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Introduction: Program Overview

General Information

The Personal Care Services (PCS) Program is a Medicaid State Plan benefit provided under the North
Carolina Medicaid Program. Personal Care Services are provided for Medicaid beneficiaries who have a
medical condition, cognitive impairment or disability and demonstrate unmet needs for hands-on
assistance with qualifying activities of daily living (ADLs). Qualifying ADLs are bathing, dressing,
mobility, toileting, and eating.

The PCS program is designed to provide personal care services to individuals residing in a private living
arrangement or in a residential facility licensed by the State of North Carolina as an adult care home, a
combination home as defined in G.S. 131E-101(1a), or a group home licensed under Chapter 122C of
the General Statutes and defined under 10A NCAC 27G as a supervised living facility for two or more
adults whose primary diagnosis is mental illness, a developmental disability, or substance abuse
dependency. PCS is provided in the beneficiary’s living environment by paraprofessional aides employed
by licensed adult care homes, home care agencies or by home staff in supervised living homes.

The amount of service provided is based on an assessment conducted by an Independent Assessment
Entity (IAE) to determine the individual’'s ability to perform ADLs. The performance is rated on a five
point scale that includes totally independent, requiring cueing or supervision, requiring limited hands-on
assistance, requiring extensive hands-on assistance, or totally dependent.

Beneficiaries are awarded prior approvals (PAs) for a number of service hours dependent on their
assessed needs. Qualifying Medicaid beneficiaries who are 21 years or older may be authorized up to
80 hours of service per month. A Medicaid beneficiary who meets the eligibility requirements for PCS
and other eligibility criteria mandated by N.C. Session Law 2013-306
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2013/Bills/House/PDF/H492v7.pdf may be authorized for up to
50 additional hours of Medicaid Personal Care Services per month for a total amount of up to 130 hours.
Qualifying Medicaid beneficiaries under 21 years of age may be authorized for up to 60 hours of service
per month, except if additional hours are approved under Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and
Treatment (EPSDT).

PCS Beneficiary Qualification Requirements

The information in this section references Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Section 3.0

In order to qualify for PCS, Medicaid beneficiaries are required to have active Medicaid at the time of
service. The Medicaid beneficiary may have service restrictions due to their eligibility category that
would make them ineligible for PCS. Beneficiaries who are enrolled with N.C. Health Choice (NCHC) do
not qualify for Personal Care Services.
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PCS is considered for beneficiaries who have a medical condition, cognitive impairment or disability and
demonstrate unmet needs for, at a minimum;

a. three of the five qualifying ADLs with limited hands-on assistance;
b. two ADLs, one of which requires extensive assistance; or

c. two ADLs, one of which requires assistance at the full dependence level.
AND, reside in:
1. a private living arrangement (primary private residence);
a residential facility licensed by the State of North Carolina as an adult care home (ACH) as
defined in G.S. 131D-2.1, a combination home as defined in G.S. 131E-101(1a); or
3. agroup home licensed under Chapter 122C of the General Statutes and under 10A NCAC 27G

.5601 as a supervised living facility for two or more adults whose primary diagnosis is mental
illness, a developmental disability, or substance abuse dependency and is eligible to receive
personal care services under the Medicaid State Plan.

Additional general program requirements include:

The home environment is safe and free of health hazards for the beneficiary and the PCS
provider(s) to receive and provide service;

The residential setting has received inspection conducted by the Division of Health Service
Regulation (DHSR);

The place of service is safe for the beneficiary to receive PCS and for an aide to provide PCS;
No third-party payer is responsible for covering PCS;

No family or household member or other informal caregiver is available, willing, and able to
provide the authorized services during the approved time frame;

Be referred by their Primary Care Physician, Attending Physician, Nurse Practitioner or
Physician Assistant;

Have a documented medical condition that supports the need for hands on assistance;

Be certified as medically stable by the referring entity;

Under on-going care of a physician for the condition or diagnosis causing the functional
limitations;

Have been seen by the referring entity within the previous 90 days;

Have been screened for Serious Mental Iliness (SMI). All Medicaid beneficiaries referred to or
seeking admission into an Adult Care Home licensed under G.S. 131D-2.4 must be referred to
an LME-MCO for the Referral Screening Verification Process (RSVP). Adult Care Home
providers licensed under G.S. 131 D-2.4 will not receive a PCS assessment or prior approval
to bill PCS without verification of a Referral Screening ID.

NOTE: Exceptions to the above eligibility criteria may be approved for a child under the EPSDT
provision.

EPSDT (Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostics, and Treatment) Program

Information in this section references Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Section 2.2

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) is a federal Medicaid requirement
that requires the state Medicaid agency to cover services, products, or procedures for Medicaid
beneficiaries under 21 years of age if the service is medically necessary health care to correct or
ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition identified through a screening examination
(includes any evaluation by a physician or other licensed clinician). This means EPSDT covers most of
the medical or remedial care a child needs to improve or maintain his or her health in the best condition

6|Page



possible, compensate for a health problem, prevent it from worsening, or prevent the development of
additional health problems.

Service limitations on scope, amount, duration, frequency, location of service, and other specific criteria
described in clinical coverage policies may be exceeded or may not apply as long as the provider’s
documentation shows that the requested service is medically necessary. Medically necessary services
will be provided in the most economic mode, as long as the treatment made available is similarly
efficacious to the service requested by the beneficiary’s physician, therapist, or other licensed
practitioner; the determination process does not delay the delivery of the needed service; and the
determination does not limit the beneficiary’s right to a free choice of providers.

EPSDT does not require the state Medicaid agency to provide any service, product or procedure:

1. That is unsafe, ineffective, or experimental or investigational.
2. That is not medical in nature or not generally recognized as an accepted method of medical
practice or treatment.

NOTE: Once the beneficiary turns 21 years of age, their approved EPSDT hours will cease and PCS
will end. A new 3051 form should be mailed to the Independent Assessment Entity PRIOR to the 21t
birthday in order for the beneficiary to be assessed and if approved, PCS to continue after they turn 21.

PCS Covered Tasks and Services

The information in this section references Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Sections 3.3 and 3.4
Personal Care Services

PCS is a non-skilled service and should not be considered as a substitute for ongoing medical treatment.
PCS includes the following tasks and services that need to occur at minimum, once per week:

1. Hands-on assistance to address unmet needs with qualifying ADLs;

2. Set-up, supervision, cueing, prompting, and guiding, when provided as part of the hands-on
assistance with qualifying ADLSs;

3. Assistance with home management IADLs that are directly related to the beneficiary’s qualifying
ADLs and essential to the beneficiary’s care at home;

4. Assistance with medication when directly linked to a documented medical condition or physical
or cognitive impairment as specified in Subsection 3.2 of Clinical Coverage Policy 3L;

5. Assistance with adaptive or assistive devices when directly linked to the qualifying ADLS;

6. Assistance with the use of durable medical equipment when directly linked to the qualifying
ADLSs; or

7. Assistance with special assistance (assistance with ADLs that requires a Nurse aide Il) and
delegated medical monitoring tasks.

The following additional assistance may be approved under EPSDT criteria for beneficiaries under 21
years of age:

1. Supervision (observation resulting in an intervention) and monitoring (precautionary observation)
related to qualifying ADLS;

2. Cueing, prompting, guiding, and coaching related to qualifying ADLs;

3. After school care if PCS tasks are required during that time and no other individuals or programs
are available to provide this service; and

4. Additional hours of service authorization.
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Medication Assistance

Medicaid shall cover medication assistance when it is:

1.

2.

3.

Delivered in a primary private residence and consists of medication self-administration
assistance described in 10A NCAC 13J;

Delivered in an adult care home and includes medication administration as defined in 10A NCAC
13F and 13G; or

Delivered in a supervised living home and includes medication administration as defined in 10A
NCAC 27G.

PCS Non-Covered Tasks and Services

The information in this section references Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Section 4.2

PCS does NOT include the following services:

oo wNE
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12.
13.

14.

NOTE:

Skilled nursing services provided by an LPN or RN;

Services provided by other licensed health care professionals;

Respite care;

Care of non-service-related pets and animals;

Yard or home maintenance work;

Instrumental Activities of Daily Living (IADLS) in the absence of associated Activities of Daily
Living (ADLS);

Transportation;

Financial management;

Errands;

. Companion sitting or leisure activities;
. Ongoing supervision (observation resulting in an intervention) and monitoring (precautionary

observation), except when approved under EPSDT as specified in Subsection 2.2 of Clinical
Coverage Policy 3L;

Personal care or home management tasks for other residents of the household;

Other tasks and services not identified in the beneficiary’s Independent Assessment and noted
in their Plan of Care; and

Room and board.

A beneficiary may not receive PCS and another substantially equivalent Federal or State

funded service. Examples of equivalent services include but are not limited to home health aide
services and in-home aide services in the Community Alternatives Programs (CAP/Disabled Adults,
CAP/Children, CAP/Choice, and CAP Innovations), and Private Duty Nursing (PDN).

Medicaid does not cover Personal Care Services (PCS) when:

1.
2.
3.

The initial independent assessment has not been completed,;

The PCS is not documented as completed in accordance with this clinical coverage policy;
A reassessment has not been completed within 30 days of the end date of the previous prior
authorization period because the beneficiary refused assessment, could not be reached to
schedule the assessment, or did not attend the scheduled assessment;

The PCS is provided at a location other than the beneficiary’s primary private residence or
residential setting, except when EPSDT requirements are met as listed in Subsection 2.2 of
Clinical Coverage Policy 3L;

The PCS exceeds the amount approved by the Independent Assessment Entity (IAE);

The PCS is not completed on the date the service is billed;
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7. The PCS is provided prior to the effective date or after the end date of the prior authorized
service period;

8. The PCS is provided by an individual whose primary private residence is the same as the
beneficiary’s primary residence;

9. The PCS is performed by an individual who is the beneficiary’s legally responsible person,
spouse, child, parent, sibling, grandparent, grandchild, or equivalent step or in-law relationship to
the beneficiary;

10. Family members or other informal caregivers are willing, able, and available on a regular basis
adequate to meet the beneficiary’s need for personal care;

11. The requested services consist of treatment or training related to behavioral problems or mental
health disorders such as attention deficit disorder or oppositional defiant behavior;

12. The requested ADL assistance consists of activities that a typical child of the same chronological
age could not safely and independently perform without adult supervision;

13. Independent medical information does not validate the assessment, which could cause PCS
hours to be reduced, denied, or terminated based on the additional information.

Medicaid does not cover PCS in licensed residential facilities when:

The beneficiary is ventilator dependent;

The beneficiary requires continuous licensed nursing care;

The beneficiary’s physician certifies that placement is no longer appropriate;

The beneficiary’s health needs cannot be met in the specific licensed care home, as determined
by the residence; or

The beneficiary has other medical and functional care needs that cannot be properly metin a
licensed care home, as determined by General Statues and licensure rules and regulations.

PwONE
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Role of NC Medicaid

NC Medicaid is the state agency that administers Medicaid and is responsible for overseeing the PCS
Program. In adherence to the PCS Policy and its contract with Liberty Healthcare of North Carolina, NC
Medicaid is responsible for:
e Establishing the scope and amount of PCS to be provided, based on information entered into the
independent assessment tool and according to the criteria in the PCS Policy.
e Enacting program and procedure changes as mandated by the North Carolina General
Assembly.

Role of the PCS Provider Stakeholder Group

The purpose of the PCS Provider Stakeholder group is to provide the opportunity for stakeholders in
North Carolina who have an interest in the development and implementation of Personal Care Services
to collaborate and share their recommendations. The NC Department of Health & Human Services
(DHHS) convenes on a bi-monthly basis with community stakeholders to engage and seek their input.
The meetings are designed to share project status, gather input and identify next steps.

Stakeholder meetings are held bi-monthly on the third Thursday of the month 1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.
Meeting agendas, handouts, and minutes are available for download on the PCS webpage at
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/programs-services/long-term-care/personal-care-services. ltems
and concerns you would like addressed during the stakeholder meetings should be submitted at least
two weeks in advance of the regularly scheduled meetings with a notation “FOR STAKEHOLDER
MEETING.”
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Stakeholders should submit questions through the PCS mailbox at
PCS Program_ Questions@dhhs.nc.gov. To get involved call 919-855-4360 or email
PCS_Program_Questions@dhhs.nc.gov.

Role of the Independent Assessment Entity (IAE)

As the IAE, Liberty Healthcare of North Carolina (LHC-NC) is under contract with the North Carolina
Department of Health Benefits (DHB), NC Medicaid, to conduct independent assessments for PCS. In
accordance with the PCS Policy and the IAE’s contract with NC Medicaid, Liberty Healthcare of North
Carolina is responsible for:

e Processing all PCS requests, including new referrals, expedited requests, change of status, and
change of provider requests;

e Conducting all PCS assessments, including new admission assessments, annual
reassessments, result of mediation assessments, and any other required assessments per policy
or at the request of NC Medicaid;

e Determining the qualifying ADLs and the level of assistance required for each ADL task;

e Issuing notification letters to beneficiaries and PCS providers that inform them of the
determination of need for PCS;

e Conducting provider training sessions and publishing educational resources in order to advise
providers about the PCS program and its processes;

e Providing customer assistance through our customer support center for any inquiries regarding
PCS;

e Maintaining a website which beneficiaries, physicians, providers, and other referral sources can
access important announcements, educational materials and PCS forms.

PCS Independent Assessment Completion Process Overview

The PCS independent assessment completion process that is executed by the IAE is very complex and
takes approximately 3-4 weeks to complete for each beneficiary who requests an independent
assessment to be considered for PCS. Though complex, in summary, the process can be broken down
into 6 main steps from beginning to end, as follows:

1. PCS Request — The beneficiary has their primary care physician or attending physician
complete the NC Medicaid-3051 Request for Independent Assessment for Personal Care
Services Form and send it to LHC-NC for processing.

2. Scheduling the Assessment — Once a request has been processed, a Scheduling Coordinator
will contact the beneficiary or facility for those residing in an ACH and schedule a date for an
Assessor to go to the beneficiary’s home or facility to complete the independent assessment.

3. Performing the Assessment — On the day of the scheduled appointment, the Assessor will go
to the beneficiary’s home or facility and complete an assessment that will determine if the
beneficiary is eligible for personal care services.

4. Provider Selection and Acceptance — At the conclusion of the assessment, the beneficiary is
provided a randomized list of providers to select their provider of choice for services if they are
approved for PCS.

5. Assessment Review — After provider selection, the assessment is uploaded and reviewed by
the Assessor’s Manager for approval. Once approved, the Manager submits the assessment for
hour calculation which is executed automatically by the current IT solution called QiRePort.

6. Provider Acceptance and Notification — If it is determined that the beneficiary is eligible for
personal care services, the selected provider will be sent a request for service form to accept or
reject the beneficiary’s request. Once the provider accepts the beneficiary for care and
completes a service plan, a formal notification is sent to the beneficiary and to the provider and
PCS services may begin.
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Chapter 1: Personal Care Service Provider Requirements

1.1 General Requirements

The information in this section references Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Sections 6.0 and 7.0

In order to receive PCS referrals and to submit billing claims for services, providers shall:

1. Meet Medicaid qualifications for participation;

2. Have a current and signed Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Provider
Administrative Participation Agreement; and
3. Bill only for procedures, products, and services that are within the scope of their clinical practice,

as defined by the appropriate licensing entity.

Providers shall not bill for Medicaid PCS services provided by an individual with any of the following
convictions on the criminal background check conducted in accordance with 6.0 of Clinical
Coverage Policy 3L:

a.

b.

e

= e@~oo

Felonies related to manufacture, distribution, prescription or dispensing of a controlled
substance;

Felony health care fraud,;

Felony for abuse, neglect, assault, battery, criminal sexual conduct (1st, 2nd or 3rd
degree), fraud or theft against a minor or vulnerable adult;

Felony or misdemeanor patient abuse;

Felony or misdemeanor involving cruelty or torture;

Misdemeanor healthcare fraud;

Misdemeanor for abuse, neglect, or exploitation listed with the NC Health Care Registry;
or

Any substantiated allegation listed with the NC Health Care Registry that would prohibit
an individual from working in the healthcare field in the state of NC.

To be eligible to bill for procedures, products, and services related to the Clinical Coverage Policy 3L
policy, providers shall be:

v" A home care agency licensed by the North Carolina Division of Health Services Regulation
(DHSR) to operate in the county or counties where the PCS Services are being provided;

v Aresidential facility licensed by the DHSR as an adult care home as defined in G.S. 131D-2,
or a combination home as defined in G.S. 131E-101(1a); or

v Aresidential facility licensed under Chapter 122C of the General Statutes and defined under
10A NCAC 27G as a supervised living facility for two or more adults whose primary
diagnosis is mental illness, a developmental disability, or substance use disorder.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Please see full policy in Appendix D for complete listing of requirements.
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1.2 Agency Staffing Requirements

In addition to the following requirements listed in Section 1.1, providers are also responsible for
complying with all staffing requirements outlined by their respective North Carolina licensing entity and
the North Carolina Board of Nursing (available at www.ncbon.com).

1.3 Registered Nurses (RNSs)

PCS home care agencies must employ a qualified RN with a valid North Carolina license, who will be
responsible for the following:

Writing and updating the plans of care for all of the agency’s PCS clients.

Supervision of the agency’s Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) program.

Maintaining agency complaint logs and service records.

Supervising all in-home care aides and ensuring that the aides are delivering care consistent
with the PCS plan of care, with the PCS policy, as well as federal and state practice laws.

Special PCS certification training for RNs is not required by NC Medicaid. However, providers must
maintain compliance requirements outlined in the North Carolina Home Care Licensure Rules (10A
NCAC 13J.1003) and by the North Carolina Board of Nursing (available at www.ncbon.com).

1.4 Supervision of PCS Aides

The PCS Provider shall provide a qualified and experienced professional, as specified in the applicable
licensure rules, to supervise PCS, and who will be responsible for:

1. Supervising and ensuring that all services provided by the Aides under their supervision are
conducted in accordance with Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, other applicable federal and state
statutes, rules, regulations, policies and guidelines, and the provider agency’s policies and
procedures;

Supervision of the Provider Organization’s CQIl program;
Completion and approval of all service plans for assigned beneficiaries;

Implementing the service plan;

SIS AREN

Maintaining complaint logs and service records in accordance with state requirements.

1.5 Supervisory Visits in Beneficiary Private Residences

The In-Home PCS agency RN is responsible for conducting supervisory visits to each beneficiary’s
home every 90 days. Two visits per year must be completed while the PCS aide is scheduled to be in
the beneficiary’s home. The RN should conduct the first supervisory visit 90 days from the date of the
first admission visit to the beneficiary’s home, then every 90 days thereafter. Clinical Coverage Policy 3L
allows a 7-day grace period for these visits.

13| Page


http://www.ncbon.com/
http://www.ncbon.com/

The RN Supervisor shall:

1. Confirm that the In-Home Aide is present and has been present as scheduled during the
preceding 90 days;

2. Validate that the information recorded on the aide’s service log accurately reflects his or her
attendance and the services provided,;

Evaluate the In-Home Aide’s performance;

Identify any changes in the beneficiary’s condition and need for PCS that may require a
change of status review;

Identify and document any new health or safety risks that may be present in the home;

Evaluate the beneficiary’s satisfaction with services provided by the In-Home Aide and any
services performed by the home care agency;

7. Review and validate the in-home aide’s service records to ensure that:

Documentation of services provided is accurate and complete;

Services listed in the service plan have been implemented,

Service plan deviations are documented,

Services, dates and times of services provided are documented on a daily basis;
Separate logs are maintained for all beneficiaries;

All occasions when the beneficiary was not available to receive services or refused
services for any reason are documented in the service record, including the reason
the beneficiary was not available or refused services; and

g. On a weekly basis, logs are signed by the In-Home Aide and the beneficiary;

~ooooTw

8. Document all components of the supervisory visits to include the date, arrival and departure
time, purpose of visit, discoveries and supervisor’s signature.

1.6 Supervisory Visits in Residential Settings

The Residential PCS Provider shall ensure that a qualified professional conducts a supervisor visit to
each beneficiary in accordance to 10 A NCAC 13F and 13G and 10A NCAC 27G. The Residential PCS
provider shall assure appropriate aide supervision by a qualified professional in accordance with 10A
NCAC 13F and 13G, and 10A NCAC 27G.

1.7 PCS Aides

Before hiring a new PCS aide, the provider agency is required to perform a criminal background check.
This background check will include a review of the North Carolina Health Care Registry to determine if
the potential employee has any substantiated findings for any criminal activity, including client neglect,
stealing/selling drugs belonging to a provider, abusing/stealing a client’s property, or fraud. The PCS
Provider shall ensure that the In-Home and Residential Care Aides hired are not listed on the North
Carolina Health Care Registry or as having a substantiated finding in accordance with the health care
personnel registry G.S. 131E-256.
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Additionally, Providers shall not bill for Medicaid PCS services provided by an individual with any of the
following convictions on the criminal background check conducted in accordance with 7.10(d.1) of the
Clinical Coverage Policy 3L:

1. Felonies related to manufacture, distribution, prescription or dispensing of a controlled substance;

2. Felony health care fraud,

3. Felony for abuse, neglect, assault, battery, criminal sexual conduct (1st, 2nd or 3rd degree), fraud or
theft against a minor or vulnerable adult;

4. Felony or misdemeanor patient abuse;

5. Felony or misdemeanor involving cruelty or torture;

6. Misdemeanor healthcare fraud;

7. Misdemeanor for abuse, neglect, or exploitation listed with the NC Health Care Registry; or

8. Any substantiated allegation listed with the NC Health Care Registry that would prohibit an individual

from working in the healthcare field in the state of NC.

All In-Home and Residential Aides shall meet the qualifications contained in the applicable North
Carolina Home Care, Adult Care Home, Family Care Home and Mental Health Supervised Living
Licensure Rules (10A NCAC 13J, 13F and 13G, and 10A NCAC 27G). An individual file is maintained
on all In-Home and Residential Aides that documents aide training, background checks, competency
evaluations and provides evidence that the aide is supervised in accordance with the requirements
specified in 10A NCAC 13J, 13F and 13G, and 10A NCAC 27G, (Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Section
7.10).

Additionally, the agency may not assign an aide to provide services to a beneficiary when the aide is
related to the beneficiary (legally responsible person, spouse, parents, siblings, grandparents, or other
“step-“ or “in-law” relationships) or in cases where the person lives with the beneficiary, regardless of
relationship to the beneficiary (PCS Policy 3L, Subsection 4.2.2).

1.8 Non-Certified Personal Care Aides

According to the North Carolina licensure rules, if an aide is not listed with the nurse aide registry, the
agency must show that the aide is competent to assist with certain self-care tasks. Each agency must
document in the aide’s personnel record that he/she is able to assist with:

Mobility: ambulation, bed mobility and transfers
Showering and bathing

Toileting and continence needs

Eating

Dressing

arwbdE

The RN for the agency must document that he/she has observed the aide assisting with these tasks. They
must also document that the aide is competent to provide assistance with these ADLs. This requirement
applies to all aides hired after April 1, 2009.

1.9 Staff Development and Training

PCS Clinical Coverage Policy 3L requires providers to offer an orientation based upon licensure rules for
all new hire staff for In-Home and Residential Aides. This orientation should include an overview of the
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PCS Policy and the North Carolina Home Care Licensure Rules. The agency must also offer ongoing
training pertaining to the job responsibilities of each employee as well as the requirements of the Clinical
Coverage (PCS) Policy 3L. This includes skill and competency training for all personal care aides. The
agency must keep records of all training activities and staff orientation sessions conducted. Competency
training and evaluations of the required competencies for In-Home and Residential Aides must provide
competency training and evaluations as specified in 20A NCAC 13F and 13G, and 10A NCAC 27G.

The agency administrator should be informed of regional training programs, conference calls and
webinars which pertain to the PCS programs. These trainings may be offered by NC Medicaid, or its
designee. Information regarding training sessions will be published on the NC Medicaid Personal Care
Services webpage (https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/programs-services/long-term-care/personal-
care-services) and in the monthly Medicaid Bulletin. Information regarding training sessions sponsored
by Liberty Healthcare of North Carolina will be available on their webpage (http://www.nc-pcs.com)
under ‘Training’. All staff members who have management responsibilities should plan to attend these
regional training programs to insure the agency is compliant with all rules and procedures.

It is the responsibility of the agency administrator to be informed of staff training requirements related to
each employee’s professional licensure, as well as the agency’s licensure, which are separate from
those outlined in the PCS Policy. Information on these requirements can be obtained from the North
Carolina Board of Nursing (www.nchbon.com) and from the DHSR Certification Section
(http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr).

Training for Additional Safeguards

In accordance with N.C. Session Law 2013-306; Caregivers who provide services to beneficiaries
receiving additional safeguards require training in caring for individuals with degenerative disease,
characterized by irreversible memory dysfunction, that attacks the brain and results in impaired memory,
thinking, and behavior, including gradual memory loss, impaired judgment, disorientation, personality
change, difficulty in learning, and the loss of language skills.

Providers must attest to the training of their caregiver staff to provide services by submitting the NC
Medicaid-3085, Session Law (SL) 2013-306 PCS Training Attestation Form to
Medicaid.PCSTraining@dhhs.nc.gov. This form may also be uploaded into the Provider Portal. See
Appendix E for a copy of this form or visit https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/TrainingAttestationForm--NC-
Medicaid-3085-9.2018.pdf

If providers do not have access to training curriculum that meets the aide training requirements of
Session Law 2013-306, providers may use training made available through the NC Division of Health
Service Regulation licensure section or Liberty Healthcare Corporation Alzheimer's and Dementia
Caregiver Center at http://www.nc-pcs.com/Alzheimers/. The Alzheimer’s and Dementia Caregiver
Center offers free individual on-line care training in dementia care through the Alzheimer’s Association.

Providers must maintain record of the required training in the caregiver staff’s personnel file.
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1.10 Requirements for Aide Documentation

The provider organization accepting the referral to provide services shall:

v" Maintain documentation that demonstrates all aide tasks listed in the PCS service plan are
performed at the frequency indicated on the service plan and on the days of the week
documented in the service plan;

v" Document aide services provided, to include, at minimum, the date of service, care tasks
provided, and the aide providing the service; and

v" Document all deviations from the service plan. This documentation shall include, at minimum,
care tasks not performed and reason tasks were not performed.

NOTE: The Provider Interface provides an option for documenting aide services and task sheets. If
a provider organization elects to use their own aide task worksheets, the worksheets must
accurately reflect all aide tasks and schedule documented in the online PCS service plan, task by

task.

1.11 PCS Online Service Plan

Providers shall develop an online PCS service plan through the Provider Interface. The following
requirements for the online PCS service plan must apply.

1.

2.

10.

All IAE referrals are transmitted to provider organizations through the Provider Interface. No
mailed or faxed referrals are provided;

The provider organization accepting the IAE referral to provide PCS services shall review the
IAE independent assessment results for the beneficiary being referred and develop a PCS
service plan responsive to the beneficiary’s specific needs documented in the IAE assessment;
Provider organizations shall designate staff they determine appropriate to complete and submit
the service plan via the Provider Interface.

Each IAE referral and assessment shall require a new PCS service plan developed by the
provider organization that is based on the IAE assessment results associated with the referral.
The service plan must address each unmet ADL, IADL, special assistance or delegated
medical monitoring task need identified in the independent assessment, taking into account
other pertinent information available to the provider.

The provider organization shall ensure the PCS service need frequencies documented in the
independent assessment are accurately reflected in the PCS service plan schedule as well as
any special scheduling provisions such as weekend days documented in the assessment.
The provider organization shall ensure that the beneficiary or their legally responsible person
understands and, to the fullest extent possible, participates in the development of the PCS
service plan.

Once the provider organization completes the service plan, the service plan must be validated
by the Provider Interface for consistency with the IAE assessment, and related requirements
for the service plan content.

NOTE: For EPSDT beneficiaries, the provider organization must complete the service plan
based on the NC Medicaid nurse review of the assessment and documents provided in
accordance with of Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Subsection 5.2.3.

The PCS service plan must be developed and validated within seven (7) business days of the
Provider accepting receiving the IAE referral.

The provider organization shall obtain the written consent in the form of the signature of the
beneficiary or their legally responsible person within 14 business days of the validated service
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plan. The written consent of the service plan must be printed out and uploaded into the
Provider Interface.

11. The provider shall make a copy of the validated service plan available to the beneficiary or
their legally responsible person within three (3) business of a verbal request.

12. The PCS service plan is not a plan of care as defined by the applicable state licensure
requirements that govern the operation of the provider organizations. Provider organizations
are expected to complete a separate plan of care in accordance to licensure requirements as
specified in 10ANCAC 13J, 10A NCAC 13F and 13G, and 10A NCAC 27G.

13. Provider organizations may enter PCS service plan revisions in the Provider Interface at any
time as long as the changes do not alter the aide tasks or need frequencies identified in the
corresponding IAE assessment.

14. Provider organizations may continue to request a Change of Status Review, as described in
Subsection 5.4.6b, by the IAE if there has been a significant change that affects the
beneficiary’s need for PCS since the last assessment and service plan. Any Change of Status
reassessment requires a new PCS service plan documented in QiRePort.

