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ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Proposed Clinical Coverage Policies for Public Comment 
Proposed new or amended Medicaid and NC Health Choice clinical coverage policies are 
posted for comment throughout the month. Visit the Proposed Medicaid and NC Health 
Choice Policies for current posted policies and instructions to submit a comment. 

As of Oct. 1, 2018, the following NC Medicaid policies are open for public comment: 

PROPOSED POLICY COMMENT PERIOD 

8-J, Children's Developmental Service Agencies (CDSAs) 09/27/2018 10/27/2018 

6B, Routine Eye Examination and Visual Aids for Beneficiaries 
21 Years of Age and Older  
New policy documenting restored coverage of routine eye 
examinations and visual aids for Medicaid beneficiaries 
21 years of age and older.  

09/26/2018 11/10/2018 

11A-17, CAR-T Cell Therapy 09/17/2018 11/01/2018 

3L, State Plan Personal Care Services (PCS) 09/06/2018 10/21/2018 

9, Outpatient Pharmacy 08/30/2018 10/14/2018 

1H, Telemedicine and Telepsychiatry 08/27/2018 10/11/2018 

1E-7, Family Planning Services 08/22/2018 10/06/2018 
 
NC Medicaid Clinical Policy, 919-855-4260 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Clinical Coverage Policies 
The following new or amended Medicaid and NC Health Choice clinical coverage 
policies were posted since Aug. 31, 2018. Visit the NC Medicaid website to view the 
policies. 

• 2A-1, Acute Inpatient Hospital Services – 09/07/2018 

• 10-A, Outpatient Specialized Therapies – 09/13/2018 

• 1A-24, Diabetes Outpatient Self-Management Education – 10/01/2018 

These policies supersede previously published policies and procedures.  
 
NC Medicaid Clinical Policy, 919-855-4260 
 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/get-involved/proposed-medicaid-and-nc-health-choice-policies
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/get-involved/proposed-medicaid-and-nc-health-choice-policies
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-8J-Childrens-Dev-Serv-Agencies.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-6B-CT-Adult%20Routine%20Eye%20Exam.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-6B-CT-Adult%20Routine%20Eye%20Exam.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-11A-17-CAR-T-Therapy.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-3L-CT-PCS.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-9-CT-Outpatient-Pharm.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-1-H-Telemedicine.pdf
https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/public-comment/Public-Comment-1E-7%20FamilyPlanning.pdf
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/clinical-coverage-policies
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ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Are You in Compliance with North Carolina Law? 
One of the goals of a transformed health care system is for real-time clinical and 
demographic data to be made available to all health care providers involved in a patient’s 
care so that they can securely share health information concerning that patient with each 
other. North Carolina health care providers are required by law to connect with 
NC HealthConnex, North Carolina’s designated health information exchange, by specific 
deadlines:  

• June 1, 2018. Hospitals as defined by G.S. 131E-176(13), physicians licensed to 
practice under Article 1 of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes, physician assistants 
as defined in 21 NCAC 32S .0201, and nurse practitioners as defined in 21 NCAC 
36 .0801 who provide Medicaid services and who have an electronic health record 
system. 

• June 1, 2019. All other providers of Medicaid and state-funded services except 
dentists, ambulatory surgical centers and pharmacies.  

• Early 2019. Prepaid Health Plans (PHPs), as defined in S.L. 2015-245 as 
amended, will be required to connect to the HIE per their contracts with the NC 
Department of Health and Human Services (NCDHHS). PHPs will be required to 
submit encounter and claims data by the commencement of the contract with 
NCDHHS. 

• June 1, 2020. Local Management Entities/Managed Care Organizations 
(LMEs/MCOs) will be required to submit encounter and claims data. 

• June 1, 2021. Dentists and ambulatory surgical centers will be required to submit 
clinical and demographic data (NCSL 2018-41). Pharmacies will be required to 
submit claims data once per day, using pharmacy industry standardized formats. 

Important Note for Health Care Providers Who Did Not Connect by June 1, 2018 

Hospitals, physicians, physician assistants and nurse practitioners, as described above, 
who did not start the connection process by June 1, 2018, are not in compliance with state 
law. NC Medicaid will work collaboratively with these providers to bring them into 
compliance, including issuing corrective action plans. At this time, noncompliant 
providers will continue to be enrolled in NC Medicaid and, as they file claims, will 
receive reimbursements for services and treatment of NC Medicaid beneficiaries. 

What Does “Connected” Mean? 

To meet the state’s mandate, a Medicaid provider is “connected” when its clinical and 
demographic information pertaining to services paid for by Medicaid and other State-
funded health care funds are being sent to NC HealthConnex, at least twice daily—either 
through a direct connection or via a hub (i.e., a larger system with which it participates, 
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another regional HIE with which it participates or an EHR vendor). Participation 
agreements signed with the designated entity would need to list all affiliate connections. 

The North Carolina Health Information Exchange Authority (HIEA), the state agency 
managing NC HealthConnex, and NC Medicaid appreciate the many providers who have 
initiated a connection and are making data available through the system. Medicaid and 
the HIEA will continue to work closely together to ensure that NC HealthConnex 
develops to support health care providers and enables all of us to better serve patients and 
families. 

