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ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Proposed Clinical Coverage Policies for Public Comment 
Proposed new or amended Medicaid and NC Health Choice clinical coverage policies are 

posted for comment throughout the month. Visit the Proposed Medicaid and NC Health 

Choice Policies for current posted policies and instructions to submit a comment. 
 

As of Oct. 1, 2018, the following NC Medicaid policies are open for public comment: 
 

PROPOSED POLICY COMMENT PERIOD 

8-J, Children's Developmental Service Agencies (CDSAs) 09/27/2018 10/27/2018 

6B, Routine Eye Examination and Visual Aids for Beneficiaries 
21 Years of Age and Older 
New policy documenting restored coverage of routine eye 
examinations and visual aids for Medicaid beneficiaries 
21 years of age and older. 

09/26/2018 11/10/2018 

11A-17, CAR-T Cell Therapy 09/17/2018 11/01/2018 

3L, State Plan Personal Care Services (PCS) 09/06/2018 10/21/2018 

9, Outpatient Pharmacy 08/30/2018 10/14/2018 

1H, Telemedicine and Telepsychiatry 08/27/2018 10/11/2018 

1E-7, Family Planning Services 08/22/2018 10/06/2018 

 

NC Medicaid Clinical Policy, 919-855-4260 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Clinical Coverage Policies 
The following new or amended Medicaid and NC Health Choice clinical coverage 

policies were posted since Aug. 31, 2018. Visit the NC Medicaid website to view the 

policies. 

• 2A-1, Acute Inpatient Hospital Services – 09/07/2018

• 10-A, Outpatient Specialized Therapies – 09/13/2018

• 1A-24, Diabetes Outpatient Self-Management Education – 10/01/2018
 

These policies supersede previously published policies and procedures. 

 

NC Medicaid Clinical Policy, 919-855-4260 
 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/get-involved/proposed-medicaid-and-nc-health-choice-policies
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/get-involved/proposed-medicaid-and-nc-health-choice-policies
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-8J-Childrens-Dev-Serv-Agencies.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-6B-CT-Adult%20Routine%20Eye%20Exam.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-6B-CT-Adult%20Routine%20Eye%20Exam.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-11A-17-CAR-T-Therapy.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-3L-CT-PCS.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-9-CT-Outpatient-Pharm.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-1-H-Telemedicine.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-1E-7%20FamilyPlanning.pdf
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/clinical-coverage-policies
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ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Are You in Compliance with North Carolina Law? 
One of the goals of a transformed health care system is for real-time clinical and 

demographic data to be made available to all health care providers involved in a patient’s 

care so that they can securely share health information concerning that patient with each 

other. North Carolina health care providers are required by law to connect with 

NC HealthConnex, North Carolina’s designated health information exchange, by specific 

deadlines: 
 

• June 1, 2018. Hospitals as defined by G.S. 131E-176(13), physicians licensed to 

practice under Article 1 of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes, physician assistants 

as defined in 21 NCAC 32S .0201, and nurse practitioners as defined in 21 NCAC 

36 .0801 who provide Medicaid services and who have an electronic health record 

system.

• June 1, 2019. All other providers of Medicaid and state-funded services except 

dentists, ambulatory surgical centers and pharmacies.

• Early 2019. Prepaid Health Plans (PHPs), as defined in S.L. 2015-245 as 

amended, will be required to connect to the HIE per their contracts with the NC 

Department of Health and Human Services (NCDHHS). PHPs will be required to 

submit encounter and claims data by the commencement of the contract with 

NCDHHS.

• June 1, 2020. Local Management Entities/Managed Care Organizations 

(LMEs/MCOs) will be required to submit encounter and claims data.

• June 1, 2021. Dentists and ambulatory surgical centers will be required to submit 

clinical and demographic data (NCSL 2018-41). Pharmacies will be required to 

submit claims data once per day, using pharmacy industry standardized formats.
 

Important Note for Health Care Providers Who Did Not Connect by June 1, 2018 
 

Hospitals, physicians, physician assistants and nurse practitioners, as described above, 

who did not start the connection process by June 1, 2018, are not in compliance with state 

law. NC Medicaid will work collaboratively with these providers to bring them into 

compliance, including issuing corrective action plans. At this time, noncompliant 

providers will continue to be enrolled in NC Medicaid and, as they file claims, will 

receive reimbursements for services and treatment of NC Medicaid beneficiaries. 
 

What Does “Connected” Mean? 
 

To meet the state’s mandate, a Medicaid provider is “connected” when its clinical and 

demographic information pertaining to services paid for by Medicaid and other State- 

funded health care funds are being sent to NC HealthConnex, at least twice daily—either 

through a direct connection or via a hub (i.e., a larger system with which it participates, 
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another regional HIE with which it participates or an EHR vendor). Participation 

agreements signed with the designated entity would need to list all affiliate connections. 
 

The North Carolina Health Information Exchange Authority (HIEA), the state agency 

managing NC HealthConnex, and NC Medicaid appreciate the many providers who have 

initiated a connection and are making data available through the system. Medicaid and 

the HIEA will continue to work closely together to ensure that NC HealthConnex 

develops to support health care providers and enables all of us to better serve patients and 

families. 
 

To start the connection process, providers can call HIEA at the number below. Sign up 

here to be placed on the HIEA’s distribution list for monthly updates. 
 