15. Provider organizations shall be reimbursed only for PCS authorized hours and services
specified and scheduled in the validated PCS service plan.

16. Prior approval for PCS hours or units is not granted until the on-line PCS service plan is
entered into and validated by the Provider Interface.

NOTE: If an agency fails to complete their service plan timely and/or the beneficiary is
discharged, changes providers, or becomes deceased, NC Medicaid will not authorize retro
PAs for the beneficiary as PAs will not be released until the service plan has been completed
and beneficiary/legal guardian consent is required for service plan approval.

There will be times when a PCS agency is unable to fulfill the requirement of the completion of a service
plan within the provider interface. When the service plan hours do not match the total hours awarded in
the assessment, a service plan will need to be completed outside of the system. The following scenarios
would warrant the PCS Provider to complete a manual service plan outside of QiRePort:

= EPSDT temporary summer hours are awarded;

= Mediation or court settlements (if different hours are awarded);

=  Expedited assessments;

» Maintenance of Service (MOS) hours are not reflected in the previous year’s assessment;
= A Change of Provider request when the beneficiary has an active appeal; and

= A Change of Provider request and the beneficiary is currently approved for more hours than
what is reflected in the provided assessment.

When creating a manual service plan, the PCS Provider shall:

= Complete their own assessment to determine task and frequency need and reflect those needs
in their manual service plan;

= The service plan must reflect service for the total hours approved;

= Use a template of their choice to create a manual service plan; and

= The manual service plan must be uploaded to ‘Supporting Docs’ within 7 business days of
acceptance.
NOTE: Anytime a service plan must be completed outside of the system, a call is warranted to
Liberty to process the assessment so PAs can be generated.
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In addition to the exception of creating a manual service plan outside of the system, there are a few
instances when the ability to create a service plan will be removed if not drafted within the 7 days
allotted. Scenarios of when a service plan will be removed if not completed in a timely manner include:

= The beneficiary requested a Change of Provider, but the old provider never completed the
service plan; and

= The beneficiary is on MOS, went to mediation, reached a settlement, but the PCS Provider never
completed the MOS Service Plan.

NOTE: For the two scenarios above, Liberty will call the PCS Provider and give them 1 day to
complete the service plan before removal. Removal of the service plan will result in non-
compliance to the service plan requirement and subject the PCS Provider to a Program Integrity
audit.

1.12 Referral Screening Verification Process (RSVP)

The Referral Screening Verification Process (RSVP) is a review of any individual who is being
considered for admission into a Medicaid Certified Adult Care Home. As required by the US Department
of Justice Settlement Agreement effective November 1, 2018, individuals requesting admission to Adult
Care Homes (ACH) must be pre-screened for serious mental illness (SMI).

Clinical Coverage Palicy 3L, Subsection 3.2.3 (b) requires that any Medicaid beneficiary who is referred
to or seeking admission to Adult Care Homes licensed under NC General Statute (G.S.) 131D-2.4 and
requesting Personal Care Services (PCS) be screened for serious mental iliness through referral to an
LME-MCO for the Referral Screening Verification Process (RSVP). Adult Care Home providers licensed
under G.S. 131D-2.4 will not receive a PCS assessment or prior approval without verification of a
Referral Screening ID.

Referral Screening ID Verification Process

Liberty Healthcare will verify a Referral Screening has been submitted on every new ACH PCS request.
Verification is confirmed through the Social Serve system. If unable to verify a Referral Screening ID
(RS ID) through the Social Serve system, Liberty will call the facility in an attempt to obtain a RS ID. If a
RS ID is not required, Liberty Healthcare will request the admission date (if prior to 1/1/13) through a
copy of an FL2 or any other documentation that reflects the admission date or have the facility confirm
they are a 5600a or 5600c.

If unable to obtain a RS ID within 3 business days of the PCS request, Liberty will send a letter of denial

for PCS to the beneficiary. If the beneficiary still wishes to be considered for PCS, they may submit a
new request after they have obtained a RS ID.
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Referral Submitted
Option #1: URL

Option #2: Paper version can
be mailed or faxed to the
following locations:

Mailing Address:

Attention Mental Health Section -
RSVP Mail Service Center 3001
Raleigh, NC 27699-3001

FAX#: 919-508-0953

Liberty will
review new
request and if
valid, will
verify if a
Referral
Screening ID
(RS ID) exists
for the

beneficiary.

If RS ID is
present, the
valid new
request will
be processed.
If noRS ID is
present, a
technical
denial will be
issued.

NOTE: Beneficiaries who reside in a 5600a or 5600c facility do no not require an RS ID. Beneficiaries
who have a previous ACH PASRR prior to 11/1/18 for an ACH and enter a medical or psychiatric
hospital, an acute or sub-acute rehabilitation facility, or a long-term acute care hospital for medical or
psychiatric treatment, and return to the ACH after treatment, do not need an additional screen through
the RSVP unless there has been a significant change in psychiatric or medical status (for those with
SMI/SPMI). Beneficiaries who requested to transfer from one ACH to another AND already have an
ACH PASRR prior to 11/1/18 can transfer if they are medically and psychiatrically stable without a RS

ID.

To learn more about RSVP requirements, visit https://www.ncdhhs.gov/about/department-

initiatives/transitions-community-living-initiative.

Prior Approval (PA) Effective Dates and RSVP

If a RS ID is effective on the date the PCS request is received or prior, PAs will be effective the date the
request is received. If the RS ID is received within 3 days from the request received date, then the PAs
will become effective the date the RS ID became effective; please see the following table for further

detail:
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Date of Completed? Date RS ID PA Effective Date
Request Liberty Date
Receives on/before

Request Received

Date
12/1/18 Yes 12/2/18 Yes Date Liberty RECEIVES the Request
Example Senton RSID Date 12/2/18

12/2/18 11/25/18
12/1/18 Yes 12/2/18 No Date RS ID became effective

Example Senton RSID Date 12/5/18
12/2/18 12/5/18

NOTE: RS ID must be received within 3 days of Request Received or Request will not be processed.

1.13 Change of Ownership

When an agency takes over the ownership of an existing agency, there is usually a delay between the
date of receipt of an NPI and the date when the provider becomes an enrolled provider in NC Tracks,
which may prevent the processing of any new or existing PCS requests. The following steps will need to
be followed each time there is a change in ownership to ensure proper processing and billing of PCS
beneficiaries when their agency comes under new ownership.

New PCS Beneficiaries

Liberty Healthcare of North Carolina will not issue prior approvals for new PCS beneficiaries who have
selected a provider that is not enrolled in NC Tracks. Although NC Medicaid Provider Enroliment will
consider specific requests for retroactive effective dates of enroliment, providers are not guaranteed a
retroactive effective date and are strongly encouraged to provide services only after they are enrolled as
an NC Medicaid and/or NC Health Choice (NCHC) provider.

The provider should seek to enroll their NPl in NC Tracks as soon as possible. NC Medicaid will not
retroactively authorize PCS for new beneficiaries. PCS authorization may begin when the provider is
active in NC Tracks and a completed NC Medicaid-3051 Request for Independent Assessment Form
has been received by Liberty Healthcare Corporation.

Providers should check their status of enroliment daily through NC Tracks. As soon as the provider is
active, they should contact Liberty Healthcare Corporation of NC.

Current PCS Beneficiaries

In the cases where an agency takes over ownership and there are beneficiaries who are currently
receiving PCS under a previous provider, a Change of Provider Request (see Chapter 2 of this Manual)
will need to be submitted by the new provider within 30 days of the effective date of ownership change.
Once a Change of Provider Request is received, Liberty will process the request and retro the PAs to
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reflect the effective date of changed ownership. If a Change of Provider Request is sent in after 30 days
of the new ownership, then Liberty will process the request and the PAs will be effective the date the
request is received.

Submission of the NC Medicaid-3051 Request for Independent Assessment Form does not guarantee a
commitment to award or authorize PCS. Each issue will be reviewed case by case.

For questions regarding your application to become enrolled in NC Tracks or manage change requests
submitted, you may contact NC Tracks at 800-688-6694 or by email at
NCTracksprovider@nctracks.com. If you are then directed to contact NC Medicaid, you should contact
NC Medicaid Provider Enroliment at 919-855-4050.

1.14 Internal Quality Improvement Program

It is required that all PCS providers have an established Internal Quality Improvement Program. The
Quiality Improvement Program should measure quality of care, service problems, and beneficiary
satisfaction. The PCS provider is required to attest to an established Internal Quality Improvement
Program annually (Section 7.7 of Clinical Coverage Policy 3L). A NC Medicaid-3136 Internal Quality
Improvement Program Attestation Form must be completed by December 31 of each year and sent to
NC Medicaid. When completing the 3136 form, the provider must attest that they have implemented and
are in compliance with the following:

a. Develop, and update at least quarterly, an organizational Quality Improvement Plan
or set of quality improvement policies and procedures that describe the PCS CQI
program and activities;

b. Implement an organizational CQI Program designed to identify and correct quality of
care and quality of service problems;

c. Conduct at least annually a written beneficiary PCS satisfaction survey for
beneficiaries and their legally responsible person; and

d. Maintain complete records of all CQI activities and results.

This form may be emailed to Medicaid.PCSQualityImprovement@dhhs.nc.gov or uploaded into the
Provider Portal. See Appendix F for a copy of this form or visit https://nc-pcs.com/Medicaid-PCS-
forms/Internal%20Q1P%20Attestation%20Form%20(NC%20Medicaid-3136)%201.2019.pdf.

1.15 QiRePort - Provider Interface Overview

The Provider Interface is a secure, web-based information system called QiRePort that is managed by
VieBridge, Inc. The Independent Assessment Entity uses this system to support the PCS Independent
Assessment process. QiRePort was developed and is hosted by VieBridge, Inc. All PCS Providers are
required to enroll in the Provider Interface.

The provider portal can be accessed at: www.gireport.net and allows registered agencies to:
= Access electronic copies of independent assessment documents, referrals, and notification
letters;
= Receive service referrals and accept/reject them electronically;
= Create required PCS beneficiary service plans;
= Manage servicing beneficiaries' accounts, including access to historical assessments and PAs;

22| Page


mailto:NCTracksprovider@nctracks.com
mailto:Medicaid.PCSQualityImprovement@dhhs.nc.gov
https://nc-pcs.com/Medicaid-PCS-forms/Internal%20QIP%20Attestation%20Form%20(NC%20Medicaid-3136)%201.2019.pdf
https://nc-pcs.com/Medicaid-PCS-forms/Internal%20QIP%20Attestation%20Form%20(NC%20Medicaid-3136)%201.2019.pdf
http://www.qireport.net/

= Submit discharges;

= Submit Non-Medical Change of Status Requests;

= Manage servicing territories;

= Change provider billing numbers for clients who need to have their service transferred from
one provider office to another within the same agency;

= Update/Correct Modifiers;

= Receive electronic naotification once a current client has entered an appeal, as well as the
status of the appeal once it is resolved; and

= Receive electronic notification of upcoming annual assessments for beneficiaries.

Portal Registration

PCS providers are required to be registered with QiRePort in an effort to keep all personal health
information secured through electronic exchange. In order to get registered and gain access to the
provider portal through QiRePort, a PCS provider would need to follow these three steps:

1. Have a registered NCID; for more information on NCID, visit https://www.ncid.its.state.nc.us/
2. Complete a Provider Registration Form (see Appendix C for a copy of this form or visit
https://www.gireport.net ) and submit to VieBridge, Inc. via the following:
Fax: 919-301-0765
Email: support@qireport.net
Mail To: 8130 Boone BLVD, STE 350, Vienna, VA 22182
3. Login!

Usage Requirements

Internet access is required in order to use the Provider Interface of QiRePort. Users should access the
site using an Internet Explorer or Firefox web browser. Adobe Acrobat reader is also required in order to
read documents that are transmitted in PDF format. A free version of this software can be downloaded
from the Adobe website. Finally, it is important that you set your browser to allow “pop-ups” to appear
when you are accessing QiRePort. Pop-ups are boxes that appear to display information or allow entry
of data.

A complete user guide to the Provider Interface is available on the Home Page of QiRePort. Click the
“Getting Started” link to access the guide.

Privacy Requirements

Provider usage of QiRePort is governed by the Health Information Portability and Accountability Act
(HIPAA). Users are responsible for ensuring that this information remains secure, since the system
transmits Protected Health Information (PHI) electronically. Violations of HIPAA are punishable under
federal law.

In order to protect beneficiary information, you should:

e Have your own user name and password and keep your password secure.
Lock your workstation every time you leave your desk.

e Use timeouts for screen displays and change your computer’s system settings to require a password
to return to work once the screensaver appears.

e Log out of QiRePort as soon as you finish your session.
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e Lock and limit access to any devices (USB drives, CDs, etc.) used to save records from QiRePort.

Portal Navigation and Usage

For all training materials regarding navigation through the portal and execution of tasks in the provider
portal, please reference the training materials listed under the ‘Training Resources’ link in the left-hand
tool bar of the provider portal.
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Chapter 2: Request for Independent Assessment for
Personal Care Services

Beneficiaries requesting Personal Care Services must submit a Request for Independent Assessment for
PCS 3051 form to Liberty Healthcare. The 3051 form allows a beneficiary to be considered for:

v" Approval for PCS

v Change of Status Medical/Non-Medical (increase or decrease of services or new primary private
residence)

v' Additional Safeguards

v" Change of Service Provider

v Expedited Requests for PCS

A copy of the 3051 form can be found in Appendix A of this manual or by visiting http://www.nc-
pcs.com/Medicaid-PCS-forms/. Once completed, the 3051 form can be submitted to LHC-NC via fax at
919-307-8307 or 855-740-1600 (toll free). Forms may also be sent via mail to 5540 Centerview DR, Suite
114, Raleigh, NC 27606.

Once received, all requests are reviewed and processed within 2 business days. If a beneficiary,
physician, or PCS provider wishes to inquire about the receipt and status of a PCS request, LHC-NC
asks they call AFTER the 2 business day processing period.

2.1 New Request for Independent Assessment for PCS

In accordance with Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Subsection 5.4.2, the beneficiary shall be referred to
PCS by his or her primary care or attending physician; the signing physician must be a Medical Doctor
(MD), Nurse Practitioner (NP), or a Physician’s Assistant (PA).

The beneficiary’s Primary Care Physician (PCP) should complete the request in most cases. If the
beneficiary is in a rehab facility or the hospital, the facility's attending physician may submit the
request form. If the beneficiary does not have a PCP, the physician who is treating the beneficiary’s
health problem that is related to the need for PCS should submit the referral. If the beneficiary has not
been seen by their physician during the past 90 calendar days, he or she must schedule an office visit to
request a referral for a PCS eligibility assessment. The beneficiary, the beneficiary’s family or legally
responsible person is responsible for contacting the PCP or attending physician to request a referral for
PCS.

NOTE: If a beneficiary is already enrolled in the PCS Program, a new referral should not be
requested. A Change of Status Medical/Non-Medical request form should be submitted if a
beneficiary requires another independent assessment due to a change in medical condition, functional
status, or change in primary private residence. The provider, physician or the beneficiary may submit a
Change of Status request form (see Section 2.2, “Change of Status Requests” of this Manual for more
details).

2.1.1 Completing a New Request
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In order for the NC Medicaid-3051 Request for Independent Assessment Form to be approved for
eligibility and processed timely, all required sections of the form must be completed and legible.
Incomplete request forms may result in a delay of processing or denial of the request. To ensure
the 3051 request form is processed timely, the following sections of the referral form must be
completed by a practitioner only:

v' Section A, Beneficiary Demographics — Required fields are as follows:

Date of Request;

Medicaid ID — Only those with active, full Medicaid are eligible for PCS; eligibility
status is verified prior to the processing of any request for an independent
assessment;

Demographic Information - Beneficiary name, date of birth, contact information;
RS ID number (beneficiaries who reside in an Adult Care Home setting only);
Indication if the beneficiary has an active Adult Protective Services Case.

v' Section B, Beneficiary’s Conditions that Result in Need for Assistance with ADLs —
Required fields are as follows:

Medical diagnosis with corresponding complete current ICD-10 diagnosis code for
each diagnosis;

Indication if the diagnosis listed impacts the beneficiary’s ability to perform their
ADLs - Diagnoses must impact ADLs or the request for an independent
assessment will not be processed (Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Subsection 5.4.2);
Date of Onset;

Indication of expected duration of ADL limitation;

Check if the beneficiary is medically stable;

Check if 24-hour caregiver availability is required.

Optional Attestation — If the criteria listed in this section is applicable to the beneficiary, the
practitioner should hand initial each line item that applies for consideration in the assessment for
PCS; typed initials are not accepted.

NOTE: Diagnosis Header Codes will not be accepted. The complete and accurate current
diagnosis code, ex. XXX.X or XXX.XX, associated with the identified medical diagnosis must be

present.

v' Section C, Practitioner Information — Required fields are as follows:

Date of Last Visit to Referring Practitioner — The beneficiary must have seen their
PCP within the last 90 days from the date Liberty receives the completed form to be
eligible for PCS.

Attesting Practitioner Name and NPI#

Practice Information — Practice Name, NPI#, and contact phone number
Practitioner Attestation for Medical Need — Signature, Credentials and Date — Must
be signed by a MD, NP, or PA. If credentials are not included or cannot be verified,
the request will not be processed.

NOTE: A PCS provider may assist a beneficiary in the completion of the 3051 form, but
responsibility of submission of the form to LHC-NC rests with the beneficiary and the referring
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practitioner.

2.1.2 Expedited Request for Personal Care Services

Effective January 2014, NC Medicaid approved an expedited assessment process to provisionally
approve beneficiaries for Medicaid PCS. The PCS expedited process determines beneficiary
provisional eligibility and the authorized service level pending the completion of the full
independent assessment conducted by Independent Assessment Entity (IAE) Assessors.

In order to be considered for an expedited assessment, a beneficiary must meet the following
criteria:

Be medically stable
Be eligible for full Medicaid or pending full Medicaid eligibility
Have a Referral Screening ID number on file*
In the process of either:
= Being discharged from hospitalization following a qualifying stay;
= Being under the supervision of Adult Protective Services (APS);
= Seeking placement after discharge from a skilled nursing facility; or
= Be an individual served through the Transition to Community Living Initiative.

ANANENEN

NOTE: *RS ID is required for beneficiaries seeking admission to an Adult Care Home licensed
under G.S. 131 D-2.4.

In addition, an expedited PCS request may only be submitted by one of the following:
= A Hospital Discharge Planner;
= An Adult Protective Services (APS) Worker;
= A Nursing Home Discharge Planner; or
= An approved LME-MCO Transition Coordinator.

The Expedited Assessment Completion Process

If eligibility requirements are met, a hospital discharge planner, skilled nursing facility discharge
planner, Adult Protective Services (APS) worker, or LME-MCO Transition Coordinator may
request an Expedited Assessment by faxing a completed Request for Independent Assessment
for PCS 3051 form (see Subsection 2.1.1 of this Manual for complete criteria) to Liberty
Healthcare at 919-322-5942 or 855-740-0200 (toll free) followed by a call to LHC-NC at 855-740-
1400.

NOTE: Expedited assessments for beneficiaries seeking placement in an ACH (not 5600s) will
require an RS ID number for the processing of an expedited request.

Once the fax is submitted, the requestor will contact LHC-NC Customer Services Center to
follow up on the expedited request that was faxed. The Customer Service Team Member will
review and immediately approve or deny the expedited assessment based on eligibility
requirements only. If approved to move forward:

1. The caller will be transferred to a Request Processor who will process the request;

2. Once processed, the Request Processor will transfer the call to a Liberty Healthcare
nurse who will conduct a brief telephone assessment comprised of fifteen questions
directly related to the 5 ADLs;

3. If eligible for PCS based off the telephone assessment, the beneficiary will be
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immediately awarded temporary hours for PCS services and a letter will be sent to the
selected PCS Provider;

4. If a PCS Provider is not identified, Liberty will provide a randomized list of providers for
selection by the beneficiary and then send a request for service to the selected provider;

5. Following the expedited process, LHC-NC will contact the beneficiary within 14 business
days to schedule and complete a face-to-face independent assessment in the
beneficiary’s place of residence.

Personal Care Services Provisional Approval

A beneficiary approved through the expedited assessment process may receive up to 60 hours
of services during the provisional period, not to exceed a 60 calendar day period. Beneficiaries
will not receive PCS authorization without active Medicaid eligibility. If a beneficiary is
provisionally approved for PCS through the expedited assessment process, but is determined
not to be Medicaid eligible, Liberty Healthcare will hold the authorization for up to 60 calendar
days. If after 60 days Medicaid eligibility is not approved, the beneficiary will receive a technical
denial for PCS.

2.1.3 Incomplete New Requests and Denials

If the request form is missing any of the required information listed in Subsection 2.1.1 of this
Manual, Liberty Healthcare will fax an “Unable to Process” notice to the referring entity to alert
them that the request form is incomplete and missing required information. If a response is not
received from the referring entity within two business days, Liberty will file the form as incomplete.
A denial notification will be sent to the beneficiary and a copy is faxed to the practitioner.

In addition, if all information is provided, but the beneficiary does not meet the eligibility criteria in
accordance with Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, then the beneficiary and physician will also receive a
notice of denial; non-qualifying factors would include:

e The date of the last Physician visit is e The referring entity has indicated that
greater than 90 days the beneficiary is not medically stable
e Diagnosis does not impact the ADLs

NOTE: The beneficiary has the right to appeal a denial decision based on the incomplete request.
The beneficiary’s copy of the denial notice contains instructions and the necessary form for
submitting an appeal. In addition, communication regarding an incomplete request is limited to the
referring entity and the beneficiary only; communication does not occur with any PCS provider
agencies.

2.2 Change of Status (COS) Requests

A Change of Status request may be submitted to LHC-NC for an existing beneficiary who is currently
authorized for PCS when there has been a change in medical condition, environmental condition or
location, or caregiver status that causes the need for assistance to increase or decrease. For any
change of status that is due to a change in medical condition, a Change of Status Medical request may
be submitted by a practitioner only. For any change in status that is due to a change in the beneficiary’s
environmental condition, location, or caregiver status, the beneficiary, beneficiary’s family, or legally
responsible person, residential provider, home care provider, or beneficiary’s physician may submit a
Change of Status Non-Medical request. A Medical and Non-Medical Change of Status request may be
submitted anytime by the approved referring entity when appropriate.
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NOTE: Beneficiary consent is required for the submission of a COS request. PCS Providers and
Physicians must obtain permission from the beneficiary to submit on their behalf.

2.2.1 Completing a Change of Status Medical Request

A Change of Status Medical Request may only be submitted by a practitioner any time a
beneficiary has a change in medical condition and their treating practitioner feels an increase or
decrease in PCS should be evaluated. In order to submit a Change of Status Medical request, the
practitioner must complete the Request for Independent Assessment for PCS form (3051) and fax
or mail a copy to Liberty Healthcare.

The following sections are required fields that should be completed when submitting a COS
Medical Request:

v' Section A, Beneficiary Demographics — Required fields are as follows:

Date of Request

Medicaid ID — Only those with active and full Medicaid are eligible for PCS;
eligibility status is verified prior to the processing of any request for an independent
assessment

Demographic Information - Beneficiary name, date of birth, contact information
Indication if the beneficiary has an active Adult Protective Services Case

v' Section B, Beneficiary’s Conditions that Result in Need for Assistance with ADLs —
Required fields are as follows:

Medical diagnosis with corresponding complete current ICD-10 diagnosis code
Indication if the diagnosis listed impacts the beneficiary’s ability to perform their
ADLs. Diagnoses must impact ADLs or the request for an independent assessment
will not be processed (Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Subsection 5.4.2).

Date of Onset

Indicate expected duration of ADL limitation

Check if the beneficiary is medically stable

Check if 24-hour caregiver availability is required

Optional Attestation — If the criteria listed in this section is applicable to the beneficiary, the
Practitioner should hand initial each line item that applies for consideration in the assessment for
PCS; typed initials are not accepted.

NOTE: Diagnosis Header Codes will not be accepted. The complete and accurate current
diagnosis code, ex. XXX.X or XXX.XX, associated with the identified medical diagnosis must be

present.

v' Section C, Practitioner Information — Required fields are as follows:

Date of Last Visit to Referring Practitioner— The beneficiary must have seen their
PCP within the last 90 days from the date Liberty receives the completed form, in
order to process a COS Medical Request

Attesting Practitioner Name and NPI#
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e Practice Information — Practice Name, NPI#, and contact phone number

¢ Practitioner Attestation for Medical Need — Signature, Credentials, and Date — Must
be signed by a MD, NP, or PA. If credentials are not included or cannot be verified,
the request will not be processed.

Section D, Change of Status: Medical - The requesting practitioner must complete this section
providing a detailed description of the specific change in medical condition and the impact the
change has on the beneficiary’s ability to perform their ADLSs.

2.2.2 Completing a Change of Status Non-Medical Request

PCS Providers who are registered to use the Provider Interface of QiRePort may complete a
Change of Status Non-Medical request and submit the form online through the portal. All other
requestors may complete the Request for Independent Assessment for Personal Care Services
(3051) form and fax or mail a copy to Liberty Healthcare.

When submitting the 3051 form, the requestor must complete page 3 only, filling out the top
demographic section and Section E with the required fields as follows:

v' Beneficiary Demographics — Required fields are as follows:
o Date of Request
¢ Medicaid ID — Only those with active and full Medicaid are eligible for PCS;
eligibility status is verified prior to the processing of any PCS request form.
e Demographic Information — Beneficiary name, date of birth, contact information

v' Section E, Change of Status: Non-Medical — Required fields are as follows:
‘Requested By’ along with ‘Requestor Name’

PCS Provider NPI#, Name, and Phone

Reason for Change in Condition Requiring Reassessment checked
Non-medical change described in detail and how the change impacts the
beneficiary’s ability to perform ADLs

NOTE: NC Medicaid or designated contractor retains sole discretion in approving or denying
requests to conduct a change of status reassessment. It is important that the description section
include documentation of the change in the beneficiary’s medical condition, informal caregiver
availability, environmental condition that affects the individual’s ability to self-perform, the time
required to provide the qualifying ADL assistance and the need for reassessment. Change of
status assessments are face-to-face assessments that are conducted by the designated IAE.

2.2.3 Incomplete Change of Status Requests and Denials

Change of Status Request forms that are missing information or are completed on the wrong form
will not be processed; this will result in a delay of the independent assessment scheduling.

If the beneficiary’s physician or the provider agency has submitted a Change of Status request
form that is missing information required for processing, Liberty Healthcare will fax an “Unable to
Process” notice to the individual who submitted the request. If requested information is not
provided in two business days, LHC-NC will file the request as incomplete.
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If the Change of Status request form is missing a description of the change in the client’s condition
and/or proper documentation of the need for a reassessment, Liberty Healthcare will issue a notice
of denial that is sent to the beneficiary. If the provider submitted the request using the Provider
Interface of QiRePort, a “Rejected” status will appear on the “Requests Submitted” page. If the
Provider clicks the hyperlink, the PCS request rejection reason can be viewed.

NOTE: This is not a denial of currently authorized services; it is a denial of the Change of Status
request only. The PCS provider should continue services at the currently authorized, approved
level.

2.3 Requesting Additional Safeguards

A Medicaid beneficiary who meets the eligibility criteria in accordance with Clinical Coverage Policy
3L, Section 3.0 and Section 5.3 may be eligible for up to 50 additional safeguard hours of Medicaid
Personal Care Services per month if the beneficiary:

¢ Requires an increased level of supervision (observation resulting in an intervention) as assessed
during an independent assessment conducted by State Medicaid Agency or entity designated by
State Medicaid Agency;

e Requires caregivers with training or experience in caring for individuals who have a degenerative
disease characterized by irreversible memory dysfunction, that attacks the brain and results in
impaired memory, thinking, and behavior, including gradual memory loss, impaired judgment,
disorientation, personality change, difficulty learning, and the loss of language skills;

o Regardless of setting, requires a physical environment that addresses safety and safeguards the
beneficiary because of the recipient’s gradual memory loss, impaired judgment, disorientation,
personality change, difficulty learning, and loss of language skill; and

e Medical documentation or verifiable information provided by a caregiver obtained during the
independent assessment reflects a history of escalating safety concerns related to inappropriate
wandering, ingestion, aggressive behavior, and an increased incidence of falls.

To initiate the process for consideration of additional safeguard hours in addition to the base
maximum allowance of PCS (80 hours), a beneficiary must have his/her Primary Care Physician or
Attending Physician complete the optional attestation portion in Section B (Step 4) of the 3051 form
in addition to the required sections depending on type of request. Additional Safeguards may be
requested with a New Request or a Change of Status Medical. It is important for the Primary Care
Physician or Attending Physician completing the request to note any pertinent medical diagnoses
that may have caused the need for additional safeguards.

NOTE: At the discretion of NC Medicaid or LHC-NC, additional medical documentation may be
requested in order to validate the physician attestation. A beneficiary does NOT have to be a current
PCS recipient in order to be considered for additional safeguards.

