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 Attention:  All Providers 

 2010 Census 
 
 

The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is partnering with the U.S. Census Bureau and the  
N.C. Complete Count Committee to support the 2010 Census.  Please help us spread the word about the  
2010 Census to achieve a complete and accurate count of North Carolina’s population.   
 
Accurate census data guides decision-makers on where to build roads, hospitals, housing, schools, and senior 
centers and will ensure that North Carolina gets its fair share of federal funding.  Every year, the federal 
government distributes more than $400 billion for improvements to public health, education, transportation, and 
more.  These funds are distributed to state, local, and tribal governments based on census data.  For each person 
who is not counted, North Carolina will loose approximately $10,000 over the next 10 years. 
 
Every person counts in the Census.  DMA encourages our providers and partners to promote Census awareness 
and participation by reminding consumers that 

 You don’t count unless you’re counted. 

 It’s quick, easy, and safe. 

 It’s a patriotic duty. 
 
For more information on the 2010 Census and to find out how you can get involved, visit the North Carolina 
Census website at http://2010census.nc.gov. 

Director’s Office 
DMA, 919-855-4000 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Attention:  All Providers 

Clinical Coverage Policies 
 
The following new or amended clinical coverage policies are now available on DMA’s website at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/: 

 1A-26, Deep Brain Stimulation (DBS) 
 
These policies supersede previously published policies and procedures.  Providers may contact HP Enterprise 
Services at 1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 with billing questions. 
 
Clinical Policy and Programs  
DMA, 919-855-4260 
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Attention:  All Providers 

North Carolina Medicaid Preferred Drug List  
 
DMA will establish a N.C. Medicaid Preferred Drug List (PDL) on March 15, 2010.  The N.C. General Assembly 
[Session Law 2009-451, Sections 10.66(a)-(d)] authorized DMA to establish the PDL in order to obtain better 
prices for covered outpatient drugs through supplemental rebates.  All therapeutic drug classes for which the drug 
manufacturer provides a supplemental rebate are considered for inclusion on the list with the exception of 
medications used for the treatment of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or acquired immune deficiency 
syndrome (AIDS).   
 
Initially, when the PDL goes into effect, there will not be any changes in the drugs that are currently covered.  In 
the future, selected therapeutic drug classes will be reviewed by DMA and the Pharmacy and Therapeutics 
Committee of the N.C. Physicians Advisory Group.  Specific drug products within the selected therapeutic drug 
classes will be “preferred” based on therapeutic effectiveness, safety and clinical outcomes.  Generally these 
drugs will not require prior authorization (PA) unless there are other clinical PA requirements such as step therapy 
or quantity limits.   
 
“Non-preferred” drugs (drug products not included in the therapeutic drug classes listed on the PDL) will be 
available if prior authorization criteria are met.  The prior authorization process will be the same process as it is 
today.  If a prescriber deems that the patient’s clinical status necessitates therapy with a “non-preferred” drug, the 
prescriber will be responsible for initiating a prior authorization request.  
 
For therapeutic drug classes that do not appear on the PDL, nothing has changed.  Prescribers can prescribe drugs 
in these classes as in the past, unless existing prior authorization criteria exists. 
 
The PDL is posted on DMA’s Outpatient Pharmacy Program’s website (http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/pharmacy/). 
 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Attention:  Children's Developmental Services Agencies and Early 
Intervention Services Providers 

Update on Community Based Rehabilitative Services 
 
A workgroup with members from DMA and the Division of Public Health (DPH) have been refining the 
definition of Community Based Rehabilitative Services (CBRS) and will be submitting the revised definition to 
the N.C. Physician’s Advisory Group (PAG) in late March.  The revised definition will also be posted for public 
comment on DMA’s website.  DMA continues to work closely with CMS to ensure that this newly revised service 
definition will be approved for Medicaid reimbursement under the N.C. Medicaid State Plan.  DMA and DPH 
believe that CBRS is a valuable service and are making every effort to maintain the service without interruption. 
 
Behavioral Health Section 
DMA, 919-855-4290 
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Attention:  All Providers 

Clarification on the Provider Enrollment Fee 

On September 1, 2009, DMA implemented a $100 fee for providers enrolling for participation with the  
N.C. Medicaid Program.  This requirement was implemented in response to legislation mandated by Session Law 
2009-451 (http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2009/Bills/Senate/PDF/S202v8.pdf). 

The enrollment fee applies to the initial enrollment of a provider (in other words, an in-state or border-area 
provider who has never before enrolled to participate in the N.C. Medicaid Program).  The provider's tax 
identification number is used to determine if the provider is currently enrolled or was previously enrolled.  The 
enrollment fee also applies to currently enrolled providers at 3-year intervals when the provider is re-credentialed.   

Providers should not submit payment with their enrollment applications or with their verification packets.  Once a 
provider is approved for enrollment or has been re-credentialed, the CSC EVC Call Center will send an invoice to 
the provider with instructions for payment.  

The enrollment fee does not apply to requests for changes to a provider’s status even if a new enrollment 
application is required in order for the CSC EVC Call Center to complete the change.  For example, a new 
provider application is required for group name changes.  But, the enrollment fee does not apply because the 
provider is currently enrolled.  

CSC, 1-866-844-1113 
 
 
 
 
Attention:  All Providers 

Medicaid Credit Balance Reporting 

All providers participating in the Medicaid Program are required to submit a quarterly Credit Balance Report to 
the DMA Third-Party Recovery Section identifying balances due to Medicaid.  Providers must report any 
outstanding credits owed to Medicaid that have not been reported previously on a Medicaid Credit Balance 
Report.  However, hospital and nursing facility providers are required to submit a report every calendar quarter 
even if there are no credit balances.  The report must be submitted no later than 30 days following the end of the 
calendar quarter (March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31). 

The Medicaid Credit Balance Report is used to monitor and recover “credit balances” owed to the Medicaid 
Program.  A credit balance results from an improper or excess payment made to a provider.  For example, refunds 
must be made to Medicaid if a provider is paid twice for the same service (e.g., by Medicaid and a medical 
insurance policy, by Medicare and Medicaid, by Medicaid and a liability insurance policy) or if the patient 
liability was not reported in the billing process or if computer or billing errors occur. 

For the purpose of completing the report, a Medicaid Credit Balance is the amount determined to be refundable to 
the Medicaid Program.  When a provider receives an improper or excess payment for a claim, it is reflected in the 
provider's accounting records (patient accounts receivable) as a “credit.”  However, credit balances include money 
due to Medicaid regardless of its classification in a provider's accounting records.  If a provider maintains a credit 
balance account for a stipulated period (e.g., 90 days) and then transfers the account or writes it off to a holding 
account, this does not relieve the provider of liability to the Medicaid Program.  The provider is responsible for 
identifying and repaying all monies owed the Medicaid Program. 

The Medicaid Credit Balance Report requires specific information for each credit balance on a claim-by-claim 
basis.  The reporting form provides space for 15 claims but may be reproduced as many times as necessary to 
accommodate all the credit balances being reported.  Specific instructions for completing the report are on the 
reverse side of the reporting form.  
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Submitting the Medicaid Credit Balance Report does not result in the credit balances automatically being 
reimbursed to the Medicaid Program.  Electronic adjustments are the preferred method of satisfying the 
credit balances and can be performed through the North Carolina Electronic Claims Submission/Recipient 
Eligibility Verification Web Tool.  Refer to the February 2010 Medicaid Bulletin article, titled Adjusting 
North Carolina Medicaid Claims Electronically, on DMA’s website at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/bulletin/ 
for specific filing instructions. 
 