To start the connection process, providers can call HIEA at the number below. Sign up 
here to be placed on the HIEA’s distribution list for monthly updates.  

NC HIEA, 919-754-6912 or hiea@nc.gov 

 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Updates to the NC Medicaid Electronic Health Record 
(EHR) Incentive Program 
Per the updated IPPS Final Rule released Aug. 2, 2018, the EHR reporting period will 
now be referred to as the Promoting Interoperability (PI) reporting period. The PI 
reporting period is any continuous 90-day period or full calendar year within the program 
year in which a provider successfully demonstrates meaningful use (MU) of certified 
EHR technology. Providers will see this change when attesting in NC-MIPS. 

NC Medicaid EHR Incentive Payment System (NC-MIPS) is Open for Program Year 
2018 

NC-MIPS is accepting Program Year 2018 Modified Stage 2 and Stage 3 Meaningful 
Use attestations. (Note that the NC-MIPS Portal will be unavailable between 5 p.m. on 
Oct. 3, 2018 and 7 a.m. on Oct. 8, 2018 for scheduled maintenance.) 

TIP: Providers paid for Program Year 2017 using a 90-day patient volume reporting 
period from May 1, 2017 through Dec. 31, 2017, may use the same patient volume 
reporting period to attest now for Program Year 2018. 

In Program Year 2018, eligible professionals (EPs) may continue using a 90-day PI 
reporting period. EPs may attest with a 90-day Clinical Quality Measure (CQM) 
reporting period if they only attested to adopt, implement or upgrade (AIU) thus far and 
will be attesting to MU for the first time in Program Year 2018. They will see no changes 
to the attestation process in NC-MIPS.  

https://hiea.nc.gov/contact-us
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2018/08/17/2018-16766/medicare-program-hospital-inpatient-prospective-payment-systems-for-acute-care-hospitals-and-the
https://ncmips.nctracks.nc.gov/Home.aspx


MEDICAID BULLETIN OCTOBER 2018 
 

5 
 

However, EPs who have met MU in a previous program year will be required to use a full 
calendar year CQM reporting period in Program Year 2018. Since the CQM reporting 
period must be a full calendar year for these EPs, they will not be able to submit CQM 
data in NC-MIPS until Jan. 1, 2019. EPs who would like an early review of requirements, 
excluding CQMs, will be allowed to submit their attestation in two parts. 

Part 1 of the attestation may be submitted between May 1, 2018 and Dec. 31, 2018. It 
includes demographic, license, patient volume and MU objective data. EPs will not be 
required to sign or email any documentation for Part 1. The signed attestation packet will 
be emailed only once—after submission of CQMs.  

After Part 1 is submitted on NC-MIPS, program staff will conduct validations. DHHS 
will notify EPs of any discrepancies, giving EPs ample time to address any issues.  

After Part 1 is validated, EPs may return Jan. 1, 2019 through April 30, 2019, to submit 
their CQM data on NC-MIPS. After submitting that information on NC-MIPS, providers 
will email the signed attestation packet and CQM report from the EP’s EHR to 
NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov to complete Part 2 of the attestation. 

Note: This process does not increase or reduce the information being submitted but 
allows EPs to complete their attestation in a 12-month window instead of in four months. 

EPs who attested in NC-MIPS in a previous year will be automatically directed to the 
appropriate page in NC-MIPS. EPs who attested with another state should email 
NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov prior to attesting for Program Year 2018. 

For those practices unsure if a new provider is able to participate in the NC Medicaid 
EHR Incentive Program in Program Year 2018, please email the provider’s NPI to 
NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov and program staff will determine if the provider 
previously attested with another practice. As a reminder, EPs must have successfully 
participated in a Medicaid EHR Incentive Program at least once before the end of 
Program Year 2016 to be able to participate in program years 2017 to 2021. 

Visit the program website for more information. 

NC Medicaid EHR Incentive Program, NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov  
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

NCTracks Provider Training Available in October 2018 
Registration is open for several instructor-led training courses for providers that will be 
held in October 2018. The duration varies depending on the course. WebEx courses are 
limited to 115 participants. They can be attended remotely from any location with a 
telephone, computer and internet connection. Onsite courses include hands-on training 

mailto:NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov
mailto:NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov
mailto:NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov
https://dma.ncdhhs.gov/providers/programs-and-services/nc-medicaid-electronic-health-record-incentive-program
mailto:NCMedicaid.HIT@dhhs.nc.gov
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and are limited to 45 participants. They are offered in-person at the GDIT facility at 2610 
Wycliff Road in Raleigh. Following are details on the courses, including dates, times and 
how to enroll. 

Provider Web Portal Applications (WebEx) 
Oct. 3, 2018, 1–4 p.m. 

This course will guide you through the process of submitting all types of provider 
applications found on the NCTracks Provider Portal. This course will also detail what to 
expect once your applications have been submitted. At the end of this training, you will 
be able to:  

• Understand the Provider Enrollment Application processes  

• Navigate to the NCTracks Provider Portal and complete the following Provider 
Enrollment Application processes: Provider Enrollment, Manage Change Request 
(MCR), Re-Enrollment, Re-verification and Maintain Eligibility  

• Track and submit applications using the Status and Management page 

Advanced Medical Home Tier Attestation (WebEx) 
Oct. 5, 2018, 9:30–11 a.m. 