2.4 Change of Provider (COP) Requests

A PCS beneficiary has the right to change their PCS provider at any time. Only the beneficiary or a
caregiver who has Power of Attorney or Legal Guardianship for the beneficiary can submit a Change of
Provider request. A COP request may be submitted using the 3051 form or the beneficiary may call
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the Customer Support Center for Liberty Healthcare of NC at 855-740-1400.

NOTE: PCS providers, physicians and non-designated family members may NOT submit a Change of
Provider request. The only exception is a transfer or planned transfer of a beneficiary from one
licensed residential facility to another licensed residential facility.

2.4.1 Completing a Change of Provider Request via Phone

If the beneficiary wishes to change his/her provider, only approved persons may call the
Customer Support Center with Liberty Healthcare at 919-322-5944 or 855-740-1400 (toll free) to
make this request. The caller will be asked a series of questions before proceeding with
processing the COP request to determine if the COP should be expedited or processed following
the standard process. Once the purpose for change is understood, the Call Center Representative
(CCR) will inquire about the new provider of choice. If the beneficiary does not have a provider
selection, then the CCR will generate a randomized provider list and recite the provider options in
the order listed to assist with the selection process.

NOTE: All COP phone requests are recorded. If the CCR is unable to confirm beneficiary identity
or obtain the proper approval to process the COP request then the COP request may be delayed.

2.4.2 Completing a Change of Provider Request via the 3051 Form

Though strongly encouraged to call the Customer Support Center for all COP requests, a
beneficiary may also submit their Change of Provider request by using the 3051 form.

NOTE: Only in cases where a beneficiary is moving from one facility to another may the facility
submit a Change of Provider request on behalf of the beneficiary.

When submitting the 3051 form, the beneficiary must complete page 3 only, filling out the top
demographic section and Section F with the required fields being as follows:

v' Beneficiary Demographics — Required fields are as follows:
¢ Date of Request
¢ Medicaid ID — Only those with active Medicaid are eligible for PCS; eligibility status
is verified prior to the processing of any PCS request form.
¢ Demographic Information - Beneficiary name, date of birth, contact information

v' Section F, Change of Provider Request — Required fields are as follows:

¢ ‘Requested by’ indicated, along with name and contact information
e Reason for Provider Change checked
o Benéeficiary’s Preferred Provider Section, including:

= Setting Type

= Agency Name, Address, and Phone

= PCS Provider NPI#

= Facility License # and Date if applicable

Once completed, the beneficiary or facility may fax the completed form to 919-307-8307 or 855-
740-1600 (toll free) or mail it to 5540 Centerview DR, Suite 114, Raleigh, NC 27606.
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2.4.3 Processing the Completed Change of Provider and Provider
Acceptance

All COP requests are processed within 2 business days. If a beneficiary is submitting the COP
and it is not a facility change, they should expect a call from Liberty Healthcare within 2 business
days to confirm the request and process the COP. Once Liberty Healthcare has processed the
request, the newly requested provider will receive a Change of Provider referral that includes a
copy of the most recent independent assessment. After the new provider accepts the referral, the
“old provider” will receive a letter by fax notifying them that the beneficiary has submitted a change
in agencies. The new provider may not begin services for the beneficiary or bill for services,
before the date listed on the notification letter.

A new assessment shall not be required unless a change of status review is required. The IAE
shall furnish the new provider with a copy of the assessment and the new service authorization.
The new PCS Provider shall develop and implement a service plan within 7 business days of
accepting the referral (Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Subsection 5.4.11).

Expedited Processing vs. Standard Processing

The standard processing timeframe on a Change of Provider request is 10 business days from the
date of provider acceptance. LHC-NC will send a notification letter to the ‘new’ PCS provider to
inform them of the date they may begin services. In exception to this rule, there are a few
scenarios that require a COP to be processed in an expedited manner so the PCS beneficiary
does not have their services interrupted; those scenarios are as follows:

e The PCS agency is closing

e The beneficiary has relocated to a new facility

e There is Adult Protective Services involvement.

Expedited Change of Provider referrals have a one-day authorization effective date. This means
that the referral letter will state, “The effective date of this beneficiary’s authorization will be the first
business day following Liberty Healthcare’s receipt of your acceptance to provide services.”
Please make every effort to accept or decline the referral within 1-2 business days to prevent a
lapse in service for the beneficiary. The authorization date will be specified in the notification letter.
Providers will not be compensated for services provided before the authorization date indicated in
the notification letter.

NOTE: PCS agencies that are closing should notify DHHS, Provider Enrollment and Liberty
Healthcare as far in advance of the closing date as possible. The agency should fax a list of all
current beneficiaries, along with contact information for each beneficiary to Liberty Healthcare.
Liberty Healthcare will then contact each beneficiary to complete a Change of Provider request.
The beneficiary may also call Liberty Healthcare to submit the request. It is important that the
beneficiary states the reason for the request is that the current agency is closing.
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Change of Provider vs. New Requests

It is often confused as to when a provider agency should submit a new request versus a change of
provider for a beneficiary who has come under their care; please see the following table that
outlines the appropriate request that is required based off the particular scenario and the
processing time for each:

ACH to ACH COP request — Effective in 1 day
IHC to IHC COP request — Effective in 10 days
IHC to ACH New Request — Effective date is the date of

the new request if within 10 calendar days
from the date the IAE received the request
form.

ACH to IHC New Request — Effective date is the date of
the new request if within 10 calendar days
from the date the IAE received the request
form.

2.5 Reconsideration Request for Initial Authorization for PCS

A beneficiary, 21 years of age or older, who receives an initial approval for more than 0, but less than 80
hours per month may submit a Reconsideration Request Form to the IAE if they do not agree with the
initial level of service determined (Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Section 5.6).

In order to be considered for a reconsideration assessment, a beneficiary must meet the following
criteria:

v The beneficiary received an initial approval for PCS within the last 60 days (see date on mailed
notification);

The hour award was more than 0 but less than 80 hours;

The request for more hours is not based on a Change of Status (see Section 2.2 of this manual);
The request was submitted to Liberty within 31 to 60 days from the initial approval date; and

The beneficiary is able to provide supporting documentation that explains and supports the need
for additional hours.

D NANININ

2.5.1 Completing the NC Medicaid-3114 Request for Reconsideration of PCS
Authorization Form

In the case where a beneficiary wishes to have their initial approval of hours
reconsidered, they will need to complete the NC Medicaid-3114 Request for
Reconsideration of PCS Authorization Form (see Appendix G for a copy of the form and
instructions). The IAE will only accept/process forms that have been completed with the
following required information:

v' Section A: Beneficiary Demographics — Required fields are as follows:
e Beneficiary Name (first and last)
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e Date of Birth
e Medicaid ID
e Contact Information

v' Section B: Reconsideration — Required fields are as follows:
e The ADL(s) indicated that are not being supported by the current authorized hours;
or
e A brief description of why the beneficiary is requesting reconsideration.

v' Section C: Supporting Documentation — Supporting documentation is required for
processing of a reconsideration request.

v" Medicaid Beneficiary or Legal Guardian/POA signature

Once completed, the beneficiary may fax the completed form to 919-322-5942 or 855-
740-0200 (toll free) or mail it to 5540 Centerview DR, Suite 114, Raleigh, NC 27606.

NOTE: Incomplete, illegible, or requests submitted without supporting documentation as
indicated above, will not be processed. A reconsideration request is not considered complete
without supporting documentation as indicated in PCS Clinical Coverage Policy 3L Section
5.6 (c and d).

2.5.2 The Reconsideration Process

a. After receiving an initial approval for an amount of hours more than 0, but less than 80 hours
per month, a beneficiary must wait 30 calendar days from the date of notification to submit a
Request for Reconsideration of PCS Authorization (NC Medicaid-3114).

b. The beneficiary must submit a Request for Reconsideration form, along with supporting
documentation, to increase hours above the initial approval no earlier than 31 calendar days
and no later than 60 calendar days from the date of the initial approval notification.

c. Upon receipt of a completed 3114 Form for additional hours, a nurse will review the request
and determine if a reassessment is required or if the previous assessment should be
modified.

d. If areassessment is required, the beneficiary will receive a call from the IAE within 7
business days to schedule. If the nurse determines the previous assessment needs to be
modified, modification will be executed within 3 business days.

e. If the reconsideration determines a need for additional PCS hours, additional hours are
authorized under Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, State Plan Personal Care Services (PCS).
This constitutes an approval and the beneficiary will receive this approval letter with no
adverse notice or appeal rights provided.

f. If the reconsideration determines that the PCS hours authorized during the initial assessment
are sufficient to meet the beneficiary’s needs, an adverse decision will be sent to the
beneficiary with appeal rights.

Note: The above process does not apply to beneficiaries seeking the additional safeguard hours

as documented in Subsection 5.3.1.b of Clinical Coverage Policy, 3L (see Appendix D for a copy
of the full policy).

2.6 Short-Term Increase Request for PCS (EPSDT)
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When Medicaid beneficiaries under 21 years of age require a short-term increase in their currently
authorized hours for PCS, a request may be submitted by completing the Early and Periodic Screening,
Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) Short-Term Increase Request Form (NC Medicaid-3116).
Medicaid’s EPSDT benefit may cover these short-term increases when they are determined to be
medically necessary.

A short-term increase in hours may be requested for the following reasons:
¢ Extended school holidays (may include teacher work days or early release)
e Summer and track-out sessions
e Primary caregiver temporarily unable to provide care due to extenuating circumstances
(hospitalization, surgery, etc.) — Medical documentation must accompany request.

Requests must be submitted 14 business days prior to the start date of the requested increase.

A work schedule and disability verification is required for any and all legally responsible individuals (e.g.
mother, father, legal guardian, etc.). Work verification must be on company letterhead and include the
specific work days and hours for the parent, legal guardian, or other responsible individual. The work
verification must include the supervisor’'s contact information and signature. The employer will be
contacted and employment verified. Disability verification must be completed and signed by a physician
with an explanation of the parent, legal guardian or other responsible individual’'s inability to perform the
hands-on-care needs of the child.

NOTE: Medicaid does not cover PCS when other family members or other informal caregivers are
willing, able, and available on a regular basis to meet the need for PCS. Requests submitted without
work schedule or disability verification will be denied.

All requests are to be submitted to NC Medicaid via fax at 919-715-0102. Requestors may contact NC
Medicaid EPSDT nurse consultants with questions at 919-855-4360.
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Chapter 3: The Independent Assessment

In accordance with Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Subsection 5.4.2, once ordered by the beneficiary’s
physician, the PCS assessment shall be performed by an IAE Assessor at the beneficiary’s primary
private residence or residential facility. The requirements for the PCS Eligibility Assessment are as
follows (Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Subsection 5.4.3):

v' All PCS assessments to determine beneficiary eligibility and authorized service level shall be
conducted by IAE Assessors using a standardized process and assessment tool provided or
approved by NC Medicaid.

v' All PCS assessments shall be performed by Independent Assessors.

v All assessments shall be face to face and conducted in the beneficiary’s home or residential
facility.

v"In-home assessments shall include an assessment of the beneficiary’s home environment to
identify any health or safety risks to the beneficiary or to the PCS aides who will provide the
services. Assessments in residential facilities shall include verification of a valid facility license.

Though an independent assessment may be conducted for various reasons, the process and
assessment of the beneficiary remains the same. An assessment may be conducted at any time at the
discretion of the current IAE or NC Medicaid for, but not limited to, the following reasons:

Admission Assessment

Annual Assessment

Expedited Assessment

Change of Status Medical/Non-Medical Assessment
ROM (assessment as a result of a mediation or appeal)
Turning 21 Assessment

Reconsideration Reassessment

Admission Assessment

New requests are to be submitted for beneficiaries who are currently not receiving PCS or beneficiaries
who have switched their residency type (IHC to ACH or ACH to IHC). A new assessment is scheduled
within 14 business days from the date the request is reviewed and approved for PCS eligibility by a
Request Processor.

Annual Assessment

Annual assessments will be conducted for beneficiaries who are currently receiving PCS; these
assessments must be scheduled and conducted within 365 days of their last assessment. Liberty begins
outreach as early as two months prior to the beneficiary’s annual due date to ensure timely scheduling
and to ensure there is no lapse in service. NOTE: PCS Providers will receive an electronic notification
posted on their portal which informs them of the beneficiary’s need for a reassessment and the annual
due date.
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Expedited Assessment

Expedited assessments may be conducted for beneficiaries who are medically stable and being
discharged from a hospital, Skilled Nursing Facility, or Adult Protective Services. These assessments
are conducted by a Liberty Healthcare Assessor over the telephone. The mini expedited assessment is
followed by a full assessment in the beneficiary’s home or residential facility within 14 business days.

Change of Status Medical/Non-Medical Assessment

A Change of Status (COS) Assessment can be requested by the beneficiary, their physician, or PCS
provider. A COS is submitted if the beneficiary would like to request additional PCS hours or a decrease
in PCS hours as a result of a change in their medical condition, residency, or informal caregiver status.
If the request is approved, the Scheduling Coordinator will schedule this assessment within 12 business
days from the date the request was approved by a Request Processor.

ROM - Assessment as a Result of a Mediation or Appeal

As a result of receiving a denial or reduction in services, also known as an adverse decision, the
beneficiary has the right to appeal. In certain cases, another assessment will be scheduled and
conducted in order to have an up to date assessment available during the mediation process; these
assessments will be scheduled within 7 business days from the date of the assessment request or prior
to mediation, whichever occurs first.

Turning 21 Assessment

When a PCS beneficiary is turning 21, and therefore no longer eligible for EPSDT, they must be
reassessed under the provisions for an adult recipient in the PCS program. An assessment is required
within 30 days of their 21 birthday. NOTE: PAs approved under EPSDT will end on the 215 birthday. A
lapse in service will occur if a new 3051 is received AFTER the 215 birthday and PAs will not be made
retroactive to cover the lapsed period. In order to prevent a lapse in service, the beneficiary should
submit a new NC Medicaid-3051 Form to the IAE 30 days PRIOR to their 21% birthday.

Reconsideration Reassessment

A beneficiary, 21 years of age or older, who receives an initial approval for more than 0, but less than 80
hours per month may submit a Request for Reconsideration of PCS Authorization (NC Medicaid-3114)
form to the IAE if they do not agree with the initial level of service determined. If the ‘Reconsideration
Request Review Nurse’ determines a reassessment is required to determine level of need, then a
reconsideration reassessment will be scheduled.
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3.1 The Assessment Scheduling Process

The Request Processors review and approve new or Change of Status requests for PCS before the
request is sent to the scheduling department so that an assessment may be scheduled.
NOTE: Eligibility is verified for each beneficiary prior to the scheduling of an assessment.

After receipt, the Scheduling Coordinator (SC) will attempt to reach the beneficiary or his or her
authorized representative to schedule the assessment. The SC will ask whether he or she wishes to
have a trusted person with knowledge of the beneficiary’s condition present during the assessment. If
the beneficiary or authorized representative elects to have a person there, the SC will make reasonable
efforts with the beneficiary/authorized representative to schedule the assessment for a date and time
when the selected person may attend the assessment and provide information to the assessor. The SC
will make three attempts to contact the third person that has been selected by the beneficiary/authorized
representative to schedule the assessment.

If the attempt to contact the beneficiary is unsuccessful on the first attempt, a total of three attempts will
be made within a 10 business day period. After three contact attempts, if contact is unsuccessful, a
technical denial will be issued and a denial of service letter will be sent to the beneficiary. If contact is
successful, then the SC will proceed with scheduling the assessment for a day that is most convenient
for the beneficiary and, if at all possible, prior to the indicated due date.

NOTE: If a beneficiary is not available for their assessment within 30 days of the indicated due date, the
beneficiary may be issued a technical denial with appeal rights and denied PCS. Should that occur, the

beneficiary will be required to submit a new Request for Independent Assessment (NC Medicaid-3051)

to restart the process.

Assessments are scheduled on weekdays only with appointment times between the hours of 8:30am
and 4:00pm and may take up to 90 minutes to complete. When requested, exceptions to both scheduled
day and time may be considered if the schedule of the Independent Assessor in that specific region
permits.

3.1.1 Cancellations and Reschedules

When a beneficiary or facility needs to reschedule or cancel a scheduled assessment, LHC-NC
requests the cancellations be made with as much advance notice as possible. When
rescheduling, the SC will attempt to reschedule the assessment prior to the due date of the
assessment or if not, the earliest available date following.

NOTE: A beneficiary may reschedule any given assessment up to three times. After the third
reschedule, the beneficiary may be issued a technical denial with appeal rights and denied PCS.
Should that occur, the beneficiary will be required to submit a new Request for Independent
Assessment (NC Medicaid-3051) to restart the process.

3.1.2 No-Shows

If a beneficiary is unavailable for their scheduled assessment or a “no-show”, then the
Independent Assessor will leave a door hanger informing the beneficiary of the missed visit and
directing them to call LHC-NC to reschedule. If a call is not received, LHC-NC will follow up with
the beneficiary in an attempt to reschedule. If contact is not successful, a technical denial with
appeal rights will be issued for PCS.
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NOTE: A “no show” is defined as any appointment that is not cancelled/rescheduled prior to the
Assessor showing up to the appointment location on the scheduled date and time. The
Independent Assessor will remain at the home or facility for 15 minutes after the scheduled
appointment time in hopes that the beneficiary will arrive and become available for their
assessment before determining it is a no-show. If a beneficiary is a no-show twice, then a
technical denial with appeal rights will be issued for PCS. If they wish to still be considered for
PCS, the beneficiary will be required to submit a new Request for Independent Assessment (NC
Medicaid-3051) to restart the process.

3.2 Conducting the Independent Assessment

When an appointment has been scheduled for an independent assessment, the Assessor scheduled to
conduct the assessment will call the beneficiary or facility 24 hours in advance to confirm the scheduled
appointment. During the call, the assessor with also remind the beneficiary or facility administrator to
have their all medications available, that they may supply any appropriate or necessary medical
documentation, and that any persons they feel can assist in the completion of the independent
assessment may be present.

On the day of the scheduled appointment and before conducting the assessment, the Independent
Assessor will review the ‘Medicaid PCS Beneficiary Participation Guide’ with the beneficiary. This form
outlines the rights the beneficiary has regarding the independent assessment and their responsibility to
fully participate in completing the assessment (see Appendix B of this Manual for the complete form).
Following the review of the participation guide, the beneficiary will be asked to sign a consent form that
gives the Assessor permission to conduct the independent assessment.

Generally, the beneficiary can expect the assessment to take between 60 - 90 minutes. The Assessor
will be asking questions about various daily activities and the beneficiary’s ability to perform these
activities. The Assessor will require the beneficiary to demonstrate these activities to determine level of
ability.

NOTE: The beneficiary will not be required to undress, bathe, or toilet. The Assessor will ask them to
demonstrate or simulate these tasks fully clothed.

In detail and in accordance with Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Subsection 5.4.9, during the Assessment
the Assessor shall evaluate and document the following factors for each qualifying ADL:

1. Beneficiary capacities to self-perform specific ADL tasks;

2. Beneficiary capacities to self-perform IADL tasks directly related to each ADL;

3. Use of adaptive and assistive devices and durable medical equipment;

4. Availability, willingness, and capacities of beneficiary’s family members and other informal
caregivers to provide assistance to the beneficiary to perform ADLS;
Availability of other home and community-based support and services;
Medical conditions and symptoms that affect ADL self-performance and assistance time; and
Environmental circumstances and conditions that affect ADL self-performance and assistance
time.

Now

The Assessor will also speak with the beneficiary, any available family members or caregivers, and staff
about the beneficiary’s medical conditions and their need for PCS services.
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3.3 The Independent Assessment Tool

The PCS assessment tool provided and approved by NC Medicaid is designed to accomplish the
following in an accurate and consistent manner while ensuring comparability in all settings:

Determine the beneficiary’s eligibility for PCS;

Determine and authorize hours of service and level of care;
Provide the basis for plan of care development;

Support PCS compliance reviews and program utilization.

The assessment tool is a standardized assessment that shall include the following components:
a. Outlining tasks for each of the qualifying ADLS;
b. The medical diagnosis or diagnoses causing the need for PCS;
c. Any exacerbating medical symptoms or conditions that may affect the ability of the beneficiary to
perform the ADLs; and
d. A rating of the beneficiary’s overall self-performance capacity for each ADL, as summarized in
the following table:

Beneficiary’s Self-

Performance Rating
0 — Totally able Beneficiary is able to self-perform 100% of activity,
with or without aids or assistive devices, and
without supervision or assistance setting up
supplies and the environment
1 — Needs verbal cueing Beneficiary is able to self-perform 100% of the
or supervision only activity, with or without aids or assistive devices,
and requires supervision, monitoring, or assistance
retrieving or setting up supplies or equipment

Description

2 — Can do with limited Beneficiary is able to self-perform more than 50% of

hands-on assistance the activity and requires hands-on assistance to
complete remainder of activity

3 — Can do with Beneficiary is able to self-perform less than 50% of

extensive hands-on the activity and requires hands-on assistance to

assistance complete remainder of activity

4 — Cannot do at all (full Beneficiary is unable to perform any of the activity

dependence) and is totally dependent on another individual to

perform all of the activity

The Assessor will enter the level of assistance needed for each demonstrated task into the assessment
tool. A standard amount of time is then indicated for each day that ADL assistance is needed. The
authorized monthly time is calculated automatically once the completed assessment is uploaded. The
total hours authorized are based on the ADLs with which the beneficiary requires assistance, the
amount of assistance needed and the number of days per week PCS is needed. No time is authorized
for ADL tasks that the beneficiary performs independently or for tasks for which the beneficiary requires
only verbal cueing and supervision, or already has assistance. For more information on the assessment
design and service level determinations, please see Appendix A in Clinical Coverage Policy 3L (which can
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be found in appendix D of this Manual).

Chapter 4. The PCS Provider Selection Process, Referrals,
and Notifications

Referrals to provider agencies are solely based upon the beneficiary’s choice of provider at the time of
the independent assessment. The Assessor will offer the options for personal care service providers in a
manner that is free from personal or commercial bias through the use of a randomized provider list. The
randomized provider list is generated through QiRePort and is based on information from the DHHS
Provider Enroliment Division as well as on information that healthcare agencies enter into QiRePort
about the counties they service. Every Medicaid enrolled provider who is located in the beneficiary’s
county or who has reported via QiRePort that they serve the beneficiary’s county, appears on that
county list every time. The list is randomized, which means that no one provider appears at the top of
the list every time.

4.1 Provider Selection

Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Subsection 5.4.11 dictates that beneficiaries should select three providers
at the time of the assessment, although the beneficiary does have the option of specifying one provider
for all three choices. NC Medicaid and Liberty Healthcare strictly enforce the following procedure for
determining provider choice:

1. Present the beneficiary with a randomized list of licensed, eligible PCS providers in the
beneficiary’s county.

2. Inquire if the beneficiary has any preferred PCS provider(s), which may include the current
provider, if they so choose.

3. If the beneficiary does not have a preferred PCS provider(s), then the Assessor would direct the
beneficiary to the presented randomized provider list to make a selection.

4. If unable to select a preferred PCS provider at the time of the assessment, the Assessor will leave
the randomized provider list and follow up with the beneficiary the next day for their provider
selection. The Assessor will follow up by phone a maximum of three times within 3 business days
to capture the beneficiary’s provider selection in order to complete the assessment process.

5. If the beneficiary remains unresponsive to the contact attempts made by the Assessor, the
beneficiary will be sent a letter requesting they make a provider selection within 30 days. If unable
to make a provider selection within 30 days, the PCS request will be removed and a new request
would need to be resubmitted if the beneficiary still wishes to be considered for PCS.

If the beneficiary qualifies for the PCS Program and a provider choice was made, LHC-NC will send the
referral to the beneficiary’s first choice service provider. If the provider declines or does not respond to
the referral within 2 business days, LHC-NC will make a call to the first choice provider to inform them
they have been sent a referral and response is needed. If LHC-NC is not able to successfully contact the
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first choice PCS provider within 5 business days or they do not respond to the referral, LHC-NC will reject
the referral on behalf of the provider and will send the referral to the beneficiary’s second choice of
provider and if necessary, to the beneficiary’s third choice of provider. For cases when the beneficiary
offers only one choice of provider and this provider does not respond to the referral or declines it, LHC-
NC will contact the beneficiary by telephone to request another provider choice. If unable to contact the
beneficiary, LHC-NC will send a letter to the beneficiary requesting they make a new provider selection.
If a new provider selection is not made within 30 days, then the request is removed and a new request
would be required if the beneficiary wished to still be considered for PCS.

NOTE: Beneficiaries, their guardians or those designated as Power of Attorney may also choose to
change providers at any time for any reason. They can accomplish this change by contacting the IAE
by telephone. The IAE will take the steps necessary to ensure that the caller is in fact authorized to
make the change. Providers may not request a change of provider on the beneficiary’s behalf.
Notifications will be issued to the beneficiary, the old provider and the new provider in the event of an
approved change in provider.

4.2 Responding to a Referral

A “referral notice” is a letter that notifies the provider agency that a beneficiary has selected the
agency to provide his/her PCS services.The notice includes the beneficiary’s name and his/her Medicaid
Identification (MID) number, as well as the service level authorized. Based on this information and the
agency’s qualifications to provide the needed services, the notice requests an “accept” or “reject”
response to the referral.

NOTE: The referral notice is not an authorization to begin services for the beneficiary. Providers should
always refer to the decision notice to determine the effective date of the service authorization.

Responding to a Referral through QiRePort

The selected agency will receive an electronic copy of the referral notice and a copy of the beneficiary’s
independent assessment. To access these referrals, the provider will select the link in the left hand tool
bar titled ‘Referrals for Review’ (please see figure below).
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Referral Info Click here for pending

Referrals for Review
Accepted (last 1 year)
Denials (last 6 months

request for service referrals.

Recipients w/ |A
Search Recipients

Recipient Summary
Change of Status Request
Discharge

Provider Number Change

Counties Served
Legacy MPN Reference

Once selected, a list of all referrals that have been sent to the provider will populate on the screen; select
the name of the beneficiary you wish to view. When you select a beneficiary’s name, a screen will display
that provides the beneficiary’s demographic information, their PCS request, their assessment, and a
display of the total approved hours (see next figure). It is from this screen that the provider will need to
respond to the referral by selecting a “Referral Decision” of “Accept” or “Reject.”

Referrals

@_ Referral for Acceptance Review

* = Required Print

Recipient Data

Medicaid ID
Address 2
County
DOB
Status

Recipient Name
Address 1
City, State Zip

Phone

Gender

Requests for Independent Assessment

Recipient Name MID Phone Number Request Date Request Type

212512014 Change of Status

Independent Assessments on file for Recipient

Assessment Date Comments Assessment Type Hours

412512014 ~ [ comments ] Change of Status 39
5012013 [ comments ] Admission 39
Referral Decision * - select - /‘\
Comment \

. Hours
Click here to awarded is
access a copy of displayed
the assessment here

Save

Provider should select a
response to request by
selecting the appropriate
response decision
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NOTE: Providers are expected to accept/reject referrals within 2 business days. If the PAs end for a
beneficiary and the PCS Provider did not accept within 2 business days of the referral, NC Medicaid will
not authorize retro pay for the lapsed time period.

4.3 Referral and Decision Notices

Liberty Healthcare will send a “decision notice” to the provider that accepts the referral. This notice
contains information about the authorized service level and identifies the date when the agency should
begin services for the beneficiary.

NOTE: Medicaid will not compensate providers for services provided before the effective date listed on
the decision notice. In addition, Medicaid will not compensate providers for services provided at the
previous authorization level after the effective date of the reduced authorization or denial in services,
unless the beneficiary files a timely appeal. Finally, for any notification that does not indicate an ‘end
date,” the servicing provider can expect the effective period to have a duration of 365 calendar days.

An “adverse decision notice” indicates a reduction in the service authorization or a denial of services.
If a beneficiary chooses to contest Medicaid’s decision, the adverse decision notice also contains
instructions for the appeal process. The beneficiary’s copy of this notice contains a Request for Hearing
Form, which the beneficiary must complete in order to begin the appeal process (see Chapter 5 of this
Manual for more information on the appeal process). The Request for Hearing Form is not included in the
provider’s copy of the notice. Liberty Healthcare sends adverse decision notices to beneficiaries by
regular USPS mail that is trackable but does not require a signature. This enables NC Medicaid and
Liberty Healthcare to verify that the beneficiary received the notice.