In the event, a billing error caused an individual provider to be paid for a service in which a provider group should 
have been paid, a refund check will need to be sent to HP Enterprise Services to correct the error as it is unlikely 
the individual provider will have future claims to adjust.  In these circumstances only, a check must be made 
payable to HP Enterprise Services and sent to HP Enterprise Services using the Medicaid Provider Refund 
Form (http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/forms.htm).  The information on the form must be complete and 
accurate in order to process the provider refund check.   
 

Submit the Medicaid Credit 
Balance Report Form to: 

Electronic Adjustments using the North 
Carolina Electronic Claims 

Submission/Recipient Eligibility 
Verification Web Tool 

Submit Refund Checks to: 

Third Party Recovery Section 
Division of Medical Assistance 
2508 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh  NC  27699-2508 

Refer to the February 2010 Medicaid 
Bulletin article titled, Adjusting North 
Carolina Medicaid Claims Electronically, 
(http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/bulletin/)  

HP Enterprise Services 
Refunds 
P.O. Box 300011 
Raleigh  NC  27622-3011 
 
(Do not send these refund 
checks to DMA or to the 
Controller’s Office.) 

 

Submit only the completed Medicaid Credit Balance Report to DMA.  Failure to submit a Medicaid Credit 
Balance Report to DMA will result in the withholding of Medicaid payment until the report is received. 
 
Send to DMA: 

 The original completed Medicaid Credit Balance Report. 

 Please circle “Adjustment” at bottom of original credit balance report to indicate an electronic adjustment 
has been performed.  (Note:  You may circle “Refund” in the event a check must be sent due to the reason 
stated above). 

 
Send to HP Enterprise Services Refunds Department: 

 Always send live credit balance refund check(s) to the HP Enterprise Services refunds address listed in 
this bulletin. 

 Enclose a copy of the Medicaid Credit Balance Report associated with the refund. 

 Include a completed Medicaid Provider Refund Request Form to ensure that HP Enterprise Services 
can appropriately document individual refund amounts. 

 Please circle “Refund” at the bottom of the copy of the Medicaid Credit Balance Report. 
 
A copy of the Medicaid Credit Balance Report form follows this article.  The Medicaid Provider Refund Form 
and the Medicaid Credit Balance Report form are also available on DMA’s website at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/forms.htm. 
 
Debbie Odette, Third Party Recovery Section 
DMA, 919-647-8100
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Attention:  All Providers 

Basic Medicaid Seminars 
 
Basic Medicaid seminars are scheduled for the month of April 2010 at the sites listed below.  These seminars are 
intended to educate all providers on the basics of billing for N.C. Medicaid and will include the latest budget 
initiative requirements.  The April 2010 Basic Medicaid Billing Guide will be used as the primary training 
document for the seminar.  Please print a copy of the Billing Guide for review and bring it to the seminar.  If 
preferred, you may download the Billing Guide to a laptop and bring the laptop to the seminar or you may access 
the Billing Guide online using your laptop during the seminar.  However, please note that HP Enterprise 
Services cannot guarantee a power source or Internet access for your laptop. 
 
Pre-registration is required.  Due to limited seating, registration is limited to two staff members per office.  
Unregistered providers are welcome to attend if space is available. 
 
Providers may register for the seminars by completing and submitting the online registration form, or providers 
may register by fax using the form below (fax it to the number listed on the form).  Please indicate the session you 
plan to attend on the registration form. 
 
Sessions will begin at 9:00 a.m. and end at 4:00 p.m.  Providers are encouraged to arrive by 8:45 a.m. to complete 
registration.  Lunch will not be provided at the seminars.  However, there will be a scheduled lunch break.  
Because meeting room temperatures vary, dressing in layers is strongly advised. 
 

Date Location 

Tuesday, April 6, 2010 Blue Ridge Community College, Flat Rock Campus 
Blue Ridge Conference Center 
180 E. Campus Drive 
Flat Rock  NC  28731 

Wednesday, April 7, 2010 Gaston Community College, Dallas Campus 
Myers Center Building Auditorium 
201 Highway 321 South 
Dallas  NC  28034 

Tuesday, April 13, 2010 Hawthorne Inn 
420 High Street 
Winston-Salem  NC  27101 

Thursday, April 15, 2010 The Royal Banquet and Convention Center  
3801 Hillsborough Street 
Raleigh  NC  27607 

Tuesday, April 20, 2010 Craven Community College, New Bern Campus 
Orringer Hall Auditorium 
800 College Court 
New Bern  NC  28562 
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Directions to the Basic Medicaid Seminars  
 
DALLAS 
Gaston Community College 
Traveling on I-85:  Take I-85 to Exit 17 (Highway 321).  As you exit the ramp, take a left at the stoplight onto 
Highway 321 North.  You will pass two stoplights and then pass over a bridge.  About ¼ mile past the bridge, 
take the Gaston College exit ramp.  At the top of the ramp, turn left and follow the road to the traffic circle.  Take 
the first exit right off the circle to go to the main part of campus. 
 
 
FLAT ROCK 
Blue Ridge Community College, Conference Center 
Traveling East on 1-26:  Travel east on I-26 to Exit 53, Upward Road.  Turn right at the end of the ramp.  At the 
2nd traffic light, (approximately 0.5 miles), turn right onto South Allen Drive.  Travel approximately 0.5 miles to 
the Blue Ridge Community College sign and turn left onto College Drive.  The first building on the right is the 
Sink Building.   
 
 
NEW BERN 
Craven Community College 
Traveling North on US 17:  Take US 17 North towards New Bern to NC 43.  Turn left onto South Glenburnie 
Road (NC 43/US 17 Business Route).  Turn left onto College Court. 
 
Traveling South on US 264:  Take US 264 South towards New Bern to NC 43.  Turn right onto South 
Glenburnie Road (NC 43/US 17 Business Route).  Turn left onto College Court. 
 
 
RALEIGH 
The Royal Banquet and Convention Center 
Traveling East on I-40:  Take I-40 East towards Raleigh.  Take Exit 289 for Wade Avenue.  Pass the exits for 
Edwards Mill Road and Blue Ridge Road, then merge right onto I-440 S/US 1 South toward I-40 
East/Hillsborough Street/Sanford (the Outer Beltline).  Take Exit 3 for NC 54/Hillsborough Street.  Turn left at 
the bottom of the exit ramp onto Hillsborough Street.  Turn right at the 3rd stoplight at Meredith College and the 
Brickhouse Restaurant (the turn is located in front of Quizno's and Ben & Jerry's).  Go to the end of the parking 
lot and turn left to park BEHIND the building or in the covered parking area. 
 
