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Attention: All Providers 

Clinical Coverage Policies 
 
The following new or amended clinical coverage policies are now available on DMA’s website at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/: 
 

• 1A-8, Hyberbaric Oxygenation Therapy 
• 1A-27, Electrodiagnostic Studies 
• 1C-1, Podiatry Services  
• 3D, Hospice Services 
• 5A, Durable Medical Equipment 
• 8N, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Targeted Case Management 

 
These policies supersede previously published policies and procedures. Providers may contact HP Enterprise 
Services at 1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 with billing questions. 
 
Clinical Policy and Programs  
DMA, 919-855-4260 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Attention: All Providers  
Upcoming Changes 
 
Recent bills were passed and signed into law, which impact the North Carolina Medicaid Program. You 
may view the bills at www.ncga.state.nc.us/session2011. Providers will receive more detailed 
information in upcoming bulletins.   
 
Provider Services 
DMA, 919-855-4050 
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Attention:  All Providers 

Changes to Medicare Recovery Process 
 
Section 6404 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA), implemented October 4, 2010, 
amends Medicare timely filing requirements for submission of Medicare fee-for-service claims.  The 
maximum time period to file a Medicare claim was reduced to one calendar year after the date of service.  
Prior to PPACA, the regulations stated claims for services furnished during the first nine (9) months of the 
calendar year were required to be submitted on or before December 31st of the following calendar year. 
For services rendered during the last quarter of the calendar year, the provider was required to submit the 
claim on or before December 31st of the next consecutive year.  
 
The previous timely filing period gave DMA time to identify claims with dates of service during a 2-year 
period that were billed in error to Medicaid.  DMA would send a list of these claims to the provider along 
with the Medicare disallowance notice, allowing the provider 60 days to respond.  However, because 
providers must file claims with Medicare within one calendar year of the date of service, it is no longer 
possible to allow the 60-day response period. 
 
In order to minimize the financial impact of the Medicare changes on the North Carolina Medicaid 
program, DMA and its partner, Health Management Systems, Inc. (HMS), have modified the Medicare 
Recovery Process—the process by which Medicaid recovers funds paid on claims that should have been 
submitted to Medicare first.  To address the new 1-year timely filing requirement, DMA now selects paid 
claims going back 11 months from the date of the disallowance notice and allows the provider 30 days to 
submit the refund or the refuting documentation. This process helps safeguard the provider’s ability to file 
the oldest claims with Medicare before the timely filing period expires.  Please note that DMA is unable to 
accept Medicare “denials due to timely filing” as a reason to avoid recoupment of the original Medicaid 
payments. 
 
Additionally, DMA has increased the frequency at which we will send out disallowance notices.  They 
will be sent to providers every 2 months instead of quarterly.  Other than the changes noted in this article, 
the Medicare Recovery Process itself remains the same.  Detailed instructions regarding the process will 
continue to be included with the disallowance notices issued by HMS.   
 
Program Integrity/TPR 
DMA, 919-647-8100 
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Attention:  All Providers 

HIPAA 5010 Implementation 
 
In accordance with 45 CFR Part 162 – Health Insurance Reform; Modifications to the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA); Final Rule, HIPAA-covered entities, which include state 
Medicaid agencies, must adopt modifications to the HIPAA required standard transactions by January 
1, 2012.  The modifications are to the HIPAA named transactions to adopt and implement ASC X12 
version 5010 and NCPDP Telecommunication version D.0.   
 
N.C. Medicaid will be implementing the HIPAA requirements for the 5010 transactions within the 
MMIS+ claims processing system.  DMA will notify providers through upcoming Medicaid bulletins 
as the HIPAA 5010 implementation efforts progress. 
In preparation for 5010 testing and implementation, HP Enterprise Services will begin receiving 
updated Trading Partner Agreement-Appendix A effective July 1, 2011. Follow the attached link to the 
5010 version of Appendix A (link will be attached here). Complete and mail, with original signature, to 
HP Enterprise Services. You will be e-mailed a letter with instructions on how to proceed with 5010 
transaction testing after your Trading Partner Agreement-Appendix A has been processed. 
 
Trading Partners/Vendors will be notified about testing timelines through upcoming Medicaid bulletins 
as HIPAA 5010 efforts progress. 
 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 
 
 
 
 
Attention:  All Providers  

Updated EOB Code Crosswalk to HIPAA Standard Codes  
 
The list of standard national codes used on the Electronic Remittance Advice (ERA) has been cross-walked to 
Medicaid EOB codes as an informational aid to research adjudicated claims listed on the Remittance and Status 
Report (RA).  An updated version of the list is available on DMA’s website at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/hipaa/EOBcrosswalk.htm.  
 
New changes to the format of the crosswalk were added in July 2010.  The changes allow for codes to be filtered 
and sorted in a more efficient manner when multiple codes map to the same Medicaid EOB.  In addition, the 
crosswalk has been divided into separate crosswalks based on claims types – Institutional, Professional, Dental, and 
Pharmacy.  This will eliminate some of the one-to-many mappings.   

HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 
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Attention:  All Providers 

Implementation of Additional Correct Coding Edits: Global Surgery and 
Evaluation and Management Codes 
 
As previously announced in the May bulletin, DMA will begin implementing additional correct coding 
guidelines.   These new correct coding guidelines and edits will be nationally sourced by organizations 
such as the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and The American Medical Association 
(AMA).  These edits will identify any inconsistencies with CPT, HCPCS, AMA, CMS and/or DMA 
policies and will deny the claim line. 
 
