

North Carolina Medicaid Bulletin

An Information Service of the Division of Medical Assistance Published by EDS, fiscal agent for the North Carolina Medicaid Program

Visit DMA on the Web at: http://www.dhhs.state.nc.us/dma

Attention: All Providers

Holiday Observance

The Division of Medical Assistance (DMA) and EDS will be closed on Wednesday, January 1, 2003 in observance of New Year's Day, and on Monday, January 20, 2003 in observance of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday.

EDS, 1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888

In This Issue	Page #	n This Issue	Page #
All Providers: ◆ Anesthesia – Billing CPT Anesthesia Codes Instead of Surgical Codes	····.7	Iome Infusion Therapy Providers: Implementation of Transfer of As Specified Home Care Services.	•
 Corrected 1099 Requests CPT Update for 2003 Endoscopy CPT Base Codes and Their Relate Procedures 	2 d	<u>Iospitals:</u>Cochlear Implant Device – BillingModifier YS for Teleconsults	
 HIPAA Implementation Training Seminars Index to General and Special Bulletins for 200 Performance Bonds Proposed Medical Coverage Policies 	2 0214 8	<u>Mental Health Providers:</u> Mental Health Services for HMO Provided by Direct-Enrolled Mo Providers	ental Health
 W-9 Form Zoledronic Acid, 1 mg (Zometa, J3487) – Bill Guidelines Update 	$\frac{N}{4}$ ling	<u>fursing Facility Providers:</u> Medicaid Nursing Facility Payme <u>Outpatient Clinics:</u>	nts9
Adult Care Home Providers:	•	Modifier YS for Teleconsults	10
◆ Implementation of Transfer of Assets Policy f Specified Home Care Services		ersonal Care Services Providers: Implementation of Transfer of As Specified Home Care Services.	
 Durable Medical Equipment Providers: ◆ Implementation of Transfer of Assets Policy f Specified Home Care Services 		hysicians: Modifier YS for Teleconsults	
Home Health Agencies: ◆ Implementation of Transfer of Assets Policy f Specified Home Care Services	or •	rivate Duty Nursing Providers: Implementation of Transfer of As Specified Home Care Services.	

Providers are responsible for informing their billing agency of information in this bulletin.

Bold, italicized material is excerpted from the American Medical Association Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) Codes. Descriptions and other data only are copyrighted 2001 American Medical Association. All rights reserved.

Proposed Medical Coverage Policies

In accordance with Session Law 2001-424, Senate Bill 1005, proposed new or amended Medicaid medical coverage policies are available for review and comment on DMA's website at http://www.dhhs.state.nc.us/dma/prov.htm. To submit a comment related to a policy, refer to the instructions on the website. Providers without Internet access can submit written comments to the address listed below.

Darlene Creech Medical Policy Section Division of Medical Assistance 2511 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-2511

The initial comment period for each proposed policy is 45 days. An additional 15-day comment period will follow if a proposed policy is revised as a result of the initial comment period.

Darlene Creech, Medical Policy Section DMA, 919-857-4020

Attention: All Providers

CPT Update for 2003

The annual review of the new Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes has not been completed. Providers must bill the 2002 covered codes until the Division of Medical Assistance (DMA) provides directions for filing the 2003 codes. Providers will be notified of covered 2003 CPT codes in future general Medicaid bulletins. Bulletins are available on DMA's website at http://www.dhhs.state.nc.us/dma/bulletin.htm.

EDS, 1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888

Attention: All Providers

HIPAA Implementation Training Seminars

Seminars on the implementation of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) transaction sets are scheduled for Spring 2003. Dates and site locations for the seminars will be published in the March general Medicaid bulletin.

Corrected 1099 Requests – Action Required by March 1, 2003

Providers receiving Medicaid payments of more than \$600 annually receive a 1099 MISC tax form from EDS. The 1099 MISC tax form is generated as required by IRS guidelines. It will be mailed to each provider no later than January 31, 2003. The 1099 MISC tax form reflects the tax information on file with Medicaid as of the last Medicaid checkwrite cycle date, December 27, 2002.

If the tax name or tax identification number on the annual 1099 MISC you receive is **incorrect**, a correction to the 1099 MISC must be requested. This ensures that accurate tax information is on file with Medicaid and sent to the IRS annually. When the IRS receives incorrect information on your 1099 MISC, it may require backup withholding in the amount of **30 percent of future Medicaid payments**. The IRS could require EDS to initiate and continue this withholding to obtain correct tax data.

A correction to the original 1099 MISC must be **submitted to EDS by March 1, 2003** and must be accompanied by the following documentation:

- a copy of the original 1099 MISC
- a signed and completed IRS W-9 form clearly indicating the correct tax identification number and tax name. (Additional instructions for completing the W-9 form can be obtained at www.irs.gov under the link "Forms and Pubs.")

Fax both documents to 919-816-4399, Attention: Corrected 1099 Request - Financial

Or

Mail both documents to:

EDS 4905 Waters Edge Drive Raleigh, NC 27606

Attention: Corrected 1099 Request - Financial

A copy of the corrected 1099 MISC will be mailed to you for your records. All corrected 1099 MISC requests are reported to the IRS. In some cases, additional information may be required to ensure that the tax information on file with Medicaid is accurate. Providers will be notified by mail of any additional action that may be required to complete the correction to their tax information.

Form W-9 Request for Taxpayer Give form to the (Rev. December 2000) requester. Do not **Identification Number and Certification** send to the IRS. Department of the Treasury Internal Revenue Service Name (See Specific Instructions on page 2.) Business name, if different from above. (See Specific Instructions on page 2.) print or Check appropriate box: Individual/Sole proprietor Corporation Partnership Other ► Address (number, street, and apt. or suite no.) Requester's name and address (optional) City, state, and ZIP code Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) List account number(s) here (optional) Enter your TIN in the appropriate box. For individuals, this is your social security number Social security number (SSN). However, for a resident alien, sole proprietor, or disregarded entity, see the Part I instructions on page 2. For other entities, it is your employer identification number (EIN). If you do not Part II For U.S. Payees Exempt From or Backup Withholding (See the have a number, see How to get a TIN on page 2. instructions on page 2.) Employer identification number Note: If the account is in more than one name, see the chart on page 2 for guidelines on whose number Certification Part III Under penalties of perjury, I certify that: 1. The number shown on this form is my correct taxpayer identification number (or I am waiting for a number to be issued to me), and I am not subject to backup withholding because: (a) I am exempt from backup withholding, or (b) I have not been notified by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) that I am subject to backup withholding as a result of a failure to report all interest or dividends, or (c) the IRS has notified me that I am no longer subject to backup withholding, and

- I am a U.S. person (including a U.S. resident alien).

Certification instructions. You must cross out item 2 above if you have been notified by the IRS that you are currently subject to backup withholding because you have failed to report all interest and dividends on your tax return. For real estate transactions, item 2 does not apply. For mortgage interest paid, acquisition or abandonment of secured property, cancellation of debt, contributions to an individual retirement arrangement (IRA), and generally, payments other than interest and dividends, you are not required to sign the Certification, but you must provide your correct TIN. (See the instructions on page 2.)