Traveling West on I-40:  Take I-40 West towards Raleigh.  Take Exit 293 for I-440/US 1/US 64/Raleigh/Wake 
Forest.  The exit will split into two lanes.  Stay in the right-hand lane to merge onto I-440/Inner Beltline/Raleigh.  
Take Exit 3 for NC 54/Hillsborough Street.  Turn left at the bottom of the exit ramp onto Hillsborough Street.  
Turn right at the 3rd traffic light at Meredith College and the Brickhouse Restaurant (the turn is located in front of 
Quizno's and Ben & Jerry's).  Go to the end of the parking lot and turn left to park BEHIND the building or in the 
covered parking area. 
 
 
WINSTON-SALEM 
Hawthorne Inn 
Traveling East on I-40:  Take I-40 East to I-40 Business into downtown Winston-Salem.  Take Exit 5C for 
Cherry Street and turn onto High Street.  The front entrance of the hotel is immediately on your right.  
 
 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888  
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Registration Form 
 
 

Basic Medicaid Workshops 
April 2010 Seminar Registration Form 

(No Fee) 
 
 
Provider Name and Discipline    
 
Medicaid Provider Number     NPI Number    
 
Mailing Address    
 
City, Zip Code     County    
 
Contact Person     E-mail    
 

Telephone Number  ( )   Fax Number    
 
 1    or    2  person(s) will attend the seminar at     on    
(circle one)  (location)  (date) 

 
Please fax completed form to: 919-851-4014 

Please mail completed form to:   
HP Provider Services 

P.O. Box 300009 
Raleigh, NC 27622 
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Attention:  All Providers 

HCPCS Code Changes for the Physician’s Drug Program 
 
The following HCPCS code changes have been made to comply with CMS HCPCS code changes. 
 
New HCPCS Procedure Codes 

The following HCPCS codes were added to the list of covered codes for the Physician’s Drug Program effective 
with date of service January 1, 2010. 
 

New HCPCS 
Code 

Description Unit 

J0598* C1 Esterase inhibitor (human) (Cinryze, Berinert) Per 10 units 

J2793* Rilonacept (Arcalyst) 1 mg 
 
*Refer to the February 2010 Medicaid Bulletin (http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/bulletin/) for billing guidelines for 
these drugs. 
 

End-Dated Codes with Replacement Codes 

The following HCPCS codes were end-dated effective with date of service December 31, 2009, and replaced with 
new codes effective with date of service January 1, 2010.  Claims submitted for dates of service on or after 
January 1, 2010, using the end-dated codes will be denied. 
 

End-Dated 
HCPCS 

Code 
Description Unit 

New 
HCPCS 

Code 
Description Unit 

J0460 Atropine sulfate Up to 3 mg J0461 Atropine sulfate 0.01 mg 
J0530, 

J0540 and 
J0550 

Penicillin G benzathine 
and penicillin G procaine 

Varying 
units 

J0559 Penicillin G benzathine 
and penicillin G procaine 

2500 units 

J0835 Cosyntropin Per 0.25 
mg 

J0833 Cosyntropin, not 
otherwise classified 

0.25 mg 

J0835 Cosyntropin Per 0.25 
mg 

J0834 Cosyntropin (Cortrosyn) 0.25 mg 

J7322 Hyaluronan or derivative, 
Synvisc  

Per dose J7325 Hyaluronan or derivative, 
Synvisc or Synvisc-one 

1 mg 

J9170 Docetaxel 20 mg J9171 Docetaxel 1 mg 
Q2023 Factor VIII 

(antihemophilic factor, 
recombinant) (Xyntha) 

Per I.U. J7185 Factor VIII 
(antihemophilic factor, 
recombinant) (Xyntha) 

Per I.U. 

 

New Codes That Were Previously Billed with the Miscellaneous Drug Codes J3490, J3590  
or J9999 

Effective with date of service January 1, 2010, the N.C. Medicaid Program covers the individual HCPCS codes 
for the drugs listed in the following table.  Claims submitted for dates of service on or after January 1, 2010, using 
the unlisted drug codes J3490, J3590 or J9999 for these drugs will be denied.  An invoice is not required. 



North Carolina Medicaid Bulletin March 2010 

 12 

 
Old 

HCPCS 
Code 

Description Old Unit 
New 

HCPCS 
Code 

Description New Unit 

J3590 Certolizumab pegol 
(Cimzia) 

200 mg J0718 Certolizumab pegol, 1 
mg (Cimzia)  

1 mg 

J3590 Human fibrinogen 
concentrate (RiaSTAP) 

1 mg J1680 Human fibrinogen 
concentrate (RiaSTAP) 

100 mg 

J3490 Plerixafor (Mozobil) 1 mg J2562 Plerixafor (Mozobil) 1 mg 
J3490 Romiplostim (NPlate) 10 mcg J2796 Romiplostim (Nplate) 10 mcg 
J3490 Degarelix (Firmagon) 80 mg J9155 Degarelix (Firmagon)  1 mg 
J9999 Temozolomide 

(Temodar) 
100 mg J9328 Temozolomide 

(Temodar) 
1 mg 

J3490 Ferumoxytol 510 mg vial Q0138 Ferumoxytol, for 
treatment of iron 
deficiency anemia (non-
ESRD use) 

1 mg 

J3490 Ferumoxytol 510 mg vial Q0139 Ferumoxytol, for 
treatment of iron 
deficiency anemia 
(ESRD, on dialysis) 

1 mg 

 
Refer to the fee schedule for the Physician’s Drug Program on DMA’s website at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/fee/ for the latest available fees. 
 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888  
 
 
 
 
 
 

Attention:  All Providers 

Health Check/EPSDT Seminars 
 
Health Check/EPSDT seminars are scheduled for May 2010.  Registration information, a list of dates, and site 
locations for the seminars will be published in the April 2010 Medicaid bulletin 
(http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/bulletin/).  
 
Seminars will begin at 9:00 a.m. and will end at 12:00 noon.  Providers are encouraged to arrive by 8:45 a.m. to 
complete registration.  Lunch will not be provided at the seminars.  Because meeting room temperatures vary, 
dressing in layers is strongly advised. 
 
Due to limited seating, registration is limited to two staff members per office.  Pre-registration is required.  
Unregistered providers are welcome to attend if space is available.  
 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 
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Attention:  All Providers 

Amendment Approval to the Family Planning Waiver 
 
On November 4, 2009, CMS approved the coverage of additional procedures/devices under the Medicaid Family 
Planning Waiver (MAFD).  The procedures/devices listed in the following table are now included. 
 

Procedure 
Procedure 

Code 
Procedure Code Description 

58340 Catheterization and introduction of saline or contrast material for saline 
infusion sonohysterography (SIS) or hysterosalpingography 

58565 Hysteroscopy, surgical; with bilateral fallopian tube cannulation to induce 
occlusion by placement of permanent implants 

Essure 

74740 Hysterosalpingography, radiological supervision and interpretation 

J7307 Etonogestrel (contraceptive) implant system, including implant and supplies 
(Implanon) 

11981 Insertion, non-biodegradable drug delivery implant 

Implanon 

11982 Removal, non-biodegradable drug delivery implant 

88174 Cytopathology, cervical or vaginal (any reporting system), collected in 
preservative fluid, automated thin layer preparation; screening by automated 
system, under physician supervision 

Thin Prep 
Pap Smear 

88175 Cytopathology, cervical or vaginal (any reporting system), collected in 
preservative fluid, automated thin layer preparation; with screening by 
automated system and manual rescreening or review, under physician 
supervision 

Contraceptive 
Pills 

S4993 Contraceptive pills for birth control  

 
Claims for dates of service November 4, 2009, and after, may now be submitted for processing. 
 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888  
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Attention:  All Providers 

Human Papilloma Virus (HPV) Vaccine, Quadrivalent (CPT Code 90649, 
Gardasil):  Additional Coverage Guidelines 
The Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
(CDC) recently updated recommendations for the use of quadrivalent HPV vaccine, and approved it for males  
9 through 26 years of age.  Effective February 4, 2010, the North Carolina Immunization Program (NCIP) added 
coverage for males 9 through 18 years of ages who are eligible for the Vaccines for Children (VFC) Program.  
The vaccine was previously recommended and available from NCIP for females only.  Gardasil is administered as 
a 3-dose series.  