This course will guide the user through completing the Advanced Medical Home Tier 
Attestation via the secure Provider Portal. 

ES User Role, Abbreviated MCRs and Upload Documents (WebEx) 
Oct. 8, 2018, 10 a.m.– 12 p.m. 

This course will guide you through the following enhancements to the provider 
enrollment application processes:  

• Enrollment Specialist user role  

• Uploading supporting documents  

• Abbreviated Manage Change Request (MCR) applications 

Prior Approvals: Dental & Orthodontic (WebEx) 
Oct. 15, 2018, 9:30 a.m.–12 p.m. 

This course shows authorized users how to electronically submit and inquire about prior 
approval requests for dental and orthodontic procedures. At the end of this training, the 
user will be able to:  

• Submit dental prior approvals requests  

• Inquire about dental prior approval requests 
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Submitting Dental & Orthodontic Claims (WebEx) 
Oct. 15, 2018, 1 p.m.–4 p.m. 

This course will focus on how to submit a Dental and Orthodontic Claims. At the end of 
training, as an authorized user, you will be able to manage the following:  

• Create a Dental Claim via the NCTracks web portal  

• Submit a Dental Claim 

•  Save a Draft Claim  

• Use Claims Draft Search 

• Submit a Claim  

• View results of a Claim submission 

Reverification Overview (WebEx) 
Oct. 18, 2018, 1 p.m.–2:30 p.m. 

This course serves as a refresher for the steps taken by the provider to complete the Re-
verification process through NCTracks. At the end of training, you will be able to:  

At the end of training, you will be able to: 

• Explain why provider Re-verification is requested and what the process entails 

• Complete the Re-verification process in NCTracks 

• Update Owners and Managing Relationships if necessary while completing Re-
verification application  

Submitting Medical Prior Approval (On-Site) 
Oct. 25, 2018, 9:30 a.m.–12 p.m. 

This course shows authorized users how to electronically submit and inquire about prior 
approvals for different kinds of medical services. After completing this course, 
authorized users will be able to submit Prior Approvals electronically and conduct 
electronic inquiries about Prior Approvals 

Submitting Professional Claims (On-Site) 
Oct. 25, 2018, 1–4:30 p.m. 

The NCTracks Provider Portal uses your NCID username and password to gain access to 
a secure online environment for submitting claims. This course will focus on how to 
submit a Professional Claim. At the end of training, as an authorized user, the user will be 
able to do the following:  

• Submit a Professional claim  
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• Save a Draft  

• Use Claims Draft Search  

• Submit a claim  

• View results of a claim submission  

• Void and Replace paid claims 

Training Enrollment Instructions  

Providers can register for these courses in SkillPort, the NCTracks Learning Management 
System. Log on to the secure NCTracks Provider Portal and click Provider Training to 
access SkillPort. Open the folder labeled Provider Computer-Based Training (CBT) and 
Instructor Led Training (ILT). The courses can be found in the sub-folders labeled ILTs: 
On-site or ILTs: Remote via WebEx, depending on the format of the course. Refer to the 
Provider Training page of the public Provider Portal for specific instructions on how to 
use SkillPort. The Provider Training page also includes a quick reference about 
downloading Java, which is required for the use of SkillPort.  

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Reminder: Changes to the Recredentialing Process 
NC Medicaid first alerted providers of changes to the recredentialing process in the 
February 2018 and August 2018 Medicaid Bulletins. 

The terms recredentialing, reverification and revalidation are synonymous. 

In April 2018, the recredentialing notification and suspension process was modified. The 
previous rule to extend the recredentialing due date if a Manage Change Request 
(MCR) Application is “In Review” has been removed. Therefore, if a change is 
required via an MCR, the MCR process must be completed before the 
recredentialing due date.  

Providers will be suspended if the recredentialing application is not submitted by their 
recredentialing due date. Provider will be terminated from the North Carolina Medicaid 
and NC Health Choice programs following 50 days of suspension. 

A list of providers scheduled for recredentialing in 2018 is available on the Provider 
Enrollment page of the NC Medicaid website under the “Recredentialing” header. 
Providers can use this resource to determine their recredentialing/revalidation due date 
and the month to begin the recredentialing process. Organizations and systems with 

https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-user-guides-and-training/provider-training.html
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/documents/2018-medicaid-bulletin-and-index
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/provider-enrollment
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multiple providers may download this list, which includes National Provider Identifier 
(NPI) numbers and provider names, to compare with their provider list.  

Recredentialing is not optional. It is crucial that all providers who receive a notice 
promptly respond and begin the process. Providers are required to pay the $100 
application fee for recredentialing. Providers must thoroughly review their electronic 
record in NCTracks to ensure all information is accurate and up-to-date and take any 
actions necessary for corrections and updates. If terminated, the provider must submit a 
re-enrollment application to be reinstated. 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 or NCTracksprovider@nctracks.com 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Update Provider Enrollment Information  
Pursuant to Section 6.a. of the NCDHHS Provider Administrative Participation 
Agreement, providers are required to update their enrollment records in NCTracks within 
30 days of a change. Commonly, affiliation and taxonomy information are overlooked. 
Individual providers must review their affiliations by location for accuracy. Providers 
should end-date any affiliations that are not current. Providers must make sure their 
physical addresses are correct with the accurate taxonomy.  

