
EPSDT Policy Instructions Update 
07/31/07 
REV. 03/23/09 
REV. 01/11/10 

2

EPSDT POLICY INSTRUCTIONS UPDATE 
Background 
Federal Medicaid law at 42 U.S.C.§ 1396d(r) [1905(r) of the Social Security Act] requires state Medicaid 
programs to provide Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostics, and Treatment (EPSDT) for recipients 
under 21 years of age. Within the scope of EPSDT benefits under the federal Medicaid law, states are 
required to cover any service that is medically necessary “to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or 
mental illness, or a condition identified by screening,” whether or not the service is covered under the 
North Carolina State Medicaid Plan. The services covered under EPSDT are limited to those within the 
scope of the category of services listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social 
Security Act]. The listing of EPSDT/Medicaid services is appended to this instruction. 

EPSDT services include any medical or remedial care that is medically necessary to correct or ameliorate 
a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem]. This means that EPSDT covers most of 
the treatments a recipient under 21 years of age needs to stay as healthy as possible, and North Carolina 
Medicaid must provide for arranging for (directly or through referral to appropriate agencies, 
organizations, or individuals) corrective treatment the need for which is disclosed by such child health 
screening services. “Ameliorate” means to improve or maintain the recipient’s health in the best 
condition possible, compensate for a health problem, prevent it from worsening, or prevent the 
development of additional health problems. Even if the service will not cure the recipient’s condition, it 
must be covered if the service is medically necessary to improve or maintain the recipient’s overall 
health. 

EPSDT makes short-term and long-term services available to recipients under 21 years of age without 
many of the restrictions Medicaid imposes for services under a waiver OR for adults (recipients 21 years 
of age and over). For example, a service must be covered under EPSDT if it is necessary for immediate 
relief (e.g., pain medication). It is also important to note that treatment need not ameliorate the recipient’s 
condition taken as a whole, but need only be medically necessary to ameliorate one of the recipient’s 
conditions. The services must be prescribed by the recipient’s physician, therapist, or other licensed 
practitioner and often must be approved in advance by Medicaid. See the Basic Medicaid Billing Guide, 
Section 6 (on the Web at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/basicmed/), for further information about EPSDT 
and prior approval requirements. 

EPSDT Features 
Under EPSDT, there is: 

1. No Waiting List for EPSDT Services 

EPSDT does not mean or assure that physicians and other licensed practitioners or 
hospitals/clinics chosen by the recipient and/or his/her legal representative will not have waiting 
lists to schedule appointments or medical procedures. However, Medicaid cannot impose any 
waiting list and must provide coverage for corrective treatment for recipients under 21 years of 
age. 

2. No Monetary Cap on the Total Cost of EPSDT Services* 

A child under 21 years of age financially eligible for Medicaid is entitled to receive EPSDT 
services without any monetary cap provided the service meets all EPSDT criteria specified in this 
policy instruction. If enrolled in a Community Alternatives Program (CAP), the recipient under 
21 years of age may receive BOTH waiver and EPSDT services. However, it is important to 
remember that the conditions set forth in the waiver concerning the recipient’s budget and 
continued participation in the waiver apply. That is, the cost of the recipient’s care must not 
exceed the waiver cost limits specified in the CAP waivers for Children (CAP/C) or Disabled 



EPSDT Policy Instructions Update 
07/31/07 
REV. 03/23/09 
REV. 01/11/10 

3

Adults (CAP/DA). Should a recipient enrolled in the CAP waiver for Persons with Mental 
Retardation and Developmental Disabilities (CAP/MR-DD) need to exceed the waiver cost limit, 
prior approval must be obtained from ValueOptions. 

*EPSDT services are defined as Medicaid services within the scope of the category of 
services listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act]. 
See attached listing. 

3. No Upper Limit on the Number of Hours or Units under EPSDT 

For clinical coverage policy limits to be exceeded, the provider’s documentation must address 
why it is medically necessary to exceed the limits in order to correct or ameliorate a defect, 
physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem]. 

4. No Limit on the Number of EPSDT Visits to a Physician, Therapist, Dentist, or Other 
Licensed Clinician 

To exceed such limits, the provider’s documentation must address why it is medically necessary 
to exceed the limits in order to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or 
condition [health problem]. 

