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Attention:  All Providers

Holiday Observance

The Division of Medical Assistance (DMA) and
Electronic Data Systems (EDS) will be closed on Friday,
April 10, 1998, in observance of Good Friday.

DMA and EDS will also be closed on Monday,
May 25, 1998, in observance of Memorial Day.

EDS
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888

Attention:  All Providers

Deadline to Preregister for the 1998 Medicaid Fair

The deadline to preregister for the 1998 Medicaid Fair is
April 17, 1998.  The registration fee increases from
$30.00 to $40.00 per person after this deadline.  Refer to
your January 1998 Medicaid Special Bulletin for
preregistration instructions.  If your office did not
receive the Special Bulletin, contact EDS Provider
Services.

EDS
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888

Attention: All Providers

Year 2000 Changes

As the Year 2000 approaches, providers will notice
changes in the North Carolina Medicaid Management
Information System (MMIS). The first change will be to
output data formatting, including the Tape Remittance
and Status Report (RA). All providers who receive a
Tape RA have already received information about the
new specifications which will change as of checkwrite
date, August 27, 1998. If you have not received
information about Year 2000 Tape RA specifications,
contact the EDS Electronic Claims (ECS) Department.

Please be aware that all inputs (claims) to the MMIS will
require Year 2000 data submission compliance.  A
future North Carolina Medicaid Bulletin will tell you
when Year 2000 claim submission specifications must be
implemented. Do not submit claims with century prior to
bulletin notification

All providers should have already received a North
Carolina Medicaid Special Bulletin describing the Year
2000 compliant claims format. Providers are responsible
for informing their billing agency (vendor) about the
important information in the special bulletin.  If you
have not received the Special Bulletin, contact EDS
Provider Services

EDS
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888
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Attention:  Hospice Providers

Change in Hospice Benefit Periods

Effective April 1, 1998, the Medicaid Hospice benefit periods will change to match Medicare’s benefit periods.  The Balanced
Budget Act (BBA) of 1997 restructured the hospice benefit periods available to Medicare recipients.  Medicaid Hospice benefit
periods will include an initial 90-day period, a second 90-day period, followed by an unlimited number of 60-day periods.  A
physician certification is required at the beginning of each period.  The certification must state that the recipient has a terminal
illness with a prognosis of six months or less life expectancy.

The previous third period (30-days) and fourth period (unlimited duration) are now deleted due to the change in the law.  A
Hospice recipient in his third period will automatically be in his first period of 60 days.  Recertification will be required at the
beginning of the next 60-day period and every 60 days thereafter.  Recipients in the fourth period will follow the same guidelines.

This policy change allows a hospice recipient who has been discharged during the fourth benefit period prior to the enactment of
the BBA to be eligible for the benefit again.  Coverage will begin in a 60-day period.

Remember, providers are responsible for billing Medicare whenever coverage is available.

EDS
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888

Attention:  All Providers

Phone Number Changes for the Division of Medical Assistance

The Division of Medical Assistance (DMA) installed a new phone system recently resulting in some phone number
changes.  Current phone numbers for the most frequently contacted DMA departments or units are listed below.  Thank
you for your patience during this phone conversion.

DMA Department/Unit Current Telephone Number

Office of the Director 919-857-4011
Financial Operations 919-857-4015

Third Party Recovery (TPR) 919-733-6294 (number unchanged)

Information Services 919-857-4013
MMIS 919-857-4014

Managed Care 919-857-4016
Carolina ACCESS/HMOs 919-857-4022

Medical Policy
Community Care Services

919-857-4020
919-857-4021

Personnel 919-857-4012
Program Integrity 919-733-6681 (number unchanged)

Audit 919-733-6390 (number unchanged)

Recipient & Provider Services 919-857-4019
Claims Analysis 919-857-4018
Eligibility and EIS 919-857-4019
Provider Enrollment 919-857-4017

EDS
1-800-688-6696 or 1-919-851-8888
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Attention:  All Providers

Change for the Independent Practitioners (IPP) Manual Regarding Respiratory Therapy Services

The attorney for the North Carolina Board of Physical Therapy Examiners has requested “Chest physiotherapy” be
replaced with “Chest vibrations, postural drainage, and breathing techniques”.  The substitution will be listed under the
treatment services in section 2.5 on page I-5.

Jency L. Abrams, RN, BSN, MS, Medical Policy
DMA, 919-857-4020

Attention:  All Providers

Medical Services Provided Through Carolina ACCESS

A very important function of Carolina ACCESS primary care providers (PCPs) is to ensure that Medicaid recipients enrolled with
them receive the necessary medical care to obtain and maintain optimal health for the enrollee.  It is therefore crucial for all
primary care providers and specialists to understand that Carolina ACCESS provides payment for all services that are covered by
general Medicaid and that Carolina ACCESS does not provide payment for services that are not covered by general Medicaid.