NC HIEA, 919-754-6912 or hiea@nc.gov 
 

 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Updates to the NC Medicaid Electronic Health Record 
(EHR) Incentive Program 
Per the updated IPPS Final Rule released Aug. 2, 2018, the EHR reporting period will 

now be referred to as the Promoting Interoperability (PI) reporting period. The PI 

reporting period is any continuous 90-day period or full calendar year within the program 

year in which a provider successfully demonstrates meaningful use (MU) of certified 

EHR technology. Providers will see this change when attesting in NC-MIPS. 
 

NC Medicaid EHR Incentive Payment System (NC-MIPS) is Open for Program Year 

2018 
 

NC-MIPS is accepting Program Year 2018 Modified Stage 2 and Stage 3 Meaningful 

Use attestations. (Note that the NC-MIPS Portal will be unavailable between 5 p.m. on 

Oct. 3, 2018 and 7 a.m. on Oct. 8, 2018 for scheduled maintenance.) 
 

TIP: Providers paid for Program Year 2017 using a 90-day patient volume reporting 

period from May 1, 2017 through Dec. 31, 2017, may use the same patient volume 

reporting period to attest now for Program Year 2018. 
 

In Program Year 2018, eligible professionals (EPs) may continue using a 90-day PI 

reporting period. EPs may attest with a 90-day Clinical Quality Measure (CQM) 

reporting period if they only attested to adopt, implement or upgrade (AIU) thus far and 

will be attesting to MU for the first time in Program Year 2018. They will see no changes 

to the attestation process in NC-MIPS. 

https://hiea.nc.gov/contact-us
mailto:hiea@nc.gov
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2018/08/17/2018-16766/medicare-program-hospital-inpatient-prospective-payment-systems-for-acute-care-hospitals-and-the
https://ncmips.nctracks.nc.gov/Home.aspx
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However, EPs who have met MU in a previous program year will be required to use a full 

calendar year CQM reporting period in Program Year 2018. Since the CQM reporting 

period must be a full calendar year for these EPs, they will not be able to submit CQM 

data in NC-MIPS until Jan. 1, 2019. EPs who would like an early review of requirements, 

excluding CQMs, will be allowed to submit their attestation in two parts. 
 

Part 1 of the attestation may be submitted between May 1, 2018 and Dec. 31, 2018. It 

includes demographic, license, patient volume and MU objective data. EPs will not be 

required to sign or email any documentation for Part 1. The signed attestation packet will 

be emailed only once—after submission of CQMs. 
 

After Part 1 is submitted on NC-MIPS, program staff will conduct validations. DHHS 

will notify EPs of any discrepancies, giving EPs ample time to address any issues. 
 

After Part 1 is validated, EPs may return Jan. 1, 2019 through April 30, 2019, to submit 

their CQM data on NC-MIPS. After submitting that information on NC-MIPS, providers 

will email the signed attestation packet and CQM report from the EP’s EHR to 

NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov to complete Part 2 of the attestation. 
 

Note: This process does not increase or reduce the information being submitted but 

allows EPs to complete their attestation in a 12-month window instead of in four months. 
 

EPs who attested in NC-MIPS in a previous year will be automatically directed to the 

appropriate page in NC-MIPS. EPs who attested with another state should email 

NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov prior to attesting for Program Year 2018. 
 

For those practices unsure if a new provider is able to participate in the NC Medicaid 

EHR Incentive Program in Program Year 2018, please email the provider’s NPI to 

NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov and program staff will determine if the provider 

previously attested with another practice. As a reminder, EPs must have successfully 

participated in a Medicaid EHR Incentive Program at least once before the end of 

Program Year 2016 to be able to participate in program years 2017 to 2021. 
 

Visit the program website for more information. 
 

NC Medicaid EHR Incentive Program, NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov 
 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

NCTracks Provider Training Available in October 2018 
Registration is open for several instructor-led training courses for providers that will be 

held in October 2018. The duration varies depending on the course. WebEx courses are 

limited to 115 participants. They can be attended remotely from any location with a 

telephone, computer and internet connection. Onsite courses include hands-on training 

mailto:NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov
mailto:NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov
mailto:NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov
https://dma.ncdhhs.gov/providers/programs-and-services/nc-medicaid-electronic-health-record-incentive-program
mailto:NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov
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and are limited to 45 participants. They are offered in-person at the GDIT facility at 2610 

Wycliff Road in Raleigh. Following are details on the courses, including dates, times and 

how to enroll. 
 

Provider Web Portal Applications (WebEx) 

Oct. 3, 2018, 1–4 p.m. 
 

This course will guide you through the process of submitting all types of provider 

applications found on the NCTracks Provider Portal. This course will also detail what to 

expect once your applications have been submitted. At the end of this training, you will 

be able to: 

• Understand the Provider Enrollment Application processes

• Navigate to the NCTracks Provider Portal and complete the following Provider 

Enrollment Application processes: Provider Enrollment, Manage Change Request 

(MCR), Re-Enrollment, Re-verification and Maintain Eligibility

• Track and submit applications using the Status and Management page
 

Advanced Medical Home Tier Attestation (WebEx) 

Oct. 5, 2018, 9:30–11 a.m. 
 