Providers must also update their expiring licenses, certifications and accreditations. The 
system currently suspends and terminates providers who fail to respond within the 
specified time limits. 

Providers can avoid processing delays by ensuring all information is accurate and 
up-to-date. Providers are encouraged to begin the Managed Change Request 
process to make necessary corrections and updates. For assistance, providers should 
reference the NCTracks Provider User Guides and Training, Provider Record 
Maintenance.  

NC Medicaid Provider Services, 919-855-4050 
 

ATTENTION ALL PROVIDERS 

Avoid Delays in the Processing of Applications for 
Providers Enrolling as Individuals 
If a provider’s enrollment application or Manage Change Request (MCR) does not 
contain errors, it will process more quickly. NC Medicaid and the NCTracks Enrollment 
Team frequently share information about commons errors that cause delays in processing 
applications and MCRs.  

https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-user-guides-and-training.html
https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-user-guides-and-training.html
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Providers enrolling as individuals (not organizations) are not required to add themselves 
as Managing Relationships on each service location of their record. In fact, doing so can 
cause delays because background checks are prompted for each when doing so.  

Providers must thoroughly review their electronic record in NCTracks to ensure all 
information is accurate and up-to-date, and take any actions necessary for corrections and 
updates.  

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 or NCTracksProvider@nctracks.com  
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

ICD-10 Update for 2019 
The 2019 ICD-10 update is effective Oct. 1, 2018 through Sept. 30, 2019, for provider 
use. Providers can access the list of ICD-10 codes on the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS) website. The CMS files below include the 2019 new, deleted 
and revised codes. 

2019 ICD-10-CM 

• Go to https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Coding/ICD10/2019-ICD-10-CM.html  

• Select, 2019 Code Descriptions in Tabular Order 

• Then select, icd10cm_order-addenda_2019.txt 

2018 ICD-10-PCS 

• Go to https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Coding/ICD10/2019-ICD-10-PCS.html 

• Select, 2019-10-PCS Order File 

• Then select, order_addenda_2019.txt 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Balloon Ostial Dilation (BOD) Services Billed with 
Modifier 50 (Bilateral) 
Claims for balloon sinus ostial dilation billed with modifier 50 (bilateral) have been 
resulting in an underpayment to providers. The issue has been resolved. Providers with 
claims for the following procedures billed with modifier 50 on or after July 29, 2018, 
should resubmit their claims for reprocessing. The procedures are: 

• 31295 (nasal/sinus endoscopy, surgical; with dilation of maxillary sinus ostium),  

mailto:NCTracksProvider@nctracks.com
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Coding/ICD10/
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Coding/ICD10/2019-ICD-10-CM.html
https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Coding/ICD10/2019-ICD-10-PCS.html
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• 31296 (nasal/sinus endoscopy, surgical; with dilation of frontal sinus ostium), and  

• 31297 (nasal/sinus endoscopy, surgical; with dilation of sphenoid sinus ostium). 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Antihemophilic Factor (recombinant) PEGylated-aucl, for 
Intravenous use (Jivi®) HCPCS Code J7199: Billing 
Guidelines 
Effective with date of service Sept. 5, 2018, the Medicaid and NC Health Choice 
programs cover antihemophilic factor (recombinant) PEGylated-aucl, for intravenous use 
(Jivi) for use in the Physician's Drug Program (PDP) when billed with HCPCS code 
J7199-Hemophilia clotting factor, not otherwise classified. Jivi is commercially available 
as lyophilized powder in single-use vials containing nominally 500, 1000, 2000 or 3000 
IU. 

Jivi is indicated for use in previously treated adults and adolescents (12 years and older) 
with hemophilia A (congenital Factor VIII deficiency) for on-demand treatment and 
control of bleeding episodes, perioperative management of bleeding, and routine 
prophylaxis to reduce the frequency of bleeding episodes. 

Limitations of Use 

• Jivi is not indicated for use in children less than 12 years of age due to a greater 
risk for hypersensitivity reactions. 

• Jivi is not indicated for use in previously untreated patients. 

• Jivi is not indicated for the treatment of von Willebrand disease. 

Recommended Dose 

Dosing for control and prevention of bleeding episodes—dose until bleeding is resolved 

• Minor bleed: Factor VIII level required (IU/dL): 20-40, Dose: 10-20 IU/kg, 
Frequency of doses: 24-48 hours 

• Moderate bleed: Factor VIII level required (IU/dL): 30-60, Dose: 15-30 IU/kg, 
Frequency of doses: 24-48 hours 

• Major bleed: Factor VIII level required (IU/dL): 60-100, Dose 30-50 IU/kg, 
Frequency of doses: 8-24 hours 

Dosing for perioperative management 
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• Minor surgery: Factor VIII level required (IU/dL): 30-60 (pre and post-operative), 
Dose: 15-30 IU/kg, Frequency of doses: 24 hours, Duration of Therapy: At least 1 
day until healing is achieved. 