Additional correct coding edits for Global Surgery Package (GSP) and Evaluation and Management 
(E&M) codes will be implemented on August 1, 2011 for dates of service on or after August 1, 2011.  
Global Surgery Package (GSP) 
GSP edits are defined by CMS as the specific time periods during which certain services related to a 
surgical procedure, furnished by the physician who performed the surgery, are to be included in the 
payment of the surgical procedure code.  The GSP has two main subcategories: 

• Evaluation and Management services billed on the same day as the surgical procedure or during 
the defined global period for the surgical procedure will be denied by the GSP Surgery/E&M 
editing if not submitted with an appropriate modifier to indicate a separate unrelated service.   The 
following are examples of Global Surgery E & M Edits: 
 

Procedure Description Global 
Days 

Analysis 

45385 Colonoscopy with 
polypectomy 

0 Days Deny E&M day of 
surgery 

36571 Peripheral insertion of 
central VAD with port 

10 Days Deny E&M day of 
surgery and 10 
days after 

44970 Appendectomy 90 Days Deny E&M day 
before, day of 
surgery and 90 
days after 

 
 

• The GSP edits also contain logic that detects additional surgeries or procedures billed within the 
global period of a previously billed surgery.  These edits will deny the subsequent surgery 
according to DMA Clinical Policy.   The use of an appropriate modifier for a separate unrelated 
surgical service can be appended to the surgery code and will override a GSP Surgery/Surgery edit 
when appropriate.  The following are examples of GSP Surgery/Surgery Edits: 
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Procedure Description Date of 
Service 

Analysis 

33510 Coronary artery bypass, 
vein only, single vessel 

01/30/2011 Allow (has 90 day 
global period) 

93510 Left heart catheterization 03/01/2011 Deny  

 

Procedure Description Date of 
Service 

Analysis 

27275 Manipulation hip joint 
requiring general 
anesthesia 

2/1/11 Allow (has 10 day 
global period) 

27025 Fasciotomy, hip or thigh, 
any type 

2/7/11 Deny  

 
 
Evaluation and Management (E&M) 
Evaluation and Management (E&M) codes are used to describe the intensity and work associated with a 
medical encounter as measured by the risks and complexities associated with the history, physical 
examination, and medical decision-making.  The more detailed these components are the higher the level 
of the E&M service.  Correct coding of E&M services stipulates only one E&M code may be reported per 
day for the same patient/provider. The appropriate use of modifiers complying with DMA policies will 
allow for appropriate reimbursement.  The E & M edits ensure proper coding of these services. 
 
DMA will notify providers through the Medicaid Bulletin as new additional correct coding edits are being 
implemented. 
 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888  
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Attention:  All Providers 

Suspended Implementation of Place of Service and Inpatient Only Services 
Correct Coding Edits, Revised Additional Correct Coding Edits Timeline 
 
As previously announced in the May and June bulletin and via email alert to providers, DMA began 
implementing additional correct coding guidelines June 1, 2011.   These new correct coding guidelines 
and edits are nationally sourced by organizations such as the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) and The American Medical Association (AMA).  These edits will identify any inconsistencies with 
CPT, HCPCS, AMA, CMS and/or DMA policies and will deny the claim line. 
 
Additional correct coding edits for Place of Service and Inpatient Only Services were scheduled for 
implementation July 1, 2011 for dates of service on or after July 1, 2011.  However, this implementation is 
being suspended to allow for a more thorough review of these edits.  
 
Place of Service edits are based on AMA published criteria indicating where specific types of services 
may be performed.  Procedure codes are billed in the appropriate place of service as defined by AMA 
and/or CMS.  The following are examples of Place of Service edits: 

• CPT 99204 (Office Visit for the evaluation and management of a new patient) in the Emergency 
Room (Place of Service 23) is not acceptable.  Therefore, this claim line would be denied by a 
place of service edit. 

• CPT 99238 (Hospital discharge day) in the outpatient setting (place of service 22) is not 
acceptable. Therefore, this claim line would be denied by a place of service edit. 

 
Inpatient Only edits are based on a CMS policy where specific services may only be performed in an 
inpatient setting.  The following is an example of Inpatient only edits: 

• CPT 21196 (Reconstruction of lower jaw) in an office setting (place of service 11) is not 
acceptable.  Therefore, this claim line would be denied by an inpatient only edit. 

 
Revised Timeline for Additional Correct Coding Edits Implementation 
The table below is the revised implementation timeline.   

                           

6/1/11      

 

Targeted 
Implementation 
date  
 
 
Edit groups  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Actual 
Implementation 
Date 
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For a more information about each group of edits, see “Descriptions of Planned Additional Correct 
Coding Edits” link on DMA's Correct Coding web page (http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/ncci.htm). 
Providers are encouraged to frequently visit DMA’s Correct Coding web page and to review published 
bulletin articles for information on the project status.   
 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888  

 

 

 

 

 

Attention: All Providers 

Termination of Inactive Medicaid Provider Numbers 
 
In May 2002, DMA began terminating certain Medicaid provider numbers that did not reflect any billing 
activity within the previous 12 months. This action was necessary to reduce the risk of fraudulent and 
unscrupulous claims billing practices. Effective July 1, 2011, once a provider is terminated, a new 
application and agreement to re-enroll must be submitted.  As a result, a lapse in eligibility as a Medicaid 
provider may occur.  
 
The termination activity occurs on a quarterly basis with provider notices being mailed April 1, July 1, 
October 1, and January 1 of each year and the termination dates being effective May 1, August 1, 
November 1, and February 1. These notices are sent to the current mailing address listed in the provider's 
file.   
 
Provider Services  
DMA, 919-855-4023 
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 Attention: All Providers 

W-9 
As part of the enrollment process to become a Medicaid provider in North Carolina, applicants are 
required to submit a Form W-9 from the IRS. CSC’s Credentialing staff has determined that 60 percent of 
the enrollment applications contain errors related to Form W-9, which increases the amount of time it 
takes to process an application. 