This course will guide the user through completing the Advanced Medical Home Tier 

Attestation via the secure Provider Portal. 
 

ES User Role, Abbreviated MCRs and Upload Documents (WebEx) 

Oct. 8, 2018, 10 a.m.– 12 p.m. 
 

This course will guide you through the following enhancements to the provider 

enrollment application processes: 

• Enrollment Specialist user role

• Uploading supporting documents

• Abbreviated Manage Change Request (MCR) applications
 

Prior Approvals: Dental & Orthodontic (WebEx) 

Oct. 15, 2018, 9:30 a.m.–12 p.m. 
 

This course shows authorized users how to electronically submit and inquire about prior 

approval requests for dental and orthodontic procedures. At the end of this training, the 

user will be able to: 

• Submit dental prior approvals requests

• Inquire about dental prior approval requests
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Submitting Dental & Orthodontic Claims (WebEx) 

Oct. 15, 2018, 1 p.m.–4 p.m. 
 

This course will focus on how to submit a Dental and Orthodontic Claims. At the end of 

training, as an authorized user, you will be able to manage the following: 

• Create a Dental Claim via the NCTracks web portal

• Submit a Dental Claim

• Save a Draft Claim

• Use Claims Draft Search

• Submit a Claim

• View results of a Claim submission
 

Reverification Overview (WebEx) 

Oct. 18, 2018, 1 p.m.–2:30 p.m. 
 

This course serves as a refresher for the steps taken by the provider to complete the Re- 

verification process through NCTracks. At the end of training, you will be able to: 
 

At the end of training, you will be able to: 

• Explain why provider Re-verification is requested and what the process entails

• Complete the Re-verification process in NCTracks

• Update Owners and Managing Relationships if necessary while completing Re- 

verification application
 

Submitting Medical Prior Approval (On-Site) 

Oct. 25, 2018, 9:30 a.m.–12 p.m. 
 

This course shows authorized users how to electronically submit and inquire about prior 

approvals for different kinds of medical services. After completing this course, 

authorized users will be able to submit Prior Approvals electronically and conduct 

electronic inquiries about Prior Approvals 
 

Submitting Professional Claims (On-Site) 

Oct. 25, 2018, 1–4:30 p.m. 
 

The NCTracks Provider Portal uses your NCID username and password to gain access to 

a secure online environment for submitting claims. This course will focus on how to 

submit a Professional Claim. At the end of training, as an authorized user, the user will be 

able to do the following: 

• Submit a Professional claim
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• Save a Draft

• Use Claims Draft Search

• Submit a claim

• View results of a claim submission

• Void and Replace paid claims
 

Training Enrollment Instructions 
 

Providers can register for these courses in SkillPort, the NCTracks Learning Management 

System. Log on to the secure NCTracks Provider Portal and click Provider Training to 

access SkillPort. Open the folder labeled Provider Computer-Based Training (CBT) and 

Instructor Led Training (ILT). The courses can be found in the sub-folders labeled ILTs: 

On-site or ILTs: Remote via WebEx, depending on the format of the course. Refer to the 

Provider Training page of the public Provider Portal for specific instructions on how to 

use SkillPort. The Provider Training page also includes a quick reference about 

downloading Java, which is required for the use of SkillPort. 
 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 
 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Reminder: Changes to the Recredentialing Process 
NC Medicaid first alerted providers of changes to the recredentialing process in the 

February 2018 and August 2018 Medicaid Bulletins. 
 

The terms recredentialing, reverification and revalidation are synonymous. 
 

In April 2018, the recredentialing notification and suspension process was modified. The 

previous rule to extend the recredentialing due date if a Manage Change Request 

(MCR) Application is “In Review” has been removed. Therefore, if a change is 

required via an MCR, the MCR process must be completed before the 

recredentialing due date. 

 

Providers will be suspended if the recredentialing application is not submitted by their 

recredentialing due date. Provider will be terminated from the North Carolina Medicaid 

and NC Health Choice programs following 50 days of suspension. 
 

A list of providers scheduled for recredentialing in 2018 is available on the Provider 

Enrollment page of the NC Medicaid website under the “Recredentialing” header. 

Providers can use this resource to determine their recredentialing/revalidation due date 

and the month to begin the recredentialing process. Organizations and systems with 

https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-user-guides-and-training/provider-training.html
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/documents/2018-medicaid-bulletin-and-index
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/provider-enrollment
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multiple providers may download this list, which includes National Provider Identifier 

(NPI) numbers and provider names, to compare with their provider list. 
 

Recredentialing is not optional. It is crucial that all providers who receive a notice 

promptly respond and begin the process. Providers are required to pay the $100 

application fee for recredentialing. Providers must thoroughly review their electronic 

record in NCTracks to ensure all information is accurate and up-to-date and take any 

actions necessary for corrections and updates. If terminated, the provider must submit a 

re-enrollment application to be reinstated. 
 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 or NCTracksprovider@nctracks.com 
 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Update Provider Enrollment Information 
Pursuant to Section 6.a. of the NCDHHS Provider Administrative Participation 

Agreement, providers are required to update their enrollment records in NCTracks within 

30 days of a change. Commonly, affiliation and taxonomy information are overlooked. 

