient under 21 years of age under EPSDT criteria when the request is made by the recipient’s 

physician, therapist, or other licensed practitioner in accordance with the Division’s published 

policies.  

f. Requests for prior approval for services must be appropriately documented to show medical 

necessity. This requires current information from the recipient’s physician, other licensed 

clinicians, or the requesting qualified provider. If this information is not provided, Medicaid, its 

vendor or the MCO will have to obtain the needed information, and this will delay the prior 

approval decision. See procedure below for requesting EPSDT services for Medicaid Direct 

beneficiaries and beneficiaries covered under Managed Care.  

g. North Carolina Medicaid and the contracted MCO’s retain the authority to determine how an 

identified type of equipment, therapy, or service will be met, subject to compliance with federal 

law, including consideration of the opinion of the treating physician and sufficient access to 

alternative services. Services will be provided in the most economic mode, as long as the 

treatment made available is similarly efficacious to the service requested by the recipient’s 

physician, therapist, or other licensed practitioner, the determination process does not delay the 

delivery of the needed service, and the determination does not limit the recipient’s right to free 

choice of North Carolina Medicaid enrolled providers who provide the approved service. It is not 

sufficient to cover a standard, lower cost service instead of a requested specialized service if the 

lower cost service is not equally effective in that individual case. 

h. Durable medical equipment (DME), assistive technology, orthotics, and prosthetics do NOT have 

to be included on DHB’s approved lists or be covered under a CAP waiver program in order to be 

covered under EPSDT subject to meeting the criteria specified in this policy. 

i. DHB and the MCO’s will enroll or contract with providers, set reimbursement rates, and assure 

the means for claims processing when the service is not already established in the North Carolina 

State Medicaid Plan. 
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j. Requests for prior approval of services are to be decided with reasonable promptness as outlined 

in the section below. No properly submitted request for services for a recipient under 21 years of 

age will be denied, formally or informally, until it is evaluated under EPSDT. 

k. If services are denied, reduced, or terminated, proper written notice with appeal rights must be 

provided to the recipient and copied to the provider. The notice must include the specific reasons 

for the intended action, citation that supports the intended action, and notice of the right to appeal.  

l. The recipient has the right to continued Medicaid payment for services currently provided, 

including services that received a time-limited approval through prior authorization, pending an 

informal and/or formal appeal. This includes the right to reinstatement of services pending appeal 

if there was less than a 30 day interruption before submitting a reauthorization request. 

 

EPSDT Coverage and CAP Waivers 
1. Home and community-based services (HCBS) offer through waiver are available only to 

participants in the CAP waiver program and are not a part of the EPSDT benefit unless the waiver 

service is ALSO an EPSDT service (e.g. durable medical equipment). 

2. Any request for a Section 1905(a) service for a CAP recipient under age 21 must be evaluated 

first under EPSDT and then under Social Security Act under 1915(c) if the service can’t be 

covered by EPDST.  

3. Additionally, a child financially eligible for Medicaid outside of the waiver is entitled to elect 

EPSDT services without any monetary cap instead of waiver services. 

4. ANY child enrolled in a CAP waiver can receive BOTH waiver services and EPSDT services.  

For individuals under the age of 21 enrolled in a 1915(c) HCBS waiver, services covered through 

the waiver are not covered under EPDST. The cost and delivery of the waiver services must be in 

compliance with the coverage limitations established by the waiver application and applicable 

Medicaid policy.  

 

When a child who is enrolled in a waiver program is otherwise eligible for Medicaid, all 

conditions set forth in the waiver concerning continued participation in the waiver apply as to 

waiver services.  

 

If the requested service is both a waiver service and an EPDST service, it must be covered as an 

EPSDT service and should not be counted toward the HCBS waiver service limit.   

 

The beneficiary participating in a North Carolina 1915(c) HCBS waiver program may exceed 

policy or program limits on any individual service qualifying as both a waiver service and as a 

coverable service under the child Medicaid EPSDT Benefit. Prior approval for the over-limit 

service must be requested and approved before the service is delivered and before the waiver 

limit is exceeded. 

 

5. A recipient under 21 years of age on a waiting list for CAP services, who is an authorized 

Medicaid recipient without regard to approval under a waiver, is eligible for necessary EPSDT 

services without any waiting list being imposed by Medicaid. For further information, see “No 

Waiting List for EPSDT” on page 2 of this instruction. 