5. No Set List that Specifies When or What EPSDT Services or Equipment May Be Covered 

Only those services within the scope of those listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) 
[1905(a) of the Social Security Act] can be covered under EPSDT. See attached listing. However, 
specific limitations in service definitions, clinical policies, or DMA billing codes MAY NOT 
APPLY to requests for services for children under 21 years of age. 

6. No Co-payment or Other Cost to the Recipient 

7. Coverage for Services That Are Never Covered for Recipients 21 Years of Age and Older 

Only those services within the scope of those listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) 
[1905(a) of the Social Security Act] can be covered under EPSDT. See attached listing. Provider 
documentation must address why the service is medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a 
defect, physical and mental illness, or condition [health problem]. 

8. Coverage for Services Not Listed in the N.C. State Medicaid Plan 

Only those services within the scope of those listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) 
[1905(a) of the Social Security Act] can be covered under EPSDT. See attached listing. 

EPSDT Criteria 
It is important to note that the service can only be covered under EPSDT if all criteria specified below are 
met. 

1. EPSDT services must be coverable services within the scope of those listed in the federal law at 
42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act]. For example, “rehabilitative services” 
are a covered EPSDT service, even if the particular rehabilitative service requested is not listed in 
DMA clinical policies or service definitions. 

2. The service must be medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental 
illness, or a condition [health problem] diagnosed by the recipient’s physician, therapist, or other 
licensed practitioner. By requiring coverage of services needed to correct or ameliorate a defect, 
physical or mental illness, or a condition [health problem], EPSDT requires payment of services 
that are medically necessary to sustain or support rather than cure or eliminate health problems to 
the extent that the service is needed to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or 
condition [health problem]. 

3. The requested service must be determined to be medical in nature. 



EPSDT Policy Instructions Update 
07/31/07 
REV. 03/23/09 
REV. 01/11/10 

4

4. The service must be safe. 

5. The service must be effective. 

6. The service must be generally recognized as an accepted method of medical practice or treatment. 

7. The service must not be experimental/investigational. 

Additionally, services can only be covered if they are provided by a North Carolina Medicaid enrolled 
provider for the specific service type. This may include an out-of-state provider who is willing to enroll if 
an in-state provider is not available. 

IMPORTANT POINTS ABOUT EPSDT COVERAGE 

General 
1. If the service, product, or procedure requires prior approval, the fact that the recipient is under 21 

years of age does NOT eliminate the requirement for prior approval. 

2. EPSDT services must be coverable within the scope of those listed in the federal law at 42 U.S.C. 
§ 1396d(a) [1905(a) of the Social Security Act]. EPSDT requires Medicaid to cover these 
services if they are medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental 
illness, or a condition [health problem]. “Ameliorate” means to improve or maintain the 
recipient’s health in the best condition possible, compensate for a health problem, prevent it from 
worsening, or prevent the development of additional health problems. 

3. Recipients under 21 must be afforded access to the full panoply of EPSDT services, including 
case management. Case management must be provided to a Medicaid eligible child if medically 
necessary to correct or ameliorate the child’s condition regardless of eligibility for CAP waiver 
services. 

4. EPSDT services need not be services that are covered under the North Carolina State Medicaid 
Plan or under any of the Division of Medical Assistance’s (DMA) clinical coverage policies or 
service definitions or billing codes. 

5. Under EPSDT, North Carolina Medicaid must make available a variety of individual and group 
providers qualified and willing to provide EPSDT services. 

6. EPSDT operational principles include those specified below.  
a. When state staff or vendors review a covered state Medicaid plan services request for prior 

approval or continuing authorization (UR) for an individual under 21 years of age, the 
reviewer will apply the EPSDT criteria to the review. This means that: 

(1) Requests for EPSDT services do NOT have to be labeled as such. Any proper request for 
services for a recipient under 21 years of age is a request for EPSDT services. For 
recipients under 21 years of age enrolled in a CAP waiver, a request for services must be 
considered under EPSDT as well as under the waiver. 