The following are types of decision notices a PCS provider may receive upon accepting a PCS
beneficiary:

e Notice of Decision on Initial Request for Medicaid Services: This notice may indicate an
approval or a denial of services and is issued to beneficiaries who received an independent
assessment following a new referral for PCS services. It is also issued to beneficiaries who could
not be reached to schedule an assessment or who missed two scheduled assessment
appointments following a new referral. If the notice indicates a denial in services, it will specify
the reason for the denial. The beneficiary’s copy will include instructions for filing an appeal and
the Request for Hearing Form.

e Notice of Change in Services: This notice is issued to beneficiaries who were previously
receiving PCS services and who are authorized for a reduced number of hours based on the
most recent independent assessment. The beneficiary’s copy will include instructions for filing an
appeal and the Request for Hearing Form.

e Notice of Decision on a Continuing Request for Medicaid Services: This notice is issued to
beneficiaries who are approved for continued services following a reassessment.

e Notice of Denial in Services: This notice is issued to beneficiaries who were previously
receiving PCS services and have now been determined not to qualify for PCS based on the most
recent independent assessment. It is also issued to beneficiaries for whom a continuing request
for services is denied for any of the following reasons, but not limited to:
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The beneficiary missed two scheduled independent assessment appointments;

The beneficiary rescheduled their appointment for an assessment more than 3 times;

The beneficiary was unavailable for an assessment 30+ days from the indicated due date;
LHC-NC was unable to contact the beneficiary for independent assessment scheduling;

The Change of Status request submitted for the beneficiary was denied because it was
missing a description of the change in the client’s condition and/or documentation of the need
for a reassessment, or because the described change in the client’s condition did not warrant
a reassessment. This letter serves as notice that the requested reassessment is denied;
however, authorization at the current service level will continue; or

The beneficiary account in NC Tracks now reflects as PCS ineligible due to the Medicaid
status or that they are receiving duplicative services making them ineligible for PCS.
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Chapter 5: The Appeal Process

In accordance with federal law, the beneficiary has the right to appeal a decision when a beneficiary’s
service is denied, reduced, suspended, or terminated. Liberty Healthcare sends a notice to the beneficiary,
with a copy to the provider of record that includes the following:

¢ An explanation of why the service was reduced, denied, suspended or terminated,;
e A citation of the state law that supports the decision; and
e The effective date of the denial or reduction.

The following is sent to the beneficiary only:

o Alist of steps the beneficiary should follow in order to appeal the decision;
¢ Contact information for someone who can answer questions about the case; and
¢ A Request for Hearing form.

Beneficiaries who have entered a timely appeal (within 30 days of the date on the notice) are entitled to
Maintenance of Service until the appeal is resolved (see “Maintenance of Service,” Section 5.5 of this
Manual).

5.1 Steps in the Appeal Process

As outlined in the notice sent to beneficiaries and their providers of record, the steps in the appeal
process are as follows:

1. The beneficiary completes the Request for Hearing form found on the last page of the decision
notice. Only the beneficiary or his/her legal guardian can make the decision to appeal.
Providers may assist the beneficiary by mailing or faxing the completed form to the Office of
Administrative Hearings (OAH).

2. The beneficiary mails or faxes the form to “Clerk, Office of Administrative Hearings” and to the

“Department of Health and Human Services: CPP Appeals Section.”

a. The appeal must be filed within 10 calendar days of the date of the notice, to avoid a break in
service payment for a continuing request for service.

b. If the beneficiary files an appeal on day 11 through day 30 from the date of the notice,
payment for services will be reinstated the date the appeal is filed (received by OAH).

c. If the beneficiary appeals after day 30, maintenance of service will not apply.

d. The beneficiary may represent himself/herself in the appeal process, ask a family member or
friend to speak for him/her, assign another spokesperson, or obtain an attorney to provide
representation. The appeal form has a place for the beneficiary to designate a
representative and provide contact information for the representative.

3. OAH forwards the appeal to NC Medicaid and the Mediation Network of North Carolina. The
assigned mediation center then offers mediation to the beneficiary or his/her representative.
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4. If the beneficiary accepts the offer of mediation, the session is conducted in person or over the
phone and includes the mediator, the beneficiary and/or the beneficiary’s designated
representative(s), and a representative from Liberty Healthcare on behalf of NC Medicaid.

5. If the mediation is successful or if the beneficiary/representative(s) chooses to withdraw the
appeal, the appeal is resolved without a court hearing, the results are legally binding, and the
case will be closed.

6. If the beneficiary/representative(s) and the Liberty Healthcare representative are unable to
reach a compromise during mediation, the case proceeds to a hearing at OAH.

7. If the case does not settle at mediation, the formal hearing is conducted before an
Administrative Law Judge. The judge’s decision in the case is the final agency decision.

8. OAH will notify the beneficiary and/or the representative designated on the appeal form via
regular USPS mail of the date, time, and location of the hearing.

9. The beneficiary receives a copy of the Administrative Law Judge’s final agency decision. If the
beneficiary disagrees with the final agency decision, he/she may request a hearing in Superior
Court. This hearing must be requested within 30 days of the date the final agency decision is
mailed to the beneficiary.

5.2 Mediation

Mediation is an informal hearing process for appeals. The purpose of mediation is to attempt to reach a
resolution to the appeal that is mutually acceptable to the beneficiary and to NC Medicaid, through a
confidential and legally binding proceeding facilitated by a mediator. Most of the mediation discussions
occur over the telephone. The beneficiary does have the option to participate in person at the local
mediation center if they so choose. There is no charge to the beneficiary for mediation.

In addition to the beneficiary, the mediation session includes:

e The Mediator - an unbiased party who helps to guide the discussion and helps the parties to
come to a resolution.

¢ A Representative from NC Medicaid - a Liberty Healthcare mediation nurse acts as the
representative from NC Medicaid for PCS appeal cases. In order to avoid a conflict of
interest, the nurse who completed the independent assessment that is being contested does
not act as the NC Medicaid representative during mediation.

e The Beneficiary Representative - the beneficiary may designate anyone else to speak on
his/her behalf or to assist him/her during the mediation such as a family member, friend,
provider agency staff member, or an attorney. Best practice is for someone who is familiar
with the beneficiary’s needs to participate in the mediation and hearing processes.

If the mediation results in a resolution that is satisfactory to both parties, the appeal will be dismissed. If
the beneficiary withdraws his or her appeal, the original decision (reduction in hours or denial of
services) will remain valid. If an offer of settlement hours is made and the beneficiary accepts, both the
beneficiary and the beneficiary’s provider of choice will receive a notification letter that lists the new
number of authorized hours. This authorization will remain valid until the beneficiary’s next independent
assessment.
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Beneficiaries are not required to participate in mediation. The beneficiary may choose instead to request
that the case go straight to hearing before an Administrative Law Judge. If the beneficiary does wish to
participate in mediation in an effort to resolve the appeal, the mediation session must be completed
within 25 calendar days of the date that OAH received the beneficiary’s Request for Hearing form. For
example, if OAH received the beneficiary’s Request for Hearing form on June 1, the mediation process
should be completed by June 26.

If the beneficiary does not accept the outcome of mediation, the mediator will file an “impasse” decision
with OAH. The case will then proceed to the next stage, which is a hearing before an Administrative
Law Judge. If the beneficiary declines to participate in mediation, the mediator will report this outcome to
OAH, and the case will proceed to hearing.

A successful resolution to the appeal at Mediation is legally binding, so the beneficiary does not have the
option to re-open the case once it is settled through mediation.

5.3 Court Hearing and Final Agency Decision

If the beneficiary declines the offer of mediation and desires his or her case to go straight to hearing, an
OAH court hearing will be scheduled in lieu of mediation. A hearing will also be scheduled following
mediation for beneficiaries who do not accept a settlement offer during mediation.

An administrative law judge presides over the OAH hearing. The beneficiary may participate in the
hearing over the phone, by teleconference, or may come in person to Raleigh. Prior to the hearing date,
the beneficiary may request the hearing to be in person at a location within or near the beneficiary’s
county of residence. The beneficiary may represent him/herself or appoint an attorney or someone else
(friend, family member, etc.) to speak for him/her during the hearing.

NC Medicaid will be represented by an attorney from the Attorney General’s Office. That attorney will
send the documents related to the appeal, including the independent assessment if applicable, to the
beneficiary or his/her designated representative prior to the hearing. A registered nurse from NC
Medicaid will be present during the hearing. Additionally, the registered nurse who completed the
assessment may participate in the hearing.

All of the information is presented anew during the hearing. None of the discussion or interaction that
occurred during mediation is entered into the court hearing. As necessary, the beneficiary may also
present new information that was not shared during the mediation discussion. Following the hearing, the
administrative law judge will enter his/her decision in the case which will be rendered as the final agency
decision. The beneficiary will receive written notification of the judge’s decision.

The OAH hearing should be completed within 55 days of the date the beneficiary’s Request for Hearing
Form was received by OAH. This timeline includes 25 days for completion of mediation.

5.4 Superior Court Judicial Review

If the beneficiary wishes to contest the final agency decision in the case, he or she may request a
hearing in North Carolina Superior Court. The beneficiary has 30 days from receipt of the notice of the
final agency decision to request a hearing in Superior Court.
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5.5 Maintenance of Service (MOS)

A beneficiary who files a timely appeal may continue to receive the same level of service as he or she
was receiving when the notification letter was mailed. For example, if a client was receiving 60 hours of
service per month and then submits a timely appeal of the decision that reduced the authorization for
those services to 40 hours, the client is entitled to receive services at the 60-hour level, from the date
the appeal request is filed until the date the appeal is resolved.

In order to qualify for Maintenance of Service, the beneficiary must:

1. Have been receiving services at the time of the adverse decision. A beneficiary who receives a
denial following a new referral to the PCS Program is not eligible for MOS.

2. Be eligible for the type of Medicaid that covers PCS services. If the beneficiary has a lapse in
Medicaid eligibility, he or she cannot receive MOS until Medicaid eligibility is restored.

NC Medicaid administers MOS in accordance with federal law. The effective date of MOS is determined
by the date that the beneficiary’s Request for Hearing Form is received by OAH. There will be no lapse
in the beneficiary’s services if the Request for Hearing Form is received before the reduction
authorization or service denial goes into effect. However, if the beneficiary submits the Request for
Hearing form after the 10-day effective date of the reduction or denial decision, and before 30 days,
there will be a service lapse that extends from the effective date of the reduction or denial decision until
OAH receives the form. Once the Request for Hearing form is received, if received within 30 days of the
date on the notice letter, the authorization for the prior service level will be reinstated. If the beneficiary
appeals after day 30 from the date of the notice, MOS will not be authorized.

Here are some examples of these two scenarios:

No Lapse in Service:

A beneficiary who was authorized for 50 hours of service per month from the previous independent
assessment receives a Notice of Denial in services. The notice is dated February 15 (the same
date it was mailed) and is effective on February 26. The beneficiary mails the Request for Hearing
Form to OAH, and it is received on February 23 (within eight days of the date of the notice).
Medicaid will authorize MOS for 50 hours (the previous service level) for this beneficiary effective
February 26. This authorization will remain in effect until the appeal is resolved. Since the Request
for Hearing Form was received before the effective date of the denial, there is no interruption in
authorized services. In this case, the MOS authorization supersedes the denial decision.

Lapse in Service:

A beneficiary who was authorized for 70 hours of service per month from the previous independent
assessment receives a Notice of Denial in services. The notice is dated February 16 (the same
date it was mailed) and is effective on February 27. The beneficiary mails the Request for Hearing
Form to OAH, and it is received on March 2 (more than 10 days after the notice was mailed).
Medicaid will authorize MOS for 70 hours (the previous service level) for this beneficiary effective
March 2.
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Since the Request for Hearing Form was received after the effective date of the denial, but before
30 days, the service authorization will be interrupted from February 27 — March 1. Although this
beneficiary’s appeal was submitted in a timely manner, the denial went into effect before the MOS
authorization.

5.6 Change of Provider Requests During the Appeal Process

If a beneficiary wishes to change providers while the appeal is pending, the MOS authorization will be
transferred to the new provider. The new provider will not receive a copy of this assessment since the
beneficiary is contesting the most recent independent assessment. In this case, the provider agency
RN should write the plan of care for the authorized MOS hours based on a discussion with the
beneficiary about his or her need for assistance.

The provider should continue to base the client’s care on this plan of care until Liberty Healthcare

notifies the provider that the appeal has been resolved. At that point, the provider will need to revise the
plan of care based on awarded hours or discharge the client as appropriate.
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Chapter 6: Billing

General Dynamics Information Technology (GDIT) is the current designated contractor responsible for
the processing of all Medicaid claims, which includes claims for PCS. NC Tracks is the Medicaid billing
system used by GDIT to receive and process all claims. Liberty Healthcare issues prior approval for
services based on the independent assessment results, and QiRePort transmits the authorization to NC
Tracks to authorize payment of eligible PCS provider claims.

6.1 Prior Approval

Once an eligible beneficiary is awarded hours under the PCS program (following an assessment or a
settlement through the appeals process), a ‘Prior Approval’ (PA) is issued. The PA will reflect the total
PCS hours awarded per month. In accordance with Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Subsection 5.2.2, in
order to be approved for PCS payment, the beneficiary shall:

v' Obtain a Physician Referral, and attestation, when applicable;

v/ Obtain an Referral Screening ID if seeking admission to, or residing in, an adult care home
licensed under G.S. 131D-2.4;
Receive an independent assessment from the IAE;
Meet minimum program admission requirements;
Obtain a service authorization for a specified number of PCS hours per month; and
Obtain an approved service plan from the provider.

AN NN

EPSDT Additional Requirements for PCS

Medicaid may authorize services that exceed the PCS service limitations if determined to be medically
necessary under EPSDT based on the following documents submitted by the provider before PCS is
rendered:

v" Work and school verification for the beneficiary’s caregiver, legal guardian, or power of attorney.
PCS may not cover all time requested by caregiver for work and school that exceed full-time
hours;

v" Verification from the Exceptional Children’s program per county if PCS is being requested in
school setting;

v Health record documentation from the beneficiary’s physician, therapist, or other licensed
practitioner;

v Physician documentation of primary caregiver’s limitation that would prevent the caregiver from
caring for the beneficiary; and/or

v' Any other independent records that address ADL abilities and need for PCS.

NOTE: If additional information does not validate the assessment, PCS hours may be reduced,
denied, or terminated based on additional records.

Prior Approval Effective Dates

NC Medicaid has authorized retroactive prior approval for PCS that were approved on or after August 1,
2017. Retroactive prior approval will only be applied to initial requests for PCS. The retroactive effective
date for authorization will be the request date on the Request for Independent Assessment for Personal
Care Services 3051 form, provided the date is not more than 30 calendar days from the date that the

Independent Assessment Entity, Liberty Healthcare, received the completed request form. If the request
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is received by Liberty Healthcare more than 30 calendar days from the request date on the request
form, the authorization will be effective the date Liberty Healthcare received the form.

If the initial request is missing information, the received date will not be effective until the correct
information is provided to process the referral.

If a beneficiary requesting admission to an Adult Care Home, Licensed under G.S. 131D-2.4, has not
been referred to a LME-MCO for the Referral Screening Verification Process (RSVP), retroactive prior
approval does not apply. PCS authorization will be made effective the date beneficiary receives their RS
ID.

Example 1:
Request Date: 8/01/2017
IAE Received Date: 08/26/2017
Effective Date 08/01/2017
Example 2:
Request Date: 08/01/2017
IAE Received Date: 09/12/2017
Effective Date 09/12/2017

For all other request types, the effective dates are as follows:

Request Type PA Effective Date

Change of Status — Increase in Hours 1 day from the date of provider
acceptance

Change of Status — Decrease in Hours or New 10 days from the notification date

Provider Selection During COS Assessment

Reassessment 10 days from the notification date

Change of Provider — In-Home 10 days from the notification date

Change of Provider — Adult Care Home 1 day from the notification date

Change of Provider — Lapse (all settings) 1 day from the notification date

Reconsideration — Increase in hours, same 1 day from the date of provider

provider selection acceptance

Reconsideration — All outcomes, new provider 10 days from the date of provider

selection acceptance

Providers will always receive a notification that will indicate the effective date on all prior approvals. If an
end date is not indicated for the effective period, the servicing provider can expect the service period to
be effective for 365 calendar days from the effective date.

NOTE: Providers are expected to accept/reject referrals within 2 business days. If the PAs end for a

beneficiary and the PCS Provider did not accept within 2 business days of the referral, NC Medicaid will
not authorize retroactive pay for the lapsed time period.
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6.2 Reimbursement

In order to receive reimbursement for PCS, the beneficiary must have full Medicaid, which provides
reimbursement for PCS. It is the responsibility of the servicing PCS provider to verify each Medicaid
beneficiary’s eligibility every time service is rendered (Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Section 2.1 (b)).

NOTE: A beneficiary may have been approved for PCS and a prior approval awarded, but if their
Medicaid is not active, does not provide coverage for PCS, or they have since been enrolled in another
state program that cannot be administered in conjunction with PCS, reimbursement will be denied.
Providers shall verify each Medicaid beneficiary’s eligibility each time a service is rendered.

For those with active Medicaid, the current rates for reimbursement for personal care services are as
follows:

Prior to 10/1/13 $3.88 per 15 minutes ($15.52 per hour)
10/1/2013-12/31/13  $3.58 per 15 minutes ($14.32 per hour)
01/01/2014-7/30/17  $3.47 per 15 minutes ($13.88 per hour)
8/1/2017-12/31/17  $3.88 per 15 minutes ($15.52 per hour)
1/1/2018-current $3.90 per 15 minutes (15.60 per hour)

NOTE: When rounding billing units, the provider should follow the 7/8 rule: seven minutes of service or
less should be counted as “0” units; eight minutes of service or more should be counted as one unit.

Billing Codes and Modifiers

Providers should submit billing for PCS services, including any services delivered under the MOS
provision, using the procedure code of 99509 (effective January 1, 2013) along with the appropriate
modifier. The modifier is specific to setting and must match the indicated modifier on the PA or
claims will be denied; please see the table below for a listing of modifier types:
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Procedure Code | Modifier Program Description
99509 HA Personal Care Services, Private Residences, Beneficiaries Under 21 Years
99509 HB Personal Care Services, Private Residences, Beneficiaries 21 Years and Older
99509 HC Personal Care Services, Adult Care Homes
99509 HH Personal Care Services, Supervised Living Facilities, Adults with MI/SA
99509 HI Personal Care Services, Supervised Living Facilities, Adults with MR/DD
99509 HQ Personal Care Services, Family Care Home
99509 SC Personal Care Services, Adult Care Homes, Special Care Unit
99509 TT Personal Care Services, Adult Care Homes, Combination Homes

It is important that provider(s) comply with the Basic Medicaid and NCHC Billing Guide, Medicaid
bulletins, fee schedules, NC Medicaid’s clinical coverage policies, and any other relevant documents for
specific coverage and reimbursement for Medicaid and NCHC; this includes obtaining appropriate
referrals for a beneficiary enrolled in Medicaid and the following:

A. Claim Type
Professional (CMS-1500/837P transaction)

B. International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revisions, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM)
Codes

Provider(s) shall report the ICD-10-CM diagnosis code(s) to the highest level of specificity that supports
medical necessity. Provider(s) shall use the current ICD-10-CM edition and any subsequent editions in
effect at the time of service. Provider(s) shall refer to the applicable edition for code description as it is
no longer documented in the policy. Effective October 1, 2015 the provider shall use ICD-10 code sets
for reporting.

C. Code(s)

Provider(s) shall select the most specific billing code that accurately and completely describes the
procedure, product, or service(s) provided. In cases where the beneficiary has multiple ICD-10
(diagnosis) codes listed on the referral and/or independent assessment, the provider should submit
billing using the code that is most relevant to the beneficiary’s need for ADL assistance from an in-home
aide. Provider(s) shall use the Current Procedural Terminology (CPT), Health Care Procedure Coding
System (HCPCS), ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes, and UB-04 Data Specifications Manual (for a complete
listing of valid revenue codes) and any subsequent editions in effect at the time of service. Provider(s)
shall refer to the applicable edition for the code description as it is no longer documented in the policy.

55| Page



6.3 Denied Claims

Liberty Healthcare of North Carolina does not have access to denied claims nor do they have the
authorization to deny claims. It is the responsibility of LHC-NC, in conjunction with VieBridge, Inc. to
generate a prior approval with appropriate effective dates for PCS and transmit that data to NC Tracks
for claim processing. When claims are denied for PCS, the provider should attempt to answer the
following questions before contacting NC Tracks or Liberty:

1.

Did | complete a service plan for the most current assessment for the beneficiary? (Verify in

QiRePort.) NOTE: PAs will not be made retro if a service plan is not completed timely and/or
the beneficiary is discharged or becomes deceased prior to completion of the service plan if

outside of the 7 day allotted period to complete the service plan.

Does the beneficiary have active Medicaid? (Verify through NC Tracks.)

Does the beneficiary have an active PA? (Verify through NC Tracks.)

Does the madifier on the PA match the modifier assigned in NC Tracks? (Verify through the

QiRePort Provider Portal.)

Have | already billed for all approved hours this month? (Verify in NC Tracks.)

Am | billing within the approved effective dates? (Verify in NC Tracks.)

It is important to note that Liberty Healthcare does not have full access to NC Tracks and is therefore
limited to addressing billing issues. If a provider is experiencing a billing issue for other reasons that do
not involve the PA for PCS, they are strongly encouraged to contact NC Tracks.
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Chapter 7: Internal Quality Improvement Program

In accordance to Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Section 7.7, Internal Quality Improvement Program,
Providers serving beneficiaries receiving PCS are required to complete and adhere to an organizational
Quality Improvement Plan or set of quality improvement policies and procedures.

What is Quality Improvement?
“Quality improvement (QI) is a systematic, formal approach to the analysis of practice performance and
efforts to improve performance.” — American Academy of Family Physicians

Understanding and properly implementing QI is essential to a well-functioning agency or facility, and is
necessary for any agency or facility interested in improving efficiency, beneficiary safety and
satisfaction, and clinical outcomes.

7.1 Establishing a Quality Improvement Program

Here are 6 steps to help kick start any Quality Improvement Program:

1. Establish a culture of quality in your agency or facility. Your organization, processes, and
procedures should support and be integrated with your QI efforts. The culture of an agency,
attitudes, behaviors, and actions, reflect how passionately the team embraces quality. The QI
culture looks different for every agency/facility, but may include establishing dedicated QI teams,
holding regular QI meetings, or creating policies around your QI goals.

2. Determine and prioritize potential areas for improvement. You will need to identify and
understand the ways in which your agency/facility could improve. Examine your client population
(e.g., to identify barriers to care or groups of high-risk patients) and your agency/facility
operations (e.qg., to identify management issues such as low morale or poor communication).

3. Collect and analyze data. Data collection and analysis lie at the heart of quality improvement.
Your data will help you understand how well your systems work, identify potential areas for
improvement, set measurable goals, and monitor the effectiveness of change. It's important to
collect baseline data before you begin a QI project, commit to regular data collection, carefully
analyze your results throughout the project, and make decisions based on your analysis.

4. Communicate your results. Quality improvement efforts should be transparent to your staff,
physicians, and beneficiaries. Communicate your project needs, priorities, actions, and results to
everyone (beneficiaries included). When a project is successful, celebrate and acknowledge that
success.

5. Commit to ongoing evaluation. Quality improvement is an ongoing process. A high-functioning
agency/facility will strive to continually improve performance, revisit the effectiveness of
interventions, and regularly solicit beneficiary and staff feedback.

6. Spread your successes. Share lessons learned with others to support wide-scale, rapid
improvement that benefits all beneficiaries and the health care industry as a whole.

Source: American Academy of Family Physicians,
https://www.aafp.org/practice-management/improvement/basics.html
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Quality Improvement Models and Tools

Quiality improvement models present a systematic, formal framework for establishing QI processes in
your agency/facility. Examples of common QI models include the following:

e Model for Improvement, Plan-Do-Study-Act:

o Plan - Develop the QI plan as related to the organization’s priorities, mission, goals,
population served, services provided and customer needs. Always consider external or
regulatory requirements.

o Do - Implement the plan as a defined map or guide for the organization-wide Quality
Program. Document identified problems and unexpected events observed.

o Study - Ask questions such as:

» Did we do what we said we were going to do? Why or why not?
= What are the results?
= How can we improve?
= What is working really well?
» What needs to be modified?
o Act - Act on what was learned:
= Revise the plan as needed;
» Monitor the plan on a regular and defined basis;
= Determine if the plan was successful at meeting or exceeding your expectations;
» Address the items that need improvement;
» Communicate results; and
» Evaluate or update quarterly.

NOTE: Per Clinical Coverage Policy 3L 7.7(a), a PCS Provider is required to develop and update, at
least quarterly, an organizational quality improvement plan or set of quality improvement policies and
procedures that describe the PCS CQI program and activities.

e Six Sigma: is a method of improvement that strives to decrease variation and defects.

e Lean: is an approach that drives out waste and improves efficiency in work processes so that all
work adds value.

Sources:
American Academy of Family Physicians,
https://www.aafp.org/practice-management/improvement/basics.html

Institute for Healthcare Improvement, http://www.ihi.org/

American Society for Quality, https://asqg.org/
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7.2 Quality Improvement and PCS

In accordance with Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Section 7.7 (e), PCS Providers shall submit by

December 31 of

[T}

each year an attestation that they are in compliance with “a” through “d” of Subsection

7.7. This requirement should be fulfilled by completing the NC Medicaid-3136 Quality Improvement
Attestation Form (see appendix F of this Manual for sample). When completing the form, the PCS
Provider is attesting that they shall:

a.

7.2.1

Develop, and update at least quarterly, an organizational Quality Improvement Plan
or set of quality improvement policies and procedures that describe the PCS CQI
program and activities;

Implement an organizational CQI Program designed to identify and correct the quality
of care and quality of service problems;

Conduct at least annually a written beneficiary PCS satisfaction survey for
beneficiaries and their legally responsible person; and

Maintain complete records of all CQI activities and results.

Developing an Organizational Quality Improvement Plan
What is a quality improvement plan?

A quality improvement plan is a detailed work plan of an organization’s activities of
guality improvement. A quality improvement plan should explain how your organization
manages, deploys, and reviews quality services. It should be updated regularly and
include your organization’s quality priorities and how you measure your
performance/improvement.

Key Elements for an Effective QI Plan

The plan should describe:

The mission, values, goals and objectives;

How the organization will select, manage and monitor all QI projects;
Methodologies that will be used;

Communication to staff on the plan, any updates and results; and
Staff training and education.

ANENENENAN

Common Barriers that Impact an Effective QI Plan

When any of the following are weak within an organization, the effectiveness of its
quality improvement plan may be jeopardized:

Resources (financial, staff, etc.)
Ongoing communication and feedback
Periodic re-evaluation

Staff interest or training

Accountability of the QI Committee
Focus on QI priorities/changes

ASENENENENEN
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7.2.2 Implementing your CQI Plan

Once you have developed your QI plan, you are ready to pick a project and implement

your plan.

Picking a QI Project

In order to identify a project in which to execute your QI plan, you will first need to
outline the following —

DU WN PP

. Determine priorities based on your customers’ needs;

. Determine the sample size;

. Identify the QI committee and assign roles and responsibilities;
. Establish process for achieving customer input;

. Determine key measurement;

. Evaluate and communicate results.

Ensuring compliance to Clinical Coverage Policy 3L should always be on your list of QI
projects. There are several requirements outlined in Clinical Coverage Policy 3L that
providers must adhere to in order to maintain compliance and prevent consequences of
violation and/or fail an internal audit. Here are some suggested QI projects that focus
on Clinical Coverage Policy compliance:

v' Required Aide Training — How do you ensure your aides are compliant in the
following areas:

(©]
O
O

o

Beneficiary Rights;
Confidentiality and privacy practices;
Personal care skills, such as assistance with the following ADLSs:

= Bathing
= Dressing
= Mobility
= Toileting
= Eating

In-home and Residential Care Aides providing services to beneficiaries
receiving hours in accordance with Session Law 2013-306, have training
or experience in caring for individuals who have a degenerative disease
characterized by irreversible memory dysfunction, that attacks the brain
and results in impaired memory, thinking, and behavior, including
gradual memory loss, impaired judgment, disorientation, personality
change, difficulty in learning, and the loss of language skills.

NOTE: Providers shall submit an attestation to NC Medicaid that they
are in compliance with this requirement. The attestation form (NC
Medicaid--3085) and instructions are located on the NC Medicaid PCS
webpage and in Appendix E of this Manual.

Documentation and reporting of beneficiary accidents and incidents;

Recognizing and reporting signs of abuse and neglect; and
Infection control.
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v Documentation of Supervisory Visits - Documentation of Supervisory visits is
audited based on PCS Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Subsection 7.10 b. (1-9);
The in-home PCS provider shall ensure that a qualified RN Nurse Supervisor
conducts a RN Supervisor visit to each beneficiary’s primary private residence
location every 90 calendar days (Note: a seven calendar day grace period is
allowed). Two visits within 365 calendar days must be conducted when the in-
home aide is scheduled to be in the primary private residence.