 
The State of North Carolina has agreed to eliminate the Form W-9 submission requirement provided that 
CSC add the following section to enrollment applications: 

My Taxpayer Identification Number and Name (exactly as shown on my income tax 

return) associated with my Medicaid provider number are:  

Taxpayer Name________________ 

Taxpayer Identification Number_______________ 

My Taxpayer Identification Number above is (check only one): 

____ Social Security Number 

____ Employer Identification Number (EIN) 

Under penalties of perjury, I certify that: 

1. The payee’s TIN is correct. 

2. The payee is not subject to backup withholding due failure to report interest.  

3. The payee is a U.S. person.  

Signature: __________________________Date:___________ 

 
MMIS Financial Operations’ review of IRS publications support use of substitute language for 
applicant (the payee) to certify as to the accuracy of the tax information and name registered with the 
IRS. Such language will mitigate the potential of "B" notices in the future. 
 
If you have questions regarding the notice, please contact the CSC EVC Operations Center. Customer 
Service Agents are available Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. through 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time, at 1-
866-844-1113. 

CSC, 1-866-866-1113 
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Attention:  Critical Access Behavior Health Agencies (CABHAs), Local 
Management Entities (LMEs) and Peer Support Specialists 

Peer Support Services Implementation 
 
The Peer Support Services Medicaid policy was approved by CMS and implementation was scheduled for 
July 1, 2011. Since the approval of the policy, however, there have been several concerns raised about the 
proposed model of service delivery and the accompanying rate.  This feedback comes from providers who 
are supportive of peer support, train peer support specialists, and currently hire peer support specialists to 
work on team services such as Assertive Community Treatment Team (ACTT).  
 
PBH has offered a very successful peer support service as a (b)(3) service under the 1915 (b)(c) Medicaid 
waiver.  Medicaid is committed to supporting peer support and ensuring its success and viability. To 
achieve this goal and in response to the concerns raised by stakeholders, the Peer Support policy 
previously approved by CMS will not be implemented on July 1, 2011 as planned.  With CMS approval, 
Peer Support as a Medicaid-reimbursable service will be offered to recipients in counties under the 1915 
(b)(c) waiver.  
 
Peer Support Specialists may continue to provide services as team members under Community Support 
Team (CST) and Assertive Community Treatment (ACTT).   
 
Behavioral Health Policy  
DMA, 919-855-4290 
 

 

 

 

Attention:  Dental Providers 

Dental Seminars 
 
Dental seminars have been scheduled for September 2011.  Information presented at these seminars will 
include a review of dental clinical coverage guidelines including prior approval and billing procedures, 
uses of the N.C. Electronic Claims Submission/Recipient Eligibility Verification Tool, and a review of 
common problems from provider enrollment to unintended billing errors to fraud, waste, and abuse).  The 
seminar sites and dates will be announced in the August 2011 Medicaid Bulletin. 
 
Pre-registration will be required.  Due to limited seating, registration will be limited to two staff 
members per office.  Unregistered providers are welcome to attend if space is available. 
 

HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888
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Attention:  Health Departments, Nurse Midwives, Nurse Practitioners, and 
Physicians 

Makena (Non-Compounded Hydroxyprogesterone Caproate, HCPCS Code 
Q2042):  Billing Guidelines Revised for the Physician’s Drug Program 
 

The Division of Medical Assistance supports and encourages the use of compounded 
hydroxyprogesterone caproate (known as 17-P) for use in pregnant women with a history of a preterm 
delivery before 37 weeks gestation but no preterm labor in the current pregnancy. Medicaid covers 
compounded 17-P in the Physician’s Drug Program when billed with J3490 since date of service April 1, 
2007 and in the Outpatient Pharmacy Program when a rebatable National Drug Code (NDC) is used.  
Refer to articles in the April 2007, February 2009 and June 2011 general Medicaid bulletins as well as 
page 16 of this bulletin. 
 

Medicaid began coverage of Makena, non-compounded hydroxyprogesterone caproate, in the Physician’s 
Drug Program on date of service March 14, 2011, when billed under HCPCS code J3490 (unclassified 
drugs).  Refer to the bulletin article in the April 2011 general Medicaid bulletin.  Effective with date of 
service July 1, 2011, Makena must be billed with HCPCS code Q2042, instead of J3490.  Claim details 
billed for Makena with HCPCS code J3490 for dates of service on and after July 1, 2011, will deny.  
Makena is available in a 5-ml multi-dose vial containing 250 mg/ml (five doses). 
 

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved Makena injections to reduce the risk of preterm 
delivery before 37 weeks of pregnancy for women with a history of one spontaneous preterm birth.  The 
drug's approval was based on a 463-patient, randomized, double-blind clinical trial of women 16 to 43 
years old, pregnant with a single fetus, and with a history of spontaneous preterm birth (defined as 
delivery at less than 37 weeks of gestation following spontaneous preterm labor or premature rupture of 
membranes).  The drug was approved through the FDA's accelerated approval program, which approves a 
drug based on a surrogate endpoint benefit that is likely to predict clinical outcome. 
 

The drug is designed to be given once a week by injection into the hip, beginning at the 16th week and no 
later than the 21st week of pregnancy, according to the FDA.  The recommended dose of Makena is a 250-
mg weekly intramuscular injection administered from gestational weeks 16 through 36 or until delivery, 
whichever comes first.  
 

Progesterone therapy as a technique to prevent preterm labor is considered investigational/not medically 
necessary for pregnant women who do not meet the above criteria or for those with other risk factors for 
preterm delivery including, but not limited to, multiple gestations, short cervical length or positive tests 
for cervicovaginal fetal fibronectin.  N.C. Medicaid does not cover services that are considered 
investigational or not medically necessary.   
 