(2) The decision to approve or deny the request will be based on the recipient’s medical need 
for the service to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical [or] mental illness, or condition 
[health condition].  

b. The specific coverage criteria (e.g., particular diagnoses, signs, or symptoms) in the DMA 
clinical coverage policies or service definitions do NOT have to be met for recipients under 
21 years if the service is medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or 
mental illness, or condition [health problems]. 

c. The specific numerical limits (number of hours, number of visits, or other limitations on 
scope, amount or frequency) in DMA clinical coverage policies, service definitions, or billing 
codes do NOT apply to recipients under 21 years of age if more hours or visits of the 
requested service are medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental 
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illness, or condition [health problem]. This includes the hourly limits and location limits on 
Medicaid Personal Care Services (PCS) and Community Support Services (CSS). 

d. Other restrictions in the clinical coverage policies, such as the location of the service (e.g., 
PCS only in the home), prohibitions on multiple services on the same day or at the same time 
(e.g., day treatment and residential treatment) must also be waived under EPSDT as long as 
the services are medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental 
illness, or condition [health problem]. 

Out-of-state services are NOT covered if similarly efficacious services that are medically 
necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health 
problems] are available anywhere in the state of North Carolina. Services delivered without 
prior approval will be denied. There is no retroactive prior approval for services that require 
prior approval, unless there is retroactive Medicaid eligibility. See DMA’s Basic Medicaid 
Billing Guide, Section 6 (on the Web at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/basicmed/), for further 
information regarding the provision of out-of-state services. 

e. Providers or family members may write directly to the Assistant Director for Clinical Policy 
and Programs, Division of Medical Assistance, requesting a review for a specific service. 
However, DMA vendors and contractors must consider any request for state Medicaid plan 
services for a recipient under 21 years of age under EPSDT criteria when the request is made 
by the recipient’s physician, therapist, or other licensed practitioner in accordance with the 
Division’s published policies. If necessary, such requests will be forwarded to DMA or the 
appropriate vendor. 

f. Requests for prior approval for services must be fully documented to show medical necessity. 
This requires current information from the recipient’s physician, other licensed clinicians, the 
requesting qualified provider, and/or family members or legal representative. If this 
information is not provided, Medicaid or its vendor will have to obtain the needed 
information, and this will delay the prior approval decision. See procedure below for 
requesting EPSDT services regarding further detail about information to be submitted. 

g. North Carolina Medicaid retains the authority to determine how an identified type of 
equipment, therapy, or service will be met, subject to compliance with federal law, including 
consideration of the opinion of the treating physician and sufficient access to alternative 
services. Services will be provided in the most economic mode, as long as the treatment made 
available is similarly efficacious to the service requested by the recipient’s physician, 
therapist, or other licensed practitioner, the determination process does not delay the delivery 
of the needed service, and the determination does not limit the recipient’s right to free choice 
of North Carolina Medicaid enrolled providers who provide the approved service. It is not 
sufficient to cover a standard, lower cost service instead of a requested specialized service if 
the lower cost service is not equally effective in that individual case. 

h. Restrictions in CAP waivers such as no skilled nursing for the purpose of monitoring do not 
apply to EPSDT services if skilled monitoring is medically necessary. Nursing services will 
be provided in accordance with 21 NCAC 36.0221 (adopted by reference). 

i. Durable medical equipment (DME), assistive technology, orthotics, and prosthetics do NOT 
have to be included on DMA’s approved lists or be covered under a CAP waiver program in 
order to be covered under EPSDT subject to meeting the criteria specified in this policy. 

j. Medicaid will cover treatment that the recipient under 21 years of age needs under this 
EPSDT policy. DMA will enroll providers, set reimbursement rates, set provider 
qualifications, and assure the means for claims processing when the service is not already 
established in the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan. 
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k. Requests for prior approval of services are to be decided with reasonable promptness, usually 
within 15 business days. No request for services for a recipient under 21 years of age will be 
denied, formally or informally, until it is evaluated under EPSDT. 

l. If services are denied, reduced, or terminated, proper written notice with appeal rights must 
be provided to the recipient and copied to the provider. The notice must include reasons for 
the intended action, citation that supports the intended action, and notice of the right to 
appeal. Such a denial can be appealed in the same manner as any Medicaid service denial, 
reduction, or termination. 

m. The recipient has the right to continued Medicaid payment for services currently provided 
pending an informal and/or formal appeal. This includes the right to reinstatement of services 
pending appeal if there was less than a 30 day interruption before submitting a re-
authorization request. 