For this project, you will want to lay out how you ensure the RN Supervisor has
done the following:

o Confirm that the in-home aide is present or has been present as
scheduled during the preceding 90 calendar days;
o Validate that the information documented on the aide’s service log
accurately reflects his or her attendance and the services provided;
o Evaluate the in-home aide’s performance;
o ldentify any changes in the beneficiary’s condition and need for PCS
that may require a change of status review;
o Request a change of status review if the beneficiary’s service plan
exceeds or no longer meets the beneficiary’s needs for ADL assistance;
o ldentify any new health or safety risks that may be present in the primary
private residence;
o Evaluate the beneficiary’s satisfaction with services provided by the in-
home aide and the services performed by the home care agency;
o Review and validate the in-home aide’s service records to ensure that:
1. Documentation of services provided is accurate and complete;
2. Services listed in the service plan have been implemented,;
3. Deviations from the service plan are documented,;
4. Dates, times of service, and services provided are documented
on a daily basis;
Separate logs are maintained for each beneficiary;
All occasions when the beneficiary is not available to receive
services or refused services for any reason are documented in
the service record along with the reason the beneficiary was not
available or refused services; and
7. Logs are signed by the in-home aide and the beneficiary after
services are provided on a weekly basis.
o Document all components of the supervisory visits: the date, arrival and
departure time, purpose of visit, findings and supervisor’s signature.

oo

Other sample projects may include —

= Conducting self-audits, measuring results, improve, and repeat;
= Analyze your timeliness for conducting discharges;

= Evaluate if service plans are done and uploaded timely; or

= Conduct aide competency testing.
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7.2.3 Conducting an Annual Survey

Satisfaction surveys are a valuable tool for continued feedback that allow PCS
Providers to serve their clients and meet their needs. Surveys are a way to help
Providers gain an understanding of their client’'s expectations and concerns so that
service can be improved.

When designing a survey, you should focus your questions around how well the service
your agency provides meets your client’s needs or how satisfied they are with different
aspects of the service you offer. The feedback can highlight problems that you were not
aware of, giving you the opportunity to respond and take remedial action.

Sample Questions for a Satisfaction Survey:

= Was a plan of care reviewed and approved by you before starting services?

= Does the aide arrive at his/her scheduled time on the appropriate scheduled
days?

» |s the aide polite and professional at all times?

= Does the aide assist with all approved services as indicated in your plan of care?

= |s our agency responsive to your questions and needs?

= How would you rate the customer service provided by our agency?

Per Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, the satisfaction survey must be presented in written
form. Here are some suggestions on how to provide a survey in written form:

= Mail a survey to the beneficiary and provide a self-addressed envelope for return;
= Provide the written survey in hand when the aide provides services; or
= Provide the written survey in hand when the nurse conducts their quarterly visits.

7.2.4 Maintaining Complete Records

Keeping good records is very important to any business. Whether required or not, good
record keeping results in several benefits for your business, some of which are as
follows:

= Gives you the information you need to run your business and help it grow;

= Helps identify the strengths and weaknesses in your business;

= Helps manage changes and improvements in your business;

= Assists in the management and monitoring for compliance of various policies; and

= Allows quick access to records in case you are selected for an NC Medicaid
internal audit or an audit by the Office of Compliance/Program Integrity (OCPI).

Business records can be maintained manually or electronically. Make sure the
system that is used is easy to manage, well organized, and kept up to date, rather
than letting the paperwork pile up.

7.3 Completing the 3136 Form
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PCS Providers shall submit the Internal Quality Improvement Program Attestation Form 3136 to NC

Medicaid by December 31st of each year certifying compliance with “a” through “d” of Clinical Coverage
Policy 3L, Section 7.7. A copy of this form with instructions can be found in Appendix F. To ensure the
form will be accepted at time of submission, it is important that the form be filled out in its entirety; forms
cannot be processed with missing information. When completing the form, PCS Providers should:

ANANENENAN

Indicate which of the general Provider cohort designations fit their organization.

Complete all fields of the ‘Submitter Information’ section, printing clearly.

Review each requirement before initialing each item individually in the area provided.

Initial items “a” through “d” to certify compliance with Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, Section 7.7.
Complete signature and date.

NOTE: Forms should not be submitted prior to the completion of requirements which include continuous
guality improvement programs and activities conducted at least quarterly.

Key Points to Remember:

The 3136 form is required to be submitted to NC Medicaid by December 315 EACH year;
There is no standard regarding the format of the required CQI documents;

All documents are not required to be submitted to NC Medicaid, just the NC Medicaid-3136
Form; and

Providers who are non-compliant with submission of the NC Medicaid-3136 are subject to audit
by NC Medicaid and referral to OCPI.
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Appendix A: Request for Independent Assessment for PCS
3051 Form

NC MEDICAID-3051
REQUEST FOR INDEPENDENT ASSESSMENT FOR PERSONAL CARE SERVICES (PCS)
ATTESTATION OF MEDICAL NEED

MEDICAL CHANGE OF STATUSOR NEW REQUEST 5, PRACTITIONERS COMPLETE PAGES1 & 2 ONLY

Step 1 REQUEST TYPE: (s=lect ona) DATE OF REQUEST:
I: Change of Status: Medical :I New Reguest i i
Form Submission: Fax Liberty Healthcare Corporation-NC at 818-207-8307 or855-740-1600 (tol free).
Expedited Assessment Process Info: Contact Liberty Haslthcare Corporationat 1-855-7T40-1400.
Questions: Call Liberty Heahthcare at 855-T40-14000r319-322-50944.
Step 2 SECTION A. BEMEFICIARY DEMOGRAPHICS
Beneficiary's Mame: First: MI:_ Last: DoB: ! !
Medicaid |D#: RSID#[ACH Only): RSID Date: i i
Gender: :I Male :I Femals Language: :I English :I Spanish :I Other
Address: City:
County: Fip: Phone: | 3
Altemate Contact (Select One): O Parent O LegslGuardian [required if baneficiary < 18) O other
Relationship to Beneficiary (MOMN-PCS Provider):
Marmea: Phonea: { 1
Active Adult Protective Services Case? [ ves [] Mo
Beneficiary currently resides: :I At home :I Adult Care Home :I Haospitalized/medical facility :I Skilled Mursing Facility
O GoupHome [ Specialcar unit scwy [ other DVC Date (Hospital'SNF),____ 71 i
Step 3 SECTION B. BENEFICIARY'S CONDITIONS THAT RESULT IN NEED FOR ASSISTANCE WITH ADLS

Identify the currant medical diagnoses related to the beneficiary’s need for assistance with quslifying Activities of Daily Living
(bathing, dressing, mobility, toileting, and eating). List both the diagnosis and the COMPLETE 1CD-10 Code.

ICD-10 Impacts Date of Onset

Medical Diagnosis Code ADLs [y

1. LYes
Oro

2. Les
o

3. LYes
ONo

4. U¥es
LI No

=i
[
=
1]
in

10. Les

In your clinical judgment, ADL limitations are: :I Short Term {3 Months) :I Intemnediate (& Months) :I Age Appropriate
I: Expected to resohlee or improve (with or without treatment) :I Chronic and stable

Is Beneficiary Medically Stable? [ ves [ ] Mo

Is 24-hour caregiver availability required to ensure beneficiary's safety® :I es :I Mo
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Step 4 OPTIONAL ATTESTATION: Practiioner should review the following and inifial only if applicable:

Beneficiary requires an increased level of supervision. Initial:

Beneficiary requires caregivers with training or experience in carng forindividuals who have a
degenerative disease, characterzed by imeversible memory dysfunction, thatattacks the brain and results in Initial:
impaired memaory, thinking, and behavior, including gradusal memory loss, impaired judgment, disonentation,
personsality change, difficulty in leaming, and the loss of language skills.

Beneficiary requires a physical environment, regardless of setting, that includes modifications and safety | Initial
measures to safeguard the beneficiary because of the beneficiary’s gredual memory loss, impaired judgment,
disorientation, personality change, difficulty in leaming, and the loss of language skills.

Beneficiary has a history of safety concerns related to inasppropriate wandering, ingestion, aggressive Initial:
behavior, and an increased incidence of falls.

Step 5 SECTION C. PRACTITIONER INFORMATION

Attesting Practitioner's Mame: Practitioner NPI#:

Selectone: :l Beneficiary’s Primary Care Practitioner :l Outpatient Specialty Practitioner :I Inpatient Practitioner

Practice Name: NPI#:
Fractice Stamp
Practice Contact Mame:
Address:
Phone:_{ 1 Fax:_{ 1
Date of last visit to Practitioner: ! ¥ **Mote: Must be < 90 days from Received Date

Practitioner Signature AND Credentials: lﬁm

*Signature sfampnotaliowed®
1 hereby attest that the information confained herein iz curment, complete, and accurate fo the bestof my knowledge and belief

understand that my atte=fation may rezull in the prowvizion of zervices which are paid forby =tate and federalfundz and | alzo underztand
that whoewer knowingly and willfully makes oreauses fo be made a falze sfatement or reprezentation may be prosecuted
underthe applicable federalandstate laws."

Step 6 SECTION D. CHANGE OF STATUS: MEDICAL Complete for medical change of status request only.
Describe the specific medical change in condition and its impact on the beneficiary’s need forhands on assistance (Required):

--- PRACTITIONER FORM ENDS HERE ---

66 | Page



Step 2

NON-MEDICAL CHANGE OF STATUS OR CHANGE OF PROVIDER REQUEST §, COMPLETE PAGE 3 ONLY

REQUEST TYPE: (select one) DATE OF REQUEST:

[ 1 change of Status: Mon-Medical | Change of Provider i i

Form Submission: Fax Liberty Healthcare Comporation-MC 8t 919-307-8307 or 855-740-1500 (toll free).
Questions: Call Liberty Healthcare at 855-740-14000r319-322-5944.

BEMEFICIARY DEMOGRAPHIC S

Beneficiary's Name: First: MI:__ Last DoOB: ! I
Medicaid ID=#: Gender: O] Male O] Female Language: ] English O] Spanish
Address: City: :I Other,
County: Zipe: Phone: { )

Altemate Contact (Select One): O Parent O LegslGuardian {required if beneficiany < 18) O other

Relationship to Beneficiary (MOMN-PCS Provider):

Mame: Phone: { b

Beneficiary currently resides: :l At home :l Adult Care Home :l Hospitalzed/medical facility :l Skilled Mursing Facility
[ Group Home [ SpecialCare Unit (3ol L] Other DVC Date (HospitsUSMF;__ 1§

SECTION E: CHANGE OF STATUS: NON-MEDICAL

Requested by O pcs O Beneficiary O Legal [ Powerof ] Reap:-naibIEE Family (Relationship):

[Select Ome): Provider Guardian Attomey (POA) Party
Requestor Name:

PCS Provider MPI#: PCS5 Provider Locator Code#: _
Facilty License # (if applicable): Date: ! !

Contact’s Mame: Contact’s Position:

Provider Phone: { b Provider Fax: _{ i Email:

Reason for Change in Condition Regquiring Reassessment

elkect Onej: nangein HYS O L= Change in Caregver Status Change in Beneficiary location affects
Select One) [0 changein Days ofMeed [ Changein Caregiver 5 [0 change in Benefisiary location aff
O other shility to performADLs

Describe the specific change in condition and its impact on the beneficiany’s need forhands on assistance (Required):

Step 4 /| SECTION F: CHANGE OF PCS PROVIDER

Requested by (Select Onel: O care Facility [ Be neficiary O other (Relationship):

Requestors Contact Mame: Phone: { i

Reason for Provider Change | [ Beneficiary or legal O Cument providerunsbleto | O Other:

(Select Onel | representative’s choice continue providing services
Status of PCS Services (Select One):
O Discharged/Transfemad O scheduled Discharge/Transfer O Mo Discharge/Transfer Planned.
Date: I ! Date: ! ¥ Continue receiving services untilestablished with 8 new provider.

Step 5 BENEFICIARY'S PREFERRED PROVIDER (Select Onej:

O Home Care | [ Family Care | [ AduttCare | [J AduttCare Bedin Mursing | [ SLF- I sLF- L] Specisl Care
Agency Home Horme Facility BG00s 5600c Unit

Agency Mame: Phone: { 3

Provider MPI#: Provider Locator Codes#: _

Facility License # (if applicable): Cate: ! i

Physical Address:
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Appendix B: Medicaid PCS Beneficiary Participation Guide

NC Medicaid Personal Care Services Beneficiary Participation Guide

You have submitted a requestto receive Personal Care Services (FCS) through MC Medicaid. Before conducting
an assessmentto determine if you are eligible or continue to be eligibleforthe PCS program, you needto know:

Beneficiary Rights

1.

2.
3

4,
5.
]

You havethe rightto have anindependent assessment or observation to determine your ability to care for
yourself.

You can have anyone yvou wish presert atthe assessment.

You can give the assessor any medical records or otherinformation that vou think would be helpfulforthem
to understand vour needs.

If yourservices are reduced or denied, you have the rightto appeal.

You can decide notto have an assessment, but vou cannot have Medicaid FCS without one.

If wourliving situation or vour ability to take care of vourself change, orif people who were helping vou can
nolongerdo so, youmay request another assessment.

Beneficiary Responsibilities

=~

. You mustbe enrolledin the NG Medicaid Frogram.

The place vou live must be safe foryou and your caregivers.

You cannot receive NC Medicaid FCS if vou have peoplewho are willing and able to help you care for
yourself the samedaysitime FCS wouldbe provided.

You mustbe underthe care of a doctor or other healthcare provider.

You cannot have anvonewhao lives with vou oris related to vou take care of vou and be paidforit; this
includes a legally responsible person, spouse, child, parent, sibling, grandparent, ar grandchild (blood
relatives, step, arin-laws).

You mustkeepyour address andcontactinformation current so Medicaid can reach vou.

You mustrespondto calls from Liberty Healthcare to schedule vour appointment and receive other
importantinfomrmation.

You must participate inthe assessment to the best of vour ability and choose a FCS providerwho accepts
Medicaid.

* Beneficiaries residing in their primary private residence who believe that they need additional assistance
with medication management or are unable to self-administer medication, should contact their primary care
provider to discuss their need for additional assistance and seek refemrals to be assessed for alternative
services, suchas home health, that may assist with medication management.

For the full Medicaid FC5 Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, please visit: https //medicaid.ncdhhs govproviders /clinical-
cowverage-policies/clinical-coverage-policy-index

By signingthis form, yvou are confirming that the guidewas explained to yvou and that you received a copy.
For questions about your assessment, please call Liberty Healthcare of Morth Carolina at919-322 5944 or
toll free at 855-740-1400.

Beneficiary Printed Mame'Signature Date

Witness (if Beneficiary is unable to sign) Printed Mame'Signature Date
Independent Assessor Printed Mame/Signature Date
Medicaid# DOB

A copy of PC5 Beneficiary Farticipation Guide was |eft |:| Beneficiary declined to sign[|:|

DMeE. On- - O S-S0 w P A S0 AU =

68 |Page



Appendix C: Provider Registration for PCS Agency or
Facility Use of QiRePort Form and Instructions

VieBridge.
Provider Registration For PCS Agency or Facility Use of QiRePort

Complete this form and send to VieBridge, Inc. QjReport Support at fax (919)301-0765 or mail: VieBridge, Inc. QiReport Team, 8130 Boone Boulevard, Suite 350, Vienna, VA
22182. Forquestions, call QjReport Support Team at 888-705-0970 option 3 or email at Support@gqireport.net.

Agency/Facility Identification and Primary Contact Information

Owner/Corporate Main Main
Identity (Fullname) Phone Fax
Agency/Facility Name If INPI number w/3 digit ACH only
Different Than Corporate locator code: DHSR
Identity (dba): I License #
Aoency/FacilityMailing Address
Street Address City State | NC Zip
orPO Box
Agency/Facility Staff Contact Information For QiRePort Support and Communications For the agency/facility asa whole, QiReport Administrators)

Last First Position Telephone E

Name Name Mail

Last First Position Telephone E

Name Name Mail

List Agency/ Facility NPl Numbers with 3 digit Locator Codes Used For PCS Billing (List up to 15 NPI numbers below): .e. 1001110000-003

List Staff Requiring Access To Beneficiary Information For All Agency/Facility NP Numbers Listed Above (Upto 5 agency/facility staff)

Agency/FacilityStafforDesignatedRepresentatives

LastName FirstName Type of Access To QjRePort * E-MailAddress Telephone

*Type of Access: Select either (Add/Edit=2 Administrators) or (View Only=Users)
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List Staff Requiring Access To Beneficiary Data Associated With A Single Agency/Facility NPI Number with 3 digit locator code

Enter NP Number with 3 digit Locator Enter Agency/Facility Location Associated With NP1 Number (Ifapplicable) Telephane Fax
Code Below: ¢, 1001110000-003 Street City State Zip

List Agency/Facility staff requiring accessto beneficiary information for a specific agency/facility NPl number (Maximum of five staff per office)

LastName First Name Type of Access To QiRePort * E-Mail Address Telephone

* Type of Access: Select either (Add/Edit=2 Administrators) or (View Only=Users)
List Staff Requiring Access To Beneficiary Data Associated With A Single Agency/Facility NPI Number with 3 digit locator code

Enter NP1 Number with 3 digit Locator Enter Agency/Facility Location Associated With NP1 Number (If applicable) Telephone Fax
Code Below: i.e, 1001110000-003 Cireet City State Tip

Listagency/facility staff requiring access to beneficiaryinformation for a specific agency facility NPInumber (Maximum of five staff per office)

LastName First Name Type of Access To QiRePort * E-Mail Address Telephone

* Type of Access: Select either (Add/Edit=2 Administratars) or (View Only=Users)
(Ifyou have more than two agency/facility NPl numbers you want to set up separately for QiRePort access, make extra copies of page 2)

Certification

| certify that all the individuals isted in this form are either staff or designated agency/facility representatives of the agency and require access to

beneficiary information:

SignatureE’ Print/Type Name: Position; Date:
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Instructions For Completion Of The Agency/Facility Provider Registration Form

The PCS Provider Registration Form for QiRePort is used to register PCS agency/facility staff or designated
agency/facility representatives as QiRePort users. QiRePort contains beneficiary information and is a secure site.
All users must be registered and log-in to QiRePort with individualized NCID usernames and passwords obtained
from NCID.nc.gov.

Provider registration is organized around the NPl numbers with 3 digit locator codes used by your agency/facility.
If you have staff that require access to beneficiary information for every PCS NPI number, a separate place is
provided on the form to identify those staff.

Follow these instructions for completion of the form:

Agency/Facility Identification and Primary Contact Information

o Complete all fields.

o Make sure to provide two contact persons for your agency/facility that will be responsible for
communicating to QiRePort Support any changes in staff access to QiRePort. These two individuals will
be the only persons able to submit the names of any new staff that require QiRePort access or the names of
agency/facility staff no longer allowed QiRePort access representing your agency.

Agency NP1 Numbers with 3 digit Locator Codes Used By Agency/Facility For PCS

o Provide a list of all agency/facility NPI numbers with 3 digit locator codes used for PCS billing. If your
agency/facility has more than 15 billing numbers, submit an additional copy of page 1 of this form with
the additional NPI numbers.

Agency/Facility Staff Requiring Access To Beneficiary Information For All Agency/Facility NP1 Numbers with 3
Digit Locator Codes

e List up to five staff that will be able to access QiRePort for all Medicaid billing NP1 numbers with 3 digit
locator codes of your agency/facility. If you only have one agency/facility number, skip page 2 except for
the certification and signature.

o All fields must be completed in this section of the form.

Select only one option for primary role. Select from the following two options:

v Add/edit (administrator) — Staff members assigned to this category will be able to enter and edit key
information such as referral decisions, change of status requests for reassessments, and beneficiary
discharges. These users will also be to view beneficiary data associated with the NP1 number that they
are registered under. Generally staff members who are involved in agency/facility management or
staff supervision are granted this type of access.

v View Only (user) -- Staff members assigned to this category will be able to view beneficiary
information such as assessment requests and assessment results. However, these staff members will
not be able to access any tools/functions in QiRePort where agency/facility decisions/requests for
independent assessments are entered or edited.

o Every registered user must have an individual e-mail. This allows QiRePort to send e-mails to a registered
user in cases where the user forgets their own password.

71| Page



Agency/Facility Staff Requiring Access To QiRePort For Location NPl Numbers with Locator Code

If you have multiple locations and/or multiple NPI numbers, you have the option of registering staff for
individual NP1 numbers.

e List up to five staff or designated representatives for each NPI number. Complete all fields.

The same staff member or representative can be listed on more than one NPl number. Remember, any
staff requiring access to all information related to all of your agency/facility’s NPI numbers are included
in the first list on page 1 of the form.

o If your agency/facility has more than two billing NP1 numbers, make a copy of page 2 of the form and add
it to the bottom of the Word document. Add as many additional pages as needed to document all your
provider numbers.

e Be sure to enter the NPl number with 3 digit locator code for the Agency/Facility location.

e Enter up to five staff requiring access to the beneficiary information associated with the listed location
NPI number with 3 digit locator code.

Certification

e Sign the form.
e Provide the related identification information for the individual signing the form.

Transmittal to QiRePort Support

Once the registration form is completed, it should be sent to VieBridge, Inc. QiRePort Support at fax (919)301-
0765 or mail: VieBridge, Inc. QiRePort Team, 8130 Boone Boulevard, Suite 350, Vienna, VA 22182.

Confirmation Of Registration

Once QiRePort Support enters the registration information you provide, each registered user will receive an e-mail
generated by QiRePort confirming the registration and a user name and temporary password to be entered in the
log-in page of QiRePort. Some e-mail programs have junk mail and spam filters that will block or divert the
registration e-mail to a junk mail folder. Be sure to check your junk mail before inquiring on the status of the
confirmation of registration.

Access To QiRePort

As of September 3, 2013 all QiRePort users must have an NCID user id and password to obtain access to
QiRePort.net.

For questions, contact QiRePort Support Team at 888-705--0970 option 3 or email support@QiRePort.net.
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Appendix D: Clinical Coverage Policy 3L

To all beneficiaries enrolled in a Prepaid Health Plan (PHP): for questions about benefits and services
available on or after November 1, 2019, please contact your PHP.
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1.0 Description of the Procedure, Product, or Service

State Plan Personal Care Services (PCS) provide Personal Care Services in the Medicaid
beneficiary’s living arrangement by paraprofessional aides employed by licensed home care
agencies, licensed adult care homes, or home staff in licensed supervised living homes.

For the remainder of this policy, State Plan PCS is referenced as PCS.

The amount of prior approved service is based on an assessment conducted by an independent
entity to determine the beneficiary’s ability to perform Activities of Daily Living (ADLs). The
five qualifying ADLSs for the purposes of this program are bathing, dressing, mobility, toileting,
and eating.

Beneficiary performance is rated as:
a. totally independent;
b. requiring cueing or supervision;
c. requiring limited hands-on assistance;
d. requiring extensive hands-on assistance; or
e. totally dependent.

1.1 Definitions
None Apply.

2.0 Eligibility Requirements
2.1 Provisions

The term “General” found throughout this policy applies to all Medicaid and NCHC
policies)
a. Aneligible beneficiary shall be enrolled in either:
1. the NC Medicaid Program (Medicaid is NC Medicaid program, unless
context clearly indicates otherwise); or
2. the NC Health Choice (NCHC is NC Health Choice program, unless context
clearly indicates otherwise) Program on the date of service and shall meet
the criteria in Section 3.0 of this policy.
b.  Provider(s) shall verify each Medicaid or NCHC beneficiary’s eligibilityeach
time a service is rendered.
¢. The Medicaid beneficiary may have service restrictions due to their eligibility
category that would make them ineligible for this service.
d. Following is only one of the eligibility and other requirements for participation in
the NCHC Program under GS 108A-70.21(a): Children must be between the ages
of 6 through 18.

CPT codes, descriptors, and other data only are copyright 2018 American Medical Association.
All rights reserved. Applicable FARS/DFARS apply.
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2.1.1 Specific

221

(The term “Specific” found throughout this policy only applies to this policy)
Medicai
None Apply.

NCHC
NCHC beneficiaries are not eligible for State Plan Personal Care Services (PCS).

2.2 Special Provisions

EPSDT Special Provision: Exception to Policy Limitations for a
Medicaid Beneficiary under 21 Years of Age

a. 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(r) [1905(r) of the Social Security Act]

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) is a
federal Medicaid requirement that requires the state Medicaid agency to
cover services, products, or procedures for Medicaid beneficiary under 21
years of age if the service is medically necessary health care to correct or
ameliorate a defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition [health
problem] identified through a screening examination** (includes any
evaluation by a physician or other licensed clinician).

This means EPSDT covers most of the medical or remedial care a child
needs to improve or maintain his or her health in the best condition possible,
compensate for a health problem, prevent it from worsening, or prevent the
development of additional health problems.

Medically necessary services will be provided in the most economic mode,
as long as the treatment made available is similarly efficacious to the service
requested by the beneficiary’s physician, therapist, or other licensed
practitioner; the determination process does not delay the delivery of the
needed service; and the determination does not limit the beneficiary’s right to
a free choice of providers.

EPSDT does not require the state Medicaid agency to provide any service,
product or procedure:

1. that is unsafe, ineffective, or experimental or investigational.
2. that is not medical in nature or not generally recognized as an accepted
method of medical practice or treatment.

Service limitations on scope, amount, duration, frequency, location of
service, and other specific criteria described in clinical coverage policies may
be exceeded or may not apply as long as the provider’s documentation shows
that the requested service is medically necessary “to correct or ameliorate a
defect, physical or mental illness, or a condition” [health problem]; that is,
provider documentation shows how the service, product, or procedure meets
all EPSDT criteria, including to correct or improve or maintain the
beneficiary’s health in the best condition possible, compensate for a health
problem, prevent it from worsening, or prevent the development of additional
health problems.
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b. EPSDT and Prior Approval Requirements

1. If the service, product, or procedure requires prior approval, the fact that
the beneficiary is under 21 years of age does NOT eliminate the
requirement for prior approval.

2. IMPORTANT ADDITIONAL INFORMATION about EPSDT and
prior approval is found in the NC Tracks Provider Claims and Billing
Assistance Guide, and on the EPSDT provider page. The Web addresses
are specified below.

NC Tracks Provider Claims and Billing Assistance Guide:
https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-
manuals.html

EPSDT provider page: https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/
2.2.2 EPSDT does not apply to NCHC beneficiaries

2.2.3 Health Choice Special Provision for a Health Choice Beneficiary age 6
through 18 years of age

NC Medicaid shall deny the claim for coverage for an NCHC beneficiary who
does not meet the criteria within Section 3.0 of this policy. Only services
included under the NCHC State Plan and the NC Medicaid clinical coverage
policies, service definitions, or billing codes are covered for an NCHC
beneficiary.

3.0 When the Procedure, Product, or Service Is Covered

Note: Refer to Subsection 2.2.1 regarding EPSDT Exception to Policy Limitations for a
Medicaid Beneficiary under 21 Years of Age.

3.1 General Criteria Covered

Medicaid and NCHC shall cover procedures, products, and services related to this policy

when they are medically necessary, and:

a. the procedure, product, or service is individualized, specific, and consistent with
symptoms or confirmed diagnosis of the illness or injury under treatment, and notin
excess of the beneficiary’s needs;

b. the procedure, product, or service can be safely furnished, and no equally effective
and more conservative or less costly treatment is available statewide; and

c. the procedure, product, or service is furnished in a manner not primarily intended for
the convenience of the beneficiary, the beneficiary’s caretaker, or the provider.

3.2 Specific Criteria Covered

3.2.1 Specific criteria covered by both Medicaid and NCHC

No specific criteria apply to both Medicaid and NCHC, as PCS applies only to
Medicaid and does not apply to NCHC.
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3.2.2 Medicaid Specific Criteria:

Medicaid shall cover PCS only for a beneficiary who meets ONE of the criteria
in both a and b:

a.

has a medical condition, disability, or cognitive impairment and demonstrates
unmet needs for, at a minimum;

1. three of the five qualifying activities of daily living (ADLSs) with limited
hands-on assistance. Refer to Subsection 5.4.3;

2. two ADLs, one of which requires extensive assistance; or

3. two ADLs, one of which requires assistance at the full dependence level.

resides in:

1. aprivate living arrangement (primary private residence);

2. aresidential facility licensed by the State of North Carolina as an adult
care home (ACH) as defined in G.S. 131D-2.1, a combination home as
defined in G.S. 131E-101(1a); or

3. agroup home licensed under Chapter 122C of the General Statutes and
under 10A NCAC 27G .5601 as a supervised living facility for two or
more adults whose primary diagnosis is mental illness, a developmental
disability, or substance abuse dependency and is eligible to receive
personal care services under the Medicaid State Plan.

3.2.3 Medicaid Additional Criteria Covered

a.

In addition to the specific criteria in Subsection 3.2.2 of this policy, the

following criteria must be met:

1. The home environment is safe and free of health hazards for the
beneficiary and PCS provider(s), as determined by an in-home
environmental assessment conducted by NC Medicaid or a DHHS
designated contractor;

2. The residential setting has received inspection conducted by the
Division of Health Service Regulation (DHSR)

3. The place of service is safe for the beneficiary to receive PCS and for
an aide to provide PCS;

4. No other third-party payer is responsible for covering PCS;

5. No family or household member or other informal caregiver is
available, willing, and able to provide the authorized services during
those periods of time when the services are provided:;

6.  The required PCS are directly linked to a documented medical
condition or physical or cognitive impairment causing the functional
limitations requiring the PCS;

7. The beneficiary is under the ongoing direct care of a physician for the
medical condition or diagnosis causing the functional limitations; and

8.  The beneficiary is medically stable and does not require continuous
care, monitoring (precautionary observation), or supervision
(observation resulting in an intervention) by a licensed nurse or other
licensed health care professional; and

Screening for Serious Mental Iliness (SMI) in Adult Care Homes licensed

under G.S. 131D-2.4 Effective November 1, 2018 any Medicaid

beneficiary referred to or seeking admission to Adult Care Homes
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licensed under G.S. 131D-2.4 must be referred to a LME-MCO for the
Referral Screening Verification Process. Adult Care Home providers
licensed under G.S. 131D-2.4 shall not receive a PCS assessment or prior
approval without verification of a Referral Screening ID.