The N.C. Division of Medical Assistance supports the efforts to reduce premature birth and will continue 
to seek evidence-based, cost-effective alternatives that support the prevention of preterm labor. 
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For Medicaid Billing of Makena (non-compounded hydroxyprogesterone) in the Physician’s Drug 
Program 
• The ICD-9-CM diagnosis code required for billing Makena is V23.41 (supervision of pregnancy 
with history of pre-term labor).   
• Providers must verify that the recipient's history includes a singleton preterm birth (prior to 37 
weeks gestation).  The recipient must be pregnant with a single fetus.  Treatment should begin between 16 
weeks, 0 days and 20 weeks, 6 days of gestation.  Treatment must end before week 37 (through 36 weeks, 
6 days).  It may be appropriate to start a recipient at a later gestational age if she presented for prenatal 
care at that time.   
• Diagnosis codes must be supported with adequate documentation in the medical record.  
Documentation must also follow the criteria indicated above. 
• Providers must bill Makena with HCPCS code Q2042 for dates of service on and after July 1, 
2011.  
• Providers must bill Makena, with HCPCS code J3490 (unclassified drugs) for dates of service 
March 14, 2011 through June 30, 2011. Claim details billed with J3490 for Makena on and after July 1, 
2011, will deny.   
• One Medicaid unit of coverage of Makena billed with HCPCS code J3490 is 250 mg (one dose).  
Coverage is limited to one unit (one 250-mg dose) per week (7 days).  
• One Medicaid unit of coverage of Makena billed under HCPCS code Q2042 is 1 mg. Coverage is 
limited to 250 units or 250 mg per week (7 days). 
• Providers must indicate the number of HCPCS units in field 24G on the CMS-1500 claim form, or 
in the appropriate field on the 837P, 837I or the NCECS Web Tool.  Claims must be filed electronically 
unless they meet one of the ECS-mandated exceptions 
(http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/ECSExceptions.htm). 
• Providers must bill 11-digit National Drug Codes (NDCs) and appropriate NDC units.  The NDC 
units for the non-compounded Makena should be reported as “ML.”  Providers must bill for only the dose 
administered from the multi-dose vial and report the NDC units as “ML1.”  If the drug was purchased 
under the 340-B drug pricing program, place a “UD” modifier in the modifier field for that drug detail.  
• Refer to the March 2009 Special Bulletin, National Drug Code Implementation, Phase III, on 
DMA’s website (http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/bulletin/) for additional instructions. 
• Providers must bill their usual and customary charge. 
 
“For Medicaid billing of compounded hydroxyprogesterone caproate, HCPCS code J3490 must be 
used. Refer to the article on page 16 of this bulletin. 
The fee schedule for the Physician’s Drug Program is available on DMA’s website at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/fee/.” 
 

HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 
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Attention: HIV Case Management Providers 

HIV Case Management Training 
 
The Carolinas Center for Medical Excellence (CCME) and The Division of Medical Assistance are 
pleased to announce that in July 2011 we are offering HIV Basic Training for case managers and 
supervisors.  See the information listed below under training. 

Training:    
Registration is now open for the following training: HIV Case Management Basic Training. (see schedule 
below).    This is mandatory training for the following individuals:  HIV Case Managers and Supervisors 
who are hired on or after May 1, 2011 .  Providers are reminded of the requirements stated in sub-section 
6.4.1 of Clinical Coverage Policy 12 B.  “All HIV case managers and case manager supervisors shall 
complete North Carolina state sponsored, basic policy training within 90 days of their employment date 
and must be completed prior to any billed case management units.”  This training is also mandatory for 
the following: those individuals who were hired on or before April 1, 2010 and have not attended any of 
the training sessions regarding Clinical Coverage Policy 12 B. This training is limited to those individuals 
who are currently employed by an agency that is currently certified as an HIV Case Management agency. 

 
D a t e  S e s s i o n  T o p i c  R e q u i r e d  A t t e n d e e s  

July 11-
14 , 
2011 

HIV Case 
Management 
Basic Training 

HIV Case Managers and HIV Case Manager Program Supervisors who 
are hired on or after May 1, 2011.  In addition those case managers and 
supervisors who were hired as of April 1, 2010 and did not attend any 
of the sessions on Clinical Coverage Policy 12 B offered in 2010 and 
2011. 

 
All of the trainings will be located at the McKimmon Center in Raleigh, North Carolina (get 
directions). Information for the July 2011 training is available on CCMEs’ HIV Case Management 
web page. 

 

Updates: 
We will announce future sessions of the Potential Provider Inquiry training in future bulletin articles.  
Information regarding training can also be obtained via CCMEs’ web page. 
An FAQ document is now available at CCMEs’ web page (http://www.thecarolinascenter.org/HIVCM) 
 

HIV Case Management Program 
DMA, 919-855-4389 
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Attention: Home Health Agencies 

Physician Face to Face Encounter Certification Requirement 
 
Effective with date of service August 1, 2011 Medicaid will require a face to face physician encounter for 
all recipients receiving home health services.  This requirement is in accordance with Section 6407 of the 
Affordable Care Act. The encounter must occur within the 90 days prior to the start of care or within the 
30 days after the start of care.  
 
The physician must certify, in writing, that home health services are appropriate for the recipient’s care 
and that the home is the most appropriate place to provide the care.  The physician must document that 
prior to the certification of appropriateness of home health services, a face to face contact was made with 
the recipient within the last 90 days.  The contact must be with the physician or an allowed non-physician 
practitioner (NPP) when the NPP is working for or in collaboration with the physician.  If there has been 
no physician face to face contact within the last 90 days, the encounter must be made within 30 days of 
the start of care. 
 
In rural areas, the law allows the face-to-face encounter to occur via telehealth. Home health agencies are 
required to establish internal processes to comply with the face-to-face encounter requirements mandated 
by the Affordable Care Act (ACA) for purposes of certification of a patient’s eligibility for Medicaid 
covered home health services.  The encounter must be documented in the recipient’s records. 
 