Individual providers must review their affiliations by location for accuracy. Providers 

should end-date any affiliations that are not current. Providers must make sure their 

physical addresses are correct with the accurate taxonomy. 
 

Providers must also update their expiring licenses, certifications and accreditations. The 

system currently suspends and terminates providers who fail to respond within the 

specified time limits. 
 

Providers can avoid processing delays by ensuring all information is accurate and 

up-to-date. Providers are encouraged to begin the Managed Change Request 

process to make necessary corrections and updates. For assistance, providers should 

reference the NCTracks Provider User Guides and Training, Provider Record 

Maintenance. 
 

NC Medicaid Provider Services, 919-855-4050 
 
 

ATTENTION ALL PROVIDERS 

Avoid Delays in the Processing of Applications for 
Providers Enrolling as Individuals 
If a provider’s enrollment application or Manage Change Request (MCR) does not 

contain errors, it will process more quickly. NC Medicaid and the NCTracks Enrollment 

Team frequently share information about commons errors that cause delays in processing 

applications and MCRs. 

mailto:NCTracksprovider@nctracks.com
https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-user-guides-and-training.html
https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-user-guides-and-training.html
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Providers enrolling as individuals (not organizations) are not required to add themselves 

as Managing Relationships on each service location of their record. In fact, doing so can 

cause delays because background checks are prompted for each when doing so. 
 

Providers must thoroughly review their electronic record in NCTracks to ensure all 

information is accurate and up-to-date, and take any actions necessary for corrections and 

updates. 
 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 or NCTracksProvider@nctracks.com 
 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

ICD-10 Update for 2019 
The 2019 ICD-10 update is effective Oct. 1, 2018 through Sept. 30, 2019, for provider 

use. Providers can access the list of ICD-10 codes on the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) website. The CMS files below include the 2019 new, deleted 

and revised codes. 
 

2019 ICD-10-CM 

• Go to https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Coding/ICD10/2019-ICD-10-CM.html

• Select, 2019 Code Descriptions in Tabular Order

• Then select, icd10cm_order-addenda_2019.txt
 

2018 ICD-10-PCS 

• Go to https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Coding/ICD10/2019-ICD-10-PCS.html

• Select, 2019-10-PCS Order File

• Then select, order_addenda_2019.txt
 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 
 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Balloon Ostial Dilation (BOD) Services Billed with 
Modifier 50 (Bilateral) 
Claims for balloon sinus ostial dilation billed with modifier 50 (bilateral) have been 

resulting in an underpayment to providers. The issue has been resolved. Providers with 

claims for the following procedures billed with modifier 50 on or after July 29, 2018, 

should resubmit their claims for reprocessing. The procedures are: 

• 31295 (nasal/sinus endoscopy, surgical; with dilation of maxillary sinus ostium),

mailto:NCTracksProvider@nctracks.com
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Coding/ICD10/
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Coding/ICD10/2019-ICD-10-CM.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Coding/ICD10/2019-ICD-10-PCS.html
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• 31296 (nasal/sinus endoscopy, surgical; with dilation of frontal sinus ostium), and

• 31297 (nasal/sinus endoscopy, surgical; with dilation of sphenoid sinus ostium).
 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 
 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Antihemophilic Factor (recombinant) PEGylated-aucl, for 
Intravenous use (Jivi®) HCPCS Code J7199: Billing 
Guidelines 
Effective with date of service Sept. 5, 2018, the Medicaid and NC Health Choice 

programs cover antihemophilic factor (recombinant) PEGylated-aucl, for intravenous use 

(Jivi) for use in the Physician's Drug Program (PDP) when billed with HCPCS code 

J7199-Hemophilia clotting factor, not otherwise classified. Jivi is commercially available 

as lyophilized powder in single-use vials containing nominally 500, 1000, 2000 or 3000 

IU. 
 

Jivi is indicated for use in previously treated adults and adolescents (12 years and older) 

with hemophilia A (congenital Factor VIII deficiency) for on-demand treatment and 

control of bleeding episodes, perioperative management of bleeding, and routine 

prophylaxis to reduce the frequency of bleeding episodes. 
 

Limitations of Use 
 

• Jivi is not indicated for use in children less than 12 years of age due to a greater 

risk for hypersensitivity reactions.

• Jivi is not indicated for use in previously untreated patients.

• Jivi is not indicated for the treatment of von Willebrand disease.
 

Recommended Dose 
 

Dosing for control and prevention of bleeding episodes—dose until bleeding is resolved 

• Minor bleed: Factor VIII level required (IU/dL): 20-40, Dose: 10-20 IU/kg, 

Frequency of doses: 24-48 hours

• Moderate bleed: Factor VIII level required (IU/dL): 30-60, Dose: 15-30 IU/kg, 

Frequency of doses: 24-48 hours

• Major bleed: Factor VIII level required (IU/dL): 60-100, Dose 30-50 IU/kg, 

Frequency of doses: 8-24 hours
 

Dosing for perioperative management 



MEDICAID BULLETIN OCTOBER 2018 

12 

 

 

 
 

• Minor surgery: Factor VIII level required (IU/dL): 30-60 (pre and post-operative), 

Dose: 15-30 IU/kg, Frequency of doses: 24 hours, Duration of Therapy: At least 1 

day until healing is achieved.