3.2.4 NCHC Additional Criteria Covered

None Apply.

3.3 Personal Care Services

a.

Medicaid shall cover ANY of the following Personal Care Services needs that occur
at minimum, once per week:

1.
2.

3.

Hands-on assistance to address unmet needs with qualifying ADLsS;

Set-up, supervision, cueing, prompting, and guiding, when provided as part of the
hands-on assistance with qualifying ADLS;

Assistance with home management Instrumentals of Daily Living (IADLS) that
are directly related to the beneficiary’s qualifying ADLs and essential to the
beneficiary’s care at home;

Assistance with medication when directly linked to a documented medical
condition or physical or cognitive impairment as specified in Subsection 3.2;
Assistance with adaptive or assistive devices when directly linked to the
qualifying ADLs;

Assistance with the use of durable medical equipment when directly linked tothe
qualifying ADLs; or

Assistance with special assistance (assistance with ADLSs that requires a Nurse
aide 1) and delegated medical monitoring tasks.

Medicaid may approve ANY the following additional assistance if EPSDT criteria
met for a Medicaid beneficiary under 21 years of age:

1.

2.
3.

4.

Supervision (observation resulting in an intervention) and monitoring
(precautionary observation) related to qualifying ADLSs;

Cueing, prompting, guiding, and coaching related to qualifying ADLs;
After school care if PCS tasks are required during that time and no other
individuals or programs are available to provide this service; or
Additional hours of service authorization.

3.4 Medication Assistance

Medicaid shall cover medication assistance when it is:

a.

b.

delivered in a primary private residence and consists of medication self-
administration assistance described in 10A NCAC 13J;

delivered in an adult care homes, and provides medication administration as
defined in 10A NCAC 13F and 13G; or

delivered in supervised living homes, and provides medication administration as
defined in 10A NCAC 27G.
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4.0 When the Procedure, Product, or Service Is Not Covered

Note: Refer to Subsection 2.2.1 regarding EPSDT Exception to Policy Limitations for a
Medicaid Beneficiary under 21 Years of Age.

4.1 General Criteria Not Covered

Medicaid and NCHC shall not cover procedures, products, and services related to this

policy when:

a. the beneficiary does not meet the eligibility requirements listed in Section 2.0;

b. the beneficiary does not meet the criteria listed in Section 3.0;

C. the procedure, product, or service duplicates another provider’s procedure, product,
or service; or

d. the procedure, product, or service is experimental, investigational, or part of a clinical
trial.

4.2 Specific Criteria Not Covered

4.2.1 Specific Criteria Not Covered by both Medicaid and NCHC

No specific criteria apply to both Medicaid and NCHC, as PCS applies only to
Medicaid and does not apply to NCHC.

4.2.2 Medicaid not covered specific criteria

a. Medicaid shall not cover PCS when:
1. the initial independent assessment has not been completed;

2. the PCS is not documented as completed in accordance with this clinical
coverage policy;

3. areassessment has not been completed within 30 calendar days of the
end date of the previous prior authorization period because the
beneficiary refused assessment, could not be reached to schedule the
assessment, or did not attend the scheduled assessment;

4. the PCS is provided at a location other than the beneficiary’s primary
private residence or residential setting, except when EPSDT
requirements are met as listed in Subsection 2.2;

5. the PCS exceeds the amount approved by the Independent Assessment
Entity (IAE);

6. the PCS is not completed on the date the service is billed;

7. the PCS is provided prior to the effective date or after the end date of the
prior authorized service period;

8. the PCS is provided by an individual whose primary private residence is
the same as the beneficiary’s primary private residence;

9. the PCS is performed by an individual who is the beneficiary’s legally
responsible person, spouse, child, parent, sibling, grandparent,
grandchild, or equivalent step or in-law relationship to the beneficiary;

Note: Spouses are expected to provide care for each other unless medical
documentation, work verification, or other information indicates
otherwise.
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10. family members or other informal caregivers are willing, able, and
available on a regular basis adequate to meet the beneficiary’s need for
personal care;

11. the requested services consist of treatment or training related to
behavioral problems or mental health disorders such as attention deficit
disorder or oppositional defiant behavior;

12. the requested ADL assistance consists of activities that a typical child of
the same chronological age could not safely and independently perform
without adult supervision; or

13. independent medical information does not validate the assessment, PCS
hours may be reduced, denied, or terminated based on the additional
information.

Note: PCS is not intended as a substitute for childcare, daycare, or
afterschool care. PCS is not covered for infants or children when the
personal care needs do not meet the medical necessity criteria, or the
needs are a parental responsibility or are age-appropriate needs.

Medicaid shall not cover PCS in licensed residential facilities when:
1. the beneficiary is ventilator dependent;

2. the beneficiary requires continuous licensed nursing care;

3. the beneficiary’s physician certifies that placement is no longer
appropriate;

4. the beneficiary’s health needs cannot be met in the specific licensed care
home, as determined by the residence; or

5. the beneficiary has other medical and functional care needs that cannot
be properly met in a licensed care home, as determined by NC General
Statutes and licensure rules and regulations.

Note: NC Medicaid shall allow time for the development and execution
of a safe and orderly discharge prior to PCS termination.

Medicaid shall not cover ANY of the following services under PCS:
Skilled nursing services provided by a LPN or RN;

Services provided by other licensed health care professionals;
Respite care;
Care of non-service-related pets and animals;
Yard or home maintenance work;
IADLs in the absence of associated ADLS;
Transportation;
Financial management;
Errands;
. Companion sitting or leisure activities;

. Ongoing supervision (observation resulting in an intervention) and
monitoring (precautionary observation), except when approved under
EPSDT as specified in Subsection 2.2;
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12. Personal care or home management tasks for other residents of the
household;

13. Other tasks and services not identified in the beneficiary’s Independent
Assessment and noted in their Service Plan; and

14. Room and board.

4.2.3 Medicaid Additional Criteria Not Covered

Medicaid shall not cover PCS when rendered concurrently with another
substantially equivalent Federal or State funded service. Services equivalent to
PCS are:
a. home health aide services and in-home aide services in the Community
Alternatives Programs (CAP/Children, CAP/Choice, CAP/Disabled
Adults, CAP Innovations) and;
b. Private Duty Nursing (PDN).

424 NCHC Additional Criteria Not Covered

a. None Apply.

b. NCGS 8§ 108A-70.21(b) “Except as otherwise provided for eligibility, fees,
deductibles, copayments, and other cost sharing charges, health benefits
coverage provided to children eligible under the Program shall be equivalent
to coverage provided for dependents under North Carolina Medicaid
Program except for the following:

1. No services for long-term care.

2. No nonemergency medical transportation.

3. No EPSDT.

4. Dental services shall be provided on a restricted basis in accordance with
criteria adopted by the Department to implement this subsection.”

5.0 Requirements for and Limitations on Coverage

Note: Refer to Subsection 2.2.1 regarding EPSDT Exception to Policy Limitations for a
Medicaid Beneficiary under 21 Years of Age.
5.1 Prior Approval

Medicaid shall require prior approval before rendering PCS.
5.2 Prior Approval Requirements

5.2.1 General

The provider(s) shall submit to the Department of Health and Human Services

(DHHS) Utilization Review Contractor the following:

a. the prior approval request; and

b. all health records and any other records that support the beneficiary has met
the specific criteria in Subsection 3.2.2 of this policy.

5.2.2 Specific

To be prior approved for PCS, the beneficiary shall:
a. Obtain a Physician Referral; and attestation, when applicable;
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b. Obtain a Referral Screening ID if seeking admission to, or residing in, an
adult care home licensed under G.S. 131D-2.4

c. Receive an independent assessment from the IAE;

d. Meet minimum PCS eligibility requirements;

e. Obtain a service authorization for a specified number of PCS hours per
month; and

f.  Obtain an approved service plan from the provider.

5.2.3 EPSDT Additional Requirements for PCS

Medicaid may authorize services that exceed the PCS service limitations if
determined to be medically necessary under EPSDT based on some or all
following documents submitted by the provider before PCS is rendered:

a. Work and School verification, where applicable, for the beneficiary’s
caregiver, legal guardian, or power of attorney. PCS may not cover all time
requested by caregiver for work and school that exceed full-time hours;

b. Verification from the Exceptional Children’s program per county if PCS is
being requested in school setting;

c. Health record documentation from the beneficiary’s physician, therapist, or
other licensed practitioner;

d. Physician documentation of primary caregiver’s limitation that would
prevent the caregiver from caring for the beneficiary, if applicable; or

e. Any other independent records that address ADL abilities and need for PCS.

Note: If additional information does not validate the assessment, PCS hours may
be reduced, denied, or terminated based on additional records.

5.3 Additional Limitations or Requirements

5.3.1 Monthly Service Hour Limits

a.  The following hour limits apply to a beneficiary who meets PCS eligibility
requirements and coverage criteria in this policy:
1. A beneficiary under 21 years of age may be authorized to receive up
to 60 hours of service per month; and
2. A beneficiary age 21 years and older may be authorized to receive up
to 80 hours of service per month.

b. A Medicaid beneficiary who meets the eligibility criteria in Section 3.0 of
this policy and ALL the criteria provided below is eligible for up to 50
additional hours of PCS per month for a total amount of the maximum hours
approved by the State Plan according to an independent assessment and a
service plan.

1. Requires an increased level of supervision (observation resulting in
an intervention) as assessed during an independent assessment
conducted by NC Medicaid or a DHHS designated contractor;

2. Requires caregivers with training or experience in caring for
individuals who have a degenerative disease characterized by
irreversible memory dysfunction, that attacks the brain and resultsin
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impaired memory, thinking, and behavior, including gradual memory
loss, impaired judgment, disorientation, personality change,
difficulty learning, and the loss of language skills;

3. Regardless of setting, requires a physical environment that addresses
safety and safeguards the beneficiary because of the beneficiary’s
gradual memory loss, impaired judgment, disorientation, personality
change, difficulty learning, and loss of language skill; and

4. Health record documentation or verifiable information provided by a
caregiver obtained during the independent assessment reflects a
history of escalating safety concerns related to inappropriate
wandering, ingestion, aggressive behavior, and an increased
incidence of falls.

5.4 Authority to Conduct PCS Assessments, Expedited Assessments,
Reassessments, Change of Status Reviews, Service Authorizations, and
Related Administrative Tasks

a. PCS assessments, expedited assessments, reassessments, and change of status reviews
for determining eligibility and authorizing services must be conducted by the IAE
designated by NC Medicaid.

b. In-home care and residential care provider organizations are not authorized to perform
PCS assessments for authorizing Medicaid services. Such assessments are initial
assessments of a beneficiary referred to PCS, continuing need reviews or reassessments
for PCS and change of status reviews for PCS. All beneficiaries requiring PCS
assessments for authorizing services shall be referred to the designated IAE.

€. NC Medicaid’s designated IAE shall determine the effective date and issue prior
authorization for a beneficiary approved for services.

d. The designated IAE shall determine the qualifying ADLs, the level of assistance
required for each, and the amount and scope of PCS to be provided, according to the
criteria provided in Appendix A of this clinical coverage policy.

e. The designated IAE shall determine the end date for approval of services and the date
of the next reassessment that shall be no later than 365 calendar days from the approval
date, or a shorter period of time based on the beneficiary’s chronic or continuing acute
condition and expectation for improvement in the beneficiary’s medical condition
causing the need for PCS.

f.  NC Medicaid, at its sole discretion, shall conduct a review of a beneficiary’s PCS or
order a re-assessment of the unmet need for PCS at any time.

g. When a beneficiary is contacted by the designated IAE to schedule an assessment, the
beneficiary shall respond as soon as possible. If the IAE is unable to schedule an
assessment, services will be denied.

54.1 Requirement for Qualifying Activities of Daily Living (ADLS)

PCS are provided to a Medicaid beneficiary who qualifies for coverage and has
documented unmet needs for hands-on assistance with:

a. Bathing;

b. Dressing;

c. Mobility;

d. Toileting; or
e. Eating.
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5.4.2

5.4.3

Requirement for Physician Referral

The beneficiary shall be referred to PCS by his or her primary care practitioner or

attending physician utilizing the Physician Referral approved by NC Medicaid.

a. The Physician Referral approved by NC Medicaid is the NC Medicaid-3051
PCS Request for Independent Assessment for Personal Care Services
Attestation for Medical Need.

b. Medicaid shall accept the signature of a physician, nurse practitioner or
physician assistant on the referral in accordance with G.S. 890-18.3 of the
Physician Practice Act.

c. The beneficiary or the beneficiary’s family or legally responsible person is
responsible for contacting his or her primary care or attending physician and
requesting a referral for Medicaid PCS.

d. If the beneficiary has not been seen by his or her practitioner during the
preceding 90 calendar days the referral is not processed. He or she shall
schedule an office visit to request a referral for a Medicaid PCS eligibility
assessment.

e. If the practitioner indicates that the medical diagnosis or diagnoses listed on
the PCS referral does not impact the beneficiary’s activities of daily living
(ADLSs) the request is not processed.

f. A beneficiary participating in Community Care of North Carolina (CCNC)
shall be referred for PCS by his or her designated primary care physician,
except as described in Subsection 5.4.3.f.

g. If a beneficiary does not have a primary care physician, he or she shall obtain
a referral from the practitioner who is providing the care and treatment for
the medical, physical, or cognitive condition causing the functional
limitations requiring PCS.

h. Once a referral is made by the beneficiary’s practitioner, the PCS assessment

shall be performed by an IAE Assessor at the beneficiary’s primary private
residence or residential facility.

Requirements for PCS Eligibility Assessments

a. All PCS assessments to determine beneficiary eligibility and authorized
service level shall be conducted by IAE Assessors using a standardized
process and assessment tool provided or approved by NC Medicaid.

b. All PCS assessments shall be performed by Independent Assessors.

c. All assessments for new admissions to PCS shall be face to face and
conducted in the beneficiary’s primary private residence, or residential
facility.

d. In-home assessments must contain an assessment of the beneficiary’s home
environment to identify any health or safety risks to the beneficiary or to the
PCS aides who will provide the services. Assessments in residential facilities
must report verification of a valid facility license.

Physician attestation that PCS is medically necessary is required.

f. If the beneficiary is an inpatient in a medical facility such as a hospital,
rehabilitation center, nursing facility, or in the care of Adult Protective
Services (APS), his or her physician may order the PCS assessment through
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5.4.4

the facility’s discharge planning office as described in Subsection 5.4.4,
Requirements for PCS Expedited Assessment Process. A written copy of
the order shall be placed in the beneficiary’s health record and, if requested,
must be provided to NC Medicaid or the IAE.

g. A physician, nurse practitioner or physician assistant referring a beneficiary
for PCS shall complete the PCS Request for Independent Assessment for
Personal Care Services Attestation for Medical Need form, which documents
medical necessity attestation, and submit the form to the IAE via secure
facsimile or mail. The form must be complete and provide:

1. physician authorization for the 1AE to perform a PCS assessment;

2. the medical diagnosis or diagnoses and related medical information that
result in the unmet need for PCS assistance.

3. the current diagnosis code associated with the identified medical
diagnosis; and

4. asigned and dated PCS referral Request for Independent Assessment for
Personal Care Services Attestation for Medical Need form which
contains a physician signed attestation to the medical necessity of the
service.

Home care agencies and residential providers may access the Independent
Assessment electronically by registering with the Provider Interface.

A beneficiary may receive a new assessment to determine if there is a need for a
change in PCS.

Requirements for PCS Expedited Assessment Process

To qualify for the expedited process the beneficiary shall:

a. be medically stable;

b. eligible for Medicaid or pending Medicaid eligibility;

c. have a Referral Screening ID_if seeking admission to an Adult Care
Home licensed under G.S. 131 D-2.4;

d. in process of being discharged from the hospital following a qualifying
stay;

e. in process of being discharged from a skilled nursing facility;

f.  be under adult protective services; or
be an individual served through the transition to community living
initiative.

PCS approval through the expedited process is provisional and subject to the
standard PCS assessment process within 14 business days. The provisional prior
approval must not exceed a 60 calendar day period without NC Medicaid
approval. The process requirements are:

a. The PCS expedited assessment process to determine beneficiary
eligibility and authorized service level shall be conducted by IAE
Assessors using a standardized process and assessment tool provided or
approved by NC Medicaid.
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b. The expedited process must be requested by a hospital discharge planner,
skilled nursing facility discharge planner or Adult Protective Services
(APS) Worker, LME-MCO Transition Coordinators.

c. If the beneficiary qualifies for the expedited assessment process, an
expedited assessment is conducted over the phone to determine
eligibility.

d. Ifitis determined the beneficiary provisionally qualifies for PCS, a
provider shall be identified and the hospital discharge planner, skilled
nursing facility discharge planner, or APS worker must communicate the
beneficiary's choice of provider and intended admission date to the
selected provider and the IAE.

e. A beneficiary approved through the expedited process may receive up to
60 hours of services during the provisional period. The qualifying ADLs
and the amount of service approved is indicated by the results of the
expedited assessment conducted.

f. A beneficiary receiving approval through the expedited assessment
process is authorized for services within two business days of completed
request.

g. Ifthe beneficiary’s Medicaid eligibility is pending, provisional
authorization remains pending until Medicaid eligibility is effective. If
the beneficiary is not Medicaid eligible within the 60 calendar day
provisional period, the beneficiary shall request PCS through the
standard PCS assessment process.

h. PCS Provider shall inform the IAE when a beneficiary, who is pending
Medicaid eligibility, becomes Medicaid eligible before receiving prior
approval for PCS.

545 Requirements for PCS Reassessments
a. All reassessments for continuing authorization of PCS must be conducted by
the designated IAE.

b. The IAE schedules annual reassessments to occur on or before the end of the
current services authorization date.

c. PCS providers shall report discharges to the IAE within seven business days
of the beneficiary discharge via the Provider Interface.

d. Reassessments may vary in type and frequency depending on the
beneficiary’s level of functional disability and his or her prognosis for
improvement or rehabilitation, as determined by the 1AE, but not less
frequently than once every 365 calendar days.

e. Reassessment frequency must be determined by the IAE as part of the new
referral admission and assessment process.

f. Reassessments must be conducted face-to-face.
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5.4.6

5.4.7

Requirements for PCS Change of Status Reviews

a. All Change of Status Reviews to determine changes to authorized service
levels must be conducted by the designated IAE.

b. A beneficiary may receive a Change of Status: Medical or a Change of
Status: Non-Medical

1. Change of Status: Medical Review may be requested at any time, by
the beneficiary’s practitioner or attending physician only. The date of
the last visit to the physician must be less than 90 days from the
request of the Change of Status: Medical. Change of Status: Medical
Review must be submitted by physician when the beneficiary has
experienced a change in their medical condition affecting their
activities of daily living (ADL’s)

2. Change of Status: Non-Medical Review may be requested at any
time by the beneficiary, beneficiary’s family, or legally responsible
person; home care provider; or residential provider. Change of
Status: Non-Medical Review must be submitted when the
beneficiary has experienced a change in their informal caregiver
availability or environmental condition that affects the beneficiary’s
ability to self-perform.

c. Requests for Change of Status Reviews must include documentation of the
change in the beneficiary’s medical condition, informal caregiver
availability, or environmental condition that affects the individual’s ability to
self-perform or the time required to provide the qualifying ADL assistance,
and the need for reassessment.

d. NC Medicaid or its DHHS designated contractor retains sole discretion in
approving or denying requests to conduct Change of Status reassessments.

e. Change of Status Reviews must be conducted by face-to face by the
designated IAE assessors.

Requirements for PCS Assessment and Reassessment Tools

PCS assessment and reassessment tools must be provided or approved by NC

Medicaid and designed to accomplish the following in a valid and consistent

manner:

a. Determine the beneficiary’s eligibility for PCS;

b. Determine and authorize hours of service and level of care for new PCS
referrals;

c. Determine and authorize hours of service and level of care for continuation
of PCS for each subsequent authorization period,;

d. Determine and authorize hours of services and level of care resulting from
significant changes in the beneficiary’s ability to perform their ADLsS;

Provide the basis for service plan development;
f. Support PCS utilization and compliance reviews; and

g. Support PCS quality assessment and Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI)
activities.
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5.4.8 Timelines for Assessment and Beneficiary Notification
The IAE shall notify the beneficiary of assessment and reassessment results:

a. within 14 business
b. within 14 business
c. onor before the en
d. within two busines

days of a completed initial assessment for PCS;
days of a completed change of status assessment;
d date of the completed authorization period; and
s days of an expedited assessment request for a

beneficiary with a planned discharge from a hospital or inpatient facility;
skilled nursing facility; or under adult protective services.

5.4.9 Determination of th

e Beneficiary’s ADL Self-Performance Capacities

The assessment tool must be a standardized functional assessment with all the

following components:
a.
b.
C.

Defining tasks for each of the qualifying ADLSs;
The medical diagnosis or diagnoses causing the need for the PCS;
Any exacerbating medical conditions or symptoms that may affect the ability

of the beneficiary to perform the ADLs; and

as summarized in t

A rating of the beneficiary’s overall self-performance capacity for each ADL,

he following table.

Beneficiary’s Self-
Performance Rating

Description

0 — Totally able

Beneficiary is able to self-perform 100 percent of activity,
with or without aids or assistive devices, and without
monitoring or assistance setting up supplies and
environment

1 — Needs verbal cueing or
monitoring only

Beneficiary is able to self-perform 100 percent of activity,
with or without aids or assistive devices, and requires,
monitoring, or assistance retrieving or setting up supplies
or equipment

2 — Can do with limited
hands-on assistance

Beneficiary is able to self-perform more than 50 percent
of activity and requires hands-on assistance to complete
remainder of activity

3 — Can do with extensive
hands-on assistance

Beneficiary is able to self-perform less than 50 percent of
activity and requires hands-on assistance to complete
remainder of activity

4 — Cannot do at all
(full dependence)

Beneficiary is unable to perform any of the activity and is
totally dependent on another to perform all of the activity

The PCS assessment must include a review with family members or other
caregivers present at the time of assessment of the beneficiary’s ability to
perform qualifying ADLs, the amount of assistance required, and any physical or

cognitive limitations o

r symptoms that may affect his or her ability to complete

each ADL. The IAE assessor shall receive verbal consent from the beneficiary
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before family members or other caregivers present participate in the assessment
review.

The IAE assessor shall evaluate and document the following factors for each

qualifying ADL.:

a. Beneficiary capacities to self-perform specific ADL tasks;

b. Beneficiary capacities to self-perform IADL tasks directly related to each
ADL,;

c. Use of assistive and adaptive devices and durable medical equipment;

d. Availability, willingness, and capacities of family members and other
informal caregivers to provide assistance to the beneficiary to perform
ADLs;

e. Availability of other home and community-based services and supports;

f.  Medical conditions and symptoms that affect ADL self-performance and
assistance time; and

g. Environmental conditions and circumstances that affect ADL self-
performance and assistance time.

5.4.10 Minimum Requirement for Admission to and Continuation of PCS

To qualify for admission to PCS and continuation of PCS, the beneficiary shall
meet ALL the requirements of this clinical coverage policy in addition to the
functional eligibility criteria specified in Subsection 3.2.

5.4.11 Requirements for Selecting and Changing PCS Providers

IAE assessors shall provide options to the beneficiary to select a provider
organization to provide PCS. This process must contain the following steps:

a. Each beneficiary may select at least three providers from a randomized list of
available providers that are licensed to provide home care or residential care
services in the county where he or she resides, which may include the county
in which he or she chooses to live;

b. The IAE shall make a referral to the beneficiary’s first choice of PCS
Provider; the provider will have 2 business days to accept or reject the
referral. If the provider does not accept the referral, the IAE shall make a
referral to the second provider on the beneficiary’s list and, if necessary the
third provider on the list;

c. The beneficiary may change his or her PCS Provider during the course of the
authorized service period by notifying the IAE of the desired change. A new
assessment shall not be required unless a change of status review is required:;

d. The IAE shall furnish the new provider with a copy of the assessment and
service authorization;

The new PCS Provider shall be required to develop a new service plan;

f.  The new PCS Provider shall complete the service plan within seven business
days of accepting the referral;

g. The beneficiary may request another aide to perform the PCS. The PCS
Provider shall make a reasonable attempt to accommaodate the request and

90| Page



shall document the outcome. If the request cannot be accommodated, the
Provider shall document the reasons the request cannot be accommodated:;

h. Providers shall notify the IAE of any discharges as they occur via the
Provider Interface; and

i. Beneficiaries or their representatives shall certify, in a manner prescribed by
NC Medicaid, that they have exercised their right to choose a provider of
choice and have not been offered any gifts or service-related inducements to
choose any specific provider organization.

5.5 Retroactive Prior Approval for PCS

Retroactive prior approval applies to initial requests for services. The retroactive effective
date for authorization is the request date on the Request for Independent Assessment for
Personal Care Services Attestation for Medical Need form submitted to the IAE,
providing the date is not more than 30 calendar days from the date the IAE received the
request form. If the Request for Independent Assessment for Personal Care Services
Attestation for Medical Need form is received by IAE more than 30 calendar days from
the request date on the form, the authorization is effective the date the IAE received the
form.

Retroactive prior approval does not apply, if a beneficiary requesting admission to an
Adult Care Home, licensed under G.S. 131D-2.4, has not initiated the Referral Screening
Verification Process and received a Referral Screening ID. PCS authorization may not
precede the effective date of the beneficiary’s Referral Screening ID. If the effective
Referral Screening 1D _date is not within 30 calendar days of the submission of the
Physician Referral, the Physician Referral is invalid and a new Physician Referral is
required.

5.6 Reconsideration Request for initial authorization for PCS

A beneficiary, 21 years of age or older, who receives an initial approval for less than 80
hours per month may submit a Reconsideration Request Form (NC Medicaid-3114) to the
IAE if they do not agree with the initial level of service determined, through the following
process:

a.  After receiving an initial approval for an amount of hours less than 80 hours per
month, a beneficiary must wait 30 calendar days from the date of notification to
submit a reconsideration request form. This 30 calendar day requirement does not
apply to the beneficiary’s submission of a Change of Status request, which may be
submitted at any time if the change of status criteria are met.

b.  The beneficiary must submit a reconsideration request form to increase hours above
the initial approval no earlier than 31 calendar days and no later than 60 calendar
days from the date of the initial approval notification.

c. The request for hours in excess of the initial approval that are not based on a Change
of Status must be submitted with supporting documentation that specifies, explains,
and supports why additional authorized hours of PCS are needed and which ADLs
and tasks are not being met with the current hours.

d. The Reconsideration Request form and supporting documentation should also
provide information indicating why the beneficiary believes that the prior assessment
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did not accurately reflect the beneficiary’s functional capacity or why the
prior determination is otherwise insufficient.

e. Upon receipt of a completed Reconsideration Request for additional hours a
reassessment may be scheduled or the previous assessment modified. A
reconsideration request is not considered complete without supporting documentation
as indicated in Subsection 5.6(c and d).

f.  If the reconsideration determines a need for additional PCS hours, additional hours
are authorized under clinical coverage policy 3L, State Plan Personal Care Services
(PCS). This constitutes an approval and no adverse notice or appeal rights are
provided.

g. If the reconsideration determines that the PCS hours authorized during the initial
assessment are sufficient to meet the beneficiary’s needs, an adverse decision is
issued with appeal rights.

Note: The above process does not apply to a beneficiary seeking hours as documented in
Subsection 5.3.1.b of this policy.

6.0 Provider(s) Eligible to Bill for the Procedure, Product, or Service
To be eligible to bill for procedures, products, and services related to this policy, the provider(s)
shall:
a. meet Medicaid or NCHC qualifications for participation;

b. have a current and signed Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Provider
Administrative Participation Agreement; and

c. bill only for procedures, products, and services that are within the scope of their clinical
practice, as defined by the appropriate licensing entity.

Providers shall not bill for Medicaid PCS services provided by an individual with any of the
following convictions on the criminal background check conducted in accordance with 7.10(d.1)

of this policy:

1. felonies related to manufacture, distribution, prescription or dispensing of a controlled
substance;

2. felony health care fraud;

3. felony for abuse, neglect, assault, battery, criminal sexual conduct (1%, 2" or 3 degree),

fraud or theft against a minor or vulnerable adult;

felony or misdemeanor patient abuse;

felony or misdemeanor involving cruelty or torture;

misdemeanor healthcare fraud;

misdemeanor for abuse, neglect, or exploitation listed with the NC Health Care Registry; or

any substantiated allegation listed with the NC Health Care Registry that would prohibitan
individual from working in the healthcare field in the state of NC.