Clinical Policy  
DMA, 919-855-4380 
 
 
 
 
Attention:  Adult Care Home Providers 

DMA Recipient Study 
 
DMA is conducting a study of Adult Care Home, Family Care Home, and Supervised Living Facility recipient 
populations. On July 1, 2011, DMA will mail a letter to providers of a random sample of 500 recipients at the 
provider accounting address. The letter will include instructions for mailing to DMA a copy of each of the selected 
recipient’s most current Personal Care Physician Authorization and Care Plan (DMA-3050R), FL-2, or MR-2. 
 
Separate requests will be mailed for each of the 500 recipients in the random sample. If you receive requests for 
more than one recipient’s documents, you may bundle and mail them together to DMA by the requested date. 
 
This request is in accordance with the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Provider 
Participation Agreement. The requested documents must be sent to the address indicated in the letter and 
postmarked no later than July 15, 2011. 
 
Clinical Policy and Programs 
DMA, 919-855-4260 
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Attention: Hospital Providers 

Incorrect Denials for Hospital Providers of Laboratory, Radiology and 
Pharmaceutical Services in the Outpatient Setting 
 
Hospital providers of laboratory, radiology, and pharmaceutical services in the outpatient setting were 
instructed by DMA to submit NCCI associated modifiers to bypass NCCI edits when medically 
appropriate. A systematic error in processing outpatient claims that had NCCI associated modifiers 
appended may have resulted in providers receiving the following denials inappropriately:  EOB 9988, 
“Payment of procedure code is denied based on CCI editing” or EOB 9953 “Payment of procedure code is 
denied based on MUE editing”.  Claims affected were for Bill Types 130-135, 137, 138, 140-145, 147 or 
148 for dates of service on or after March 31, 2011.  The use of modifiers to bypass NCCI edits on 
outpatient laboratory, radiology, and pharmaceutical claims will not impact claims processing in MMIS 
and will not display on the remittance advice (RA). 
 
On July 8, 2011, HPES will finalize system changes that will allow submission of any CMS modifier used 
to bypass NCCI editing when appropriate on the institutional / UB 04 electronic claim format. 
 (Instructions for paper claims will be published in a future bulletin.)  Providers that submitted modifier(s) 
in the institutional / UB 04 claim format beginning with the NCCI implementation for dates of service on 
and after March 31, 2011 will need to resubmit their claim(s) that denied with EOB 9988 or 9953.  
Providers are instructed to resubmit each claim with the same Bill Type as the original submission.  Please 
do not resubmit as adjustment.   
 
For additional information contact HP Provider Services 1-800-688-6696, menu option 3.  
 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 
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Attention: Local Health Departments, Nurse Midwives, Nurse Practitioners 
and Physicians 

Compounded Hydroxyprogesterone Caproate (known as 17P)  
continues to be Available in the Physician’s Drug Program  
 
With the addition of Makena, the branded version of hydroxyprogesterone caproate (known as 17P), to 
the marketplace, there has been some confusion on whether or not the compounded version of the drug 
continues to be covered by N.C. Medicaid.  N.C. Medicaid continues to cover the compounded version 
and the Division of Medical Assistance supports and encourages the use of compounded 
hydroxyprogesterone caproate (known as 17P) for use in pregnant women with a singleton pregnancy 
and a prior spontaneous preterm birth (before 37 weeks of gestation) due to spontaneous preterm labor 
or premature rupture of the membranes.   

For Medicaid Billing: 

 The ICD-9-CM diagnosis code required for billing 17P is V23.41 (supervision of pregnancy 
with history of pre-term labor).  

 Providers must verify that the recipient's history includes a singleton preterm birth (prior to 37 
weeks gestation).   

 The recipient must be pregnant with a single fetus.  Treatment should begin between 16 weeks, 0 
days and 20 weeks, 6 days of gestation.  Treatment should continue until week 37 (through 36 weeks, 
6 days) and must end at that time.  It may be appropriate to start a recipient at a later gestational age if 
she presents late for prenatal care.     

 Providers must bill 17P with HCPCS procedure code J3490 (unclassified drugs).  
 One unit of coverage is 250 mg (weekly dose).  Providers must bill their usual and customary 

charge.  The maximum reimbursement rate for one unit is $20.00.  
 Providers must indicate the number of HCPCS units in field 24G on the CMS-1500 claim form, 

or in the appropriate field on the 837P, 837I or the NCECSWeb Tool.  Claims must be filed 
electronically unless they meet one of the ECS-mandated exceptions 
(http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/provider/ECSExceptions.htm).   

 Providers must use rebatable 11-digit National Drug Codes (NDCs) and appropriate NDC units 
when billing for 17P. 

 If the drug was purchased under the 340B drug pricing program, place a “UD” modifier in the 
modifier field for that drug detail.  

 Refer to the March 2009 Special Bulletin, National Drug Code Implementation, Phase III, on 
DMA’s website (http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/bulletin/) for additional instructions.  

 Refer to articles in the April 2007 and February 2009 general Medicaid bulletins.  
 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 
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Attention:  Local Management Entities and Outpatient Behavioral Health 
Service Providers Employed in a Physician Office/Clinic, Outpatient Hospital 
Clinics, Local Health Departments, or School-based Health Centers 

Outpatient Behavioral Health Providers Billing "Incident to" a Physician 

Outpatient behavioral health providers are strongly encouraged to review the October 2008 and March 
2009 Medicaid Bulletin for ‘Incident To’ policy guidelines for licensed, enrolled Outpatient Behavioral 
Health Providers and for provisionally licensed professionals.  These bulletins lay out in great detail the 
CPT codes that can be billed 'incident to" and the requirements of the individual rendering the service, the 
physician, and the provider agency.  As a reminder, any Outpatient Behavioral Health Provider billing 
'incident to' a physician is still required to be enrolled with Medicaid as an Independent Outpatient 
Behavioral Health Provider and must follow all policy guidelines in DMA Clinical Coverage Policy 8C 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/index.htm.   
 