6. EPSDT services must be provided to recipients under 21 years of age in a CAP waiver under the 

same standards as other children receiving Medicaid services. For example, some CAP recipients 

under 21 years of age may need daily in-school assistance supervised by a licensed clinician 
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through personal care services (PCS). It is important to note that Medicaid services coverable 

under EPSDT may be provided in a community or school setting, when a location of the service 

other than in the home is determined to be medically necessary by an individualized EPSDT 

review.  The service is coverable by Medicaid at 1396(a) [1905(a)] as Personal Care Services.  

Case managers in the Community Alternatives Program for Disabled Adults (CAP/DA) can deny 

a request for CAP/DA waiver services. If a CAP/DA case manager denies, reduces, or terminates 

a CAP/DA waiver service, it is handled in accordance with DHB’s recipient notices procedure. 

No other case manager can deny a service request supported by a licensed clinician, either 

formally or informally. 

7. When a recipient under 21 years of age is receiving CAP services, case managers must request 

covered state Medicaid plan services as indicated below. Covered state Medicaid plan services 

are defined as requests for services, products, or procedures covered by the North Carolina State 

Medicaid Plan. 

a) CAP/C: Requests for medical, dental, and behavioral health services covered under 

the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan that require prior approval must be forwarded 

to the appropriate vendor and a plan of care revision submitted via the CAP IT 

system for processing in accordance with the CAP/C policy. A plan of care revision 

for waiver services must be submitted via the CAP IT system for processing 

according to the clinical coverage policy. 

b) CAP/DA: Requests for medical, dental, and behavioral health services covered under 

the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan that require prior approval must be forwarded 

to the appropriate vendor and a plan of care revision submitted to the CAP/DA 

authorized approver in accordance with the CAP/DA policy. A plan of care revision 

for waiver services must be submitted to the CAP/DA authorized approver in 

accordance with clinical coverage policy.  All EPSDT requests must be forwarded 

to the CAP/DA consultant at DHB. 

c) Innovations Waiver: All EPSDT and covered state Medicaid plan requests for 

behavioral health services must be forwarded to the appropriate LME-MCO for that 

catchment area. This includes requests for children not in a waiver who have a case 

manager. Requests for dental services covered under the North Carolina State 

Medicaid Plan must be forwarded to the appropriate vendor (General Dynamics and 

Information Technology) for review and approval. Do NOT submit such requests to 

the Managed Care Organizations. Plan of care revisions must be submitted in 

accordance with the Innovations policy. 

8. An appeal under CAP must also be considered under EPSDT criteria as well as under CAP 

provisions if the appeal is for a Medicaid recipient under 21 years of age. 

 

 

 

 

 

EPSDT Coverage and Mental Health/Intellectual and Developmental 

Disability/Substance Abuse (MH/IDD/SA) Services 
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Consistent with section 1905(r)(5) of the Act, states must provide coverage for an array of medically 

necessary mental health and SUD services along the care continuum in order to meet their EPSDT 

obligation. The array of services includes, but is not limited to:  

1) screening and assessment;  

2) services to build skills for mental health and/or to address early signs or symptoms of concern 

with or without a diagnosis;  

3) community-based services at varying levels of intensity necessary to correct or ameliorate a 

wide range of behavioral health acute and/or chronic conditions, including routine community-

based services as well as community-based services to meet more intensive needs;  

4) services address urgent and crisis needs; and  

5) inpatient care only when medically necessary. 

 

Process for submitting an EPSDT Request: 

1. Requests for MH/SUD services for Medicaid Direct beneficiaries under the age of 21 must be 

forwarded to the appropriate LME/MCO  

2. If a recipient under 21 years of age has a developmental disability diagnosis, this does not 

necessarily mean that the requested service is habilitative and may not be covered under EPSDT. 

The EPSDT criteria of whether the service is medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a 

defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem] apply. All individual facts must 

be considered. Note that a child with co-occurring medical, developmental, and/or behavioral 

health conditions may need more complex case management to support the child’s access to 

services and supports provided by a wide range of providers, state agencies, and the education 

system. 

3. All EPSDT requirements apply to the 1915(b) waiver. 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/documents/files/1915bc-factsheet/download 

 

Managed Care Organizations (MCOs) will comply with all requirements of the EPSDT benefit when 

authorizing and reviewing service requests for beneficiaries under the age of 21. Any service coverable 

under federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act] and medically necessary 

per EPSDT criteria to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or other health condition 

shall be made available to an eligible child under 21 years of age. Medical necessity decisions are made 

on a case-by-case basis, are always individualized and are responsive to the particular child’s current 

needs. 