Sign Signature of U.Š. person ▶

Purpose of Form

A person who is required to file an information return with the IRS must get your correct taxpayer identification number (TIN) to report, for example, income paid to you, real estate transactions, mortgage interest you paid, acquisition or abandonment of secured property, cancellation of debt, or contributions you made to an IRA.

Use Form W-9 only if you are a U.S. person (including a resident alien), to give your correct TIN to the person requesting it (the requester) and, when applicable, to:

- 1. Certify the TIN you are giving is correct (or you are waiting for a number to be issued),
- 2. Certify you are not subject to backup withholding, or
- 3. Claim exemption from backup withholding if you are a U.S. exempt payee

If you are a foreign person, use the appropriate Form W-8. See Pub. 515, Withholding of Tax on Nonresident Aliens and Foreign Corporations

Note: If a requester gives you a form other than Form W-9 to request your TIN, you must use the requester's form if it is substantially similar to this Form W-9.

What is backup withholding? Persons making certain payments to you must withhold and pay to the IRS 31% of such payments under certain conditions. This is called "backup withholding. Payments that may be subject to backup withholding include interest, dividends, broker and barter exchange transactions, rents, royalties, nonemployee pay, and certain payments from fishing boat operators. Real estate transactions are not subject to backup

- If you give the requester your correct TIN, make the proper certifications, and report all your taxable interest and dividends on your tax return, payments you receive will not be subject to backup withholding. Payments you receive will be subject to backup withholding if:
- 1. You do not furnish your TIN to the requester, or
- 2. You do not certify your TIN when required (see the Part III instructions on page 2 for
- 3. The IRS tells the requester that you furnished an incorrect TIN, or
- 4. The IRS tells you that you are subject to backup withholding because you did not report all your interest and dividends on your tax return (for reportable interest and dividends only), or

5. You do not certify to the requester that you are not subject to backup withholding under 4 above (for reportable interest and dividend accounts opened after 1983 only).

Certain payees and payments are exempt from backup withholding. See the Part II instructions and the separate Instructions for the Requester of Form W-9.

Penalties

Failure to furnish TIN. If you fail to furnish your correct TIN to a requester, you are subject to a penalty of \$50 for each such failure unless your failure is due to reasonable cause and not to willful neglect.

Civil penalty for false information with respect to withholding. If you make a false statemen with no reasonable basis that results in no backup withholding, you are subject to a \$500

Criminal penalty for falsifying information. Willfully falsifying certifications or affirmations may subject you to criminal penalties including fines and/or imprisonment.

Misuse of TINs. If the requester discloses or uses TINs in violation of Federal law, the requester may be subject to civil and criminal penalties

Form W-9 (Rev. 12-2000)

Cat. No. 10231X

Form W-9 (Rev. 12-2000)

Page 2

Specific Instructions

Name. If you are an individual, you must generally enter the name shown on your social security card. However, if you have changed your last name, for instance, due to marriage without informing the Social Security Administration of the name change, enter your first name, the last name shown on your social security card, and your new last name.

If the account is in joint names, list first and then circle the name of the person or entity whose number you enter in Part I of the form.

Sole proprietor. Enter your individual name as shown on your social security card on the "Name" line. You may enter your business, trade, or "doing business as (DBA)" name on the "Business name" line.

Limited liability company (LLC). If you are a single-member LLC (including a foreign LLC with a domestic owner) that is disregarded as an entity separate from its owner under Treasury regulations section 301.7701-3, enter the owner's name on the "Name" line. Enter the LLC's name on the "Business name" line.

Caution: A disregarded domestic entity that has a foreign owner must use the appropriate Form W-8.

Other entities. Enter your business name as shown on required Federal tax documents on the "Name" line. This name should match the name shown on the charter or other legal document creating the entity. You may enter any business, trade, or DBA name on the "Business name" line

Part I—Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN)

Enter your TIN in the appropriate box.

If you are a **resident alien** and you do not have and are not eligible to get an SSN, your TIN is your IRS individual taxpayer identification number (TIN). Enter it in the social security number box. If you do not have an ITIN, see **How to get a TIN** below.

If you are a **sole proprietor** and you have an EIN, you may enter either your SSN or EIN. However, the IRS prefers that you use your SSN

If you are an LLC that is disregarded as an entity separate from its owner (see *Limited liability company (LLC)* above), and are owned by an individual, enter your SSN (or "pre-LLC" EIN, if desired). If the owner of a disregarded LLC is a corporation, partnership, etc., enter the owner's FIN

Note: See the chart on this page for further clarification of name and TIN combinations.

How to get a TIN. If you do not have a TIN, apply for one immediately. To apply for an SSN, get Form SS-5, Application for a Social Security Card, from your local Social Security Administration office. Get Form W-7, Application for IRS Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, to apply for an ITIN or Form SS-4, Application for Employer Identification Number, to apply for an EIN. You can get Forms W-7 and SS-4 from the IRS by calling 1-800-TAX-FORM (1-800-829-3676) or from the IRS's Internet Web Site at www.irs.gov.

If you do not have a TIN, write "Applied For" in the space for the TIN, sign and date the form, and give it to the requester. For interest and dividend payments, and certain payments made with respect to readily tradable instruments, generally you will have 60 days to get a TIN and give it to the requester before you are subject to backup withholding on payments. The 60-day rule does not apply to other types of payments. You will be subject to backup withholding on all

such payments until you provide your TIN to the requester.

Note: Writing "Applied For" means that you have already applied for a TIN **or** that you intend to apply for one soon.

Part II—For U.S. Payees Exempt From Backup Withholding

Individuals (including sole proprietors) are **not** exempt from backup withholding. Corporations are exempt from backup withholding for certain payments, such as interest and dividends. For more information on exempt payees, see the separate Instructions for the Requester of Form W-9.

If you are exempt from backup withholding, you should still complete this form to avoid possible erroneous backup withholding. Enter your correct TIN in Part I, write "Exempt" in Part II, and sign and date the form.

If you are a nonresident alien or a foreign entity not subject to backup withholding, give the requester the appropriate completed Form W-8

Part III—Certification

To establish to the withholding agent that you are a U.S. person, or resident alien, sign Form W-9. You may be requested to sign by the withholding agent even if items 1, 3, and 5 below indicate otherwise.

For a joint account, only the person whose TIN is shown in Part I should sign (when required).

- 1. Interest, dividend, and barter exchange accounts opened before 1984 and broker accounts considered active during 1983. You must give your correct TIN, but you do not have to sign the certification.
- 2. Interest, dividend, broker, and barter exchange accounts opened after 1983 and broker accounts considered inactive during 1983. You must sign the certification or backup withholding will apply. If you are subject to backup withholding and you are merely providing your correct TIN to the requester, you must cross out item 2 in the certification before signing the form.
- **3. Real estate transactions.** You must sign the certification. You may cross out item **2** of the certification.
- 4. Other payments. You must give your correct TIN, but you do not have to sign the certification unless you have been notified that you have previously given an incorrect TIN. "Other payments" include payments made in the course of the requester's trade or business for rents, royalties, goods (other than bills for merchandise), medical and health care services (including payments to corporations), payments to a nonemployee for services, payments to certain fishing boat crew members and fishermen, and gross proceeds paid to attorneys (including payments to corporations).
- 5. Mortgage interest paid by you, acquisition or abandonment of secured property, cancellation of debt, qualified state tuition program payments, IRA or MSA contributions or distributions, and pension distributions. You must give your correct TIN, but you do not have to sign the certification.