‘Incident to’ billing is only allowable ‘incident to’ a physician, not to another licensed professional.  The 
licensed professionals who may bill 'incident to' are listed in DMA Clinical Coverage Policy 8C 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/8C.pdf.  The licensed professionals listed in this policy should be the 
only ones providing services through their own MPN and NPI.  Allowing anyone else to use your 
Medicaid MPN/NPI is considered fraud and individuals doing so may run the risk of losing his or 
her license in addition to losing the ability to provide Medicaid services.  
Outpatient Behavioral Health Providers are encouraged to read the July 2009 and the March, April, and 
June 2011 Medicaid bulletins which give helpful guidance on prior authorization, NCCI, and 
unmanaged/managed visits. 
 
As a reminder, please contact Medicaid directly with any questions regarding NC enrollment or billing 
questions in order to ensure accurate receipt of information. 
 
Behavioral Health  
DMA, 919-855-4290 
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Attention: Ophthalmology Providers 

CPT Procedure Code 76519 
 
CPT Procedure Code 76519 (ophthalmic biometry by ultrasound echography, A-scan; with intraocular 
lens power calculation) no longer requires prior authorization for N.C. Medicaid recipients through 
MedSolutions or Medicaid.  If you received a denial with EOB 2201 (procedure code billed requires prior 
authorization from MedSolutions) for 76519 since date of service 11/23/2010, please resubmit the denied 
charges as a new day claim (not as an adjustment request) for processing. 
 
Clinical Policy 
DMA, 910-355-1883 
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Attention: Outpatient Behavioral Health Providers in Integrated Care 
Practices 

Clarification of National Correct Coding Initiative and Enrollment 
Guidelines  
 
As a reminder, per 8C policy (http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mp/8C.pdf)  all licensed professionals listed 
(i.e. LCSW, LMFT, LPC, LPA, PhD) must be enrolled with Medicaid, even if billing 'incident to' a 
physician.  All components of this policy (8C Outpatient Behavioral Health Services Provided by Direct 
Enrolled Providers) must be followed by any licensed outpatient behavioral health provider listed in the 
policy, regardless of practice setting.  Outpatient Behavioral Health Providers can only provide and bill 
the psychiatric CPT codes listed in 8C, even if practicing 'incident to."  To enroll as an Independent 
Outpatient Behavioral Health Provider with NC Medicaid, provider must fill out the Individual, In-
State/Border Application found at NC Tracks http://www.nctracks.nc.gov/. 
 

Recently, we have had many questions about the impact of the National Correct Coding Initiative (NCCI) 
on integrated care practices.  Per NCCI, only one office code (E&M or psych CPT code) can be billed for 
attending provider, per recipient, per date of service.  In order to ensure that both the medical office visit 
and the behavioral health CPT code both pay on the same date of service, the claim must be submitted 
with different attending provider NPIs.   
 
In order to accomplish this, licensed, enrolled behavioral health providers (listed in 8C) operating in 
integrated care practices must also enroll as an Outpatient Behavioral Health Group, which may be 
mapped to the tax ID number of the physician group practice.  All enrolled, licensed outpatient behavioral 
health providers in the integrated care practice would enroll as part of the Outpatient Behavioral Health 
Group practice.  The integrated care practice must have at least 1 active, enrolled licensed Outpatient 
Behavioral Health provider in order to apply for the Outpatient Behavioral Health group number.  The 
Physician Group enrollment is a separate enrollment from the Outpatient Behavioral Health group 
enrollment, although both may be mapped to the same tax ID number for billing purposes. To enroll as an 
Outpatient Behavioral Health Group with NC Medicaid, providers must fill out the Organization In-State/ 
Border Application found at NC Tracks http://www.nctracks.nc.gov/.   Please see pages 18 through 23 of 
the Provider Qualifications and Requirements Checklist for full information on Outpatient Behavioral 
Health Provider enrollment.   
 
The Medicaid provider enrollment process includes the completion of the Internal Revenue Service’s 
(IRS) W-9 form. The N.C. Medicaid Program must collect this information in order to correctly report 
income paid to the provider. The W-9 form is retained by the N.C. Medicaid Program and is not sent to 
the IRS. The instructions that the IRS provides with the W-9 form explain that payments you receive may 
be subject to backup withholding if you do not report your correct tax identification number (TIN). The 
instructions further explain that the TIN provided must match the name given on Line 1. Failure to 
provide your correct TIN may result in a penalty.  (The W-9 form and instructions for completing the 
form are available at http://www.irs.gov.)   
 
Provider Earnings reported on the 1099 form are based on the provider number associated with the 
National Provider Identifier entered on the claim form. If incorrect earnings are reported it may be 
because claims are incorrectly filed without the group number, which results in income being reported to 
the individual (attending) provider number entered on the claim. Incorrect earnings are NOT reported 



North Carolina Medicaid Bulletin                               July 2011 

  20

based on the W-9. It is important that all providers carefully review the Financial Section of their 
Remittance and Status Report (RA) to verify that the claim is submitted properly and income is reported 
to the correct TIN.  Please see the July 2009 Bulletin for additional information. 
 
Please note that ALL behavioral health services should be billed under the Outpatient Behavioral Health 
Group Billing NPI and the Outpatient Behavioral Health Individual Attending NPI, including both 
unmanaged and managed visits.   Unmanaged visits should NOT be billed ‘incident to’ a physician if the 
attending provider can bill independently. Outpatient Behavioral Health Providers are encouraged to read 
the July 2009 and the March, April, and June 2011 Medicaid bulletins which give helpful guidance on 
prior authorization, NCCI, and unmanaged/managed visits. 
As a reminder, please contact DMA directly with any questions regarding NC enrollment or billing 
questions in order to ensure accurate receipt of information. 
 