• Major surgery: Factor VIII level required (IU/dL): 80-100 (pre- and post-
operative), Dose: 40 to 50 IU/kg, Frequency of doses: 12-24 hours, Duration of 
Therapy: Until adequate wound healing is complete, then continue for at least 
another 7 days to maintain a Factor VIII activity of 30-60 (IU/dL). 

Prophylaxis dosing 

• The recommended initial regimen is 30–40 IU/kg twice weekly. 

• Based on the bleeding episodes, the regimen may be adjusted to 45–60 IU/kg 
every 5 days and may be further individually adjusted to less or more frequent 
dosing. 

• The total recommended maximum dose per infusion is approximately 6000 IU 
(rounded to vial size). See full prescribing information for further detail. 

For Medicaid and NCHC Billing 

• The ICD-10-CM diagnosis code required for billing is D66-Hereditary factor VIII 
deficiency. 

• Providers must bill with HCPCS code J7199-Hemophilia clotting factor, not 
otherwise classified. 

• One Medicaid and NC Health Choice unit of coverage is 1 IU.  

• Providers may contact the North Carolina Pharmacy Help Desk at 1-800-591-
1183 or NCPharmacy@mslc.com and submit their invoice to establish a 
reimbursement rate. 

• Providers must bill 11-digit National Drug Codes (NDCs) and appropriate NDC 
units. The NDCs are 00026-3942-25, 00026-3944-25, 00026-3946-25, 00026-
3948-25, 00026-4942-01, 00026-4944-01, 00026-4946-01 and 00026-4948-01. 

• The NDC units should be reported as “UN1.” 

• For additional information, refer to the January 2012 Special Bulletin, National 
Drug Code Implementation Update. 

• For additional information regarding NDC claim requirements related to the PDP, 
refer to the PDP Clinical Coverage Policy No. 1B, Attachment A, H.7 on the 
NC Medicaid website. 

• Providers shall bill their usual and customary charge for non-340B drugs. 

• PDP reimburses for drugs billed for Medicaid and NC Health Choice 
beneficiaries by 340B participating providers who have registered with the Office 

https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://dma.ncdhhs.gov/document/physicians-drug-program-clinical-coverage-policies
https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
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of Pharmacy Affairs (OPA). Providers billing for 340B drugs shall bill the cost 
that is reflective of their acquisition cost. Providers shall indicate that a drug was 
purchased under a 340B purchasing agreement by appending the “UD” modifier 
on the drug detail. 

• The fee schedule for the Physician's Drug Program is on the NC Medicaid 
website’s PDP web page. 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS  

Patisiran Lipid Complex Injection, for Intravenous Use 
(Onpattro™) HCPCS Code J3490: Billing Guidelines 
Effective with date of service Sept. 5, 2018, the Medicaid and NC Health Choice 
programs cover patisiran lipid complex injection, for intravenous use (Onpattro) for use 
in the Physicians Drug Program (PDP) when billed with HCPCS code J3490 - 
Unclassified drugs. Onpattro is commercially available as 10 mg/5 mL in a single-dose 
vial.  

Onpattro is indicated for the treatment of the polyneuropathy of hereditary transthyretin-
mediated amyloidosis in adults.  

Recommended Dose 

For patients weighing less than 100 kg, the recommended dosage is 0.3 mg/kg every 
3 weeks by intravenous infusion. For patients weighing 100 kg or more, the 
recommended dosage is 30 mg every 3 weeks by intravenous infusion. Premedicate with 
a corticosteroid, acetaminophen and antihistamines. See full prescribing information for 
further detail. 

For Medicaid and NCHC Billing 

• The ICD-10-CM diagnosis code required for billing is E85.1 - Neuropathic 
heredofamilial amyloidosis. 

• Providers must bill with HCPCS code J3490-Unclassified drugs. 

• One Medicaid and NC Health Choice unit of coverage is 1 mg.  

• The maximum reimbursement rate per unit is $1026.00. 

• Providers must bill 11-digit National Drug Codes (NDCs) and appropriate NDC 
units. The NDC is 71336-1000-01. 

• The NDC units should be reported as “UN1.” 

https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/physician-drug-program-pdp-fee-schedule
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• For additional information, refer to the January 2012 Special Bulletin, National 
Drug Code Implementation Update. 

• For additional information regarding NDC claim requirements related to the PDP, 
refer to the PDP Clinical Coverage Policy No. 1B, Attachment A, H.7 on the NC 
Medicaid website. 

• Providers shall bill their usual and customary charge for non-340B drugs. 

• PDP reimburses for drugs billed for Medicaid and NC Health Choice 
beneficiaries by 340B participating providers who have registered with the Office 
of Pharmacy Affairs (OPA). Providers billing for 340B drugs shall bill the cost 
that is reflective of their acquisition cost. Providers shall indicate that a drug was 
purchased under a 340B purchasing agreement by appending the “UD” modifier 
on the drug detail. 

• The fee schedule for the Physician's Drug Program is available on the 
NC Medicaid website’s PDP web page. 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 
 

ATTENTION: ALL PROVIDERS 

Plazomicin Injection, for Intravenous Use (Zemdri™) 
HCPCS Code J3490: Billing Guidelines 
Effective with date of service Aug. 17, 2018, the Medicaid and NC Health Choice 
programs cover plazomicin injection, for intravenous use (Zemdri) for use in the 
Physician's Drug Program when billed with HCPCS code J3490-Unclassified drugs. 
Zemdri is commercially available as a 500 mg/10 mL (50 mg/mL) as a single-dose vial. 