• Major surgery: Factor VIII level required (IU/dL): 80-100 (pre- and post- 

operative), Dose: 40 to 50 IU/kg, Frequency of doses: 12-24 hours, Duration of 

Therapy: Until adequate wound healing is complete, then continue for at least 

another 7 days to maintain a Factor VIII activity of 30-60 (IU/dL).
 

Prophylaxis dosing 

• The recommended initial regimen is 30–40 IU/kg twice weekly.

• Based on the bleeding episodes, the regimen may be adjusted to 45–60 IU/kg 

every 5 days and may be further individually adjusted to less or more frequent 

dosing.

• The total recommended maximum dose per infusion is approximately 6000 IU 

(rounded to vial size). See full prescribing information for further detail.
 

For Medicaid and NCHC Billing 
 

• The ICD-10-CM diagnosis code required for billing is D66-Hereditary factor VIII 

deficiency.

• Providers must bill with HCPCS code J7199-Hemophilia clotting factor, not 

otherwise classified.

• One Medicaid and NC Health Choice unit of coverage is 1 IU.

• Providers may contact the North Carolina Pharmacy Help Desk at 1-800-591- 

1183 or NCPharmacy@mslc.com and submit their invoice to establish a 

reimbursement rate.

• Providers must bill 11-digit National Drug Codes (NDCs) and appropriate NDC 

units. The NDCs are 00026-3942-25, 00026-3944-25, 00026-3946-25, 00026- 

3948-25, 00026-4942-01, 00026-4944-01, 00026-4946-01 and 00026-4948-01.

• The NDC units should be reported as “UN1.”

• For additional information, refer to the January 2012 Special Bulletin, National 

Drug Code Implementation Update.

• For additional information regarding NDC claim requirements related to the PDP, 

refer to the PDP Clinical Coverage Policy No. 1B, Attachment A, H.7 on the

NC Medicaid website. 

• Providers shall bill their usual and customary charge for non-340B drugs.

• PDP reimburses for drugs billed for Medicaid and NC Health Choice 

beneficiaries by 340B participating providers who have registered with the Office

mailto:NCPharmacy@mslc.com
https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://dma.ncdhhs.gov/document/physicians-drug-program-clinical-coverage-policies
https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
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of Pharmacy Affairs (OPA). Providers billing for 340B drugs shall bill the cost 

that is reflective of their acquisition cost. Providers shall indicate that a drug was 

purchased under a 340B purchasing agreement by appending the “UD” modifier 

on the drug detail. 

• The fee schedule for the Physician's Drug Program is on the NC Medicaid 

website’s PDP web page.
 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 
 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Patisiran Lipid Complex Injection, for Intravenous Use 
(Onpattro™) HCPCS Code J3490: Billing Guidelines 
Effective with date of service Sept. 5, 2018, the Medicaid and NC Health Choice 

programs cover patisiran lipid complex injection, for intravenous use (Onpattro) for use 

in the Physicians Drug Program (PDP) when billed with HCPCS code J3490 - 

Unclassified drugs. Onpattro is commercially available as 10 mg/5 mL in a single-dose 

vial. 
 

Onpattro is indicated for the treatment of the polyneuropathy of hereditary transthyretin- 

mediated amyloidosis in adults. 
 

Recommended Dose 
 

For patients weighing less than 100 kg, the recommended dosage is 0.3 mg/kg every 

3 weeks by intravenous infusion. For patients weighing 100 kg or more, the 

recommended dosage is 30 mg every 3 weeks by intravenous infusion. Premedicate with 

a corticosteroid, acetaminophen and antihistamines. See full prescribing information for 

further detail. 
 

For Medicaid and NCHC Billing 
 

• The ICD-10-CM diagnosis code required for billing is E85.1 - Neuropathic 

heredofamilial amyloidosis.

• Providers must bill with HCPCS code J3490-Unclassified drugs.

• One Medicaid and NC Health Choice unit of coverage is 1 mg.

• The maximum reimbursement rate per unit is $1026.00.

• Providers must bill 11-digit National Drug Codes (NDCs) and appropriate NDC 

units. The NDC is 71336-1000-01.

• The NDC units should be reported as “UN1.”

https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/physician-drug-program-pdp-fee-schedule
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• For additional information, refer to the January 2012 Special Bulletin, National 

Drug Code Implementation Update.

• For additional information regarding NDC claim requirements related to the PDP, 

refer to the PDP Clinical Coverage Policy No. 1B, Attachment A, H.7 on the NC 

Medicaid website.

• Providers shall bill their usual and customary charge for non-340B drugs.

• PDP reimburses for drugs billed for Medicaid and NC Health Choice 

beneficiaries by 340B participating providers who have registered with the Office 

of Pharmacy Affairs (OPA). Providers billing for 340B drugs shall bill the cost 

that is reflective of their acquisition cost. Providers shall indicate that a drug was 

purchased under a 340B purchasing agreement by appending the “UD” modifier 

on the drug detail.

• The fee schedule for the Physician's Drug Program is available on the 

NC Medicaid website’s PDP web page.
 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 
 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Plazomicin Injection, for Intravenous Use (Zemdri™) 
HCPCS Code J3490: Billing Guidelines 
Effective with date of service Aug. 17, 2018, the Medicaid and NC Health Choice 

programs cover plazomicin injection, for intravenous use (Zemdri) for use in the 

Physician's Drug Program when billed with HCPCS code J3490-Unclassified drugs. 