MCO care coordinators and other non-UR staff may not deny requests for services, including EPSDT 

services, formally or informally. MCOs may not use the Screening, Triage, and Referral (STR) process or 

IDD eligibility process as a means of denying access to Medicaid services. It is not appropriate for an 

MCO screener to make a decision on a recipient’s need for services. The family must be referred to an 

appropriate Medicaid provider to perform a clinical evaluation of the child and to request any medically 

necessary service. 

The county that maintains current Medicaid eligibility for a beneficiary determines which Prepaid 

Inpatient Health Plan (PIHP)/ Tailored Plan (TP) will review requests for behavioral health services 

coverable under the child Medicaid (EPSDT) benefit. The Tailored Plan/ PIHP for the county where the 

beneficiary lives will be responsible for acting on requests for EPSDT Benefit behavioral health services 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/documents/files/1915bc-factsheet/download#:~:text=The%20%28b%29%20Waiver%20allows%20Medicaid%20beneficiaries%20to%20enroll,to%20Medicaid%20beneficiaries%20who%20would%20otherwise%20be%20institutionalized.
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when a beneficiary resides outside of the county where eligibility is maintained by DSS. For more 

information, please see: http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/lme/LME-Contact-Info.html. 

To locate the appropriate vendor in the beneficiary’s county/catchment area and/or service type, please 

refer to the Utilization Review Contractor table on the prior approval Web page at: 

http://ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/priorapproval.htm. 

 

PROCEDURE FOR REQUESTING EPSDT SERVICES 

Covered State Medicaid Plan Services 
Should the service, product, or procedure require prior approval, the fact that the recipient is under 21 

years of age does NOT eliminate the requirement for prior approval. If prior approval is required and if 

the recipient does not meet the clinical coverage criteria or needs to exceed clinical coverage policy 

limits, submit documentation with the prior approval request that shows how the service at the requested 

frequency and amount is medically necessary and meets all EPSDT criteria, including to correct or 

ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem], to the appropriate vendor, 

Managed Care Organization or NC Medicaid vendor. When requesting prior approval for a covered 

service, refer to the Health Plan Billing Guidance | NC Medicaid, section 3.27.2. For Medicaid Direct 

beneficiaries, if the request for service needs to be reviewed by NC Medicaid clinical staff, the vendor 

will forward the request to the Clinical Policy business unit. Should further information be required, the 

provider will be contacted. See the Provider Documentation section of these instructions for information 

regarding documentation requirements. 

 

In the event prior approval is not required for a service and the recipient needs to exceed the clinical 

coverage policy limitations, prior approval from a MCO, or Medicaid Direct vendor may be required. See 

the Provider Documentation section of these instructions for information regarding documentation 

requirements. 
 

Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services 
Requests for non-covered state Medicaid plan services are requests for services, products, or procedures 

that are not included at all in the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan but are coverable under federal 

Medicaid law, 1905(r) of the Social Security Act, for recipients under 21 years of age. See attached 

listing. Service requests for non-covered state Medicaid plan services, and requests for a review when 

there is no established review process for a requested service, should be submitted to the appropriate 

Managed Care Organization, or NC Medicaid vendor. The process and procedures for submitting non-

covered service requests for beneficiaries under the age of 21 can be found in each Managed Care 

Organization’s provider manual. A review of a request for a non-covered state Medicaid plan service 

includes a determination that ALL EPSDT criteria specified in these 

instructions are met. 

 

If the recipient is enrolled with a Managed Care Organization, the request should be submitted to the 

appropriate MCO for review utilizing the processes outlined in their provider manual.  

 

Requests for the services listed below should be sent to the appropriate Managed Care Organization or 

Medicaid Direct vendor. For Medicaid Direct beneficiaries the request for a non-covered service should 

be submitted on the Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services Request Form for Recipients under 21 

Years of Age as specified at the end of this section, unless otherwise specified. For beneficiaries covered 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ncdhhs.gov%2Fdma%2Flme%2FLME-Contact-Info.html&data=05%7C02%7CAmanda.Tromblee%40dhhs.nc.gov%7Cdf48bbffb80044a1decb08dc856233de%7C7a7681dcb9d0449a85c3ecc26cd7ed19%7C0%7C0%7C638531904054567758%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=aO2roQA7n7pVMZjrM4WHK%2FPHIA5vwyhmJUKDfeD3jEU%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fncdhhs.gov%2Fdma%2Fprovider%2Fpriorapproval.htm&data=05%7C02%7CAmanda.Tromblee%40dhhs.nc.gov%7Cdf48bbffb80044a1decb08dc856233de%7C7a7681dcb9d0449a85c3ecc26cd7ed19%7C0%7C0%7C638531904054573512%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=w1xQ2Ko0X6ecjaZtixdCqixY%2Fgp6IKXv7oPDPiV6XTU%3D&reserved=0
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/health-plan-billing-guidance
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by a Managed Care Organization, please review their member or provider handbook for information on 

how to submit a non-covered service request for a recipient under 21 years of age.  