Zembri is indicated for the treatment of patients 18 years of age or older with 
complicated urinary tract infections (cUTI) including pyelonephritis.  

• As only limited clinical safety and efficacy data are available, reserve Zemdri for 
use in patients who have limited or no alternative treatment options.  

• To reduce the development of drug-resistant bacteria and maintain effectiveness 
of Zemdri and other antibacterial drugs, Zemdri should be used only to treat 
infections that are proven or strongly suspected to be caused by susceptible 
microorganisms.  

Recommended Dose 

15 mg/kg every 24 hours by intravenous infusion over 30 minutes for 4 to 7 days to 
patients 18 years of age or older with creatinine clearance greater than or equal to 90 
mL/min. Assess creatinine clearance in all patients prior to initiating therapy and daily 

https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://dma.ncdhhs.gov/document/physicians-drug-program-clinical-coverage-policies
https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/physician-drug-program-pdp-fee-schedule
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during therapy. See package insert for dosage regimens for patients with renal 
impairment.  

For Medicaid and NCHC Billing 

• The ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes required for billing are: 

o N39.0 - Urinary tract infection, site not specified 

o N10 - Acute pyelonephritis 

o N11.0 - Nonobstructive reflux-associated chronic pyelonephritis 

o N11.1 - Chronic obstructive pyelonephritis 

o N11.8 - Other chronic tubulo-interstitial nephritis 

o N11.9 - Chronic tubulo-interstitial nephritis, unspecified 

o N12 - Tubulo-interstitial nephritis, not specified as acute or chronic 

o N16 - Renal tubulo-interstitial disorders in diseases classified elsewhere 

o N30.00 - Acute cystitis without hematuria 

o N30.01 - Acute cystitis with hematuria 

o N30.20 - Other chronic cystitis without hematuria 

o N30.21 - Other chronic cystitis with hematuria 

o N30.80 - Other cystitis without hematuria 

o N30.81 - Other cystitis with hematuria 

o N30.90 - Cystitis, unspecified without hematuria 

o N30.91 - Cystitis, unspecified with hematuria 

o B96.1 - Klebsiella pneumoniae [K. pneumoniae] as the cause of diseases 
classified elsewhere 

o B96.20 - Unspecified Escherichia coli [E. coli] as the cause of diseases 
classified elsewhere 

o B96.21 - Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli [E. coli] (STEC) O157 as 
the cause of diseases classified elsewhere 

o B96.22 - Other specified Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli [E. coli] 
(STEC) as the cause of diseases classified elsewhere 

o B96.23 - Unspecified Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli [E. coli] 
(STEC) as the cause of diseases classified elsewhere 

o B96.29 - Other Escherichia coli [E. coli] as the cause of diseases classified 
elsewhere 
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o B96.89 - Other specified bacterial agents as the cause of diseases 
classified elsewhere 

o B96.4 - Proteus (mirabilis) (morganii) as the cause of diseases classified 
elsewhere 

• Providers must bill with HCPCS code J3490-Unclassified drugs. 

• One Medicaid and NCHC unit of coverage is 1 mg.  

• The maximum reimbursement rate per unit is $0.68. 

• Providers must bill 11-digit National Drug Codes (NDCs) and appropriate NDC 
units. The NDCs are 71045-0010-01, 71045-0010-02. 

• The NDC units should be reported as “UN1.” 

• For additional information, refer to the January 2012 Special Bulletin, National 
Drug Code Implementation Update. 

• For additional information regarding NDC claim requirements related to the PDP, 
refer to the PDP Clinical Coverage Policy No. 1B, Attachment A, H.7 on the NC 
Medicaid website. 

• Providers shall bill their usual and customary charge for non-340B drugs. 

• PDP reimburses for drugs billed for Medicaid and NC Health Choice 
beneficiaries by 340B participating providers who have registered with the Office 
of Pharmacy Affairs (OPA). Providers billing for 340B drugs shall bill the cost 
that is reflective of their acquisition cost. Providers shall indicate that a drug was 
purchased under a 340B purchasing agreement by appending the “UD” modifier 
on the drug detail. 

• The fee schedule for the Physician's Drug Program is available on the 
NC Medicaid website’s PDP web page. 

NCTracks Call Center, 1-800-688-6696 
 

ATTENTION: HOSPITAL PROVIDERS 

Update to Reimbursement of Long Acting Reversible 
Contraceptives (LARCs) 
Effective for dates of service on or after Oct. 1, 2018, the following DRG 
classifications specific to LARCs will be added to the current Grouper 36 version 
within NCTracks for claims reimbursement. 

https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://ncdma.s3.amazonaws.com/s3fs-public/documents/files/0112_SPECIAL_BULLETIN_NDC_0.pdf
https://dma.ncdhhs.gov/document/physicians-drug-program-clinical-coverage-policies
https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
https://www.hrsa.gov/opa/programrequirements/federalregisternotices/pedsoutptproviderbased.pdf
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/physician-drug-program-pdp-fee-schedule
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A copy of the DRG Grouper Version 36 weights and thresholds in Excel format will be 
posted to the Hospital Fee Schedule web page under “Grouper 36 DRG Weight Table” on 
the NC Medicaid website. 