Zemdri is commercially available as a 500 mg/10 mL (50 mg/mL) as a single-dose vial. 
 

Zembri is indicated for the treatment of patients 18 years of age or older with 

complicated urinary tract infections (cUTI) including pyelonephritis. 

• As only limited clinical safety and efficacy data are available, reserve Zemdri for 

use in patients who have limited or no alternative treatment options.

• To reduce the development of drug-resistant bacteria and maintain effectiveness 

of Zemdri and other antibacterial drugs, Zemdri should be used only to treat 

infections that are proven or strongly suspected to be caused by susceptible 

microorganisms.
 

Recommended Dose 
 

15 mg/kg every 24 hours by intravenous infusion over 30 minutes for 4 to 7 days to 

patients 18 years of age or older with creatinine clearance greater than or equal to 90 

mL/min. Assess creatinine clearance in all patients prior to initiating therapy and daily 

https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://dma.ncdhhs.gov/document/physicians-drug-program-clinical-coverage-policies
https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/physician-drug-program-pdp-fee-schedule
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during therapy. See package insert for dosage regimens for patients with renal 

impairment. 
 

For Medicaid and NCHC Billing 
 

• The ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes required for billing are: 

o N39.0 - Urinary tract infection, site not specified 

o N10 - Acute pyelonephritis 

o N11.0 - Nonobstructive reflux-associated chronic pyelonephritis 

o N11.1 - Chronic obstructive pyelonephritis 

o N11.8 - Other chronic tubulo-interstitial nephritis 

o N11.9 - Chronic tubulo-interstitial nephritis, unspecified 

o N12 - Tubulo-interstitial nephritis, not specified as acute or chronic 

o N16 - Renal tubulo-interstitial disorders in diseases classified elsewhere 

o N30.00 - Acute cystitis without hematuria 

o N30.01 - Acute cystitis with hematuria 

o N30.20 - Other chronic cystitis without hematuria 

o N30.21 - Other chronic cystitis with hematuria 

o N30.80 - Other cystitis without hematuria 

o N30.81 - Other cystitis with hematuria 

o N30.90 - Cystitis, unspecified without hematuria 

o N30.91 - Cystitis, unspecified with hematuria 

o B96.1 - Klebsiella pneumoniae [K. pneumoniae] as the cause of diseases 

classified elsewhere 

o B96.20 - Unspecified Escherichia coli [E. coli] as the cause of diseases 

classified elsewhere 

o B96.21 - Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli [E. coli] (STEC) O157 as 

the cause of diseases classified elsewhere 

o B96.22 - Other specified Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli [E. coli] 

(STEC) as the cause of diseases classified elsewhere 

o B96.23 - Unspecified Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli [E. coli] 

(STEC) as the cause of diseases classified elsewhere 

o B96.29 - Other Escherichia coli [E. coli] as the cause of diseases classified 

elsewhere 
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o B96.89 - Other specified bacterial agents as the cause of diseases 

classified elsewhere 

o B96.4 - Proteus (mirabilis) (morganii) as the cause of diseases classified 

elsewhere 

• Providers must bill with HCPCS code J3490-Unclassified drugs. 

• One Medicaid and NCHC unit of coverage is 1 mg. 

• The maximum reimbursement rate per unit is $0.68. 

• Providers must bill 11-digit National Drug Codes (NDCs) and appropriate NDC 

units. The NDCs are 71045-0010-01, 71045-0010-02. 

• The NDC units should be reported as “UN1.” 

• For additional information, refer to the January 2012 Special Bulletin, National 

Drug Code Implementation Update. 

• For additional information regarding NDC claim requirements related to the PDP, 

refer to the PDP Clinical Coverage Policy No. 1B, Attachment A, H.7 on the NC 

Medicaid website. 

• Providers shall bill their usual and customary charge for non-340B drugs. 

• PDP reimburses for drugs billed for Medicaid and NC Health Choice 

beneficiaries by 340B participating providers who have registered with the Office 

of Pharmacy Affairs (OPA). Providers billing for 340B drugs shall bill the cost 

that is reflective of their acquisition cost. Providers shall indicate that a drug was 

purchased under a 340B purchasing agreement by appending the “UD” modifier 

on the drug detail. 

• The fee schedule for the Physician's Drug Program is available on the 

NC Medicaid website’s PDP web page. 
 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 
 
 

ATTENTION: HOSPITAL PROVIDERS 

Update to Reimbursement of Long Acting Reversible 
Contraceptives (LARCs) 
Effective for dates of service on or after Oct. 1, 2018, the following DRG 

classifications specific to LARCs will be added to the current Grouper 36 version 

within NCTracks for claims reimbursement. 

https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://dma.ncdhhs.gov/document/physicians-drug-program-clinical-coverage-policies
https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/physician-drug-program-pdp-fee-schedule
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A copy of the DRG Grouper Version 36 weights and thresholds in Excel format will be 

posted to the Hospital Fee Schedule web page under “Grouper 36 DRG Weight Table” on 

the NC Medicaid website. 
 

The NC Medicaid covers the insertion/implanting of Long Acting Reversible 

Contraceptives (LARCs) under Clinical Policy 1E – 7 Family Planning Services. 
 