Privacy Act Notice

Section 6109 of the Internal Revenue Code requires you to give your correct TIN to persons who must file information returns with the IRS to

report interest, dividends, and certain other income paid to you, mortgage interest you paid, the acquisition or abandonment of secured property, cancellation of debt, or contributions you made to an IRA or MSA. The IRS uses the numbers for identification purposes and to help verify the accuracy of your tax return. The IRS may also provide this information to the Department of Justice for civil and criminal litigation, and to cities, states, and the District of Columbia to carry out their tax laws.

You must provide your TIN whether or not you are required to file a tax return. Payers must generally withhold 31% of taxable interest, dividend, and certain other payments to a payee who does not give a TIN to a payer. Certain penalties may also apply.

What Name and Number To Give the Requester

Fo	this type of account:	Give name and SSN of:
1.	Individual Two or more individuals (joint account)	The individual The actual owner of the account or, if combined funds, the first individual on the account ¹
3.	Custodian account of a minor (Uniform Gift to Minors Act)	The minor ²
4.	The usual revocable savings trust (grantor is also trustee)	The grantor-trustee ¹
	 b. So-called trust account that is not a legal or valid trust under state law 	The actual owner 1
5.	Sole proprietorship	The owner ³
Foi	this type of account:	Give name and EIN of:
6.	Sole proprietorship	The owner ³
7.	A valid trust, estate, or pension trust	Legal entity 4
	Corporate	The corporation
9.	Association, club, religious, charitable, educational, or other	The organization
	tax-exempt organization	
10.		The partnership
11.	organization Partnership	The partnership The broker or nominee The public entity

¹ List first and circle the name of the person whose number you furnish. If only one person on a joint account has an SSN, that person's number must be furnished.

receives agricultural program payments

⁴List first and circle the name of the legal trust, estate, or pension trust. (Do not furnish the TIN of the personal representative or trustee unless the legal entity itself is not designated in the account title.)

Note: If no name is circled when more than one name is listed, the number will be considered to be that of the first name listed.

² Circle the minor's name and furnish the minor's SSN

³ You must show your individual name, but you may also enter your business or "DBA" name. You may use either your SSN or EIN (if you have one).

Endoscopy CPT Base Codes and Their Related Procedures

The following table represents an updated list of covered base and related endoscopy codes as designated in the 2002 Resource Based Relative Value System (RBRVS). **Group 1** reflects a new base code of 29805, effective with dates of service January 1, 2002. Existing codes previously omitted were added to the related side for groups **9** and **25**.

Endoscopy Base and Related Code Group

Group	Base Code	Related Codes	Comments
1	29805	29819 - 29826	Effective 01/01/02 new "base" code added from 2002 RBRVS
2	29830	29834 - 29838	
3	29840	29843 - 29847	
4	29860	29861 - 29863	
5	29870	29871, 29874 - 29877, 29879 - 29887	
6	31505	31510 - 31513	
7	31525	31527 - 31530, 31535, 31540, 31560, 31570	
8	31526	31531, 31536, 31541, 31561, 31571	
9	31622	31623 , 31624 , 31625, 31628-31631, 31635, 31640 - 31641, 31645	Existing procedure codes added from 2002 RBRVS
10	43200	43202, 43204 - 43205, 43215 - 43217, 43219 - 43220, 43226 - 43228	
11	43235	43231 - 43232, 43239, 43241 - 43247, 43249 - 43251, 43255 - 43256, 43258 - 43259	
12	43260	43240, 43261 - 43265, 43267 - 43269, 43271 - 43272	
13	44360	44361, 44363 - 44366, 44369, 44370, 44372-44373	
14	44376	44377 - 44379	
15	44388	44389 - 44394, 44397	
16	45300	45303, 45305, 45307 - 45309, 45315, 45317, 45320 - 45321, 45327	
17	45330	45331 - 45334, 45337 - 45339, 45345	
18	45378	45379 - 45380, 45382 - 45385, 45387	
19	46600	46604, 46606, 46608, 46610 - 46612, 4661 -46615	
20	47552	47553 - 47556	
21	50551	50555, 50557, 50559, 50561	
22	50570	50572, 50574-50576, 50578, 50580	

Endoscopy Base and Related Code Group, continued

Group	Base Code	Related Codes	Comments
23	50951	50953, 50955, 50957, 50959, 50961	
24	50970	50974, 50976	
25	52000	52007, 52010 , 52204, 52214, 52224, 52250, 52260, 52265, 52270, 52275 - 52277, 52281 -52283, 52285, 52290, 52300 - 52301, 52305, 52310, 52315, 52317 - 52318	Existing procedure code added from 2002 RBRVS
26	52005	52320, 52325, 52327, 52330, 52332, 52334, 52341 - 52344	
27	52335	52336-52339	End-dated due to 2001 CPT update
28	56300	56301 - 56309, 56311, 56343 - 56344, 56314	End-dated due to 2000 CPT update
29	56350	56351 - 56356	End-dated due to 2000 CPT update
30	57452	57454, 57460	
31	49320	38570, 49321 - 49323, 58550 - 58551, 58660 - 58662, 58670 - 58671	
32	58555	58558 - 58563	
33	52351	52345 - 52346, 52352 - 52355	
34	31575	31576 - 31579	

EDS, 1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888

Attention: All Providers

Anesthesia – Billing CPT Anesthesia Codes Instead of Surgical Codes

Effective with date of service June 1, 2003, providers must bill CPT anesthesia codes for anesthesia services instead of billing the CPT surgical codes with modifier YA or QS. The Division of Medical Assistance (DMA) is making this conversion in order to comply with the implementation of national code sets mandated by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). Local state-created modifier YA will not be accepted, effective with date of service June 1, 2003. Instead, providers must bill the appropriate CPT anesthesia code with no modifier or with modifier QS to designate monitored anesthesia care. Units will remain calculated as 1 unit = 1 minute.

DMA will schedule seminars to discuss these changes. A list of dates and locations for these seminars will be published in future general Medicaid bulletins.

Performance Bonds

The N.C. General Assembly has approved legislation that requires the purchase of performance bonds or a validly executed letter of credit as a condition for Medicaid payment to enrolled providers. The legislation also authorized the Department of Health and Human Services to waive or limit the requirement based on the provider's dollar amount of monthly billings or the length of time the provider has been licensed to provide services in the State. The Division of Medical Assistance (DMA) and the Office of the Attorney General are developing administrative rules and procedures to implement this requirement. The requirement will be phased in by provider type. We anticipate that the first phase will be implemented during Spring 2003. Providers enrolled for Personal Care Services and Durable Medical Equipment will be the first phase. No specific information about procedures is available at this time. DMA will publish updated information in the general Medicaid bulletin on DMA's website as it becomes available.