Behavioral Health 
DMA, 919-855-4290 
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Attention: Physicians 

Physicians Billing for CPT Procedure Codes 15832-15837 
 
It has come to DMA’s attention that physicians are receiving denials when billing for additional units 
for the following CPT procedure codes:  
 

• 15832 [Excision, excessive skin and subcutaneous tissue (includes lipectomy); thigh],  
• 15833 [Excision, excessive skin and subcutaneous tissue (includes lipectomy); leg],  
• 15834 [Excision, excessive skin and subcutaneous tissue (includes lipectomy); hip],  
• 15836 [Excision, excessive skin and subcutaneous tissue (includes lipectomy); arm],  
• 15837 [Excision, excessive skin and subcutaneous tissue (includes lipectomy); forearm or 

hand]. 
 
System updates have been completed to correct this issue.  Physicians who received denials with EOB 
5327 (unit cutback exceeds maximum units allowed per day) or EOB 7747 (exceeds one procedure per 
day limitation) may resubmit claims that meet timely filing criteria for processing (not as an 
adjustment). 
 
HP Enterprise Services  
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 
 
 
 
 
 
Attention: Physicians 

Physicians Billing for CPT Procedure Code 16035 
 
Effective January 1, 2008, Relative Value Units (RVUs) changed the post operative period for CPT 
procedure code 16035 [Escharotomy; initial incision] from a 90 day global period to 000 global days.  
This change was not put into the claims processing system until recently which has caused inappropriate 
denials.  
 
System updates have been completed to correct this issue.  Providers who received these denials with 
EOB 5500 (follow-up are included in global surgery package) and have kept claims timely may resubmit 
as a new day claim. 
 
HP Enterprise Services  
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888
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Attention: Nurse Practitioners and Physicians 

Belimumab Injection (Benlysta®, HCPCS code J3590, 10 mg and HCPCS 
Code Q2044, 10 mg): Billing Guidelines 
 
Effective with dates of service March 29, 2011 through June 30, 2011, the NC Medicaid Program covers 
belimumab (Benlysta) for use in the Physician’s Drug Program when billed with HCPCS code J3590 
(unclassified biologicals). Effective with dates of service on and after July 1, 2011, Benlysta will be 
covered under HCPCS code Q2044. Benlysta is available in 120 mg and 400 mg single-dose vials.   
 
Benlysta is a B-lymphocyte stimulator (BLyS)-specific inhibitor indicated for the treatment of adult 
patients with active, autoantibody-positive, systemic lupus erythematosus who are receiving standard 
therapy. Benlysta should be administered as a one-hour intravenous infusion of 10 mg/kg at two-week 
intervals for the first three doses and at four-week intervals thereafter..  
 

For Medicaid Billing 

• Providers must bill Benlysta with HCPCS code J3590 (unclassified biologicals) for dates of service March 
29, 2011, through June 30, 2011. 

• Providers must bill Benlysta with HCPCS code Q2044 effective with dates of service on and after July 1, 
2011. 

• ICD-9-CM diagnosis code 710.0 (lupus erythematosus) must be billed with Benlysta. 
• Providers must indicate the number of HCPCS units. 
• For HCPCS code J3590, one Medicaid unit of coverage is 10 mg. Refer to the fee schedule for the 

Physician’s Drug Program on DMA’s website at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/fee/ for the current rate. 
Providers may bill for an entire single-dose 120 mg or 400 mg vial.  

• For HCPCS code Q2044, one Medicaid unit of coverage is 10 mg. Refer to the fee schedule for the 
Physician’s Drug Program on DMA’s website at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/fee/ for the current rate. 

• Providers must bill 11-digit National Drug Codes (NDCs) and appropriate NDC units. The NDC units for 
Benlysta should be reported as “UN.”  To bill for the entire 120 mg vial of Benlysta, report the NDC units 
as “UN1.”  To bill for the entire 400 mg vial of Benlysta, report the NDC units as “UN1.”   If the drug was 
purchased under the 340-B drug pricing program, place a “UD” modifier in the modifier field for that drug 
detail.  

• Refer to the March 2009 Special Bulletin, National Drug Code Implementation, Phase III, on DMA’s 
website (http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/bulletin/) for additional instructions. 

• Providers must bill their usual and customary charge. The fee schedule for the Physician’s Drug Program is 
available on DMA’s website at: http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/fee/. 

 

HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 1-919-851-8888  
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 Attention:  Nurse Practitioners and Physicians  

Oxaliplatin (Eloxatin, HCPCS Code J9263):  Updated Billing Guidelines 

The N.C. Medicaid program updated the diagnosis codes covered for Eloxatin, J9263, to the following list 
of ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes: 

For Medicaid Billing 

The ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes required for billing Eloxatin are: 

• V58.11 (encounter for antineoplastic chemotherapy) 

AND 

One of the following: 
• 150.0 through 150.9 (malignant neoplasm of esophagus) 
• 151.0 through 151.9 (malignant neoplasm of stomach) 
• 152.0 through 152.9 (malignant neoplasm of small intestine) 
• 153.0 through 153.9 (malignant neoplasm of colon) 
• 154.0 through 154.8 (malignant neoplasm of rectum, rectosigmoid junction, and anus) 
• 155.0 through 155.2 (malignant neoplasm of liver, not specified as primary or secondary) 
• 156.0 through 156.9 (malignant neoplasm of gall bladder and extrahepatic bile ducts) 
• 157.0 through 157.9 (malignant neoplasm of pancreas) 

The fee schedule for the Physician’s Drug Program is available on DMA’s website at 
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/fee/fee.htm. 