EPSDT Coverage and CAP Waivers 
1. Waiver services are available only to participants in the CAP waiver program and are not a part 

of the EPSDT benefit unless the waiver service is ALSO an EPSDT service (e.g. durable medical 
equipment). 

2. Any request for services for a CAP recipient under age 21 must be evaluated under BOTH the 
waiver and EPSDT. 

3. Additionally, a child financially eligible for Medicaid outside of the waiver is entitled to elect 
EPSDT services without any monetary cap instead of waiver services. 

4. ANY child enrolled in a CAP program can receive BOTH waiver services and EPSDT services. 
However, if enrolled in CAP/C or CAP/DA, the cost of the recipient’s care must not exceed the 
waiver cost limit. Should the recipient be enrolled in the Community Alternatives Program for 
Persons with Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities (CAP/MR-DD), prior approval 
must be obtained to exceed the waiver cost limit. 

5. A recipient under 21 years of age on a waiting list for CAP services, who is an authorized 
Medicaid recipient without regard to approval under a waiver, is eligible for necessary EPSDT 
services without any waiting list being imposed by Medicaid. For further information, see “No 
Waiting List for EPSDT” on page 2 of this instruction. 

6. EPSDT services must be provided to recipients under 21 years of age in a CAP program under 
the same standards as other children receiving Medicaid services. For example, some CAP 
recipients under 21 years of age may need daily in-school assistance supervised by a licensed 
clinician through community intervention services (CIS) or personal care services (PCS). It is 
important to note that Medicaid services coverable under EPSDT may be provided in the school 
setting, including to CAP/MR-DD recipients. Services provided in the school and covered by 
Medicaid must be included in the recipient’s budget. 

7. Case managers in the Community Alternatives Program for Disabled Adults (CAP/DA) can deny 
a request for CAP/DA waiver services. If a CAP/DA case manager denies, reduces, or terminates 
a CAP/DA waiver service, it is handled in accordance with DMA’s recipient notices procedure. 

No other case manager can deny a service request supported by a licensed clinician, either 
formally or informally. 

8. When a recipient under 21 years of age is receiving CAP services, case managers must request 
covered state Medicaid plan services as indicated below. Covered state Medicaid plan services 
are defined as requests for services, products, or procedures covered by the North Carolina State 
Medicaid Plan. 

a. CAP/C: Requests for medical, dental, and behavioral health services covered under the North 
Carolina State Medicaid Plan that require prior approval must be forwarded to the appropriate 
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vendor and a plan of care revision submitted to the CAP/C consultant at DMA in accordance 
with the CAP/C policy. A plan of care revision for waiver services must be submitted to the 
CAP/C consultant as well. 

b. CAP/DA: Requests for medical, dental, and behavioral health services covered under the 
North Carolina State Medicaid Plan that require prior approval must be forwarded to the 
appropriate vendor and a plan of care revision submitted to the CAP/DA case manager in 
accordance with the CAP/DA policy. A plan of care revision for waiver services must be 
submitted to the CAP/DA case manager as well. All EPSDT requests must be forwarded to 
the CAP/DA consultant at DMA. 

c. CAP/MR-DD: All EPSDT and covered state Medicaid plan requests for behavioral health 
services must be forwarded to ValueOptions. This includes requests for children not in a 
waiver who have a case manager. Requests for medical and dental services covered under the 
North Carolina State Medicaid Plan must be forwarded to the appropriate vendor (medical or 
dental) for review and approval. Do NOT submit such requests to ValueOptions. Plan of care 
revisions must be submitted in accordance with the CAP/MR-DD policy. 
EXCEPTION: Behavioral health services requested for individuals residing in the 
Piedmont Cardinal Health Plan (PCHP) catchment area.  See item d below. 

d. All EPSDT and covered state Medicaid plan requests for behavioral health services for 
Medicaid recipients in the Piedmont Cardinal Health Plan (PCHP) catchment area must be 
forwarded to PCHP. The PCHP catchment area includes Cabarrus, Davidson, Rowan, Stanly, 
and Union counties. Requests for medical and dental services covered under the North 
Carolina State Medicaid Plan must be forwarded to the appropriate vendor (medical or 
dental) for review and approval. Do not submit such requests to PCHP. Plan of care revisions 
must be submitted in accordance with the Piedmont Innovations waiver policy.  