New LARC DRGs 
 

Effective Oct. 1, 2018, new LARC diagnosis and procedure codes will be implemented to 

DRG Version 36 of the Medicare Grouper for reimbursement of claims. The new DRG 

codes listed will allow hospitals and physicians to receive additional fees for LARC 

insertion. In addition, the new policy allows hospitals to receive reimbursement for the 

cost of five LARC devices listed. 
 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
 

The payment of LARCs is included in the DRG payment of the delivery. Since this is a 

covered service, the cost of the LARC is an allowable cost on the cost report, which is 

used in the calculation of the MRI/GAP supplemental payments. 
 

Billing Notes 
 

AS UPDATED in January 2019 Special Bulletin, please note that effective Oct. 1, 2018 

the new 4-digit Long Acting Reversible Contraceptives (LARC) DRG code is not 

required to be submitted on the claim. Once Inpatient hospital LARC services are billed, 

the system will automatically assign the appropriate LARC DRG code listed below. 
 

1765 Cesarean Section W CC/MCC with LARC 

1766 Cesarean Section W/O CC/MCC with LARC 

1767 Vaginal Delivery W Sterilization &/or D&C with LARC 

1768 Vaginal Delivery W O.R. Proc Except Sterile &/or D&C with LARC 

1769 Postpartum & Post Abortion Diagnoses W O.R. Procedure with LARC 

1770 Abortion W D&C, Aspiration Curettage or Hysterectomy with LARC 

1774 Vaginal Delivery W Complicating Diagnoses with LARC 

1775 Vaginal Delivery W/O Complicating Diagnoses with LARC 

1776 Postpartum & Post Abortion Diagnoses W/O O.R. Procedure with LARC 

1777 Ectopic Pregnancy with LARC 

1779 Abortion W/O D&C with LARC 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/fee-schedule/hospital-fee-schedule
https://dma.ncdhhs.gov/document/obstetrics-and-gynecology-clinical-coverage-policies
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/SpecialBulletin_2019-LARC.pdf
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Hospital LARC claims should be billed using the following ICD-10-PCS codes: 

 
  OU.H97HZ Insertion of Contraceptive Device into Uterus, via Opening  

OU.H98HZ Insertion of Contraceptive Device into Uterus, Endo 

  OU.HC8HZ Insertion of Contraceptive Device into Cervix, Endo  

OU.HC7HZ Insertion of Contraceptive Device into Cervix, via Opening 

  OU.H90HZ Insertion of Contraceptive Device into Uterus, Open Approach  

Hospital LARC claims should be billed using the following Healthcare Common 

Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes: 
 

HCPCS Device 

J7297 Liletta® 

J7298 Mirena ® 

J7300 Paragard® 

J7301 Skyla® 

J7307 Nexplanon ® 

 

Outpatient Hospital Services 
 

If the LARC is inserted/implanted during an outpatient encounter, the LARC is billed on 

the claim, along with the appropriate HCPCS and NDC codes. If the LARC is billed 

under 340B pricing, the UD modifier must be used. OMA will reimburse the hospital 

claim at 70% of cost. Similar to inpatient services, the cost is allowable and will be 

considered in the calculation of the MRI/GAP supplemental payments. 
 

NC Medicaid Provider Reimbursement, 919-814-0060 
 
 

ATTENTION: LONG-TERM SERVICES AND SUPPORTS PROVIDERS 

Pre-Admission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) 
Program Update 
The Department of Health and Human Services is implementing the Referral Screening 

Verification Process (RSVP) for individuals being considered for admission to an Adult 

Care Home (ACH) effective Nov. 1, 2018. 
 

RSVP will replace Pre-Admission Screening Resident Review (PASRR) for ACHs, 

providing a more streamlined and effective process to screen Transition to Community 

Living Initiative (TCLI) target populations. 
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Regardless of diagnosis, all Medicaid-eligible individuals being considered for admission 

to ACHs, except group homes, will require the referral screening verification be 

completed. The ACH PASRR will no longer exist for ACH admissions after the RSVP 

implementation date of Nov. 1, 2018. 
 

Currently, for Personal Care Services expedited processing eligibility, beneficiaries 

admitted to an ACH (excluding 5600 facilities), must have an ACH PASRR number. 

After RSVP is implemented, the beneficiary will be required to have a referral screening 

verification number instead of an ACH PASRR number. 
 

Additional information pertaining to RSVP will be communicated soon. 
 

NC DMH/DD/SAS, TCLI Diversion Lead, 919-715-2056 
 
 

ATTENTION: PERSONAL CARE SERVICES PROVIDERS 

Regional Provider Trainings 
Personal Care Services (PCS) regional training sessions will be held Oct. 18-Nov. 1, 

2018. Registration begins at 8 a.m. and training will be held from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. 

Training sessions are free, but registration is required. Providers can register through the 

Liberty Healthcare Corp. of North Carolina Medicaid PCS Website beginning Sept. 24, 

2018. Prior to training, training topics and materials will be available to registered 

participants on the Liberty website. 
 

Event Dates and Locations 
 

Thursday, Oct. 18, 2018 – Greenville 

Hilton Greenville 

207 SW Greenville Blvd 

Ballroom 
 

Monday, Oct. 22, 2018 – Raleigh 

Jane S. McKimmon Conference and Training Center 

NCSU, 1101 Gorman St. 