Effective with date of service February 4, 2010, for males and females who are 

 9 through 18 years of age, the N.C. Medicaid Program covers the administration fee for Gardasil.  

 19 through 20 years of age, Medicaid covers the Gardasil vaccine AND the administration fee.  

 21 through 26 years of age, Medicaid does NOT cover the Gardasil vaccine or the administration fee. 

Refer to the general Medicaid Bulletin and the Health Check Billing Guide for billing guidelines.   

HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Attention:  Personal Care Services Providers 

Implementation of PCS PACT Reviews and Independent Assessments 

Independent assessment of PCS recipients is being implemented in response to Session Law 2009-451 (Senate 
Bill 202), Section 10.68A.(a)(3) (http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2009/Bills/Senate/PDF/S202v8.pdf).  The 
Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence (CCME) was awarded the contract to conduct PCS independent 
assessments. 

All PACT forms submitted to CCME by January 8, 2010, in response to DMA’s November 3, 2009, notice to 
providers, have been reviewed.  Service reduction notifications and prior authorizations based on the PACT 
Review have been delayed due to a legal challenge by the Association for Home and Hospice Care.  Information 
regarding continuing service denial notifications will be announced as it becomes available. 

Continue to conduct new referral assessments, annual reassessments, and change of status reviews, and complete 
and submit your weekly assessment and discharge updates to CCME using and following instructions in 
the Weekly Summary Form (see the PACT Review website at http://www.qireport.net).  Include PACT 
forms for all newly admitted and reassessed PCS and PCS-Plus recipients.   

Implementation of independent assessment of all individuals applying for PCS and PCS-Plus and all 
reassessments and change of status reviews is scheduled for March 2010.  Refer to the PACT Review website 
(http://www.qireport.net) and future Medicaid bulletin articles for additional information and updates on this 
change.  Questions may be directed to the CCME PACT Help Line at 1-800-228-3365 or by e-mail to 
PACTreview@thecarolinascenter.org. 

CCME, 1-800-228-3365 
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Attention:  Enhanced Behavioral Health (Community Intervention) Services 
Providers and Local Management Entities 

Enhanced Services Policy Updates 
 
Child and Adolescent Day Treatment 

The Child and Adolescent Day Treatment service definition has been revised, reviewed by the N.C. Physician’s 
Advisory Group (PAG), offered for public comment, and received final approval.  This definition will be 
implemented effective April 1, 2010, and can be found in DMA Clinical Coverage Policy 8A located at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/.  The day treatment endorsement checksheet will be revised to reflect the 
changes in the service definition and posted to the Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and 
Substance Abuse Services (DMH/DD/SAS) endorsement webpage to be utilized to complete the endorsement 
process for any on site visit effective April 2, 2010.   All providers endorsed for this service are expected to be in 
compliance with the new service definition requirements effective April 1, 2010.  All stakeholders, including 
Local Management Entities (LMEs), providers, and consumers are encouraged to carefully read this definition as 
it has been substantially modified.  
 
Intensive In-Home and Community Support Team 

The DHHS service definition workgroup has reviewed all public comments for the revised Intensive In-Home and 
Community Support Team service definitions.  In general, comments were supportive of the move to adopt 
Evidence Based Practices (EBPs).  Concerns were raised regarding training and implementation during this time 
of significant system transition.  Based on these concerns, the specific models listed will be removed from the 
current drafts.  However, a basic foundation in evidence-based clinical practices is essential in the delivery of 
these rehabilitative services.  As a result, new draft definitions will include specific requirements for training in 
several clinical best practices.  These revised definitions will be re-posted on DMA’s website for further 
comment. 
 
Substance Abuse Intensive Outpatient Treatment (SAIOP) and Substance Abuse Comprehensive 
Outpatient Treatment (SACOT)  

Providers of Substance Abuse Intensive Outpatient Treatment (SAIOP) and Substance Abuse Comprehensive 
Outpatient Treatment (SACOT) are required to submit a discharge ITR to ValueOptions at the end of a treatment 
episode or when a consumer leaves the service prior to the end of a treatment episode.  This allows ValueOptions 
to keep an accurate and up-to-date record of treatment days available to the consumer.  
 
Additionally, providers delivering evidence-based models (such as the Matrix Model) should submit the specific 
EBP model name on the ITR when requesting authorization.  
 
Behavioral Health Section 
DMA, 919-855-4290 
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Attention:  CAP/DA Case Managers, CAP/Choice Case Managers, CAP/C 
Case Managers, Targeted Case Management Case Managers (Waiver and 
Non Waiver) for Persons with Developmental Disabilities, and Early 
Intervention Case Managers (Children’s Developmental Services Agencies) 

Policy Changes for Case Management Services 
 
This article is being republished to correct the instruction to providers to bill with the new procedure code 
T1017SC if additional hours (up to 6 hours/24 units) are needed for completing an assessment, completing a 
reauthorization or continued need review, or for a crisis/emergency situation.  The correct code to bill for these 
additional hours is the procedure code currently submitted for case management services with an 
informational modifier SC appended to the code. 
 
Beginning March 1, 2010, DMA will change the policies as described below for the following programs:  
CAP/DA, CAP/Choice, CAP/C, CAP/MR-DD, Targeted Case Management for Persons with Developmental 
Disabilities, and Early Intervention.  

 The maximum number of units for case management services will be limited to no more than three hours 
(12 units) per calendar month for each recipient.  See Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and 
Treatment (EPSDT) or Medicaid for Children below.  Providers should continue to use the current 
program case management billing codes. 

 No more than six additional hours (24 units) may be available if needed for completing an assessment, 
completing a reauthorization or continued need review, or for a crisis/emergency situation.   

 It is not necessary to bill all of the additional units on the same claim.  These additional units can 
be used cumulatively within a rolling 365 day period.   

 Any billing for assessments and crises case management above this annual limit will not be paid 
for adults 21 years of age and older.  For children under 21 years of age, requests will be 
reviewed under EPSDT.  (See EPSDT below.)   

 These six hours (24 units) are in addition to the three hours per calendar month.   