 

• Any other service not listed on the DHB fee schedules for recipients under 21 years of age 

that appears within 1905(a) of the Social Security Act 

• Over-the-Counter (OTC) Medications   

• Non-Rebatable Drugs- Under section 1905(a)(4)(B) and (r) of the Act, states are required to 

cover all medically necessary services described in section 1905(a) of the Act for children 

under the age of 21 who are eligible for EPSDT, including prescribed drugs, regardless of any 

payment arrangement. What this means is that any prescribed drug covered under Medicaid 

EPSDT requirements is eligible for federal financial participation (FFP), regardless of the 

applicability of section 1927. In other words, even if the drug is not a covered outpatient drug in 

accordance with section 1927(k)(2) of the Act or the drug is a covered outpatient drug and a 

manufacturer does not have in effect a drug rebate agreement, the drug is covered under 

Medicaid and is eligible for FFP if prescribed under EPSDT requirements 

 

Provider Documentation 
Documentation for either covered or non-covered state Medicaid plan services should show how the 

service will correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition [health problem]. 

This includes: 

 

1. documentation showing that medical necessity and policy criteria are met; 

2. documentation to support that all EPSDT criteria are met; and 

3. evidence-based literature to support the request, if available. 

 

Should additional information be required, the provider will be contacted. 
 

Prior Approval Requests: Submission to Appropriate Vendors or PIHP 
NC Medicaid Direct vendors (GDIT, Acentra Health (NCLIFTSS), Carolinas Center for Medical 

Excellence (CCME), Beacon) may receive service requests from providers for which the vendor is not 

responsible for conducting the prior approval reviews. As vendors can only authorize specific services in 

accordance with DHB vendor contracts, those requests should be forwarded to the appropriate vendor for 

review. For example for Medicaid Direct beneficiaries: 

 

1. If Beacon receives a request for breast surgery, the request should be forwarded to the prior 

approval section at GDIT. 

2. Should GDIT receive a request for physical therapy, the request should be 

forwarded to CCME. 

3. A request for a Medicaid Direct recipient that is requesting Personal Care Services (PCS) for a 

recipient under 21 years of age, should be submitted to Acentra Health (NCLIFTSS). If the 

request is for a recipient covered under Medicaid Managed Care, the request should be submitted 

to the appropriate Health Plan.  

It should be noted that there may be a delay in making a decision when a provider sends a prior approval 
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request to a vendor for which the vendor is not responsible for conducting the prior approval review. 

Once the request is received by the appropriate vendor, a decision will be reached promptly, usually 

within 15 business days of receipt of the request by the appropriate vendor. 

 

Prior Approval Requests: Managed Care Organizations 
 

For more information on where to submit prior approval requests for the Tailored Plans & PIHPs, please 

see the document within the link: Tailored Plan Provider Playbook 

 

For more information on where to submit prior approval requests for the Standard Plans, please see the 

document in the link: Managed Care Provider Playbook 

 

To eliminate a delay in making a decision when a provider sends a prior approval request to a Managed 

Care Organization that is not responsible for conducting the prior approval review. Once the request has 

been received by the appropriate Managed Care Organization, a decision will be reached within 14 days, 

unless an extension of an additional 14 days is requested per 42 C.F.R. § 438.210(d).  

 

For cases in which a provider indicates, or the MCO determines, that following the standard timeframe 

could seriously jeopardize the child's life or health or ability to attain, maintain, or regain maximum 

function, the MCO must make an expedited authorization decision and provide notice as expeditiously as 

the enrollee's health condition requires and no later than 72 hours after receipt of the request for service, 

as per 42 C.F.R. § 438.210(d)(2). 

 

 

Outreach 
Information about EPSDT will be distributed by NC Medicaid’s Managed Care Organizations to 

recipients and their legal representatives through their member handbook. The document will address 

general information about EPSDT, and procedures for requesting services under EPSDT, including 

information about interpretation services, transportation assistance, and how to access benefits provided 

by that Managed Care Organization. This information must be provided in an accessible format, in 

prevalent non-English languages, and be available in alternative formats upon request and at no cost to 

the enrollee, as per 42 C.F.R. § 438.10. 