© N o 0 A
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6.1 Provider Qualifications and Occupational Licensing Entity Regulations

To be eligible to bill for procedures, products, and services related to this policy,
providers shall be:

a. ahome care agency licensed by the DHSR to operate in the county or counties where
the PCS Services are being provided,;

b. aresidential facility licensed by the State of North Carolina as an adult care home as
defined in G.S. 131D-2, or a combination home as defined in G.S. 131E-101(1a); or

c. aresidential facility licensed under Chapter 122C of the General Statutes and defined
under 10A NCAC 27G.5601 as a supervised living facility for two or more adults
whose primary diagnosis is mental illness, a developmental disability, or substance
use disorder.

6.1.1 PCS Paraprofessional Aide Minimum Qualifications

PCS Aides shall be:
a. High school graduates or equivalent; or
b. Eighteen (18) years of age or older.

6.1.2 PCS Paraprofessional Aide Minimal Training Requirements

Personnel records of aides providing PCS must provide documentation of
training in, at minimum, each of the following content areas:

a. Beneficiary rights;

b. Confidentiality and privacy practices;

c. Personal care skills, such as assistance with the following ADLs:

1. Bathing;

2. Dressing;

3. Mobility;

4. Toileting; and
5. Eating.

d. In-home and Residential Care Aides providing services to beneficiaries
receiving hours in accordance with Session Law 2013-306, have training or
experience in caring for individuals who have a degenerative disease
characterized by irreversible memory dysfunction, that attacks the brain and
results in impaired memory, thinking, and behavior, including gradual
memory loss, impaired judgment, disorientation, personality change,
difficulty in learning, and the loss of language skills. Providers shall submit
an attestation to NC Medicaid that they are in compliance with this
requirement. The attestation form (NC Medicaid-3085) and instructions are
located on the NC Medicaid PCS webpage.

e. Documentation and reporting of beneficiary accidents and incidents;

Recognizing and reporting signs of abuse and neglect; and

Infection control.

«

6.1.3 Provider Interface: Web-Based Beneficiary and Provider Records
Management

The Provider Interface is a secure, web-based information system that the IAE
uses to support the PCS independent assessment process. All PCS Providers shall
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enroll in the Provider Interface. The Provider Interface allows the provider
organization to:

a. Receive and respond to PCS referrals online;

b. Access electronic copies of independent assessments documents,
referrals, and notification letters;

c. Develop and submit the PCS on-line service plan;

d. Submit Non-Medical Change of Status requests and discharge
beneficiaries online;

e. Change provider National Provider Identification (NPI) numbers for
beneficiaries who need to have their service transferred from one
provider office to another within the same agency;

f.  Enter information about counties served by the provider, if applicable;

Update billing modifiers online, if applicable;

Receive electronic notification for beneficiary once an appeal has been

entered, and the status of the appeal once it is resolved.

i. Receive electronic notification of upcoming annual assessments for
beneficiaries.

Se

6.1.4 Requirements for State Plan PCS On-Line Service Plan

Providers shall develop an on-line PCS service plan through the Provider

Interface. The following requirements for the on-line PCS service plan must

apply.

a. All IAE referrals are transmitted to provider organizations through the
Provider Interface. No mailed or faxed referrals are provided,

b. The provider organization accepting the IAE referral to provide PCS services
shall review the IAE independent assessment results for the beneficiary being
referred, and develop a PCS service plan responsive to the beneficiary’s
specific needs documented in the IAE assessment;

c. Provider organizations shall designate staff they determine appropriate to
complete and submit the service plan via the Provider Interface.

d. Each IAE referral and assessment shall require a new PCS service plan
developed by the provider organization that is based on the IAE assessment
results associated with the referral,

e. The service plan must address each unmet ADL, IADL, special assistance or
delegated medical monitoring task need identified in the independent
assessment, taking into account other pertinent information available to the
provider;

f.  The provider organization shall ensure the PCS service need frequencies
documented in the independent assessment are accurately reflected in the
PCS service plan schedule as well as any special scheduling provisions such
as weekend days documented in the assessment.

g. The provider organization shall ensure that the beneficiary or their legally
responsible person understands and, to the fullest extent possible participates
in the development of the PCS service plan.

h. Once the provider organization completes the service plan, the service plan
must be validated by the Provider Interface for consistency with the IAE
assessment, and related requirements for the service plan content.
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6.1.5

Note: For EPSDT beneficiaries, the provider organization must complete
the service plan based on the NC Medicaid nurse review of the
assessment and documents provided in accordance with Subsection
5.2.3. NC Medicaid nurse guidance will be provided to the provider
organization prior to acceptance of the referral and in the service plan.

i. The PCS service plan must be developed, and validated within seven
business days of the Provider accepting receiving the 1AE referral.

j. The provider organization shall obtain the written consent in the form of the
signature of the beneficiary or their legally responsible person within 14
business days of the validated service plan. The written consent of the service
plan must be printed out and uploaded into the Provider Interface;

k. The provider shall make a copy of the validated service plan available to the
beneficiary or their legally responsible person within three business of a
verbal request.

I.  The PCS service plan is not a plan of care as defined by the applicable
state licensure requirements that govern the operation of the provider
organizations. Provider organizations are expected to complete a separate
plan of care in accordance to licensure requirements as specified in
10ANCAC 13J, 10A NCAC 13F and 13G, and 10A NCAC 27G.

m. Provider organizations may enter PCS service plan revisions in the Provider
Interface at any time as long as the changes do not alter the aide tasks or need
frequencies identified in the corresponding IAE assessment;

n. Provider organizations may continue to request a Change of Status Review,
as described in Subsection 5.4.6b, by the IAE if there has been a significant
change that affects the beneficiary’s need for PCS since the last assessment
and service plan. Any Change of Status reassessment requires a new PCS
service plan documented in QiRePort;

0. Provider organizations shall be reimbursed only for PCS authorized hours
and services specified and scheduled in the validated PCS service plan; and,

p. Prior approval for PCS hours or units is not granted until the on-line PCS
service plan is entered into and validated by the Provider Interface.

Requirements for Aide Documentation
The provider organization accepting the referral to provide services shall:
a. Maintain documentation that demonstrates all aide tasks listed in the PCS

service plan are performed at the frequency indicated on the service planand
on the days of the week documented in the service plan;

b. Document aide services provided, to include, at minimum, the date of
service, aide tasks provided, and the aide providing the service; and;

c. Document all deviations from the service plan; this documentation shall
include, at minimum, the date care tasks not performed and reason(s) tasks(s)
were not performed. A deviation is a scheduled task that is not performed for
any reason.

d. The Provider Interface provides an option for documenting aide services and
task sheets. If a provider organization elects to use their own aide task
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worksheets, the worksheets must accurately reflect all aide tasks and
schedule documented in the online PCS service plan, task by task.

Nurse Aide Tasks

a. In-home aides may provide Nurse Aide | and Nurse Aide Il tasks under this
clinical coverage policy when they meet the training, competency evaluation,
and other professional qualifications specified in 21 NCAC 36.0403 (a) and
21 NCACE 36.0403 (b) respectively, and such tasks are specified on the
beneficiary’s service plan.

b. If a beneficiary approved for services in a primary private residence requires
Nurse Aide I tasks, the home care agency selected to provide the services
shall have this level of expertise available;

c. Residential nurse aides may provide tasks under this clinical coverage policy
when they meet the training, competency evaluation, and other professional
qualifications specified in 10A NCAC 13F and 13G and 10A NCAC 27G.

6.2 Provider Certifications
None apply.

7.0 Additional Requirements

Note: Refer to Subsection 2.2.1 regarding EPSDT Exception to Policy Limitations for a
Medicaid Beneficiary under 21 Years of Age.

7.1 Compliance

Provider(s) shall comply with the following in effect at the time the service is rendered:

a. All applicable agreements, federal, state and local laws and regulations including the
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) and record retention
requirements; and

b. All NC Medicaid’s clinical (medical) coverage policies, guidelines, policies, provider
manuals, implementation updates, and bulletins published by the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), DHHS, DHHS division(s) or fiscal
contractor(s).

Note: Providers also shall maintain all home and residential care service records as
specified in 10A NCAC 13J, 10A NCAC 13F and 13G, and 10A NCAC 27G.
7.2 Assessment Tools, Service Plans, and Forms

Providers shall utilize those assessment tools, report formats, surveys, and related
documents required by NC Medicaid.

7.3 Automated Reporting

Providers shall utilize all available Internet-based assessments, forms, reports, surveys,
and other documents required by NC Medicaid to submit information to NC Medicaid,
the IAE, the beneficiary’s physician, and other individuals or organizations designated by
NC Medicaid.
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7.4 Telephony

Providers may utilize telephony and other automated systems to document the provision
of PCS.

7.4.1 Provider Requirements
Provider agencies furnishing PCS services using telephony system shall:

a. inform the beneficiary that a telephony system is used to document the time
the PCS aide spends in the primary private residence, and the approved
personal care services provided;

b. explain to the beneficiary how the system works;

c. inform the beneficiary that calls made are not charged to his or her telephone,
and there is no cost to the beneficiary for use of this system;

d. ensure that the beneficiary agrees to participate in the telephony system prior
to implementation;

e. ensure that the beneficiary understands that he or she shall be present in the
primary private residence and receiving approved PCS in accordance with
his or her service plan between the arrival and departure times documented
by the telephony system; and

f. provide evidence that these requirements have been met by having the
beneficiary sign and date a letter or form acknowledging that he or she:

1. understands the telephony system and its purpose;
2. understands how it works, and,;

3. agrees to the use of this system to document that authorized services
were provided between the time-in and time-out calls.

Providers furnishing PCS aide services under the above-referenced programs are
required to orient all PCS aides to program requirements for service
documentation under the telephony system and the implications of submitting
inaccurate or falsified records. Upon request from NC Medicaid, provider
agencies shall provide evidence that such an orientation has been completed for
each aide.

The provider agencies shall use the beneficiary’s telephone landline to record the
exact arrival and departure time of the PCS aide. The system must be capable of
verifying that this is the beneficiary’s telephone number. When the beneficiary
does not have a telephone landline, the PCS provider may use an authorized
personal or agency cell phone. When a cell phone is used the beneficiary shall
verbally verify over the same cell phone that approved PCS were received
between the reported arrival and departure times.

These requirements must be addressed in the provider agency’s written policies
and procedures and available for review upon request by NC Medicaid.
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7.4.2  Minimum Telephony System Requirements
NC Medicaid does not approve or endorse specific types or brands of telephony
systems. The telephony system employed must provide, at a minimum, the
following functionality:
a. identifies calls made from unauthorized numbers;
b. identifies each aide through a unique and secure identification number;

c.  records essential beneficiary identification data, services provided, and
medical monitoring tasks;

d. records date of service, day of week, time in, and time out;

automatically alerts the agency when an aide fails to clock in fora
scheduled visit;

tracks aide actions and compliance with beneficiary’s service plan;
g. records deviations from approved schedule and service plan;

h.  maintains service schedules that can be cross-referenced by aide and
beneficiary;

i. employs appropriate security to prevent unauthorized manipulation of
recorded data;

j.  stores the data in an easily retrievable format;
k.  prints hard copies of reports; and
I.  meets HIPAA standards for privacy and electronic security.

The beneficiary shall not be required to sign a service log or otherwise verify that
he or she received services during the scheduled visit when a telephony system is
used. If the telephony system meets the requirements of an aide signature on the
service log, a printed hard copy with the aide signature on the log is not
necessary.

Provider agencies employing telephony systems shall take adequate precautions
to prevent loss of data, such as off-site storage of backup disks or tapes, or, if
necessary, backup hard copies of critical service and billing records to include
service logs.

The provider agencies employing telephony shall continue to comply with all
applicable federal and state statutes, rules, regulations, policies, standards, and
guidelines for recordkeeping under the PCS program. The provider agency shall
maintain a hard-copy recordkeeping system for those beneficiaries who do not
agree to participate in the telephony system, or when other circumstances prevent
its use.

7.5 Marketing Prohibition

Agencies providing PCS under this Medicaid Program are prohibited from offering gifts
or service related inducements of any kind to entice beneficiaries to choose it as their
PCS Provider or to entice beneficiaries to change from their current provider.
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7.6 NC Medicaid Compliance Reviews

1.7

7.8

The PCS Provider Organization shall:

a. Cooperate with and participate fully in all desktop and on-site quality, compliance,
prepayment, and post-payment audits that may be conducted by NC Medicaid or a
DHHS designated contractor;

b. Meet NC Medicaid requirements for addressing identified program deficiencies,
discrepancies, and quality issues through the NC Medicaid corrective action process
and any overpayment recovery or sanctioning process imposed by NC Medicaid’s
Program Integrity Section; and

c. Maintain all clinical records and billing documentation in an accessible location in a
manner that will facilitate regulatory reviews and post payment audits.

Internal Quality Improvement Program

The PCS Provider Organization shall:

a. develop, and update at least quarterly, an organizational Quality Improvement Plan or
set of quality improvement policies and procedures that describe the PCS CQI
program and activities;

b. implement an organizational CQI Program designed to identify and correct quality of
care and quality of service problems;

c. conduct at least annually a written beneficiary PCS satisfaction survey for
beneficiaries and their legally responsible person;

d. maintain complete records of all CQI activities and results;

PCS Providers shall submit by December 31 of each year an attestation to NC
Medicaid that they are in compliance with “a” through “d” of this Subsection. The
attestation form and instructions are posted on the NC Medicaid PCS website; and

f. provide these documents to NC Medicaid or a DHHS designated contractor upon
request in conjunction with any on-site or desktop quality improvement review.
Quality Improvement, Utilization Review, Pre- and Post-Payment Audits

The PCS Provider Organization shall cooperate with and participate fully with the
following NC Medicaid quality improvements, utilization reviews, and pre- and post-
payment audits:

a. Provider on-site reviews, evaluations, and audits;

Desktop reviews;

Targeted record reviews;

Beneficiary in-home and residential reviews;

Beneficiary PCS satisfaction surveys;

Reviews of attestation forms and supporting documentation;
Retroactive utilization and medical necessity reviews;

Quality of care and quality of service reviews and evaluations;
Program Integrity prepayment and post-payment reviews;

J.  Reviews of beneficiary complaints; and

k. Reviews of critical incident reports.

S@ e a0 o
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7.9 Beneficiary Health, Welfare, and Safety

The PCS Provider Organization shall:

a. implement and demonstrate compliance with all beneficiary rights and
responsibilities, as specified in L0A NCAC 13J, 10A NCAC 13F and 13G, and GS
122C; 131D;

b. maintain a comprehensive record of beneficiary complaints about the PCS; and
c. ensure that all incidents involving alleged, suspected, or observed beneficiary abuse,

neglect, or exploitation are documented and reported immediately to the county
Department of Social Services and the DHSR in accordance to N.C. G.S. 108A-102.

7.10 Provider Supervision and Staffing Requirements

a. PCS Paraprofessional Aide Supervision

The PCS provider shall provide a qualified and experienced professional, as specified

in the applicable licensure rules, to supervise PCS, and who shall be responsible for:

1. Supervising and ensuring that all services provided by the aides under his or her
supervision are conducted in accordance with this clinical coverage policy, other
applicable federal and state statutes, rules, regulations, policies and guidelines
and the provider agency’s policies and procedures;

Supervising the Provider Organization’s CQI program;
Completing or approving all service plans for assigned beneficiaries;
Implementing the service plan; and

Maintaining service records and complaint logs in accordance with state
requirements.

b. Supervisory Visits In Beneficiary Primary Private Residences

The in-home PCS provider shall ensure that a qualified RN Nurse Supervisor

conducts a RN Supervisor visit to each beneficiary’s primary private residence

location every 90 calendar days (Note: a seven calendar day grace period is allowed).

Two visits within 365 calendar days must be conducted when the in-home aide is

scheduled to be in the primary private residence. The RN Supervisor shall:

1. Confirm that the in-home aide is present or has been present as scheduled during
the preceding 90 calendar days;

2. Validate that the information documented on the aide’s service log accurately
reflects his or her attendance and the services provided:;

3. Evaluate the in-home aide’s performance;
4. Identify any changes in the beneficiary’s condition and need for PCS that may
require a change of status review;

5. Request a change of status review if the beneficiary’s service plan exceeds or no
longer meets the beneficiary’s needs for ADL assistance;

6. Identify any new health or safety risks that may be present in the primary private
residence;

SANE S

7. Evaluate the beneficiary’s satisfaction with services provided by the in-home
aide and the services performed by the home care agency;

8. Review and validate the in-home aide’s service records to ensure that:
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Documentation of services provided is accurate and complete;

Services listed in the service plan have been implemented,

Deviations from the service plan are documented;

Dates, times of service, and services provided are documented on a daily
basis;

Separate logs are maintained for each beneficiary;

All occasions when the beneficiary is not available to receive services or
refused services for any reason are documented in the service record along
with the reason the beneficiary was not available or refused services; and

G. Logs are signed by the in-home aide and the beneficiary after services are
provided on a weekly basis.

9. Document all components of the supervisory visits: the date, arrival and
departure time, purpose of visit, findings and supervisor’s signature.

OO w>»

mom

c. Supervision in Residential Settings

The residential PCS provider shall ensure that a qualified professional conducts
Supervision to each beneficiary in accordance to 10 A NCAC 13 F and 13G and 10A
NCAC 27G.

The residential PCS provider shall assure appropriate aide supervision by a qualified
professional in accordance to 10A NCAC 13F and 13G, and. 10A NCAC 27G.

d. PCS Paraprofessional Aide Training Licensure Requirements

The PCS provider shall ensure that:
1. criminal background checks are conducted on all in-home and residential care
aides before they are hired as specified in licensure requirements;

2. in-Home and Residential Care Aides hired are not listed on the North Carolina
Health Care Registry as having a substantiated finding in accordance to the
health care personnel registry G.S. 131E-256;

3. all in-home and residential aides shall meet the qualifications contained in the
applicable North Carolina Home Care, Adult Care Home, Family Care Home and
Mental Health Supervised Living Licensure Rules (10A NCAC 13J, 10A NCAC
13F and 13G, and 10A NCAC 27G); and

4. An individual file is maintained on all in-home and residential aides that
documents aide training, background checks, and competency evaluations and
provides evidence that the aide is supervised in accordance with the requirements
specified in 10A NCAC 13J, 10A NCAC 13F and 13G, and 10A NCAC 27G.

e. Staff Development and Training

The PCS Provider Organization based on licensure rules shall:

1. provide a new employee orientation for all new in-home and residential aides and
other agency employees that includes information on state rules pertaining to
home care agencies and residential providers and the requirements of this clinical
coverage policy;

2. develop, implement, and manage an ongoing staff development and training
program appropriate to the job responsibilities of agency and facility staff;
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3. provide competency training and evaluate the required competencies for in-home
aides;

4. provide competency training and evaluation for residential aides as specified in
10A NCAC 13F and 13G, and. 10A NCAC 27G;

5. maintain comprehensive records of all staff orientation and training activities;
and

6. ensure that agency directors, administrative personnel, RN nurse supervisors, and
other agency and facility personnel with management responsibilities attend
regional and on-line training programs conducted by NC Medicaid or its
designee

Appendix A: Assessment Design and Service Level Determinations
Assessment Tool Design

All PCS assessments must be conducted using a standardized functional assessment tool provided or
approved by NC Medicaid. The assessment must include documentation and evaluation of the
following:

1. Assessment identification information, reporting date, completion time, and names and
relationships of others attending;

2. Beneficiary identification information, reporting name and Medicaid ID, gender, date of birth,

primary language, contact information, and alternate contacts;

Referral summary, reporting date and practitioner name and contact information;

Diagnoses and diagnosis code related to the need for services;

5. Medications and the IAE assessor’s evaluation of the beneficiary’s ability to self-manage
medication;

6. Special diet types;

7. Availability of other supports, documenting names and relationships of informal caregivers and
their capacity and availability to provide ADL assistance, and provider names and types of other
formal supports and services;

8. Assistive devices the beneficiary uses to perform each ADL,;

9. Task needs for each ADL, documenting required assistance level and number of days per week of
unmet need for assistance;

10. TAE assessor’s overall rating of the beneficiary’s capacity to self-perform each ADL,;

11. The beneficiary’s needs for assistance with special assistance and delegated medical monitoring
tasks;

12. Conditions and symptoms that affect the time for the beneficiary to perform and an aide to assist
with the completion of the beneficiary’s qualifying ADLS;

13. Facility license date or the designated IAE assessor’s evaluation of the functional status of
primary private residence structures and utilities, safety and adequacy of the beneficiary’s
primary private residence for providing PCS, and environmental conditions and circumstances
that affect the time for the beneficiary to perform and an aide to assist with completion of the
beneficiary’s qualifying ADLS;

14. For a Medicaid beneficiary under 21 years of age, requested PCS service hours and caregiver or
facility staff report of how PCS services maintain or improve the beneficiary’s condition or
prevent it from worsening;

15. IAE assessor comments about essential information not captured elsewhere on the assessment;
and

16. The beneficiary’s preferred PCS provider.
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17. The next reassessment date identified by number of weeks.
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Service Level Determinations

1. Time is authorized for each day of unmet need for assistance with qualifying ADLs from the Daily

Minutes table as follows:

Daily Minutes for Qualifying ADLs and Medication Assistance

Beneficiary’s Overall Self-Performance Capacity
Limited Assistance Extensive Assistance Full Dependence
ADL
Bathing 35 minutes per day 50 minutes per day 60 minutes per day
Dressing 20 minutes per day 35 minutes per day 40 minutes per day
Mobility 10 minutes per day 20 minutes per day 20 minutes per day
Toileting 25 minutes per day 30 minutes per day 35 minutes per day
Eating 30 minutes per day 45 minutes per day 50 minutes per day
Medication Assistance
Routine Routine Poly pharmacy
Reminders/ Administration, Administration and/or
Set-Up/Supervision 8 or Fewer Plus PRN Complex
10 minutes per day 20 minutes per day 40 minutes per day 60 minutes per day

Notes: Eating ADL includes meal preparation and preparation of textured-modified diets. When basic
meal preparation is covered under services paid for by State/County Special Assistance then
assistance with clean-up and basic meal preparation services that duplicate State/County Special
Assistance (Section M — Eating and Meal Preparation tasks 6-9 of the PCS independent assessment
tool) will be scored as needs met. Time may be authorized for Medication Assistance services that are

allowed by state law.

time is increased to 60 minutes per day of unmet need for assistance.

If the total time assigned for all qualifying ADLs and IADLSs is less than 60 minutes per day, total

Additional time, up to 25%, may be authorized for exacerbating conditions and symptoms that affect

the beneficiary’s ability to perform and/or the time required to assist with the beneficiary’s qualifying
ADLSs as identified by the independent assessment. For ALL conditions affecting the beneficiary’s
ability to perform ADLs, no more than 25% of additional time is provided.

Additional time, up to 25%, percent may be authorized for environmental conditions and

circumstances that affect the beneficiary’s qualifying ADLs as identified by the independent
assessment. For ALL conditions affecting the beneficiary’s ability to perform ADLs, no morethan
25% of additional time is be provided.

In accordance with Session Law 2013-306, up to 50 additional hours of PCS services may be

authorized to a beneficiary if: 1) The beneficiary requires an increased level of supervision. 2) The
beneficiary requires caregivers with training or experience in caring for individuals who have a
degenerative disease, characterized by irreversible memory dysfunction, that attacks the brain and
results in impaired memory, thinking, and behavior, including gradual memory loss, impaired

judgment, disorientation, personality change, difficulty in learning, and the loss of language skills. 3)
Regardless of setting, the beneficiary requires a physical environment that includes modifications and
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safety measures to safeguard the recipient because of the beneficiary's gradual memory loss, impaired
judgment, disorientation, personality change, difficulty in learning, and the loss of language skills. 4)
The beneficiary has a history of safety concerns related to inappropriate wandering, ingestion,
aggressive behavior, and an increased incidence of falls. Once ALL these conditions are met, as
shown by the Physician’s Attestation and as verified by the independent assessment, additional hours
may be approved for any of the exacerbating conditions outlined in Session Law 2013-306 as
assessed in Sections D and O of the independent assessment.

a. If one exacerbating condition is present, up to 10 hours additional per month will be
approved.

b.  If two exacerbating conditions are present up to 20 hours additional per month will be
approved.

C. If three exacerbating conditions are present, up to 30 hours additional per month will be
approved.

d. If four exacerbating conditions are present, up to 40 hours additional per month will be
approved.

e. If five or more exacerbating conditions are present, up to 50 hours additional per month

will be approved

6. The total authorized service hours per month may not exceed 60 for children under 21 years of age,
unless the requested services are approved under EPSDT.

7. Total authorized PCS hours may only exceed 80 hours per month for adults, if there is present:
a) a physician attestation of need for expanded hours; and
b) qualifying criteria as established above. In no case will PCS hours exceed the maximum of 130
hours per month.
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Attachment A: Claims-Related Information

Provider(s) shall comply with the, NC Tracks Provider Claims and Billing Assistance Guide, Medicaid
bulletins, fee schedules, NC Medicaid’s clinical coverage policies and any other relevant documents for
specific coverage and reimbursement for Medicaid and NCHC:

A. Claim Type
Professional (CMS-1500/837P transaction)

B. International Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, Tenth
Revisions, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) and Procedural Coding System (PCS)

Provider(s) shall report the ICD-10-CM and Procedural Coding System (PCS) to the highest level
of specificity that supports medical necessity. Provider(s) shall use the current ICD-10 edition and
any subsequent editions in effect at the time of service. Provider(s) shall refer to the applicable
edition for code description, as it is no longer documented in the policy.

C. Code(s)

Provider(s) shall report the most specific billing code that accurately and completely describes the
procedure, product or service provided. Provider(s) shall use the Current Procedural Terminology
(CPT), Health Care Procedure Coding System (HCPCS), and UB-04 Data Specifications Manual
(for a complete listing of valid revenue codes) and any subsequent editions in effect at the time of
service. Provider(s) shall refer to the applicable edition for the code description, as it is no longer
documented in the policy.

CPT Code(s)
99509

If no such specific CPT or HCPCS code exists, then the provider(s) shall report the procedure,
product or service using the appropriate unlisted procedure or service code.

Unlisted Procedure or Service

CPT: The provider(s) shall refer to and comply with the Instructions for Use of the CPT
Codebook, Unlisted Procedure or Service, and Special Report as documented in the current CPT in
effect at the time of service.

HCPCS: The provider(s) shall refer to and comply with the Instructions for Use of HCPCS

National Level 1l codes, Unlisted Procedure or Service and Special Report as documented in the
current HCPCS edition in effect at the time of service.

106 |Page



Modifiers

Provider(s) shall follow applicable modifier guidelines.

Providers Modifier(s)
Any beneficiary Under 21 Years regardless of setting HA
In-Home Care Agencies, Beneficiary 21 Years and Older HB
Adult Care Homes HC
Combination Homes TT
Special Care Units SC
Family Care Homes HQ
Supervised Living Facilities for adults with MI/SA HH
Supervised Living Facilities for adults with 1/DD HI
Billing Units

Provider(s) shall report the appropriate code(s) used which determines the billing unit(s).
1 unit of service = 15 minutes

PCS follows wage and hour requirements for rounding billing units (7/8 rule).
Place of Service

PCS is provided in the beneficiary’s primary private residence or a residential facility licensed by
the State of North Carolina as an adult care home, a family care home, a combination home, or a
supervised living facility for adults with intellectual disabilities, developmental disabilities or
mental illness.

Beneficiaries under 21 years of age approved for PCS under EPSDT may receive services in the
home, school, or other approved community settings. Refer to Subsection 5.2.3.
Co-payments

For Medicaid refer to Medicaid State Plan:
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/get-involved/nc-health-choice-state-plan

For NCHC refer to NCHC State Plan:
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/get-involved/nc-health-choice-state-plan

Reimbursement

Provider(s) shall bill their usual and customary charges.
For a schedule of rates, refer to: https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/
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Appendix E: NC Medicaid-3085 PCS Training Attestation
Form and Instructions

Morth Carolina Depariment of Health and Human Services-NC Medicaid

SESSION LAW 2013-306
PCS TRAINING ATTESTATION FORM

Send completed form, and supporiing documentation, to NC Medicaid at Medicaid PCSTraining@lists_ncmail.net. For questions, contact
919-355-4360, or send an email to PCS_Program_Questionsi@dhhs.nc.gov.

PROVIDER TYFE [select one): DATE OF SUBMISSION: (mmiddiyyyy)
[] Home Care Agency DFam Iy Care Home [ Adult Care Home [adutt Care Bed in Mursing Facility [CIsLF-5800a
[[] SLF-5600c [CJSeecial Care Unit {stand-akone SCU or SCU bed) [CMen-Provider:

PART I: SUBMITTER INFORMATION

Hational Provider ldentifier (MP1#):

Provider Name:

Submitter Mame: First: Last: ML
Address: ity

County: Zip: (zip code + 4 digit ecdension) Phone:

Suite: Email: Fax (If &pplicable):

PART Il: TRAINER QUALIFICATIONS

- Check the box to the left if you have attached additional documentation for this section.
List Traimer Qualifications.

PART lll: CURRICULUM OUTLINE

- Check the box to the left if you have attached additional documentation for this section.