Rooms will be posted at Information Desk 
 

Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2018 – Fayetteville 

Embassy Suites-Fort Bragg 

4760 Lake Valley Drive 

Ballroom 
 

Monday, Oct. 29, 2018 – Asheville 

Renaissance Asheville Hotel 

31 Woodfin St. 

https://nc-pcs.com/
https://nc-pcs.com/


MEDICAID BULLETIN OCTOBER 2018 

20 

 

 

 
 

Ballroom 
 

Tuesday, Oct. 30, 2018 – Charlotte 

Great Wolf Lodge Convention Center 

10175 Weddington Rd. 

White Pine Ballroom 
 

Thursday, Nov. 1, 2018 – Greensboro 

Embassy Suites by Hilton Greensboro Airport 

204 Centrepoint Dr. 

Ballroom 
 

Liberty Healthcare Corporation of North Carolina, 1-855-740-1400 or NC Medicaid 

at 919-855-4360 
 

 

ATTENTION: SPECIALIZED THERAPIES PROVIDERS 

Updates to Clinical Coverage Policy 10A: Outpatient 
Specialized Therapies 
Effective Sept. 15, 2018, Clinical Coverage Policy 10A, Outpatient Specialized 

Therapies, was updated to increase therapy visit limits for recipients 21 years of age and 

older. A summary of the most significant changes follows. 
 

In section 3.2.1.5 Evaluation Services, the following language was added: 

An evaluation visit also incorporates any immediate treatment warranted 

based on the evaluation results. No prior authorization is needed for 

evaluation visits or for treatment rendered as part of an evaluation visit. 
 

In section 3.2.1.8 Re-evaluation Services, and 5.2 Prior Approval Requirements, 

Section 5.2.2 Specific, the following language was deleted: 

The re-evaluation report must report the frequency at which the beneficiary 

receives the same type of health-related service provided as part of the public 

school’s special education program or as part of an early intervention 

program when applicable. 
 

In section 5.2 Prior Approval Requirements, Section 5.2.2 Specific, the following 

language was also deleted: 

For audiology services (AUD) and speech/language services (ST) prior 

approval, a written report of an evaluation must occur within six (6) months 

of the requested beginning date of treatment. When continued treatment is 

requested, an annual re-evaluation of the beneficiary’s status and 

performance must be documented in a written evaluation report. The re- 
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evaluation report must include the frequency at which the beneficiary 

receives the same type of health-related service provided as part of the public 

school’s special education program or as part of an early intervention 

program when applicable. 
 

In section 5.4 Visit Limitations Beneficiaries 21 Years of Age and Older, the language 

specific to the annual and episodic visit limits for beneficiaries 21 years of age and older 

was deleted and replaced with: 

The first prior approval request within a calendar year shall be for no more 

than three therapy treatment visits and one month. The PA review vendor will 

authorize these three treatment visits to begin as early as the day following the 

submission of the PA request. Any subsequent PA may be obtained for up to 

12 therapy treatment visits and six months. A beneficiary can receive a 

maximum of 27 therapy treatment visits per calendar year across all therapy 

disciplines combined (occupational therapy, physical therapy and 

speech/language therapy). Each reauthorization request must document the 

efficacy of treatment. 
 

In section 7.5 Requirements When the Type of Treatment Services Are the Same as 

Those Provided by the Beneficiary’s Public School or Early Intervention Program, 

the following language was deleted: 

the combined frequency of services must be medically necessary to address 

the beneficiary’s deficits. The provider must document on the PA request as 

well as on the Treatment Plan the frequency at which the beneficiary receives 

the same type of health-related treatment services provided as part of the 

public school’s special education program or as part of an early intervention 

program Services 
 

In Attachment A: Claims-Related Information, Section B. International 

Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, Tenth Revisions, Clinical 

Modification (ICD-10-CM) and Procedural Coding System (PCS), all tables 

containing ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes were removed. 
 

In Attachment A: Claims-Related Information, Section C. Code(s), all tables 

containing surgical CPT codes were removed. 
 

In Attachment A: Claims-Related Information, Section E. Billing Units, the 

following language was added: 

Billing for co-treatment services, therapy treatment services provided by OT 

and PT for a single Medicaid or NCHC beneficiary as a single visit, shall not 

exceed the total amount of time spent with the beneficiary. OT and PT must 

split the time and bill only timed CPT codes. Co-treatment visits including 

speech therapy must be at least 38 minutes in session length to bill both one 

event of speech therapy and one unit of a timed CPT code for occupational or 
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physical therapy. Additional timed CPT codes for occupational or physical 

therapy may be billed only when the session length is extended by an 

additional 15 minutes for either the occupational therapy or physical therapy 

treatment. 
 

Additional Resources 
 

The full text of Clinical Coverage Policy 10A is available at NC Medicaid’s Outpatient 

Specialized Therapy Services web page. Additional information can also be found at the 

ChoicePA website. 
 

 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/programs-services/medical/Outpatient-Specialized-Therapies
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/programs-services/medical/Outpatient-Specialized-Therapies
https://choicepa.medicaidprograms.org/Account/Login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2fHUB.aspx