 
HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 1-919-851-8888  
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Attention: Nurse Practitioners and Physicians 

Peginterferon Alfa-2B Injection (Sylatron™, HCPCS code J3590): Billing 
Guidelines 
 
Effective with date of service April 15, 2011, the NC Medicaid Program covers peginterferon alfa-2B 
injection (Sylatron) for use in the Physician’s Drug Program when billed with HCPCS code J3590 
(unclassified biologicals). Sylatron is available in 296 mcg, 444 mcg and 888 mcg vials.   
Sylatron is indicated for the treatment of melanoma. It should be administered subcutaneously as a 6 
mg/kg/wk dose for 8 doses, followed by 3 mcg/kg/wk subcutaneously for up to 5 years.  
 

For Medicaid Billing: 

• Providers must bill Sylatron with HCPCS code J3590 (unclassified biologicals). 
• An ICD-9-CM diagnosis code in the range of 172.0 through 172.0 (malignant melanoma of skin) 

must be billed with Sylatron™.  
• Providers must indicate the number of HCPCS units. An entire single-dose vial may be billed. 
• One Medicaid unit of coverage is 1 mcg. The maximum reimbursement rate per unit is $3.2508.  
• Providers must bill 11-digit National Drug Codes (NDCs) and appropriate NDC units. The NDC 

units for Sylatron should be reported as “UN.” To bill for an entire vial of Sylatron, regardless of 
the size of the vial, report the NDC units as “UN1.”  If the drug was purchased under the 340-B 
drug pricing program, place a “UD” modifier in the modifier field for that drug detail.  

• Refer to the March 2009 Special Bulletin, National Drug Code Implementation, Phase III, on 
DMA’s website (http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/bulletin/) for additional instructions. 

• Providers must bill their usual and customary charge. 
• The fee schedule for the Physician’s Drug Program is available on DMA’s website at: 

http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/fee/. 
 

HP Enterprise Services 
1-800-688-6696 or 1-919-851-8888  
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Attention: Podiatrists 

Podiatrists Billing for New Patient Office Visit CPT Procedure Codes 
99201-99205 
 
It has come to our attention that podiatrists are receiving denials for new patient office visit CPT 
procedure codes: 
 
    99201 (Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and management of a new patient, which 
    requires these 3 key components):  
•  A problem focused history; 
•  A problem focused examination; 
•   Straightforward medical decision making 

       99202 (Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and management of a new patient, which    
        requires these 3 key components): 

• An expanded problem focused history; 
• An expanded problem focused examination; 
• Straightforward medical decision making. 

      99203 (Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and management of a new patient, which  
      requires these 3 key components): 

• A detailed history; 
• A detailed examination; 
• Medical decision making of low complexity. 

      99204 (Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and management of a new patient, which  
      requires these 3 key components): 

• A comprehensive history; 
• A comprehensive examination; 
• Medical decision making of moderate complexity. 

      99205 (Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and management of a new patient, which  
      requires these 3 key components): 

• A comprehensive history; 
• A comprehensive examination; 
• Medical decision making of high complexity. 

System updates have been completed to correct this issue.  Physicians who received denials with EOB 
1647 (the primary or secondary diagnosis code billed does not meet the Medicaid billing requirements 
for this provider type and specialty) may resubmit claims that meet timely filing criteria for processing 
(not as an adjustment). 
 
HP Enterprise Services  
1-800-688-6696 or 919-851-8888 



North Carolina Medicaid Bulletin                               July 2011 

 

Employment Opportunities with the N.C. Division of Medical Assistance 
Employment opportunities with DMA are advertised on the Office of State Personnel’s website at 
http://www.osp.state.nc.us/jobs/.  To view the vacancy postings for DMA, click on “Agency,” then click on 
“Department of Health and Human Services,” and then click on “HHS Medical Assistance.”  If you identify a 
position for which you are both interested and qualified, complete a state application form 
(http://www.osp.state.nc.us/jobs/applications.htm) and submit it to the contact person listed for the vacancy.  If 
you need additional information regarding a posted vacancy, call the contact person at the telephone number 
given in the vacancy posting.  General information about employment with North Carolina State Government is 
also available online at http://www.osp.state.nc.us/jobs/gnrlinfo.htm.  
 
 
 
Proposed Clinical Coverage Policies 
In accordance with NCGS §108A-54.2, proposed new or amended Medicaid clinical coverage policies are 
available for review and comment on DMA’s website at http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dma/mpproposed/.  To submit a 
comment related to a policy, refer to the instructions on the website.  Providers without Internet access can submit 
written comments to the address listed below. 

Richard K. Davis  
Division of Medical Assistance 
Clinical Policy Section 
2501 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh NC 27699-2501 

The initial comment period for each proposed policy is 45 days.  An additional 15-day comment period will 
follow if a proposed policy is revised as a result of the initial comment period. 
 

2011 Checkwrite Schedule 
 

M o n th  Checkwr i t e  Cy c l e  
Cu to f f  Dat e  Checkwr i t e  Date  EFT Ef f ec t i ve  Da te  

6/30/11 7/6/11 7/7/11 

7/7/11 7/12/11 7/13/11 July 

7/14/11 7/21/11 7/22/11 

7/28/11 8/2/11 8/3/11 

8/4/11 8/9/11 8/10/11 

8/11/11 8/16/11 8/17/11 
August 

8/18/11 8/25/11 8/26/11 
 
Electronic claims must be transmitted and completed by 5:00 p.m. on the cut-off date to be included in the next checkwrite.  Any claims 

transmitted after 5:00 p.m. will be processed on the second checkwrite following the transmission date. 

 
 

             
Craigan L. Gray, MD, MBA, JD     Melissa Robinson 
Director       Executive Director 
Division of Medical Assistance                  HP Enterprise Services  
Department of Health and Human Services 
 