 When billing for these additional six hours/24 units, all programs must use the procedure code 
currently submitted for case management services and append an informational modifier 
SC to that detail.  For example: 

o CAP/C and CAP/DA would bill with T1016SC. 
o CAP/MR-DD, EI would continue to bill with T1017HI and append a second 

modifier of SC. 
o CAP/Choice would bill with T2041SC 

 
Early Intervention (EI) 

Effective March 1, 2010, any recipient receiving more than three hours (12 units) per calendar month will have 
his/her hours reduced to the limit of three hour (12 units).  This will not affect the entitlement that is applied under 
the Early Intervention Program for service coordination as listed in the Individualized Family Service Plan.   
 
Providers may request additional units (additional annual and monthly) by following the EPSDT requirements as 
outlined on http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/epsdt/.  If the request exceeds the policy limits described above, the 
request will be reviewed under the EPSDT criteria.  If the request meets all of the EPSDT criteria and the 
requested amount is necessary to meet the child’s needs, the request will be approved.  If the request does not 
meet all of the EPSDT criteria or the request exceeds what is necessary to meet the child’s needs, the request will 
not be approved at the level requested.   
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Developmental Disability (DD) Case Management (Waiver and Non-waiver) 

The following procedures apply to providers of DD case management (waiver and non-waiver): 

 Current authorizations with effective dates prior to March 1, 2010, will continue as authorized until the 
next annual continued need review (CNR).  The three hour/12 unit limit policy will be applied at the next 
annual review. 

 Effective March 1, 2010, prior authorization of case management services for adults on the Supports and 
Comprehensive waivers will not be required.  These adults will be eligible for up to three hours/12 units 
monthly as well as the additional 24 units for assessment, planning, and crisis management annually.  
Non-waiver adults will continue to require prior authorization and may be authorized for up to three 
hours/12 units per month and no more than six additional hours/24 units if needed for completing an 
assessment, completing a reauthorization or continued need review, or for a crisis/emergency situation.  
Should a case manager submit a request for a non-waiver recipient that exceeds the policy limits, the case 
will be reviewed to determine how many hours/units are necessary to meet the recipient’s needs (one, 
two, or three hours per calendar month and/or six or less additional hours if needed for completing an 
assessment, completing a reauthorization or continued need review, or for a crisis/emergency situation 
within 365 days).   

 Effective March 1, 2010, prior authorization of case management services for children on the Supports 
and Comprehensive waivers will not be required unless the request exceeds the three hour/12 unit 
monthly limit or the 24 unit limit for assessment, planning and crisis situations..  Non-waiver children 
will continue to require prior authorization. 

 Waiver and non-waiver children must be evaluated under the EPSDT requirements prior to reducing their 
current service level at their next annual review and for authorization requests that exceed the  
three hour/12 unit limit or the 24-unit limits for assessment, planning, and crisis management..  See the 
section below regarding EPSDT. 

 
The case manager may request the additional six hours/24 units (T1017SC) for these current authorizations even 
if the current monthly authorization is in excess of the three hour/12 units per month.  These requests will be 
reviewed under the EPSDT criteria.    
 
All Other Programs (CAP/DA, CAP/Choice, CAP/C) 

 Case management services for all other affected programs will continue as currently approved until the 
next CNR, or reauthorization is submitted.  At that time, the case management unit limits will be applied 
as specified in the first paragraph of this article.   

 All case management units must be documented on the cost summary.  It is important to note that the 
conditions set forth in the CAP waiver concerning the recipient’s budget and continued participation in 
the waiver apply. That is, the cost of the recipient’s care, including case management services, must not 
exceed the waiver cost limits specified in the CAP waiver.   

 Children will be evaluated under EPSDT requirements prior to taking any adverse action.  See the section 
below regarding EPSDT. 

 
Documentation for case management billable units is required per respective clinical coverage policies.  Lack of 
supportive documentation for billed units will be referred to Program Integrity for possible recoupment. 
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EPSDT 

While the new limit on case management services has been reduced to no more than three hours (12 units) per 
calendar month and no more than six additional hours (24 units) if needed for completing an assessment, 
completing a reauthorization or continued need review, or for a crisis/emergency situation, these limits may not 
apply to children under 21 years of age.  Federal law, 42 U.S.C. §1396d(r)(5), requires the State Medicaid agency 
to provide to Medicaid recipients under 21 years of age “necessary health care, diagnostic services, treatment, and 
other measures described in section 1905(a) of the [Social Security] Act to correct or ameliorate defects and 
physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by the screening services, whether or not such services 
are covered under the State [Medicaid] Plan.”  For more information about EPSDT and provider documentation 
requirements for EPSDT requests, please visit http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/epsdt/.   
 
Recipient Due Process 

Children 
As indicated above, all requests for recipients under the age of 21 that exceed policy limits will be reviewed 
against the EPSDT criteria prior to taking adverse action, and the recipient or his/her legal guardian will receive a 
written notice explaining the decision.  The notice will state the decision and effective date of the reduction, 
explain the reduction is based on Session Law 2009-451, Sections 10.68A.(a)(2)(a) and 10.68A.(a)(10), DMA 
policy promulgated pursuant to S.L. 2009-451, Section 10.68A.(c), as well as state the EPSDT criteria not met, 
and an explanation about how to appeal the decision should the recipient or his/her legal guardian so desire. 
 
Adults 
If the decision authorizes case management services to the policy limit (three hours per calendar month and/or six 
additional hours if needed for completing an assessment, completing a reauthorization or continued need review, 
or for a crisis/emergency situation within 365 days), the recipient or his/her legal guardian will receive a written 
notice explaining the decision.  The notice will state the decision and effective date of the reduction to the policy 
limit, explain the reduction is based on Session Law 2009-451, Sections 10.68A.(a)(2)(a) and 10.68A.(a)(10) as 
well as DMA policy promulgated pursuant to S.L. 2009-451, Section 10.68A.(c), and that pursuant to 42 CFR 
§431.210 and §431.220(b), the recipient is not entitled to appeal this decision.   
 
Should less than three hours (12 units) per calendar month and/or less than six additional hours if needed for 
completing an assessment, completing a reauthorization or continued need review, or for a crisis/emergency 
situation within 365 days be authorized, the recipient or his/her legal guardian will receive a written notice 
explaining the decision, and that he/she is entitled to appeal the decision to authorize less than the policy limit.  
The notice will state the decision and effective date of the reduction, explain the reduction is based on Session 
Law 2009-451, Sections 10.68A.(a)(2)(a) and 10.68A.(a)(10), as well as DMA policy promulgated pursuant to 
S.L. 2009-451, Section 10.68A.(c), and an explanation about how to appeal the decision should the recipient or 
his/her legal guardian so desire.        
 
Recipient Notice Regarding Reductions in Case Management Services 

A notice was sent at the end of January to recipients regarding these changes in case management.  See the DMA 
website (http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/pub/consumerlibrary.htm) for a copy of the notice.  
 
Community Care Section 
DMA, 919-855-4260 
 
Behavioral Health Section 
DMA, 919-855-4290 
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Attention:  Children's Developmental Service Agencies, Health 
Departments, Home Health Agencies, Hospital Outpatient Clinics, 
Independent Practitioners, Local Education Agencies, Local Management 
Entities, and Physicians 

Outpatient Specialized Therapies:  Prior Authorization and Post-Payment 
Validation 
 
Effective with date of service December 1, 2009, prior authorization (PA) became a requirement for outpatient 
specialized therapies (occupational therapy, physical therapy, speech therapy, respiratory therapy, and audiology 
services) provided to recipients under 21 years of age.   
 