If a primary care provider refers a Medicaid recipient for a service that is not covered by Medicaid, then Medicaid will not pay
even if the recipient is enrolled in the Carolina ACCESS program.

Providers may inquire about covered services through EDS Voice Inquiry at 1-800-723-4337.  They will need to provide the
procedure code and the type of service being billed (found in block 24C of the HCFA-1500) when making an inquiry.

EDS
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888

Attention:  Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs) and Eye Care Providers

Recipient Changing from One Payment Source to Another

Medicaid recipients may be eligible for a fee-for-service eye exam and refraction one month and covered under an HMO
the next month.  If the request for prior approval of visual aids is received by EDS by the end of the month of fee-for-
service eligibility, the approved visual aids will be paid.  If the request is received after HMO enrollment becomes
effective, the prescription for visual aids will be the responsibility of the HMO.  The HMO may either authorize the visual
aids based on this prescription or complete another eye exam through the HMO network as a basis for providing visual
aids.  If the recipient changes from an HMO to the fee-for-service, the recipient may obtain their visual aids through the
prior approval process.

Reminder: The refraction date of service may only be used for the dispensing date of service when the recipient is no
longer eligible for any Medicaid coverage and only if the refraction was done less than three months before.

EDS
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888

Attention:  All Providers

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)

This article is a reminder that Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) is available.  A copy of the authorization form is on page 4.
The form may be copied as needed.  Refer to your January 1998 bulletin for additional information on this service.

EDS
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888
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Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
North Carolina Medicaid Providers

EDS currently offers Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) as an alternative to
manual check issuance. This service will enable you to receive your
Medicaid payments through automatic deposit at your bank, while you
continue to receive your Remittance and Status Report (RA) at your current
mailing address. This process will guarantee payment in a timely manner
and prevent your check from being lost through the mail.

To ensure timely and accurate enrollment in the EFT program, please fill
out the form on this page and return it by mail to:

EDS, 4905 Waters Edge, Raleigh, NC, 27606
or

Fax:  919-851-4014, Attention:  Melody Bauman
We will run a trial test between our bank and yours.  This test will be done
on the first checkwrite you are paid after we receive this form. Thereafter,
your payments will go directly to your bank account.  Your RA will
continue to come through the mail.  On the last page of your RA in the top
left corner it will state “EFT number” rather than “Check number” when the
process has begun. Contact Melody Bauman at
919-851-8888 or 800-688-6696 with any questions regarding EFT.

Thank you for your cooperation in making this a smooth transition to
Electronic Funds Transfer, and for helping us to make the Medicaid
payment process more efficient for your provider community.

Authorization Agreement for Automatic Deposits (Credits)
Company Name: Electronic Data Systems (EDS)
I (we) hereby authorize EDS to initiate credit entries to my (our) checking
or savings account indicated below and the depository name below,
hereinafter call DEPOSITORY, to credit the same such account.

DEPOSITORY NAME________________________________________

BRANCH __________________________________________________

CITY_______________________STATE______ZIP CODE__________

BANK TRANSIT/ABA NO. ___________________________________

ACCOUNT NO. _____________________________________________

This authority is to remain in full force and effect until EDS has received
written notification from me (or either or us) of its termination in such time
and in such a manner as to afford EDS a reasonable opportunity to act on it.

PROVIDER NAME(S)________________________________________

BILLINGPROVIDER NUMBER________________________________

DATE______________________SIGNED ________________________

Please list a name and telephone number of someone to contact with
questions EDS may have on initiating this automatic deposit.

CONTACT__________________TELEPHONE NUMBER___________

USE A SEPARATE FORM FOR EACH PROVIDER NUMBER.

A DEPOSIT SLIP MUST BE
ATTACHED FOR EACH BANK
ACCOUNT.

22/1040/465

This deposit is acceptedsubject to verification, theprovisions of the uniformcommercial code and therules and regulations ofthis financial organization.Deposits may not beavailable for immediatewithdrawal.

JOHN B. SMITH
123 East Main St.

Anytown, USA 12345

D
E

PO
SI

T 
T

IC
K

ET

DATE___________________ 19_______

__________________________________

FIRST UNITED BANK
OF ANYTOWN

ROUTING AND TRANSIT NO. 123456789

CHECKS

CASH

230105655 1000000495945

TOTAL
LESS CASH RECEIVED

BE SURE EACH ITEM IS ENDORSED
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Attention:  All Providers

Screening Mammography

Effective April 1, 1998, screening mammograms will be reimbursed on an annual basis for all Medicaid recipients, age 40
and over.  There is no change in coverage of screening mammograms for women under 40 years of age.  Medicaid will pay
for ONE screening between the ages of 35 to 40.  Screening mammography is noncovered under 35 years of age.

The Division of Medical Assistance (DMA) is requesting all health professionals strive to increase the eligible Medicaid
recipient's awareness and personal commitment to promote health and prevent disease by having a screening mammogram.
Prevention and/or early cancer detection is our primary goal.