The authorizing legislation can be found on the N.C. General Assembly website at http://www.ncleg.net/html2001/Bills/allversions/senate/s1115vc.html. The relevant text reads as follows:

Payment is limited to Medicaid enrolled providers that purchase a performance bond in an amount not to exceed one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) naming as beneficiary the Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Medical Assistance, or provide to the Department a validly executed letter of credit or other financial instrument issued by a financial institution or agency honoring a demand for payment in an equivalent amount. The Department may waive or limit the requirements of this paragraph for one or more classes of Medicaid enrolled providers based on the provider's dollar amount of monthly billings to Medicaid or the length of time the provider has been licensed in this State to provide services. In waiving or limiting requirements of this paragraph the Department shall take into consideration the potential fiscal impact of the waiver or limitation on the State Medicaid Program.

Barbara Brooks, Recipient and Provider Services Section DMA, 919-857-4019

Attention: Hospital Providers

Cochlear Implant Device – Billing Clarification

When billing for an FDA-approved cochlear implant device, use Revenue Code 278. N.C. Medicaid coverage of the cochlear implant device is limited to pre-linguistically and post-linguistically deafened children ages birth to 21 who meet medical necessity criteria.

Debbie Garrett, RNC, Hospital Consultant Medical Policy Section DMA, 919-857-4020

Zoledronic Acid, 1 mg (Zometa, J3487) – Billing Guidelines Update

Effective with date of service January 1, 2003, the N.C. Medicaid program covers Zometa for use in the Physician's Drug Program when billed with HCPCS code J3487. Providers may no longer bill J3490 for Zometa. For Medicaid billing, one unit of coverage is now 1 mg. The maximum reimbursement rate for one unit is \$192.69. An invoice is no longer required for dates of service on or after January 1, 2003.

Only the following ICD-9-CM diagnoses are covered:

- One of the following diagnoses (stand alone) can either be the primary or a secondary diagnosis:
 - a. Hypercalcemia 275.42
 - b. Secondary malignant neoplasm of bone and bone marrow 198.5
 - c. Multiple myeloma 203.00 or 203.01
- For the following indications, a primary and a secondary diagnosis is required in order for the claim to be processed:
 - a. Prostate cancer 185 primary with 198.5 secondary
 - b. Non-small-cell lung cancer 162.0 through 162.9 primary with 198.5 secondary
 - c. Breast cancer (female) 174.0 through 174.9 primary with 198.5 secondary
 - d. Breast cancer (male) 175.0 through 175.9 primary with 198.5 secondary

EDS, 1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888

Attention: Nursing Facility Providers Medicaid Nursing Facility Payments

In accordance with Session Law 2002-126, Senate Bill 1115, residents of nursing facilities who are eligible for Medicare coverage of nursing facility services must be placed in a Medicare-certified bed. Effective with dates of service December 1, 2002, Medicaid considers reimbursement for nursing facility services only after the appropriate services have been billed to Medicare. Nursing facility providers have until April 30, 2003 to certify additional Medicare beds if necessary. If beds have not been certified by April 30, 2003, reimbursement may be affected. Providers should contact the Division of Facility Services at 919-733-7461 to request Medicare certification of additional beds.

Lloyd Pattison, Institutional Services Section DMA, 919-857-4020

Attention: Licensed Psychologists, Licensed Clinical Social Workers, Psychiatric Clinical Nurse Specialists, Psychiatric Nurse Practitioners, and Mental Health Multi-Specialty Groups

Mental Health Services for HMO Enrollees Provided by Direct-Enrolled Mental Health Providers

Beginning with dates of service on or after February 1, 2003, direct-enrolled mental health providers may begin to bill Medicaid for services rendered to HMO-enrolled recipients without a referral from the Area Mental Health Authority. Currently, HMO enrollment is restricted to Mecklenburg County with Southcare as the sole HMO option. Affected providers include licensed psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, psychiatric clinical nurse specialists, psychiatric nurse practitioners, and mental health multi-specialty groups. Mental health services are limited to Medicaid recipients under the age of 21.

EDS, 1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888

Attention: Physicians, Hospitals, and Outpatient Clinics $M_{odifier\ YS\ for\ Teleconsults}$

Effective December 1, 2002, modifier YS, representing services provided during a teleconsult in the spoke site, was end-dated to comply with the implementation of national code sets mandated by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). This modifier is no longer available. Teleconsults should be billed by the consulting facility/physician with modifier GT, which states "Via interactive audio and video telecommunication systems." The following codes may be billed with modifier GT:

99201	99202	99203	99204	99205	99211
99212	99213	99214	99215	99221	99222
99223	99231	99232	99233	99241	99242
99243	99244	99245	99251	99252	99253
99254	99255	99261	99262	99263	99271
99272	99273	99274	99275		

Attention: Personal Care Services (in Private Residences) Providers, Home Health Agencies, Durable Medical Equipment Providers, Home Infusion Therapy Providers, Private Duty Nursing Providers, and Adult Care Home Providers

mplementation of Transfer of Assets Policy for Specified Home Care Services

Effective with date of service February 1, 2003, payments for specified home care services may be affected by a new transfer of assets policy that applies to certain Medicaid recipients. This policy is similar to the transfer of assets requirements currently in place for Medicaid recipients receiving nursing facility and ICF-MR care, as well as for those recipients participating in the Community Alternatives Programs.

Transfer of Assets Sanctions

If an applicant/recipient has transferred assets in a manner contrary to the policy, he will not qualify for payment for any of the specified services provided during the sanction period. Sanction periods are by calendar month. They may be retroactive as well as extend through the current time period. This policy does not apply to transfers prior to February 1, 2003; therefore, there will be no sanction periods that begin before that date.

Services Included in the Policy

The Medicaid services included in the policy are:

- Personal Care Services (PCS) in private residences
- Home Health Services, including the supplies provided by home health agencies
- Durable Medical Equipment (DME), including the supplies provided by DME providers
- Home Infusion Therapy
- The supplies on the Home Health fee schedule provided by Private Duty Nursing (PDN) providers to PDN patients (the nursing care is not included in the policy)

Medicaid Recipients Subject to the Policy

The policy applies to individuals in the following Medicaid eligibility categories:

- Medical Assistance for the Aged (MAA)
- Medical Assistance for the Disabled (MAD)
- Medical Assistance for the Blind (MAB)
- Medicare Aid (MQB-Q)

Adult care home providers should note that this policy does not apply to their residents receiving State/County Special Assistance. It does apply to a private pay adult care home resident if the individual is in one of the four eligibility categories (MAA, MAD, MAB, and MQB-Q).

MAA, MAD, and MAB recipients have a blue Medicaid identification (MID) card with the abbreviation listed under "Program" on the card. MQB-Q recipients have a buff card labeled as a "MEDICARE-AID ID CARD."