9. An appeal under CAP must also be considered under EPSDT criteria as well as under CAP 
provisions if the appeal is for a Medicaid recipient under 21 years of age.  

EPSDT Coverage and Mental Health/Developmental 
Disability/Substance Abuse (MH/DD/SA) Services 

1. Staff employed by local management entities (LMEs) CANNOT deny requests for services, 
formally or informally. Requests must be forwarded to ValueOptions or the other appropriate 
DMA vendor if supported by a licensed clinician. 

2. LMEs may NOT use the Screening, Triage, and Referral (STR) process or DD eligibility process 
as a means of denying access to Medicaid services. Even if the LME STR screener does not 
believe the child needs enhanced services, the family must be referred to an appropriate Medicaid 
provider to perform a clinical evaluation of the child for any medically necessary service. 

3. Requests for prior approval of MH/DD/SA services for recipients under 21 must be sent to 
ValueOptions or LME if providing utilization review for their catchment area. If the request 
needs to be reviewed by DMA clinical staff, ValueOptions will forward the request to the 
Assistant Director for Clinical Policy and Programs. 

4. If a recipient under 21 years of age has a developmental disability diagnosis, this does not 
necessarily mean that the requested service is habilitative and may not be covered under EPSDT. 
The EPSDT criteria of whether the service is medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a 
defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem] apply. Examples include dual 
diagnoses and behavioral disorders. All individual facts must be considered. 

5. All EPSDT requirements (except for the procedure for obtaining services) fully apply to the 
Piedmont waiver. 
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PROCEDURE FOR REQUESTING EPSDT SERVICES 
Covered State Medicaid Plan Services 
Should the service, product, or procedure require prior approval, the fact that the recipient is under 21 
years of age does NOT eliminate the requirement for prior approval. If prior approval is required and if 
the recipient does not meet the clinical coverage criteria or needs to exceed clinical coverage policy 
limits, submit documentation with the prior approval request that shows how the service at the requested 
frequency and amount is medically necessary and meets all EPSDT criteria, including to correct or 
ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or condition [health problem], to the appropriate vendor or 
DMA staff. When requesting prior approval for a covered service, refer to the Basic Medicaid Billing 
Guide, section 6. If the request for service needs to be reviewed by DMA clinical staff, the vendor will 
forward the request to the Assistant Director for Clinical Policy and Programs. Should further information 
be required, the provider will be contacted. See the Provider Documentation section of these instructions 
for information regarding documentation requirements. 

In the event prior approval is not required for a service and the recipient needs to exceed the clinical 
coverage policy limitations, prior approval from a vendor or DMA staff is required. See the Provider 
Documentation section of these instructions for information regarding documentation requirements. 

Services Formerly Covered by Children’s Special Health Services (CSHS) 
Previously, requests for pediatric mobility systems, cochlear implants and accessories, ramps, tie-downs, 
car seats, vests, DME, orthotics and prosthetics, home health supplies, not listed on DME fee schedules 
for recipients under 21 years of age, oral nutrition, augmentative and alternative communication devices, 
and over-the counter medications were approved and processed by CSHS. These services have been 
transferred from CSHS to Medicaid as specified below. 

 Pediatric Mobility Systems, including non-listed components—Send to HP Enterprise Services 
using the Certificate of Medical Necessity/Prior Approval (CMN/PA form).  Refer to Clinical 
Coverage Policy 5A, Durable Medical Equipment, for details (on DMA’s website at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/). 

• Cochlear/Auditory Brainstem Implants and Accessories—Fax all requests for external parts 
replacement and repair, in letter format, to the appropriate cochlear or auditory brainstem implant 
manufacturer. The manufacturer will process requests, obtain prior approval for external speech 
processors, and file claims. Guidelines for the letter requesting external parts replacement or 
repair can be obtained from the cochlear or auditory brainstem manufacturer. 

• Oral Nutrition Formula on DMA Fee Schedules—Send requests except those for metabolic 
formula to HP Enterprise Services.  Refer to Clinical Coverage Policy 5A, Durable Medical 
Equipment, for details (on DMA’s website at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/).  Metabolic 
formula requests should be sent to the Division of Public Health. 

• Augmentative and Alternative Communication Devices on DMA Fee Schedules—Send 
requests to HP Enterprise Services.   