 

NC Medicaid’s Managed Care Organizations are contractually required to perform outreach to members 

and or their guardians monthly when due or overdue for preventive screenings.  

 

This policy instruction shall remain posted on the DHB website. DHB will inform their staff, related 

DHHS Divisions, vendors, agents, Medicaid providers, families, and other agencies working with 

children on Medicaid (e.g. schools, Headstart, WIC, Smart Start, etc.) about this EPSDT policy and its 

procedures for EPSDT services.  

 

For Further Information about EPSDT 
• Important additional information about EPSDT and prior approval is found in the Medicaid 

Health Plan Billing Guide, section 3.27, and on the DHB EPSDT provider page. The web 

addresses are specified below. 

Basic Medicaid Billing Guide 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/tailored-plan-managed-care-claims-and-prior-authorizations-submission-frequently-asked-questions/download?attachment
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/managed-care-claims-submission-what-providers-need-know-part-1/download?attachment
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Health Plan Billing Guidance | NC Medicaid 

Health Check Billing Guide 

Provider Policies, Manuals, Guidelines and Forms - Provider Policies, Manuals, Guidelines and 

Forms (nc.gov) 

EPSDT Provider Page 

NC DHHS: Early Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment Medicaid Services for Children 

 

 

ATTACHMENTS: 

• Listing of Medicaid (EPSDT) Services Found in the Social Security Act at 1905(a) [42 U.S.C. § 

1396d(a)] 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/health-plan-billing-guidance
https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-manuals.html
https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-manuals.html
https://www.ncdhhs.gov/providers/provider-info/mental-health-development-disabilities-and-substance-abuse-services/early-periodic-screening-diagnostic-and-treatment-medicaid-services-children
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LISTING OF EPSDT SERVICES FOUND AT 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) OF THE 

SOCIAL SECURITY ACT] 
 

• Inpatient hospital services (other than services in an institution for mental disease) 

• Outpatient hospital services 

• Rural health clinic services (including home visits for homebound individuals) 

• Federally-qualified health center services 

• Other laboratory and X-ray services (in an office or similar facility) 

• EPSDT (Note: EPSDT offers periodic screening services for recipients under age 21 and Medicaid covered 

services necessary to correct or ameliorate a diagnosed physical or mental condition) 

• Family planning services and supplies 

• Physician services (in office, recipient's home, hospital, nursing facility, or elsewhere) 

• Medical and surgical services furnished by a dentist 

• Home health care services (nursing services; home health aides; medical supplies, equipment, and 

appliances suitable for use in the home; physical therapy, occupation therapy, speech pathology, 

audiology services provided by a home health agency or by a facility licensed by the State to provide 

medical rehabilitation services) 

• Private duty nursing services 

• Clinic services (including services outside of clinic for eligible homeless individuals) 

• Dental services 

• Physical therapy, occupational therapy, and services for individuals with speech, hearing, and language 

• disorders 

• Prescribed drugs 

• Dentures 

• Prosthetic devices 

• Eyeglasses 

• Services in an intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded 

• Medical care, or any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed 

practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law, specified by the Secretary (also 

includes transportation by a provider to whom a direct vendor payment can appropriately be made) 

• Other diagnostic, screening, preventive, and rehabilitative services, including any medical or remedial 

services (provided in a facility, a home, or other setting) recommended by a physician or other licensed 

practitioner of the healing arts within the scope of their practice under State law, for the maximum 

reduction of physical or mental disability and restoration of an individual to the best possible functional 

level 

• Inpatient psychiatric hospital services for individuals under age 21 

• Services furnished by a midwife, which the nurse-midwife is legally authorized to perform under state 

law, without regard to whether the nurse-midwife is under the supervision of, or associated with, a 

physician or other health care provider throughout the maternity cycle 

• Hospice care 

• Case-management services 

• TB-related services 

• Respiratory care services 

• Services furnished by a certified pediatric nurse practitioner or certified family nurse practitioner, which 

• the practitioner is legally authorized to perform under state law 

• Personal care services (in a home or other location) furnished to an individual who is not an inpatient or 

resident of a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, or institution for 

mental disease 
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• Primary care case management services 

 
Definitions of the above federal Medicaid services can be found in the Code of Federal Regulations 42 CFR 440.1-440.170 at 

eCFR :: 42 CFR 440.170  

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-440/subpart-A/section-440.170