Effective with date of service January 1, 2010, PA became a requirement for outpatient specialized therapies 
provided to recipients 21 years of age and older.   
 
Prior authorization is required for all therapy treatments regardless of place of service.  Refer to Clinical Coverage 
Policy 10A, Outpatient Specialized Therapies, on DMA’s website at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/ for more 
information. 
 
Reminders for Obtaining PA 

1. Submit prior authorization requests using the recipient's Medicaid identification (MID) number and the 
billing provider’s Medicaid Provider Number. 

2. Review the status of your request.  

 If the status of your request is listed as “Incomplete Case,” resubmit the request.  (Incomplete 
requests will be automatically rescinded 21 days after the case was initiated.) 

 If the status of your request is listed as “Missing Information,” provide CCME with the request 
information to avoid a technical denial.  

3. Follow-up with the Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence (CCME) in a timely manner about any cases 
that are outstanding after five business days. 

4. Refer to the “Training” links on CCME’s website for additional information and answers to questions. 

5. For all billing issues, contact HP Enterprise Services at 1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888. 
 
Post-Payment Validation 

CCME will implement post-payment validation on paid outpatient specialized therapy claims with dates of 
services July 1, 2009, and after.  Providers who billed for outpatient therapy services between July 2009 and 
November 2009 are encouraged to register for secure web access to view information about the post-payment 
validation process.  Registration materials and additional details about this process and an informational webinar 
will be available on CCME’s prior authorization website (http://www.medicaidprograms.org/nc/therapyservices) 
by March 15, 2010. 
 
CCME may be contacted via e-mail at priorauth@thecarolinascenter.org or via the HelpLine, 1-800-228-3365.  
Select option 8 to speak with a representative.  In e-mail communications, recipients should be referenced using 
only the following information:  first name, last initial and last four characters of the MID number. 
 
CCME, 1-800-228-3365 
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Attention:  Hospital Outpatient Clinics, Independent Practitioners, and 
Physicians 

Outpatient Specialized Therapies Video Conference Seminar 
 
The outpatient specialized therapies video conference seminar is scheduled for April 27, 2010.  Information 
presented at this video conference seminar will include a review of policy and billing for specialized therapy 
services (speech, occupational, physical and respiratory therapy) and prior approval guidelines.  This will be an 
interactive video conference seminar providing virtual training with live video and audio communication.   
 
The video conference seminar is scheduled at the locations listed below.  The session will begin at 1:00 p.m. and 
will end at 4:00 p.m.  Providers are encouraged to arrive by 12:45 p.m. to complete registration.  Lunch will not 
be provided at the seminar.  Because meeting room temperatures vary, dressing in layers is strongly advised.  
Due to limited seating, registration is limited to two staff members per office.  Unregistered providers are 
welcome to attend if space is available. 
 
Providers may register for the outpatient specialized therapy seminar online at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/seminars.htm.  Pre-registration is required.  Providers will receive a 
registration confirmation outlining the training material(s) each attendee should bring to the seminar. 
 
All locations will have live audio and visual feed from the central Raleigh location.  Select from the locations 
below to register and attend the facility participating in the video conference seminar. 
 
Seminar Schedule –1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., April 27, 2010 
 

City Address 

Asheville UNC - Asheville  
Robinson Hall, Room 136 
1 University Heights 
Asheville  NC  28804 

Boone Appalachian State University 
Anne Belk Hall 
Ground Floor, Room 023 
224 Joyce Lawrence Lane 
Boone  NC  28608 

Charlotte Central Piedmont Community College 
Harris Conference Center 
Harris 2 Building 
Video Conference Room 
3216 CPCC Harris Campus Drive 
Charlotte  NC  28208 

Charlotte Mecklenburg County Health Department 
Multi Purpose Room 
249 Billingsley Road 
Charlotte  NC  28211 

Greensboro UNC – Greensboro TeleLearning Center 
Stone Building, Room 186  
110 McIver Street  
Greensboro  NC  27412  
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City Address 

Raleigh (main location) Department of Public Instruction (DPI) 
301 North Wilmington Street 
Raleigh NC  27601 

Raleigh (secondary location) ITS Support Center Raleigh 
Office of Information Tech Services 
3900 Wake Forest Road 
Raleigh  NC  29609 

Williamston Martin Community College 
Building 1, Room 10A 
1161 Kehukee Park Road 
Williamston  NC  27892 

Wilmington South East Area Health Education Center (SEAHEC) 
SEAHEC Building, Pelican Room 
2511 Delaney Avenue 
Wilmington  NC  28403 

 
Directions to the Outpatient Specialized Therapies Video Conference Seminar 
 
ASHEVILLE  
UNC - Asheville  
Traveling South on US 19/23:  Take the NC 251/UNC Asheville exit.  Turn left at traffic light at bottom of 
ramp.  Proceed approximately ½ mile to the second traffic light; turn left onto W.T. Weaver Boulevard.  Proceed 
approximately 1/3 mile to second left-hand turn for the main entrance road to UNCA campus.  
 
Traveling West on I-40:  Take Exit 53B for I-240.  Follow I-240 for approximately 4.5 miles.  Take Exit 5A for 
Merrimon Avenue.  Turn right at the light at the bottom of the ramp.  Proceed approximately 1 mile to the third 
light.  Turn left onto W.T. Weaver Boulevard.  Proceed approximately 1/4 mile on Weaver Boulevard to right-
hand turn for main entrance road to UNCA campus.  
 
Traveling North or East on I-26 or I-40:  Take I-240 towards Asheville.  As you cross the river, move into the 
left-hand lane.  Take US 19/23 North.  Proceed approximately 1 mile to UNCA exit.  Turn right at bottom of exit 
ramp.  Proceed approximately 1/3 mile to second traffic light; turn left onto W.T. Weaver Boulevard.  Proceed 
approximately 1/3 mile to second left-hand turn for the main entrance road to UNCA campus. 
 
 
BOONE 
Appalachian State University  
Traveling West on I-40:  Take I-40 West to US 421 North.  Follow US 421 North for approximately 99 miles 
and turn left at College Street.   
 
 
CHARLOTTE 
CCPC Harris Conference Center 
Traveling on I-85:  Take Exit 33, Billy Graham Parkway.  Travel approximately 1.6 miles.  Turn left onto Morris 
Field Drive.  Turn right onto CPCC Harris Campus Drive.  
 
Traveling on I-77:  Take Exit 6B, Woodlawn Road, which becomes Billy Graham Parkway.  Travel 
approximately 3.5 miles.  Turn right onto Morris Field Drive.  Turn right onto CPCC Harris Campus Drive. 
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Mecklenburg County Health Department 
Traveling South on I-77:  Take I-77 South to Charlotte.  In Charlotte, take I277 to US 74 East.  Follow US 74 
East to Wendover Road.  (Caution—watch signs closely—ongoing construction around this intersection).  Take 
Wendover Road south to Marvin Road.  Turn right onto Marvin Road. and continue for one block.  At the first 
street to the left, turn left onto Billingsley Road.  At the 4-way stop sign, continue straight.  Continue for ½ mile; 
turn right at the Social Services/Health Department sign.  The Health Department is the one-story white building 
by the lake. 
 