• Ramps, Tie Downs, Car Seats, and Vests—Effective with date of request September 1, 2008, 
CSHS no longer authorizes payment for ramps, tie-downs, car seats, and vests. These items are 
not included in the DME covered by Medicaid, nor are they covered under EPSDT services, 
which cover medical equipment and supplies suitable for use in the home for Medicaid recipients 
under the age of 21. However, if the recipient is covered under a Medicaid waiver, these items 
may be considered if covered under the waiver. 
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Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services 
Requests for non-covered state Medicaid plan services are requests for services, products, or procedures 
that are not included at all in the North Carolina State Medicaid Plan but are coverable under federal 
Medicaid law, 1905(r) of the Social Security Act, for recipients under 21 years of age. See attached 
listing. Medical and dental service requests for non-covered state Medicaid plan services, and requests 
for a review when there is no established review process for a requested service, should be submitted to 
the Division of Medical Assistance, Assistant Director for Clinical Policy and Programs, at the address or 
facsimile (fax) number specified on the Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services Request Form for 
Recipients under 21 Years of Age. Requests for non-covered state Medicaid plan mental health services 
should be submitted to ValueOptions. The Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services Request Form for 
Recipients under 21 Years of Age is available on the DMA Web site 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/forms.htm.  To decrease delays in reviewing non-covered state 
Medicaid plan requests, providers are asked to complete this form. A review of a request for a non-
covered state Medicaid plan service includes a determination that ALL EPSDT criteria specified in these 
instructions are met. 
 
Requests for the services listed below should be sent to the Assistant Director, Clinical Policy and 
Programs, DMA and should be submitted on the Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services Request 
Form for Recipients under 21 Years of Age as specified at the end of this section and unless otherwise 
specified. 

 

• Any other service not listed on the DMA fee schedules for recipients under 21 years of age 
that appears at 1905(a) of the Social Security Act  

• Over-the-Counter (OTC) Medications—If the OTC has a National Drug Code (NDC) number 
and the manufacturer has a valid rebate agreement with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS), but the drug does not appear on DMA’s approved coverage listing of OTC 
medications. 

 

Send requests for the services immediately above, any other non-covered state Medicaid plan services 
that are coverable under 1905(a) of the Social Security Act, or requests for a review when there is no 
established review process for a requested service on the Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services 
Request Form for Recipients under 21 Years of Age and mail or fax to 

Assistant Director for Clinical Policy and Programs 
Division of Medical Assistance 

2501 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh NC 27699-2501 

FAX: 919-715-7679 
 

Provider Documentation 
Documentation for either covered or non-covered state Medicaid plan services should show how the 
service will correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition [health problem]. 
This includes 

1. documentation showing that medical necessity and policy criteria are met; 

2. documentation to support that all EPSDT criteria are met; and 

3. evidence-based literature to support the request, if available.  

Should additional information be required, the provider will be contacted. 
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Instructions to Vendors Who Receive Prior Approval Requests 
Inappropriately from Providers 
 
Vendors (HP Enterprise Services, ACS Pharmacy, CCME, and ValueOptions, etc.) may receive service 
requests from providers for which the vendor is not responsible for conducting the prior approval reviews.  
As vendors can only authorize specific services in accordance with DMA-vendor contracts, those requests 
should be forwarded to the appropriate vendor for review.  For example: 
 

1. If ValueOptions receives a request for breast surgery, the request should be forwarded to the 
prior approval section at HP Enterprises Services.   

 
2. Should HP Enterprise Services receive a request for physical therapy, the request should be 

forwarded to CCME. 
 

3. Should a vendor receive a request for Medicaid Personal Care Services (PCS) for a recipient 
under 21 years of age, the request should be forwarded to DMA, PCS Nurse Consultant, if 
the PCS clinical policy requires prior approval for the service requested in that case.   

 
It should be noted that there may be a delay in making a decision when a provider sends a prior approval 
request to a vendor for which the vendor is not responsible for conducting the prior approval review.  
Once the request is received by the appropriate vendor, a decision will be reached promptly, usually 
within 15 business days of receipt of the request by the appropriate vendor.  
 
Outreach   
A special mailing publicizing Medicaid’s EPSDT Policy instructions will be distributed to recipients and 
their legal representatives in the near future.  The document will address general information about 
EPSDT, the Division’s EPSDT Policy Instructions, and procedures for requesting services under EPSDT.  
 