Community Alternatives Program (CAP) participants are not subject to a transfer of assets determination for the specified services. Providers may identify a CAP participant by the entry in the "CAP" block of the MID card.

Transfer of Assets Determination

The county department of social services will make a transfer of assets determination when it is aware that a recipient is seeking any of the specified services. The determination and any resulting sanction will apply to all of the services. A separate determination for each service is not required.

How the Policy Affects Payment

Payment for a date of service on and after February 1, 2003, depends on the information that is in the claims processing system.

- 1. **No Transfer of Assets Information in System** If there is no transfer of assets information in the system, the claim will suspend for up to 60 days. The suspension will end before 60 days if transfer of assets information is received. (Refer to *Current Service Recipients* for information about individuals for whom Medicaid has paid for services in December 2002 and January 2003.)
 - a. The provider will be notified on the Remittance and Status Report that the claim is suspended. The explanation of benefits statement will indicate that the claim is pended awaiting a transfer of asset assessment by the county department of social services (DSS). The provider may contact the recipient to request that the recipient contact the county DSS office. The provider should not resubmit the claim.
 - b. The recipient's county DSS will be notified to contact the recipient and make a transfer of assets determination.
 - If a sanction period is imposed that includes a date of service on the claim, payment for the date of service will be denied. (Refer to *Billing the Recipient*.)
 - If no sanction is imposed for the date(s) of service, the claim will continue to process for payment.
 - If the claims processing system does not receive information on the transfer of assets determination before the end of the 60-day period, the claim will deny. The provider may resubmit the claim after verifying that the recipient has cleared the transfer of assets requirement for the date(s) of service. (Refer to *Transfer of Asset Information*.)
- 2. **Transfer of Assets Information in System** If there is transfer of assets information in the system, the claim will process.
 - If a date of service is in a sanction period, payment for the date of service will be denied. (Refer to *Billing the Recipient*.)
 - If the date of service is not in a sanction period, the claim will continue to process for payment.

If a transfer of assets sanction is entered into the claims processing system after payment is made for a date within the sanction period, the county DSS will pursue recoupment from the recipient. The payment will not be recouped from the provider agency.

Transfer of Asset Information

Providers may access the Automated Voice Response (AVR) system to get a recipient's transfer of assets status as of a specified date. The AVR response provides information that is in the claims processing system at the time of the inquiry. AVR information is not a guarantee of payment. Because a penalty period can be applied retroactively, transfer of assets information for a given date may change after the provider obtains the information.

To access transfer of assets information, the provider selects option 6 at the main menu for information about recipient eligibility. The call flow to get to transfer of assets information is as follows:

Provider Number Verification – When the provider selects option 6 from the main menu, AVR prompts the provider to enter their N.C. Medicaid provider number for verification. After the provider number is verified, the prompt will allow a caller to go in either of two directions: Recipient Eligibility and Coordination of Benefits or Hospice Eligibility. Choose selection 1.

Recipient Access Method Prompt – To obtain recipient eligibility information, the provider must enter a valid recipient MID number **OR** a combination of the recipient's date of birth and social security number, and a "FROM" date of service. AVR prompts the provider to select a method for accessing the recipient data.

"Please select one of the following recipient identification options. To enter a recipient identification number, press 1. To enter a recipient date of birth and social security number, press 2."

Date of Service Prompt – The provider must enter either a pound sign (#) only (for the current date) or a "FROM" date of service in a MMDDCCYY format.

Host Response – After receiving a valid provider number and recipient MID number, and "FROM" date of service, AVR determines whether or not the provider is authorized to access recipient eligibility information from the eligibility file.

Eligibility/Enrollment Prompt – The AVR will give the following response asking the provider to choose one of these two options:

"For eligibility information, press 1. For enrollment information, press 2."

Choose selection 1 for eligibility information. Transfer of assets information will be the last information given. The provider will be told one of the following:

- The recipient has not been assessed. The provider should ask the recipient to contact the county DSS to begin a transfer of assets assessment.
- The recipient is in a penalty period for the given date of service and claims for the specified services will be denied.
- The recipient is not in a penalty period for the given date of service.

Providers also may verify the recipient's transfer of assets status by seeing the recipient's notice about the results of a transfer of assets determination. The county DSS will provide the recipient a notice indicating that transfer of assets has been reviewed and any penalty period assessed.

Current Service Recipients

Transfer of assets information will be entered into the claims processing system for recipients for whom Medicaid paid for any of the specified services during December 2002 and January 2003. While this will not capture all of the recipients of the specified services, it will reduce the number of claims suspended while awaiting a transfer of assets determination. The county department of social services will review transfer of assets for these recipients at their next eligibility review.

Billing the Recipient

A provider may bill the recipient if Medicaid payment is denied due to a transfer of assets sanction and the provider has advised the recipient of his responsibility for payment before the services are rendered. The provider should maintain documentation that the recipient was notified of and accepted the responsibility.

ndex to General and Special Bulletins for 2002

All Providers

Basic Medicaid Seminar Schedule, 02/02, pg. 9; 03/02, pg. 6

Billing for Labor and Delivery Anesthesia, 07/02, pg. 3

Billing of Radiopharmaceuticals and Pharmaceutical Stress Agents for Myocardial Perfusion Testing, 08/02, pg. 5

Breast and Cervical Cancer Control Program Guidelines, 01/02, pg. 14

Carolina ACCESS Override Request Form, 04/02, pg. 15; 09/02, pg. 8

Carolina ACCESS Override Requests, 04/02, pg. 14

Carolina ACCESS Provider Application Available on the Internet, 04/02, pg. 2

Carolina ACCESS Provider Information Change Form, 12/02, pg. 11

Change in Carolina ACCESS Override Policy, 09/02, pg. 7

Change to Checkwrite and Electronic Cut-Off Schedule for September 2002 and October 2002, 09/02, pg. 2

Changes to the Initial Hemoglobin or Hematocrit Health Check Screening Component, 04/02, pg. 5

Claim Payments Suspend, 12/02, pg. 3

Copayment Amounts for Recipients, 04/02, pg. 10

Corrected 1099 Requests – Action Required by March 1, 2002, 01/02, pg. 28; 02/02, pg. 4

CPT Code Bundling, 04/02, pg. 6

CPT Code Update 2002, 01/02, pg. 2; 04/02, pg. 9

CPT Code Update 2002 - Code Description Correction, 06/02, pg. 2

CPT Code Update for 2002 - Coverage of Additional Codes, 08/02, pg. 13

CPT Codes End-Dated for 2002, 04/02, pg. 8

Directions to Medicare Part B Seminars, 08/02, pg. 36

Directions to the Basic Medicaid Seminars, 03/02, pg. 7

Drug Coverage for Impotence Drugs, 08/02, pg. 3

Electronic Data Interchange Update, 08/02, pg. 6

Electronic Funds Transfer Form, 01/02, pg. 27

Electronic Funds Transfer Form – Fax Number Change for Submittals, 01/02, pg. 26

Epirubicin Hydrochloride (Ellence), 50 mg (J9180) – Billing Guidelines, 09/02, pg. 4