 
GREENSBORO 
UNC - Greensboro TeleLearning Center 
Traveling East on I-40:  Approaching Greensboro, I-40 and Business I-40 split.  Follow Business I-40 to Exit 
212 (Greensboro to Bryan Boulevard).  Travel 6.5 miles to Exit 218-B (Freeman Mill Road).  Take the exit and 
quickly merge to the far left lane.  Turn left on Coliseum Boulevard.  Travel 1.4 miles to the second stoplight (Lee 
Street).  Turn right on Lee Street and move into the left lane.  Travel 0.5 miles to the first stoplight (Aycock 
Street).  Turn left onto Aycock Street.  Proceed on Aycock and move into the right lane.  After the second 
stoplight (Walker Avenue), move into the right turn lane and after a short distance, you will see the exit for 
Market Street (Downtown).  Take this exit.  Travel 0.5 miles to the first stoplight (McIver Street).  Turn right onto 
McIver Street.  At the first driveway, turn right and circle around to the entrance of the parking deck. 
 
Traveling West on I-40 or South on I-85:  Approaching Greensboro, I-85 splits left and Business 85/I-40 splits 
right.  Follow Business 85-S/I-40-W (Exit 131).  Shortly after, Business 85 splits left I-40 splits right.  Follow 
Business I-40-E (Exit 36A – old exit 123).  From Business I-40-E, take Exit 218-B (Freeman Mill Road).  Take 
the exit and quickly merge to the far left lane.  Turn left on Coliseum Boulevard.  Travel 1.4 miles to the second 
stoplight (Lee Street).  Turn right on Lee Street and move into the left lane.  Travel 0.5 miles to the first stoplight 
(Aycock Street).  Turn left onto Aycock Street.  Proceed on Aycock and move into the right lane.  After the 
second stoplight (Walker Avenue), move into the right turn lane and after a short distance, you will see the exit 
for Market Street (Downtown).  Take this exit.  Travel 0.5 miles to the first stoplight (McIver Street).  Turn right 
onto McIver Street.  At the first driveway, turn right and circle around to the entrance of the parking deck. 
 
 
RALEIGH 
Department of Public Instruction 
Traveling on I-40:  Take Exit 298-B, South Saunders Street.  South Saunders Street becomes McDowell Street.  
Follow McDowell Street into downtown Raleigh.  Turn right on Morgan Street.  Turn left onto Wilmington 
Street.  The Department of Public Instruction is located on the left.  
 
Traveling East on US 70:  Follow US 70 into Raleigh.  US 70 becomes Glenwood Avenue.  Turn left onto Peace 
Street.  Turn right onto Blount Street.  Turn right onto North Street.  The Department of Public Instruction is 
located straight ahead.  
 
Visitor parking is available at $1.00 per hour with an $8.00 maximum per day in Visitor Lot #1 (entrances at 
Jones Street and at Edenton Street) and Visitor Lot #2 (entrances at Salisbury Street and at McDowell Street). 
 
ITS Support Center 
Traveling East on I-40:  Take I-40 East towards Raleigh.  Merge onto I-440 East/US 1 North (inner beltline) 
toward Wilson/Wake Forest/Rocky Mount.  Take Exit 10, Wake Forest Road.  Turn left onto Wake Forest Road.  
The ITS Support Center is located on the right in the one-story building with a red roof just past the Wake County 
Public Schools System Office. 
 
Traveling West on I-40:  Take I-40 East towards Raleigh.  Merge onto I-440 East (outer beltline).  Take Exit 10, 
Wake Forest Road.  Turn right onto Wake Forest Road.  The ITS Support Center is located on the right in the 
one-story building with a red roof just past the Wake County Public Schools System Office. 
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WILLIAMSTON 
Martin Community College 
Traveling East on US 64:  Take US 64 West to the intersection at McDonald’s in Williamston.  Turn left on the 
US 13/US 17 Bypass.  The name will change to Old Highway 64 Bypass.  Continue approximately 2.3 miles and 
turn left on Kehukee Park Road.  The college is located on the right approximately 0.5 mile from the intersection.  
 
Traveling West on US 64:  Take US 64 East to Exit 512 (Prison Camp Road).  (Look for the sign just before 
Exit 512 for Senator Bob Martin Agricultural Center and Martin Community College.)  Turn right on Prison 
Camp Road.  Drive for approximately 0.5 mile and turn left on Kehukee Park Road.  The college is located on the 
right approximately 0.5 mile from the intersection.   
 
Traveling North on US 13/US 17:  Take US 13/US 17 South to Williamston.  Continue to follow US 13/US 17 
until it becomes Old Highway 64 Bypass.  Continue driving for approximately 2.5 miles.  Turn left on Kehukee 
Park Road.  The college is located on the right approximately 0.5 mile from the intersection. 
 
 
WILMINGTON 
South East Area Health Education Center (SEAHEC) 
Traveling East on I-40:  Take I-40 east to N. College Road/US 117 South.  Take a slight right at US 117 South.  
Turn right at South 17th Street.  Turn right onto Delaney Road.  The Health Department is located on the right. 
 
 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Attention:  Durable Medical Equipment Providers 

Medically Necessary Incontinence, Ostomy, and Urological Supplies 
 
The policy allowing durable medical equipment (DME) providers to seek reimbursement for medically necessary 
incontinence, ostomy, and urological supplies has been placed on temporary hold.  The policy is under budgetary 
review and there will be no reimbursement to DME provider of the services effective March 1, 2010.   
 
Note:  Recipients needing these supplies should be referred to a home health agency in their area to obtain these 
items.  A home care agency that is enrolled with Medicaid to provide private duty nursing (PDN) services can 
also provide incontinence, ostomy and urological supplies to Medicaid recipients 
 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 
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Attention:  Adult Care Home Providers, CAP/MR-DD Service Providers, 
Enhanced Behavioral Health (Community Intervention) Services Providers, 
Personal Care Services Providers, and Residential Child Care Treatment 
Facilities 

Suspension of Mandatory Cost Reporting for Rate Adjustments 

Effective January 1, 2010, mandatory Medicaid cost reports for the above mentioned providers are suspended 
until rescinded by the Secretary of the N.C. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).  The official 
DHHS notification can be found on DMA’s website at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/cost/reports.htm.  Specific 
questions may be addressed to the contacts identified in the notification. 

It is important to note that any outstanding cost reports from cost reporting periods prior to  
January 1, 2010, are due and must be filed with the appropriate DHHS Division.  All policies and rules for timely 
submission will continue to be in effect. 

Finance Management 
DMA, 919-855-4180 
 
 
 
 
Attention:  Local Management Entities, Outpatient Behavioral Health 
Providers, and Provisionally Licensed Providers 

Extension of Coverage for Provisionally Licensed Providers Billing 
Outpatient Behavioral Health Services through the Local Management 
Entity  
The deadline for coverage of provisionally licensed providers delivering outpatient behavioral health services as a 
reimbursable service under Medicaid and state funds and billed through the Local Management Entity (LME) has 
been extended to June 30, 2011.  DMA and the Division of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and 
Substance Abuse Services will continue to pay for services delivered by the provisionally licensed individuals 
listed above when billed through LMEs under HCPCS procedure codes H0001, H0004, and H0005 until that date.  