The NC Medicaid covers the insertion/implanting of Long Acting Reversible 
Contraceptives (LARCs) under Clinical Policy 1E – 7 Family Planning Services. 

New LARC DRGs  

Effective Oct. 1, 2018, new LARC diagnosis and procedure codes will be implemented to 
DRG Version 36 of the Medicare Grouper for reimbursement of claims. The new DRG 
codes listed will allow hospitals and physicians to receive additional fees for LARC 
insertion. In addition, the new policy allows hospitals to receive reimbursement for the 
cost of five LARC devices listed.  

Inpatient Hospital Services 

The payment of LARCs is included in the DRG payment of the delivery. Since this is a 
covered service, the cost of the LARC is an allowable cost on the cost report, which is 
used in the calculation of the MRI/GAP supplemental payments. 

Billing Notes 

To receive appropriate reimbursement for LARCs within an inpatient setting, please 
review the following. All codes listed below must be included on LARC claims as 
indicated. 

To document LARC services provided after the delivery, hospital providers must use one 
of the new DRGs listed below. 

1765 Cesarean Section W CC/MCC with LARC 

1766 Cesarean Section W/O CC/MCC with LARC 

1767 Vaginal Delivery W Sterilization &/or D&C with LARC 

1768 Vaginal Delivery W O.R. Proc Except Sterile &/or D&C with LARC 

1769 Postpartum & Post Abortion Diagnoses W O.R. Procedure with LARC 

1770 Abortion W D&C, Aspiration Curettage or Hysterectomy with LARC 

1774 Vaginal Delivery W Complicating Diagnoses with LARC 

1775 Vaginal Delivery W/O Complicating Diagnoses with LARC 

1776 Postpartum & Post Abortion Diagnoses W/O O.R. Procedure with LARC 

1777 Ectopic Pregnancy with LARC 

1779 Abortion W/O D&C with LARC 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/fee-schedule/hospital-fee-schedule
https://dma.ncdhhs.gov/document/obstetrics-and-gynecology-clinical-coverage-policies
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Hospital LARC claims should be billed using the following ICD-10-PCS codes: 

OU.H97HZ Insertion of Contraceptive Device into Uterus, via Opening  

OU.H98HZ Insertion of Contraceptive Device into Uterus, Endo  

OU.HC8HZ Insertion of Contraceptive Device into Cervix, Endo 

OU.HC7HZ Insertion of Contraceptive Device into Cervix, via Opening  

OU.H90HZ Insertion of Contraceptive Device into Uterus, Open Approach 

Hospital LARC claims should be billed using the following Healthcare Common 
Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes: 

HCPCS Device 

J7297 Liletta® 

J7298 Mirena ® 

J7300 Paragard® 

J7301 Skyla® 

J7307 Nexplanon ® 

Outpatient Hospital Services 

If the LARC is inserted/implanted during an outpatient encounter, the LARC is billed on 
the claim, along with the appropriate HCPCS and NDC codes. If the LARC is billed 
under 340B pricing, the UD modifier must be used. OMA will reimburse the hospital 
claim at 70% of cost. Similar to inpatient services, the cost is allowable and will be 
considered in the calculation of the MRI/GAP supplemental payments. 

NC Medicaid Provider Reimbursement, 919-814-0060 
 

ATTENTION: LONG-TERM SERVICES AND SUPPORTS PROVIDERS 

Pre-Admission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) 
Program Update 
The Department of Health and Human Services is implementing the Referral Screening 
Verification Process (RSVP) for individuals being considered for admission to an Adult 
Care Home (ACH) effective Nov. 1, 2018.  

RSVP will replace Pre-Admission Screening Resident Review (PASRR) for ACHs, 
providing a more streamlined and effective process to screen Transition to Community 
Living Initiative (TCLI) target populations.  
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Regardless of diagnosis, all Medicaid-eligible individuals being considered for admission 
to ACHs, except group homes, will require the referral screening verification be 
completed. The ACH PASRR will no longer exist for ACH admissions after the RSVP 
implementation date of Nov. 1, 2018.  

Currently, for Personal Care Services expedited processing eligibility, beneficiaries 
admitted to an ACH (excluding 5600 facilities), must have an ACH PASRR number. 
After RSVP is implemented, the beneficiary will be required to have a referral screening 
verification number instead of an ACH PASRR number. 

 Additional information pertaining to RSVP will be communicated soon. 

NC DMH/DD/SAS, TCLI Diversion Lead, 919-715-2056 
 

ATTENTION: PERSONAL CARE SERVICES PROVIDERS 

Regional Provider Trainings 
Personal Care Services (PCS) regional training sessions will be held Oct. 18-Nov. 1, 
2018. Registration begins at 8 a.m. and training will be held from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. 
Training sessions are free, but registration is required. Providers can register through the 
Liberty Healthcare Corp. of North Carolina Medicaid PCS Website beginning Sept. 24, 
2018. Prior to training, training topics and materials will be available to registered 
participants on the Liberty website.  