Extracorporeal Shock Wave Lithotripsy, 05/02, pg. 7

Fee Schedules and Reimbursement Plans, 06/02, pg. 13

Fluoroscopy, CPT Code 76000, 05/02, pg. 6

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act Compliance Survey, 04/02, pg. 11

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act Compliance Training, 03/02, pg. 4

Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act Update, 08/02, pg. 4; 10/02, pg. 2

HIPAA – Questions and Answers, 07/02, pg. 4

HIPAA Implementation Project Update, 07/02, pg. 2

Index to General and Special Bulletins for January 2002 through June 2002, 07/02, pg. 18

Index to General and Special Medicaid Bulletins for 2001, 01/02, pg. 21

Injectable Drugs, 08/02, pg. 9

Injectable Drugs in the Physician's Drug Program – Code Conversion Update, 08/02, pg. 7

Medicaid Claim Adjustment Form, 10/02, pg. 4; 11/02, pg. 4

Medicaid Identification Cards, 01/02, pg. 10

Medicaid Payment Accuracy Measurement Demonstration Project, 12/02, pg. 2

Medical Coverage Policies, 12/02, pg. 13

All Providers, continued

Medicare Crossover Reference Request Form, 01/02, pg. 13

Medicare Crossovers, 01/02, pg. 12

Medicare Part B Billing Guidelines, Draft Special Bulletin VI, 09/02

Medicare Part B Billing Guidelines, Revised Draft Special Bulletin VI, 11/02

Medicare Part B Crossover Payment Method Change, Special Bulletin I, 03/02

Medicare Part B Seminar Schedule, 08/02, pg. 35

Modifier 76 and 77 and Laboratory Codes, 08/02, pg. 4

Modifier YT, 10/02, pg. 3

NCECS Software Changes, 07/02, pg. 8

Notification of Change in Provider Status Form, 12/02, pg. 9

Paper Claim Submissions, 10/02, pg. 3

Preferred Drug List, 07/02, pg. 9

Preventive Medicine Annual Health Assessments, 05/02, pg. 3

Prior Approval Process for Outpatient Therapy Services, 05/02, pg. 1

Prior Authorization for Prescription Drugs, Special Bulletin II, 04/02

Proposed Medical Coverage Policies, 06/02, pg.1; 07/02, pg. 2; 08/02, pg. 3; 09/02, pg. 3; 10/02, pg. 2; 11/02, pg. 3; 12/02, pg. 3

Provider Information Update, 09/02, pg. 6; 10/02, pg. 5; 11/02, pg. 2; 12/02, pg. 4

Provider Representative Consultations, 09/02, pg. 5

Radioactive Imaging Agent, Myoview, 09/02, pg. 3

Referrals and Service Coordination for the Community Alternatives Program for Disabled Adults, 01/02, pg. 3

Revised Medicaid Claim Adjustment Request Form, 10/02, pg. 3; 11/02, pg. 3

Routine Newborn Circumcision Coverage Policy, 02/02, pg. 3; 11/02, pg. 3

Sodium Hyaluronate for Intra-Articular Injection - Billing Guidelines, 08/02, pg. 5

Surgery Prior Approval, 09/02, pg. 2

Synagis Policy Revision, 01/02, pg. 7

Synagis/RespiGam Coverage Criteria, 11/02, pg. 5

Synagis/RespiGam Prior Authorization Form, 11/02, pg. 6

Tax Identification Information, 12/02, pg. 5

Termination of Inactive Medicaid Provider Numbers, 02/02, pg. 2; 05/02, pg. 5

Unlisted CPT Codes, 05/02, pg. 6

W-9 Form, 01/02, pg. 29; 02/02, pg. 5; 12/02, pg. 7

Zoledronic Acid (Zometa), 4 mg (J3490) – Billing Guidelines, 09/02, pg. 4

Adult Care Home Providers

34-Day Grace Period for Prescription Drug PA, 07/02, pg. 11

Personal Care Physician Authorization and Care Plan, 12/02, pg. 15

Reimbursement Rate Increase for Adult Care Home Providers, 01/02, pg. 2

Request for Information, 09/02, pg. 12

Revised Assessment and Care Plan Form, 12/02, pg. 14

Ambulance Services Providers

New Ambulance Billing Guidelines, 12/02, pg. 20

Reimbursement Rate Increase for Ambulance Services, 01/02, pg. 8

Ambulatory Surgical Centers

Billing When Dental Services are Rendered in an Ambulatory Surgical Center, 08/02, pg. 30

Vitrasert (Ganciclovir, 4.5 mg, Long-acting Implant, Code J7310), 07/02, pg. 12

Anesthesiologists

Billing for Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist Services, 12/02, pg. 29

Area Mental Health Programs

Completion of the Residential Authorization Form, 04/02, pg. 12 Criterion #5 Services, 07/02, pg. 11 Outpatient Specialized Therapies, Special Bulletin V, 09/02 Residential Authorizations and Forms, 09/02, pg. 13 Residential Authorization Form, 04/02, pg. 13

Carolina ACCESS Primary Care Providers

Carolina ACCESS Override Request Form, 09/02, pg. 8 Carolina ACCESS Primary Care Provider Manual Available Online, 01/02, pg. 20 Carolina ACCESS Provider Surveys, 03/02, pg. 4; 07/02, pg. 13 Change in Carolina ACCESS Override Policy, 08/02, pg. 31; 09/02, pg. 7 Highlights of Carolina ACCESS Contractual Compliance Survey, 09/02, pg. 9

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists

Billing for Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist Services, 12/02, pg. 29

Community Alternatives Program Providers

Conversion of Home Health Supply Codes to National Codes, 08/02, pg. 23 Home Health Supplies – Reimbursement Rate Corrections, 10/02, pg. 8 Reimbursement Rate Increase for Community Alternatives Program Services, 02/02, pg. 3 Requests for Additional Information for Long-Term Care Prior Approval (FL2), 12/02, pg. 33

Criterion #5 Services

Bill Type Changes, 09/02, pg. 12 Criterion #5 Services, 07/02, pg. 11

Dental Providers

Billing When Dental Services are Rendered in an Ambulatory Surgical Center, 08/02, pg. 30

Developmental Evaluation Centers

HIPAA Code Conversion, Special Bulletin IV, 08/02 Outpatient Specialized Therapies, Special Bulletin V, 09/02

Dialysis Treatment Facilities

Ferrlecit (Sodium Gluconate Complex, HCPCS Code J2915, 625 mg.) Coverage Criteria, 01/02, pg. 9

Durable Medical Equipment Providers

Addition of HCPCS Code K0195, 08/02, pg. 24

Apnea Monitor Coverage Criteria and Billing Guidelines, 07/02, pg. 14

Code Definitions and Additions to the Orthotic and Prosthetic Fee Schedule, 12/02, pg. 26

Completion of Certificate of Medical Necessity and Prior Approval Forms, 08/02, pg. 29

Discontinuation of HCPCS Codes K0008 and K0013, 02/02, pg. 2

HCPCS Code Changes, 04/02, pg. 2

Reimbursement Rate Correction for Code E1390, 05/02, pg. 3

Return Address on Certificate of Medical Necessity and Prior Approval Form, 11/02, pg. 8