As outlined in Implementation Update # 32 (http://www.ncdhhs.gov/mhddsas/servicedefinitions/servdefupdates/), 
the LME may choose to provide this billing service on behalf of the provisionally licensed professional.  If the 
provisionally licensed professional is employed by an agency, the agency must develop a contract directly with 
the LME to do this billing for them.  If provisionally licensed professionals work independently, they should 
contact their licensure board prior to developing a contract with the LME to ensure compliance with each 
profession’s scope of practice.  

In addition to providing outpatient behavioral health services billed through an LME, there are various other 
means for provisionally licensed professionals to obtain the clinical experience required by their licensing boards.  
These include 
 providing outpatient services working with a physician using Medicaid’s “incident to” policy (see the 

March 2009 Medicaid Bulletin);  
 providing enhanced behavioral health (Community Intervention) services as the Qualified Professional 

(QP) in order to receive family- and community-based clinical experience; and  
 serving as the Licensed Professional in the Intensive In-Home service.  
 
Catharine Goldsmith, Behavioral Health Section 
DMA, 919-855-4290 



North Carolina Medicaid Bulletin March 2010 

 25 

Attention:  CCNC/CA Primary Care Providers, Durable Medical Equipment 
Providers, and Pharmacists  

Addition of Pen Needles to Pharmacy Point-of-Sale 

Effective with date of service February 26, 2010, pen needles are covered as an over-the-counter product in the 
N.C. Medicaid Outpatient Pharmacy Program.  Recipients must have a prescription for the pen needles and there 
must be an insulin prescription on file within the last 90 days in order to bill using the pharmacy point-of-sale 
system.  A National Drug Code (NDC) must be used when billing through point-of-sale.  Rates apply to pen 
needles; therefore, no copayments or dispensing fees apply.  Medicare Part D continues to cover pen needles for 
dual eligible recipients. 

Pen needles do not have to be purchased at the same pharmacy as the insulin unless the patient is locked into a 
pharmacy.  Recipients identified for the Focused Risk Management (FORM) Program who require more than 11 
unduplicated prescriptions each month are restricted to a single pharmacy.  In these cases, the pen needles must be 
purchased at the same pharmacy. 

HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888  
 
 
 
 
 

Attention:  Durable Medical Equipment Providers and Pharmacists 

Additional Information on Prodigy Diabetic Supplies 

The following additional information is provided regarding the Prodigy Diabetic Supply program: 

Transition Period Extended Until April 16, 2010 
Effective February 16, 2010, there will be an additional 60 day extension period added to the North Carolina 
Medicaid Prodigy diabetic supplies transition phase. 
 A one-time, per-recipient, per-product override will continue to be allowed for an additional 60 days.  
 The transition period will be extended until April 16, 2010. 
 No overrides will be allowed after April 16, 2010. 

Addition of Safety Syringes and Safety Lancets  
Effective February 26, 2010, the following safety syringes and safety lancets will added to the North Carolina 
Medicaid Prodigy line of products under the pharmacy point-of-sale system.  These products will be added to the 
Durable Medical Equipment (DME) Program effective March 1, 2010. 
 

Covered Product Package Size
Unit 
Type 

NDC-11 

Prodigy Insulin Safety Syringe 29G 12.7 mm ½ (100ct) 100 ct Box 1 Box 08484-9904-80 
Prodigy Pressure Activated Safety Lancet 28G 1.8 mm (100ct) 100 ct Box 1 Box 08484-9903-38 

Prodigy Diabetes Care, LLC 
1-866-540-4816 

Durable Medical Equipment Program 
DMA, 919-855-4310 

Outpatient Pharmacy Program 
DMA, 919-855-4300
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Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment and Applicability to 
Medicaid Services and Providers 
 
Service limitations on scope, amount, duration, frequency, location of service, and other specific criteria stated in 
this publication may be exceeded or may not apply to recipients under 21 years of age if the provider's 
documentation shows that 

 the requested service is medically necessary to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, 
or health problem; and 

 all other Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) criteria are met. 
 
This applies to both proposed and current limitations. Providers should review any information in this publication 
that contains limitations in the context of EPSDT and apply that information to their service requests for 
recipients under 21 years of age.  A brief summary of EPSDT follows. 
 
EPSDT is a federal Medicaid requirement (42 U.S.C. § 1396d(r) of the Social Security Act) that requires the 
coverage of services, products, or procedures for Medicaid recipients under 21 years of age if the service is 
medically necessary health care to correct or ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition [health 
problem] identified through a screening examination (including any evaluation by a physician or other licensed 
clinician). 
 
This means that EPSDT covers most of the medical or remedial care a child needs to 

 improve or maintain his or her health in the best condition possible OR 

 compensate for a health problem OR 

 prevent it from worsening OR 

 prevent the development of additional health problems 

 
Medically necessary services will be provided in the most economic mode possible, as long as the treatment made 
available is similarly efficacious to the service requested by the recipient’s physician, therapist, or other licensed 
practitioner; the determination process does not delay the delivery of the needed service; and the determination 
does not limit the recipient’s right to a free choice of providers. 
 
EPSDT does not require the state Medicaid agency to provide any service, product, or procedure that is unsafe, 
ineffective, experimental, or investigational; that is not medical in nature; or that is not generally recognized as an 
accepted method of medical practice or treatment. 
 
If the service, product, or procedure requires prior approval, the fact that the recipient is under 21 years of age 
does not eliminate the requirement for prior approval. 
 
For important additional information about EPSDT, please visit the following websites: 

 Basic Medicaid Billing Guide (especially sections 2 and 6): 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/basicmed/ 

 Health Check Billing Guide:  http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/healthcheck/ 
 EPSDT provider information:  http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/epsdt/ 
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Proposed Clinical Coverage Policies 
 
In accordance with NCGS §108A-54.2, proposed new or amended Medicaid clinical coverage policies are 
available for review and comment on DMA’s website at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mpproposed/.  To submit a 
comment related to a policy, refer to the instructions on the website.  Providers without Internet access can submit 
written comments to the address listed below. 
 
Richard K. Davis  
Division of Medical Assistance 
Clinical Policy Section 
2501 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh NC 27699-2501 
 
The initial comment period for each proposed policy is 45 days.  An additional 15-day comment period will 
follow if a proposed policy is revised as a result of the initial comment period. 
 

 

2010 Checkwrite Schedule 
 

Month  E lec t ron ic  Cut -Of f  Da te  Checkw r i te  Da te  

2/25/10 3/2/10 

3/4/10 3/9/10 

3/11/10 3/16/10 

March 

3/18/10 3/25/10 

4/1/10 4/6/10 

4/8/10 4/13/10 

April 

4/15/10 4/22/10 
 

 

Electronic claims must be transmitted and completed by 5:00 p.m. on the cut-off date to be included in the next 
checkwrite.  Any claims transmitted after 5:00 p.m. will be processed on the second checkwrite following the 

transmission date. 

 

 

             
Craigan L. Gray, MD, MBA, JD     Melissa Robinson 
Director       Executive Director 
Division of Medical Assistance    HP Enterprise Services  
Department of Health and Human Services 

 
 