Mammograms are covered only when performed by FDA certified screening center/suppliers.  Interpretations are to be
performed only by physicians who are included under the certification number of a certified screening center/supplier.

Screening Mammography Guidelines
I.  Qualifying Age

35 through 39 Baseline (only one allowed in this age group)

40 and over Annual (11 months must have elapsed since the month of last screening)

Months between mammographies are counted beginning with the month after the date of the examination.

II. Claims filing for Screening Mammography

Category Primary Diagnosis Procedure Code

A.  Not High Risk V7612 Other Screening
Mammography

CPT 76092

B.  High Risk V7611 Screening Mammography for
high risk patient

CPT 76092

The secondary diagnoses that may be used in addition to the primary diagnoses for high risk individuals are:

A personal history of breast cancer V10.3 (Personal history - malignant neoplasm female
breast)

A mother, sister, or daughter who has breast cancer V16.3 (Family history - malignant neoplasm breast)

Not given birth prior to age 30 V15.89 (Other specific personal history representing
hazards to health)

A personal history of biopsy-proven benign breast
disease

V15.89 (Other specific personal  history representing
hazards to health)

EDS
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888
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Attention:  All Physicians

Changes to Drug List

Effective with date of service January 1, 1998, the following FDA approved drugs were added to the list of injectable
drugs covered by the North Carolina Medicaid Program when administered in a physician office for the FDA indications.

Code Drug Name Unit Fee

W5181 Amikacin Sulfate 500mg. $57.24
W5178 Amphotericin B 50mg. $84.00
W5176 Cimetadine HCL (Tagamet) 300mg. $1.63
J0735 Clonidine Hydrochloride 1mg. $46.03
J9170 Docetaxel 20mg. $232.77
W5180 Dolasetron Mesylate 5ml. $134.89
J1325 Epoprostenol .5mg. $14.66
J1626 Granisetron Hydrochloride 100mcg. $16.01
W5179 Hylan GF20 Sodium (Hyaloronate) 2.5cc $89.70
J1742 Ibutilide Fumarate 1mg. $141.86
J9206 Irinotecan 20mg. $93.33
J9600 Porfimer Sodium 75mg. $2322.52
W5177 Rantidine (Zantac) 50mg. $3.59
J9350 Topatecan 4mg. $459.77

The following drugs now have "J" Codes; consequently, the state created "W" codes will be deleted effective with date of
service April 30, 1998.

State Code New J Code Description Fee

W5157 J0207 Amifostine 500mg. $291.43
W5173 J0740 Cidofovir 375mg. $637.89
W5161 J9201 Gemcitabine HCL. 200mg. $62.62

The following drugs are covered, however, require an invoice to accompany the HCFA-1500 claim form, because payment
is based on the invoice price.

J1565  Respiratory Syncytial Virus Immune Globulin "IV" 50mg.
J3480  Potassium Chloride 2meg.

In accordance with Medicare's drug list, the following drugs will be end-dated effective with date of service
April 30, 1998.

J1825  Interferon Beta 1-A, 33mcg. - self administered drug
J0515  Benztropine 1mg. - self administered drug
J0630  Calcitonin Salmon 400u. - self administered drug
J1625  Granisetron Hydrochloride - deleted

Physicians should continue to submit drug charges on the HCFA-1500 claim form.

EDS
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888



7

Attention:  Personal Care Services (PCS) Providers

Personal Care Services (PCS) Seminars

Personal Care Services (PCS) seminars will be held in June 1998.  The May Medicaid Bulletin will have the registration
form for the seminars and a list of site locations.  Please suggest topics you would like addressed at the seminars.  List
topics and issues below and return to:

Provider Representative
EDS
P.O. Box 300009
Raleigh, NC  27622

Attention:  Family Practice Providers

Family Practice Seminars

Family Practice seminars will be held in June 1998.  The May Medicaid Bulletin will have the registration form for the
seminars and a list of site locations.  Please suggest topics you would like addressed at the seminars.  List topics and issues
below and return to:

Provider Representative
EDS
P.O. Box 300009
Raleigh, NC  27622
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Checkwrite Schedule

April 7, 1998 May 5, 1998 June 9, 1998
April 14, 1998 May 12, 1998 June 16, 1998
April 23, 1998 May 19, 1998 June 25, 1998

May 28, 1998

Electronic Cut-Off Schedule *

April 3, 1998 May 1, 1998 June 5, 1998
April 9, 1998 May 8, 1998 June 12, 1998
April 17, 1998 May 15, 1998 June 19, 1998

May 22, 1998

* Electronic claims must be transmitted and completed by 5:00 p.m. EST on the cut-off date to be included in the
next checkwrite as paid, denied, or pended.  Any claims transmitted after 5:00 p.m. will be processed on the second
checkwrite as paid, denied, or pended following the transmission date.

________________________________________ _____________________________________
Paul R. Perruzzi, Director James R. Clayton
Division of Medical Assistance Executive Director
Department of Health and Human Services EDS

EDS
Bulk Rate
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