Federally Qualified Health Centers

Billing for Laboratory Services, 08/02, pg. 21

Core Service Code Conversion, 06/02, pg. 15

Core Service Code Conversion – Correction to End-Dated Code, 08/02, pg. 1

HIPAA Code Conversion, Special Bulletin IV, 08/02

Medical Nutrition Therapy Diagnosis Code Clarification, 12/02, pg. 25

Mirena (Levonorgestrel-Releasing Intrauterine System, Code J7302) Coverage Criteria, 03/02, pg. 3

Head Start Programs

Outpatient Specialized Therapies, Special Bulletin V, 09/02

Health Check Providers

Directions to the Health Check Seminars, 07/02, pg. 16

Health Check Billing Guide, Special Bulletin III, 07/02

Health Check Lead Screening, 12/02, pg. 24

Health Check Seminar, 06/02, pg. 12

Health Check Seminar Schedule, 07/02, pg. 15

Health Check Hearing and Vision Screening, 12/02, pg. 14

Health Departments

Billing Instructions for Procedure Code T1002, 12/02, pg. 26

Conversion of Refugee Health Assessment Code, STD Control Treatment Code, and

TB Control Treatment Code, 08/02, pg. 13

Diabetes Outpatient Self-Management Training: Supervision Clarification, 04/02, pg. 9

Family Planning Billing Clarification, 12/02, pg. 25

HIPAA Code Conversion, Special Bulletin IV, 08/02

Medical Nutrition Therapy Diagnosis Code Clarification, 12/02, pg. 25

Mirena (Levonorgestrel-Releasing Intrauterine System, Code J7302) Coverage

Criteria, 03/02, pg. 3

Outpatient Specialized Therapies, Special Bulletin V, 09/02

Provision of Psychological Services in Health Departments, 04/02, pg. 3

Refugee Health Assessment Billing Guidelines, 10/02, pg. 6

TB Control and Treatment Provided in Health Departments – Eligible Health Department Providers, 10/02, pg. 7

Training for Local Health Departments on New Codes, 07/02, pg. 13

Varicella-Zoster Immune Globulin, Human, for Intramuscular Use

(CPT 90396), Billing Guidelines, 08/02, pg. 32

Home Health Agencies

Conversion of Home Health Supply Codes to National Codes, 08/02, pg. 23

Home Health Supplies – Reimbursement Rate Corrections, 10/02, pg. 8

Outpatient Specialized Therapies, Special Bulletin V, 09/02

Prior Approval Process, 04/02, pg. 3

Prior Approval Process for Outpatient Therapy Services, 05/02, pg. 1

Questions and Answers Regarding Personal Care Services (in Private Residences), 01/02, pg. 18

Written Confirmation of Verbal Orders, 01/02, pg. 31

Hospice Providers

Reimbursement Rate Increase for Hospice Services, 01/02, pg. 11; 12/02, pg. 27 Reimbursement Rate Increase for Hospice Services – Correction to Article in January 2002 General Medicaid Bulletin, 02/02, pg. 7

Hospital Providers

Billing for Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist Services, 12/02, pg. 29

Billing Instructions for Revenue Code 636, 10/02, pg. 8

Clarification of Prior Authorization for Outpatient Specialized Therapy, 12/02, pg. 29

Criterion #5 Services, 07/02, pg. 11

DRG Pricing Modification for Transferring Patients, 10/02, pg. 9

Emergency Medical Screening Examinations, 05/02, pg. 2

ICD-9-CM Diagnosis Codes – Additions and Changes, 01/02, pg. 15

Outpatient Specialized Therapies, Special Bulletin V, 09/02

Reimbursement Rates for Lower Level of Care, Ventilator Dependent Care, and Swing Bed, 01/02, pg. 3

Requests for Additional Information for Long-Term Care Prior Approval (FL2), 12/02, pg. 33

Revenue Code Changes, 04/02, pg. 7

Revision of Utilization Review Plans, 08/02, pg. 32

Utilization Review Plans, 12/02, pg. 28

Vitrasert (Ganciclovir, 4.5 mg, Long-acting Implant, Code J7310), 07/02, pg. 12

ICF/MR Facility Providers

34-Day Grace Period for Prescription Drug PA, 07/02, pg. 11

Independent Practitioners

Directions to the Seminars 11/02, pg. 13

HIPAA Code Conversion for Independent Practitioners and Local Education Agencies, Special Bulletin VII, 12/02

Independent Practitioner and Local Education Agencies Seminars, 10/02, pg. 11; 11/02, pg. 12

Outpatient Specialized Therapies, Special Bulletin V, 09/02

Prior Approval Process, 04/02, pg. 3

Prior Approval Process for Outpatient Therapy Services, 05/02, pg. 1

Local Education Agencies

Directions to the Seminars 11/02, pg. 13

HIPAA Code Conversion for Independent Practitioners and Local Education Agencies, Special Bulletin VII, 12/02

Independent Practitioner and Local Education Agencies Seminars, 10/02, pg. 11; 11/02, pg. 12 Outpatient Specialized Therapies, Special Bulletin V, 09/02

Prior Approval Process, 04/02, pg. 3

Prior Approval Process for Outpatient Therapy Services, 05/02, pg. 1

Long-Term Care Providers and Pharmacists

Long-Term Care Pharmacists May Seek Prescription Drug Prior Authorization, 07/02, pg. 14 Quality Control Eligibility Reviews of Medicaid Recipients in Long-Term Care, 03/02, pg. 2

Lower Level Care Providers

DRG Pricing Modification for Transferring Patients, 10/02, pg. 9

Maternity Services Providers

Clarification of V Code Usage, 10/02, pg. 6 HIPAA Code Conversion, Special Bulletin IV, 08/02 New Codes for Maternal and Child Services, 08/02, pg. 22 Termination of Coverage, 08/02, pg. 22

Mecklenburg County Providers

Managed Care Update, 01/02, pg. 14; 06/02, pg. 2

Mental Health Services Providers

Prior Approval and Medicare, 03/02, pg. 4; 05/02, pg. 5 ValueOptions Website, 12/02, pg. 33

Nurse Midwives

Mirena (Levonorgestrel-Releasing Intrauterine System, Code J7302) Coverage Criteria, 03/02, pg. 3
Varicella-Zoster Immune Globulin, Human, for Intramuscular Use (CPT 90396), Billing Guidelines, 08/02, pg. 32

Nurse Practitioners

Apligraf HCPCS Code Change, 04/02, pg. 12
Ferrlecit (Sodium Gluconate Complex, HCPCS Code J2915, 625 mg.) Coverage Criteria, 01/02, pg. 9
Mirena (Levonorgestrel-Releasing Intrauterine System, Code J7302) Coverage Criteria, 03/02, pg. 3

Modifier YR – Routine Foot Care, 11/02, pg. 8 Varicella-Zoster Immune Globulin, Human, for Intramuscular Use (CPT 90396), Billing Guidelines, 08/02, pg. 32