This policy instruction shall remain posted at both DMA and DMH websites.  DMA and DMH will 
regularly inform their staff, related DHHS Divisions, vendors, agents, Medicaid providers, families, and 
other agencies working with children on Medicaid (e.g. schools, Headstart, WIC, Smart Start, etc.) about 
this EPSDT policy and its procedures for EPSDT services. A summary of this policy and procedure, and a 
reference to the website address where it is posted, will be included in the Medicaid Consumer Guide for 
Families, in annual inserts with Medicaid cards, and in Medicaid provider bulletin articles at least 
annually. All affected staff, vendors, and providers will receive training on EPSDT policy and procedures. 
 
DHHS Division Directors will transmit these instructions to staff and vendors/ contractors. 
 

For Further Information about EPSDT 
 

 Important additional information about EPSDT and prior approval is found in the Basic Medicaid 
Billing Guide, sections 2 and 6, and on the DMA EPSDT provider page.  The web addresses are 
specified below. 
Basic Medicaid Billing Guide  
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/basicmed/ 
 
Health Check Billing Guide 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/healthcheck/ 
EPSDT Provider Page 

 http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/epsdt/ 
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 DMA and its vendors will conduct trainings beginning fall 2007 for employees, agents, and 
providers on this instruction.  Details will be published as soon as available. 

 
ATTACHMENTS: 

 Listing of Medicaid (EPSDT) Services Found in the Social Security Act at 1905(a) [42 U.S.C. § 
1396d(a)] 

 Non-Covered State Medicaid Plan Services Request Form  
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LISTING OF EPSDT SERVICES FOUND AT 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a) [1905(a) OF THE 
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT] 

  
 Inpatient hospital services (other than services in an institution for mental disease) 
 Outpatient hospital services 
 Rural health clinic services (including home visits for homebound individuals) 
 Federally-qualified health center services 
 Other laboratory and X-ray services (in an office or similar facility) 
 EPSDT (Note: EPSDT offers periodic screening services for recipients under age 21 and Medicaid 

covered  services necessary to correct or ameliorate a diagnosed physical or mental condition)  
 Family planning services and supplies 
 Physician services (in office, recipient's home, hospital, nursing facility, or elsewhere) 
 Medical and surgical services furnished by a dentist 
 Home health care services (nursing services; home health aides; medical supplies, equipment, and 

appliances suitable for use in the home; physical therapy, occupation therapy, speech pathology, 
audiology services provided by a home health agency or by a facility licensed by the State to provide 
medical rehabilitation services)   

 Private duty nursing services  
 Clinic services (including services outside of clinic for eligible homeless individuals) 
 Dental services 
 Physical therapy, occupational therapy, and services for individuals with speech, hearing, and language 

disorders 
 Prescribed drugs 
 Dentures 
 Prosthetic devices 
 Eyeglasses 
 Services in an intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded 
 Medical care, or any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed 

practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law, specified by the Secretary (also 
includes transportation by a provider to whom a direct vendor payment can appropriately be made) 

 Other diagnostic, screening, preventive, and rehabilitative services, including any medical or remedial 
services (provided in a facility, a home, or other setting) recommended by a physician or other licensed 
practitioner of the healing arts within the scope of their practice under State law, for the maximum 
reduction of physical or mental disability and restoration of an individual to the best possible functional 
level 

 Inpatient psychiatric hospital services for individuals under age 21 
 Services furnished by a midwife, which the nurse-midwife is legally authorized to perform under state 

law, without regard to whether the nurse-midwife is under the supervision of, or associated with, a 
physician or other health care provider throughout the maternity cycle 

 Hospice care 
 Case-management services 
 TB-related services 
 Respiratory care services 
 Services furnished by a certified pediatric nurse practitioner or certified family nurse practitioner, which 

the practitioner is legally authorized to perform under state law 
 Personal care services (in a home or other location) furnished to an individual who is not an inpatient or 

resident of a hospital, nursing facility, intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded, or institution 
for mental disease 

 Primary care case management services 
 
Definitions of the above federal Medicaid services can be found in the Code of Federal Regulations 42 CFR 440.1-440.170 at 
http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_06/42cfr440_06.html.  
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