Event Dates and Locations 

Thursday, Oct. 18, 2018 – Greenville 
Hilton Greenville 
207 SW Greenville Blvd  
Ballroom 

Monday, Oct. 22, 2018 – Raleigh 
Jane S. McKimmon Conference and Training Center 
NCSU, 1101 Gorman St.  
Rooms will be posted at Information Desk 

Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2018 – Fayetteville 
Embassy Suites-Fort Bragg 
4760 Lake Valley Drive 
Ballroom 

Monday, Oct. 29, 2018 – Asheville  
Renaissance Asheville Hotel 
31 Woodfin St.  

https://nc-pcs.com/
https://nc-pcs.com/
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Ballroom 

Tuesday, Oct. 30, 2018 – Charlotte 
Great Wolf Lodge Convention Center 
10175 Weddington Rd. 
White Pine Ballroom 

Thursday, Nov. 1, 2018 – Greensboro  
Embassy Suites by Hilton Greensboro Airport 
204 Centrepoint Dr.  
Ballroom 

Liberty Healthcare Corporation of North Carolina, 1-855-740-1400 or NC Medicaid 
at 919-855-4360 

 

ATTENTION: SPECIALIZED THERAPIES PROVIDERS 

Updates to Clinical Coverage Policy 10A: Outpatient 
Specialized Therapies  
Effective Sept. 15, 2018, Clinical Coverage Policy 10A, Outpatient Specialized 
Therapies, was updated to increase therapy visit limits for recipients 21 years of age and 
older. A summary of the most significant changes follows. 

In section 3.2.1.5 Evaluation Services, the following language was added: 

An evaluation visit also incorporates any immediate treatment warranted 
based on the evaluation results. No prior authorization is needed for 
evaluation visits or for treatment rendered as part of an evaluation visit. 

In section 3.2.1.8 Re-evaluation Services, and 5.2 Prior Approval Requirements, 
Section 5.2.2 Specific, the following language was deleted: 

The re-evaluation report must report the frequency at which the beneficiary 
receives the same type of health-related service provided as part of the public 
school’s special education program or as part of an early intervention 
program when applicable. 

In section 5.2 Prior Approval Requirements, Section 5.2.2 Specific, the following 
language was also deleted: 

For audiology services (AUD) and speech/language services (ST) prior 
approval, a written report of an evaluation must occur within six (6) months 
of the requested beginning date of treatment. When continued treatment is 
requested, an annual re-evaluation of the beneficiary’s status and 
performance must be documented in a written evaluation report. The re-
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evaluation report must include the frequency at which the beneficiary 
receives the same type of health-related service provided as part of the public 
school’s special education program or as part of an early intervention 
program when applicable. 

In section 5.4 Visit Limitations Beneficiaries 21 Years of Age and Older, the language 
specific to the annual and episodic visit limits for beneficiaries 21 years of age and older 
was deleted and replaced with: 

The first prior approval request within a calendar year shall be for no more 
than three therapy treatment visits and one month. The PA review vendor will 
authorize these three treatment visits to begin as early as the day following the 
submission of the PA request. Any subsequent PA may be obtained for up to 
12 therapy treatment visits and six months. A beneficiary can receive a 
maximum of 27 therapy treatment visits per calendar year across all therapy 
disciplines combined (occupational therapy, physical therapy and 
speech/language therapy). Each reauthorization request must document the 
efficacy of treatment. 

In section 7.5 Requirements When the Type of Treatment Services Are the Same as 
Those Provided by the Beneficiary’s Public School or Early Intervention Program, 
the following language was deleted: 

the combined frequency of services must be medically necessary to address 
the beneficiary’s deficits. The provider must document on the PA request as 
well as on the Treatment Plan the frequency at which the beneficiary receives 
the same type of health-related treatment services provided as part of the 
public school’s special education program or as part of an early intervention 
program Services 

In Attachment A: Claims-Related Information, Section B. International 
Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, Tenth Revisions, Clinical 
Modification (ICD-10-CM) and Procedural Coding System (PCS), all tables 
containing ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes were removed. 

In Attachment A: Claims-Related Information, Section C. Code(s), all tables 
containing surgical CPT codes were removed. 

In Attachment A: Claims-Related Information, Section E. Billing Units, the 
following language was added: 

Billing for co-treatment services, therapy treatment services provided by OT 
and PT for a single Medicaid or NCHC beneficiary as a single visit, shall not 
exceed the total amount of time spent with the beneficiary. OT and PT must 
split the time and bill only timed CPT codes. Co-treatment visits including 
speech therapy must be at least 38 minutes in session length to bill both one 
event of speech therapy and one unit of a timed CPT code for occupational or 
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physical therapy. Additional timed CPT codes for occupational or physical 
therapy may be billed only when the session length is extended by an 
additional 15 minutes for either the occupational therapy or physical therapy 
treatment. 

Additional Resources 

The full text of Clinical Coverage Policy 10A is available at NC Medicaid’s Outpatient 
Specialized Therapy Services web page. Additional information can also be found at the 
ChoicePA website. 

 

 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/programs-services/medical/Outpatient-Specialized-Therapies
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/programs-services/medical/Outpatient-Specialized-Therapies
https://choicepa.medicaidprograms.org/Account/Login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2fHUB.aspx