Nursing Facility Providers

34-Day Grace Period for Prescription Drug PA, 07/02, pg. 11
Requests for Additional Information for Long-Term Care Prior Approval (FL2), 12/02, pg. 33
Requests for Retroactive Prior Approval, 04/02, pg. 5
Tracking Forms for the Preadmission Screening and Annual Resident Review
Process, 04/02, pg. 4

Optical Services Providers

Billing Dispensing Fees for Glasses that Cannot be Dispensed, 11/02, pg. 8 Incomplete/Illegible Request for Prior Approval for Visual Aids Forms, 12/02, pg. 34 Retention of Prior Approval Forms, 09/02, pg. 10

Outpatient Therapy Services

Directions to the Outpatient Specialized Therapy Prior Approval Process Workshops, 08/02, pg. 34

Outpatient Specialized Therapies, Special Bulletin V, 09/02

Prior Approval of Outpatient Specialized Therapy Services, 08/02, pg. 33

Prior Approval Process, 04/02, pg. 3

Prior Approval Process for Outpatient Therapy Services, 05/02, pg. 1

Personal Care Services Providers

Cancellation of the Personal Care Services Seminars and Requests for Individual Visits, 03/02, pg. 5

Change in Monthly Limit for Medicaid Personal Care Services in Private Residences, 11/02, pg. 9

Personal Care Services Seminar Schedule, 01/02, pg. 31; 02/02, pg. 10

Questions and Answers Regarding Personal Care Services (in Private Residences), 01/02, pg. 18

Reimbursement Rate Increase for Personal Care Services, 02/02, pg. 8

Travel Directions to the Personal Care Services Seminars, 02/02, pg. 11

Written Confirmation of Verbal Orders, 01/02, pg. 31

Pharmacists

34-Day Grace Period for Prescription Drug PA, 07/02, pg. 11

Exemptions to Prescription Drug PA Criteria, 07/02, pg. 10

Long-Term Care Pharmacists May Seek Prescription Drug Prior Authorization, 07/02, pg. 14

"Medically Necessary" Replaces "Dispense as Written", 11/02, pg. 10

Prior Authorization for Prescription Drugs, Special Bulletin II, 04/02

Senior Care Drug Assistance Program, 11/02, pg. 11

Valid DEA Numbers Required on Pharmacy Prescriptions, 08/02, pg. 20

Physicians

Apligraf HCPCS Code Change, 04/02, pg. 12

Apnea Monitor Coverage Criteria and Billing Guidelines, 07/02, pg. 14

Case Conference for Sexually Abused Children, 04/02, pg. 6

Emergency Medical Screening Examinations, 05/02, pg. 2

Ferrlecit (Sodium Gluconate Complex, HCPCS Code J2915, 625 mg.) Coverage

Criteria, 01/02, pg. 9

HIPAA Code Conversion, Special Bulletin IV, 08/02

Injectable Drug List Update, 06/02, pg. 3

Mirena (Levonorgestrel-Releasing Intrauterine System, Code J7302) Coverage

Criteria, 03/02, pg. 3

Miscellaneous Supplies, 06/02, pg. 2

Modifier YR – Routine Foot Care, 11/02, pg. 8

Neonatal Intensive Care Services, 05/02, pg. 4

New Codes for the Oral Screening Preventive Package for Use in Primary

Care Physician Offices, 08/02, pg. 14

Outpatient Specialized Therapies, Special Bulletin V, 09/02

Prior Approval Process, 04/02, pg. 3

Varicella-Zoster Immune Globulin, Human, for Intramuscular Use

(CPT 90396), Billing Guidelines, 08/02, pg. 32

Vitrasert (Ganciclovir, 4.5 mg, Long-acting Implant, Code J7310), 07/02, pg. 12

Podiatrists

Modifier YR – Routine Foot Care, 11/02, pg. 8

Prescribers

34-Day Grace Period for Prescription Drug PA, 07/02, pg. 11

Exemptions to Prescription Drug PA Criteria, 07/02, pg. 10

Long-Term Care Pharmacists May Seek Prescription Drug Prior Authorization, 07/02, pg. 14

"Medically Necessary" Replaces "Dispense as Written", 11/02, pg. 10

Senior Care Drug Assistance Program, 11/02, pg. 11

Synagis Policy Revision, 01/02, pg. 7

Valid DEA Numbers Required on Pharmacy Prescriptions, 08/02, pg. 20; 09/02, pg. 11; 10/02, pg. 10

Private Duty Nursing Providers

Conversion of Home Health Supply Codes to National Codes, 08/02, pg. 23

Home Health Supplies – Reimbursement Rate Corrections, 10/02, pg. 8

Written Confirmation of Verbal Orders, 01/02, pg. 31

Providers Qualified to Determine Presumptive Eligibility for Pregnant Women

Presumptive Eligibility Determinations for Pregnant Women, 10/02, pg. 7

Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility Services

Bill Type Changes, 09/02, pg. 12

Billing Guidelines for Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility Service, 08/02, pg. 25

Denials Relative to Patient Monthly Liability, 04/02, pg. 14

Residential Treatment Services for Levels II through IV

Accreditation Requirement and Provider Status Changes, 06/02, pg. 15

Bill Type Changes, 09/02, pg. 12

Completion of the Residential Authorization Form, 04/02, pg. 12

Residential Authorization Form, 04/02, pg. 13

Residential Authorizations and Forms, 09/02, pg. 13

Rural Health Clinics

Billing for Laboratory Services, 08/02, pg. 21

Core Service Code Conversion, 06/02, pg. 15

Core Service Code Conversion – Correction to End-Dated Code, 08/02, pg. 1

HIPAA Code Conversion, Special Bulletin IV, 08/02

Medical Nutrition Therapy Diagnosis Code Clarification, 12/02, pg. 25

Mirena (Levonorgestrel-Releasing Intrauterine System, Code J7302) Coverage

Criteria, 03/02, pg. 3

UB-92 Billers

Filing Paper UB-92 Claims for Services Provided to Carolina ACCESS Recipients, 09/02, pg. 10; 10/02, pg. 11

Checkwrite Schedule

January 14, 2003	February 11, 2003	March 4, 2003
January 22, 2003	February 18, 2003	March 11, 2003
January 30, 2003	February 27, 2003	March 18, 2003
		March 27, 2003

Electronic Cut-Off Schedule

January 10, 2003	February 7, 2003	March 7, 2003
January 17, 2003	February 14, 2003	March 14, 2003
January 24, 2003	February 21, 2003	March 21, 2003
	February 28, 2003	

Electronic claims must be transmitted and completed by 5:00 p.m. on the cut-off date to be included in the next checkwrite. Any claims transmitted after 5:00 p.m. will be processed on the second checkwrite following the transmission date.

Nina M. Yeager, Director Division of Medical Assistance

Department of Health and Human Services

Ricky Pope Executive Director EDS

Presorted Standard

U.S. POSTAGE PAID Raleigh, N.C. Permit No. 1087

P.O. Box 300001 Raleigh, North Carolina 27622