Owtline the structure and training methodology. Include goals, core competencies, and skills validation.

SUBMITTER SIGNATURE: DATE: (mmiddiyyyy}

( / f )

MC Medicaid-3085 Session Law 2013-208 PCS Training Attestation Form 2018
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Maorth Carclina Depariment of Health and Human Semvices-NC Medicaid

SESSION LAW 2013-306
PCS TRAINING ATTESTATION FORM
INSTRUCTIONS

These instructions offer guidance for completing the Personal Care Services (PCS) Session Law 2013-
306 Training Attestation Form, NC Medicaid-3085 and should be read in its entirety before completing the
form. This form should OMLY be used to by Providers to attest to their compliance with NC Aide Training

Requirements, per Session Law 2013-306. Completed Attestation Forms should be submitted
electronically to NC Medicaid via medicaid. pcstraining@lists.ncmail.net.

In accordance to Session Law 2013-306; Providers serving beneficiaries seeking additional hours of PCS due
to Alzheimer's, or other Memory Care complications, are required to have caregivers with training or
experience in caring for individuals who have a degenerative disease characterized by irreversible memory
dysfunction that attacks the brain and results in impaired memory, thinking, and behavior, including gradual
memory loss, impaired judgment, disorientation, personality change, difficulty learning, and the loss of
language skills.

NC Medicaid's PCS program committee requires that Providers attest to their aide training curriculum by
submitting the NC Medicaid-3085 to NC Medicaid for recordkeeping.

Select the Provider Type for the provider employing the Alzheimers and Memory Care Training. Enter the
Date of Submission in the outlined format. If insufficient space is provided, attach additional documents.

PART | - SUBMITTER INFORMATION:
1. Aftestation forms cannot be processed if they are missing any of the information listed below:

« Mational Provider |dentifier (MPI#) = Address (Include: City, State, Zip. and County)
* Provider Name +« Contact Phone Number

+ Submitter Mame (i.e., First, Last) = Contact Email

PART Il —- TRAINER QUALIFICATIONS:

1. Ifthe training curriculum has a written component outlining the Trainer qualifications it can be
supplied along with the form to provide additional information for this section. If additional materials,
related to this section are included, the check box at the top of Part Il should be checked.

2. The qualifications required for a Trainer to teach using the named training curriculum should be listed
in the supplied area in Part Il. List the trainer gualifications as accurately as possible.

PART Il - CURRICULUM QUTLINE:
1. If the training curriculum has a written outline describing the structure and training methodology it can
be supplied along with the form to provide additional information for this section. If additional
materials related to this section are included, the check box at the top of Part 1ll should be checked.

2. The curriculum must include training goals, core competencies, and skills validation, in addition to
general training methodology.

SUBMISSION, REVIEW, AND ACKNOWLEGEMENT
1. Send completed form and supporting documentation to NC - Medicaid at
Medicaid PCSTraining@lists.ncmail.net. Do not submit directly to Medicaid Staff.
Upon receipt of the completed form, an auto-reply email is sent confirming successful submission.
Submissions received by 5pm Wednesday will be reviewed the following Monday.
Incomplete submissions will not be processed.
MC Medicaid's PCS Program Committee will review submitted attestations and send an
acknowledgement within 3 business days.

o M

MG Medicaid-3085 |
1212018
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Appendix F: NC Medicaid-3136 Internal Quality
Improvement Program Attestation Form and Instructions

MN.C. Department of Health and Human Services — NC Medicaid
INTERNAL QUALITY IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM ATTESTATION FORM

Completed form should be submitted via email to NC Medicaid at Medicaid PCSQualityimprovementi@lists. nemail.net. For
questions, contact 919-355-4360 or send an email fo PC5_Program_Questions{@dhhs.nc.gov.

SUBMISSION REQUIREMENT 3

PCS Providers shall submit this Attestation to NC Medicaid by December 315t of each year certifying compliance with
“a" through “d" of Clinical Coverage Policy 3L Section 7.7 by initialing each of the tems described below.

PROVIDER TYPE (=elect one)

[7] Home Care Agency [ Family Care Home [ sauit Care Home Olaauit Care Bed in Mursing Facility [ClsLF-5800a
Osir 58000 Ol=pecial Care Unit (stand-alone Spegial Care Unit or SCUbsd) =[] Mon-Provider:

SUBMITTER INFORMATION

NPI:

Provider Name:

Address: City: _ _
County: Zip: (zip code + 4-digit extension) Phone:

Suite: Email: Fax (If Applicable):

INTERNAL QUALITY IMPROVEMENT REQUIREMENT S CumicaL Coverace Pouicy 3L Secmion 7.7

a. Develop, and update at least quarterdy, an organizational Quality Improvement Flan or set of quality
improvement policies and procedures that describe the PCS CQI program and activities;

b. Implement an organizational CCY Program designed to identify and comect quality of care and quality of
service problems;

c. Conduct at least annually a written beneficiary PCS =satisfaction survey for beneficiaries and their
legally responsible person;

d. Maintain complete records of all CQM activities and results

Person Completing this Form:

Mame (Printed) Title

Signature Date (mm/ddfyyyy)
(LEGIELY SIGN YOUR MAME, STAMPS and ELECTRONIC SIGNATURES ARE MOT ACCEPTAEBLE FOR THIS FORM.)
| hereby attest that | am in compliance with the items described in Clinical Coverage Policy 3L Section 7.7. 1 also agree to provide any

of the referenced documents to NC Medicaid, or a DHHS designated contractor upon request in conjunclicn with any on-site or deskiop
quality improvement review.

NC Medicaid-3126 INTERNAL QUALITY IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM ATTESTATION FORM 172019
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NC Medicaid
NC MEDICAID-31361
INTERNAL QUALITY IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM ATTESTATION FORM

INSTRUCTIONS

These instructions offer guidance for completing the Internal Quality Improvement Program Attestation
Form and should be read in its entirety before completing the form. This form should OMLY be used by
Providers to attest to their compliance with Clinical Coverage Policy 3L Section 7.7 Intemal Guality
Improvement Program. Completed Attestation Forms should be submitted electronically to NC Medicaid

via Medicaid. FCEQualitylmprovementi@lists.ncmail.net.

In accordance to Clinical Coverage Policy 3L Section 7.7 Internal Quality Improvement Program,
Providers serving beneficiaries receiving PCS are required to complete and adhere to an organizational
Quality Improvement Plan or set of guality improvement policies and procedures.

The NC Medicaid PCS program committee requires that Providers attest to items a. through d. of the
Internal Quality Improvement Section of PCs Policy 3L and submit the form to NC Medicaid for
recordkeeping.

PROVIDER TYPE
Aftesting Providers must indicate on the form which of the general Provider cohort designations fit their
organization.

SUBMITTER INFORMATION

Aftestation forms cannot be processed if they are missing any of the information listed below:
+ National Provider Identifier #

Provider Mame

Provider/Requestor Address (including city, state, and zip)

County

Contact Phone Mumber

Contact Fax Number (if applicable)

Contact Email

INTERNAL QUALITY IMPROVEMENT REQUIREMENTS
Aftesting Providers must review each reqguirement before initialing each item individually in the area
provided.

SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS
The NC Medicaid-3136 Internal Quality Improvement Program Attestation form must be completed,
signed, and dated on or before December 31% for each calendar year.

Example: Attestation forms for 2015 are due to NC Medicaid on or before December 312, 2015.

Attestation forms should not be submitted prior to the completion of requirements which include
continuous guality improvement programs and activities conducted at least quarterly.

Complete the NC Medicaid-3136 and submit by email, or U.S. mail as noted below.

Email: Medicaid. PCSQualitylmprovementi@lists.ncmail.net
Mail to: Personal Care Services

NC Medicaid

2501 Mail Service Center

Faleigh, NC 27699-2501
Do not submit materials directly to Medicaid Staff.

NC Medicaid-3136 |
172019
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Appendix G: NC Medicaid-3114 Request for
Reconsideration of PCS Authorization and Instructions

Request for Reconsideration of PCS Authorization

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services — NC Medicaid

Following an initial PCS Service Authorization for less than 80 hours per month, beneficiaries 21 years of age or
older, may submit a Request for Reconsideration of PCS Authorization form to request additional hours.
Reconsideration request must be received no earlier than 31 calendar days and no later than 60 calendar days from
the date of the initial approval notification.

Completed form should be submitted to Liberty Healthcare Corporation-NC via fax to 919-322-5942 or 855-740-
0200. For questions, call 855-740-1400 or 919-322-5944. Incomplete or illegible forms will not be processed.

Section A: Beneficiary Information
Beneficiary Demographics

Name: First: MI: Last: DOB:
Medicaid ID: Contact Number:
Address (if Different from Initial Request):

City: County: Zip:
Alternate Contact (optional)
Name: First: MI: Last:
Relationship to Beneficiary: Phone:

Section B: Reconsideration

Please specify which ADL(s) and Task(s) are not being supported by the current authorized hours of PCS.
Bathing

Dressing

Mobility

Toileting

Eating

Other — If other, describe

oooggg

Section C: Supporting Documentation

Supporting documentation must be submitted that specifies, explains, and supports why more authorized
hours of PCS are needed and which ADL(s) and Task(s) are not being met by the current hours. The
documentation should also provide information indicating why the beneficiary believes that the prior
assessment did not accurately reflect the beneficiary’s functional capacity or why the prior determination is
otherwise insufficient.

/ /
Signature of Medicaid Beneficiary or Legal Guardian/POA Date
Name (Print) Relationship to Beneficiary

DMA 3114
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These instructions offer guidance for completing the Request for Reconsideration of PCS Authorization Form NC
Medicaid-3114 and should be read in its entirety before completing the form. This form should ONLY be used by
beneficiaries, 21 years of age or older, following an initial PCS Service Authorization for less than 80 hours per
month. Completed Reconsideration of PCS Authorization Forms should be submitted no earlier than 31 calendar
days and no later than 60 calendar days from the date of the initial approval notification to Liberty Healthcare
Corporation-NC via fax to 919-322-5942 or 855-740-0200.

[7/1/2016]

In accordance with Pettigrew v. Brajer; A Reconsideration may be requested by a beneficiary that is 21 years and
older who receives an initial approval for less than 80 PCS hours per month. The Reconsideration request is a
request to increase hours above the initial approval and may be submitted if the beneficiary does not agree with the
initial level of service as determined. The Reconsideration process does not apply to beneficiaries seeking hours in
accordance with Subsection 5.3.1b of the PCS Policy 3L.

Requests for reconsideration will not be processed if they are missing any of the information listed below:

Section A: Beneficiary Information
e Beneficiary Name (i.e., First, Last)
e Date of Birth (DOB)
e Medicaid ID
e Contact Telephone Number
e Address
e Alternate Contact Information (Optional)

Section B: Reconsideration
e Place a check mark (v') in each box () that represents the ADL(s) or Task(s) that are not being supported
by the current authorized hours of PCS.
o |If ADL(s) or Task(s) listed do not represent your need for reconsideration, write a short description of why
you are requesting this reconsideration.

Section C: Supporting Documentation

¢ When submitting the Request for Reconsideration of PCS Authorization Form DMA-3114, supporting
documentation must also be faxed.

e Supporting documentation must specify, explain, and support why additional hours of PCS are needed and
which ADL(s) and Task(s) are not being met with the current hours.

e Supporting documentation should also provide information indicating why the beneficiary believes that the
prior assessment did not accurately reflect the beneficiary’s functional capacity or why the prior
determination is otherwise insufficient.

Complete the Request for Reconsideration of PCS Authorization Form DMA-3114 and submit via fax along with
any required materials as noted on the form.

Liberty Healthcare Corporation
919-322-5942 or 855-740-0200

Review and Acknowledgment

Nurse reviewers from Liberty Healthcare Corporation-NC will evaluate submitted Request for Reconsideration of
PCS Authorization Forms and supporting documentation.

Incomplete, lllegible, or requests submitted without supporting documentation as indicated above, will not be
processed. A reconsideration request is not considered complete without supporting documentation as indicated in
PCS Policy 3L 5.6(c and d).
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Appendix H:

Provider Resources and Contact Information

NCIA Operations Quick Reference Contact List

Administrative
Hearings/OAH

Fax: 919-431-3100

Name/Department Phone No. Web address Description
Phone: 919-431-
Office of the 3000 Verify if appeal has been received; Update phone number for

appeal during mediation hearing

Attorney General’s
office/AG’s office

Phone: 919-814-
0203

Fax: 919-715-3100

Status of ROM assessment; Changes that needs to be made when
the appeal went to IMPASSE

NC
Medicaid/PCS/EPSDT

919-855-4360

Can answer questions about clinical policy and program
guidelines for PCS program as well as provide information
regarding ongoing EPSDT cases.

NC Medicaid
Provider
Reimbursement

919-814-0060

Questions regarding PCS rate changes

Program Integrity

800-662-7030 or
877-362-8471

https://medicaid.nc

dhhs.gov/notices/o

cpifraud-waste-
and-abuse

File complaints regarding: Medicaid Fraud, Waste, and Abuse

CAP/DA and CAP/C

919-855-4340

CAP Program for Disabled Adults and Children

Provider Services

919-855-4050
(Automated
System)

https://medicaid.nc
dhhs.gov/providers

Questions regarding Enrollment Issues, Community Care of NC
Carolina Access Questions, Onsite Visits, Fingerprinting

Recipient Services

919-855-4000

Recipient Eligibility Policy, Medicaid Covered Services to
Recipients, Claims Analysis, General Health Choice and Medicaid
Information

Local DSS Offices

Must look up by
County

Beneficiary assistance with Medicaid (includes enrollment and
eligibility)

Department of
Health and Human
Services Customer

Service (DHHS)

Center

800-662-7030

www.ncdhhs.gov

Links callers to information on Medicaid, Health Choice,
Resources for Army Veterans, Food Stamps, Medicare, Social
Security, Mental Health/SA, Community Health Issues

VieBridge

888-705-0970

www.qgireport.net

Tech Support for QiRePort

Medicaid Provider
Enrollment

Phone: 800-688-
6696

https://www.nctra
cks.nc.gov/content

NC Tracks provider enrollment
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https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/notices/ocpifraud-waste-and-abuse
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/notices/ocpifraud-waste-and-abuse
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/notices/ocpifraud-waste-and-abuse
https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/notices/ocpifraud-waste-and-abuse
http://www.qireport.net/
https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-enrollment.html
https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-enrollment.html

/public/providers/p

rovider-
enrollment.html

Fax: 919-851-4014

E-Mail:
NCTracksprovider
@nctracks.com

NC Tracks

800-688-6696

Questions regarding claim denials, how to bill for services, PCS
payments

NC DHHS/Automated
Response System
(Medicaid IVR
System)

800-723-4337

Medicaid enrollment, eligibility, service limits, check write
information, DPH PA status, or coverage information for
beneficiaries

Liberty Healthcare

855-740-1400 or
919-322-5944

Address: 5540
Centerview Dr.
Suite 114 Raleigh,
NC 27606

WWwWWw.nc-pcs.com

Independent Assessment Entity

CCME

800-228-3365

Assessments conducted prior to October 2013

DHSR: Acute and
Home Care Licensure
and Certification

919-855-4620

http://www.ncdhhs

.gov/dhsr/ahc/inde
Xx.html

Questions regarding home care licensure or certification (facility
and agency licensure requirements)

NC Board of Nursing

919-782-3211

For questions or information on NC Nursing qualifications and
licensures (RN, CNA, PCS license requirements)

Medicaid
Transportation
Coordinator

919-855-4000

Transportation to Medical appointments

RSVP

Stacey Lee 919-
715-2056 or
Tamara Smith
919-715-2228

https://www.social
serve.com/nc/rsvp

Questions pertaining to the RSVP process

NC PASRR Hkelp
Desk

888-245-0179 or
919-813-5550 Fax
919-224-1072

PASRR related questions
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https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-enrollment.html
https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-enrollment.html
https://www.nctracks.nc.gov/content/public/providers/provider-enrollment.html
http://www.nc-pcs.com/
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ahc/index.html
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ahc/index.html
http://www.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ahc/index.html
https://www.socialserve.com/nc/rsvp
https://www.socialserve.com/nc/rsvp

Appendix I: Commonly Used Acronyms

ADL Activity of Daily Living
ACH Adult Care Home
APS Adult Protective Services
AG Attorney General
cop Change of Provider
Cos Change of Status
CMS Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
DHB Department of Health Benefits
DHHS Department of Health and Human Services
EVV Electronic Visit Verification
1A Independent Assessment
IADL Instrumental Activities of Daily Living
IAE Independent Assessment Entity
IHC In-Home Care
LHC Liberty Healthcare Corp.
MCOS Medical Change of Status
MID Medicaid Identification Number
MOS Maintenance of Service
NR New Referral
OAH Office of Administrative Hearings
OCPI Office of Compliance and Program Integrity
PA Prior Approval
PASRR Pre-Admission Screening and Resident Review
PCS Personal Care Services
PDN Private Duty Nursing
POA Power of Attorney
POC Plan of Care
QiR QiRePort
RSID Referral Screening Identification
RSVP Referral Screening Verification Process
SNF Skilled Nursing Facility
SP Service Plan
TCLI Transitions to Community Living Initiative
TD Technical Denial
VB VieBridge
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Manual Implementation and History
Original Effective Date: October 2014

History:
Date Section Revised Change
May Provider Manual — | “May 2015”
2015 Cover Page
May Contents Page 2; “Request for Independent Assessment for PCS”
2015 Chapter 2:
May Contents Page 2; “New Request for Independent Assessment for PCS...”
2015 Chapter 2.1
May Contents Page 3; “Request for Independent Assessment for PCS”
2015 Appendix A:
May Contents Page 3; “Medicaid PCS Beneficiary Participation Guide”
2015 Appendix B:
May Contents Page 3; “DMA 3136 Internal Quality Improvement Program Attestation Form”
2015 Appendix F added:
May Contents Page 3; “Appendix G: Provider Resources and Contact Information”
2015 Appendix G
May Page 6; Heading, “...will not receive PCS without verification of an ACH PASRR number.”
2015 “Additional
general program
requirements
include:” (last
bullet)
May Page 7; Personal “...tasks and services that needs to occur at minimum, once per week:”
2015 Care Services; first
sentence; add’l
information at the
end
May Page 7; Personal “4...causing the functional limitations requiring the PCS”
2015 Care Services; #4;

deleted
information
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May Page 7; Personal “1 ...and monitoring (precautionary observation) related to qualifying ADLs;”
2015 Care Services;
under EPSDT
criteria; #1; add’l
information
May Page 7; Personal “2...and coaching related to qualifying ADL’s:
2015 Care Services;
under EPSDT
criteria; #2; add’l
information
May Page 7; “Medicaid shall cover medication assistance when it is:”
2015 Medication
Assistance; first
sentence revised
May Page 7; “1. Directly linked to a documented medical condition or physical or cognitive
2015 Medication impairment causing the functional limitations requiring the PCS;”
Assistance; #1
deleted
May Page 8; “NOTE” “A beneficiary may not receive PCS and another substantially equivalent federal or
2015 revised to read state funded in conjunction with another substantially equivalent Federal or State
funded service. Examples of equivalent services include home health aide services
and in-home aide services in the Community Alternatives Programs (CAP/Disabled
Adults, CAP/Children, CAP/Choice, and CAP Innovations. This restriction also
includes any other federal or state funded service that provides hands-on
assistance with ADLs.”
May Page 8; under the | “8.The PCSis provided by an individual whose primary private residence is the
2015 heading: same as the beneficiary’s primary residence;”
Medicaid does not
cover Personal
Care Services
(PCS) when; #8
revised to read
May Page 10; under “...for each beneficiary who requests an independent assessment to be considered
2015 the heading PCS for PCS.”

Independent
Assessment
Completion
Process Overview;
first para
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May Page 10; under 1. “1. PCS Request — The beneficiary has their primary care physician or attending
2015 the heading PCS physician complete the DMA Form 3051 Request for Independent Assessment
Independent for Personal Care Services and send it to LHC-NC for processing.
Assessment
Completion
Process Overview;
#1 revised to read
May Page 10; under 6. Provider Acceptance and Notification — If it is determined that the beneficiary is
2015 the heading PCS eligible for personal care services; the selected provider will be sent a request for
Independent service form to accept or reject the beneficiary’s request. Once the provider
Assessment accepts the beneficiary for care and completes a service plan, a formal notification
Completion is sent to the beneficiary and to the provider and PCS services may begin.
Process Overview;
#6 revised to read
May Page 11; 1.1 1. Have acurrent and signed Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)
2015 General Provider Administrative Participation Agreement;
Requirements; #2, 2. Bill only for procedures, products, and services that are within the scope of
43 and #4 revised their cllnlca! prgc?tlce, as c.ieflr.med by the fapproprlate licensing entity; and
3. Ensure any individual delivering Medicaid PCS does not have any of the
to read following findings on their background check:
a. 1. felonies related to manufacture, distribution, prescription or
dispensing of a controlled substance;
b. 2. felony health care fraud;
C. 3. more than one felony conviction;
d. 4. felony for abuse, neglect, assault, battery, criminal sexual conduct
(1st, 2nd or 3rd degree), fraud or theft against a minor or vulnerable
adult;
e. b5.felony or misdemeanor patient abuse;
f. 6. felony or misdemeanor involving cruelty or torture;
g. 7.misdemeanor healthcare fraud;
h. 8. misdemeanor for abuse, neglect, or exploitation listed with the NC
Health Care Registry; or
i. 9.any substantiated allegation listed with the NC Health Care Registry
that would prohibit an individual from working in the healthcare field in
the state of NC.
May Page 12; 1.4 3. Completion and approval of all service plans for assigned beneficiaries;
2015 Supervision of PCS
Aides; #3 and #4 4. Implementing the service plan;
revised to read
May Page 13; 1.5 5..."beneficiary’s service plan exceeds and/or no longer meets the beneficiary’s
2015 Supervisory Visits | needs for ADL assistance.”

in Beneficiary
Private
Residences; The
RN Supervisor
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shall; #5 revised to

read
May Page 13; 1.5 8a. Services listed in the service plan have been implemented;
2015 Supervisory Visits ) o
in Beneficiary 8b. Service plan deviations are documented;
Private
Residences; The
RN Supervisor
shall; #8b and #8c
revised to read
May Page 14; 1.7 PCS ..."”(legally responsible person, spouse, parents, siblings, grandparents,...”
2015 Aides; 2" para
added to sentence
May Page 15; 1.11 The provider organization accepting the referral to provide services shall:
2015 Requirements for
Aide v" Maintain documentation that demonstrates all aide tasks listed in the PCS
. service plan are performed at the frequency indicted on the service plan
Documentation; and on the days of the week documented in the service plan;
section revised to Document aide services provided, to include, at minimum, the date of
read service, care tasks provided, and the aide providing the service; and
Document all deviations from the service plan; this documentation shall
include, at minimum, care tasks not performed and reason tasks were not
performed.

v" The Provider Interface provides an option for documenting aide
services and task sheets. If a provider organization elects to use their
own aide task worksheets, the worksheets must accurately reflect all
aide tasks and schedule documented in the online PCS service plan,
task by task.

May Page 16 and Page | 1.12 PCS On-line Service Plan
2015 17; 1.12 PCS; title

and section
revised to read

Al IAE referrals are transmitted to provider organizations through the
Provider Interface. No mailed or faxed referrals are provided,;

b. The provider organization accepting the IAE referral to provide PCS
services shall review the IAE independent assessment results for the
beneficiary being referred, and develop a PCS service plan responsive to
the beneficiary’s specific needs documented in the IAE assessment;

c. Provider organizations shall designate staff they determine appropriate
to complete and submit the service plan via the Provider Interface.

d. Each IAE referral and assessment shall require a new PCS service plan
developed by the provider organization that is based on the IAE
assessment results associated with the referral;

e. The service plan must address each unmet ADL, IADL, special
assistance or delegated medical monitoring task need identified in the
independent assessment, taking into account other pertinent information
available to the provider;

f. The provider organization shall ensure the PCS service need frequencies
documented in the independent assessment are accurately reflected in
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

the PCS service plan schedule as well as any special scheduling provisions
such as weekend days documented in the assessment;

g. The provider organization shall ensure that the beneficiary or their
legally responsible person understands and, to the fullest extent possible,
participates in the development of the PCS service plan;

h. The provider organization shall obtain the written consent of the
beneficiary or their legally responsible person to the proposed PCS
service plan. The written consent must be reported in the PCS service
plan documentation included in the Provider Interface;

i. Once the provider organization completes the service plan, the service
plan must be validated by the Provider Interface for consistency with the
IAE assessment and related requirements for the service plan content;

j. The PCS service plan must be developed, validated and agreed to by the
beneficiary or their legally responsible person within three (3) business
days of receiving the IAE referral or notice of service authorization via the
Provider Interface, or by the date requested by the beneficiary,
whichever is later; the provider shall make a copy of the validated service
plan available to the beneficiary or their legally responsible person within
2 business days of a verbal request;

k. The PCS service plan is not a plan of care as defined by the applicable
state licensure requirements that govern the operation of the provider
organizations. Provider organizations are expected to complete a
separate plan of care in accordance to licensure requirements as
specified in 10ANCAC 13J, 10A NCAC 13F and 13G, and 10A NCAC 27G.

. Provider organizations may enter PCS service plan revisions in the
Provider Interface at any time as long as the changes do not alter the aide
tasks or need frequencies identified in the corresponding IAE assessment;
m. Provider organizations may continue to request a Change of Status
Review, as described in Subsection 5.4.6b, by the IAE if there has been a
significant change that affects the beneficiary’s need for PCS since the
last assessment and service plan. Any Change of Status reassessment
requires a new PCS service plan documented in QiRePort;

n. Provider organizations shall be reimbursed only for PCS authorized
hours and services specified and scheduled in the validated PCS service
plan; and,

0. Prior approval for PCS hours or units is not granted until the on-line
PCS service plan is entered into and validated by the Provider Interface.

2015

Page 17; 1.13
Section; 2" para,
2" sentence;
revised to read

Adult Care Home providers licensed under G.S. 131D-2.4 will not receive PCS prior

approval to render or bill for PCS without verification of an ACH PASRR number.

ACH PASRR numbers are 10 digits followed by any of the following letter codes:

May
2015

Page 18; added a
formatted table
for the
Authorization
Codes &
Corresponding
Time

See table.
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Frames/Restrictio

ns
May Page 18; PASRR NOTE: Beneficiaries who reside in a 5600a or 5600c facility do no not require a
2015 Verification; NOTE | PASRR. Beneficiaries who have been admitted into an ACH prior to January 1, 2013,
revised to read regardless of payer source (Private, Medicaid, or pending Medicaid) require no
PASRR even if the beneficiary subsequently becomes Medicaid-eligible; however, if
there is a change in status or if the beneficiary moves to another facility and
requires Personal Care Services, a PASRR is required.
May Page 19; Section 1.14 QiRePort, Provider Interface Overview
2015 number only
changed to read
May Page 19; Section = Access electronic copies of independent assessment documents, referrals,
2015 1.14; changes in and notification letters;
bulleted items to * Receive service referrals and accept/reject them electronically;
read = (Create required PCS beneficiary service plans;
=  Manage servicing beneficiaries' accounts, including access to historical
assessments and PA’s;
= Submit discharges;
=  Submit Non-Medical Change of Status Requests;
=  Manage servicing territories;
= Change provider billing numbers for clients who need to have their
service transferred from one provider office to another within the same
agency;
= Update/Correct Modifiers;
= Receive electronic notification once a current client has entered an
appeal, as well as the status of the appeal once it is resolved.
May Page 21; Chapter | Chapter 2: Request for Independent Assessment for Personal Care Services
2015 2; Title change to
read
May Page 21; Chapter | Beneficiaries requesting Personal Care Services must submit a Request for an
2015 2; first para; Independent Assessment for PCS 3051 form to Liberty Healthcare. The 3051 form
revised to read allows a beneficiary to be considered for:
May Page 21; Chapter v" Change of Status Medical/Non-Medical (increase or decrease of services)
2015 2; V2 revised and
V3 deleted
May Page 21; Chapter | Once received, all requests for an independent assessment are reviewed and
2015 2; third para processed within 2 business days. If a beneficiary, physician, or PCS provider wishes

revised to read

to inquire about the receipt and status of a PCS request, LHC-NC asks they call AFTER
the 2 business day processing period.
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May Page 21; 2.1 title 2.1 New Request for an Independent Assessment for PCS
2015 changed
May Page 21; 2.1 NOTE: If a beneficiary is already enrolled in the PCS Program, a new referral
2015 Section; NOTE:; should not be requested. A Change of Status Medical/Non-Medical request form
Sentence two should be submitted if a beneficiary requires another independent assessment due
revised to read to a change in medical condition or functional status.
May Page 21 and Page | In order for the 3051 request for an independent assessment form to be approved
2015 22; Section 2.1 for eligibility and processed timely, all required sections of the form must be
Completing a New | completed and legible. Incomplete request forms may result in a delay of
Request; first para | Processing or denial of the request for an independent assessment. To ensure the
revised to read 3051 PCS request form is processed timely, the following sections of the referral
form must be completed by a physician only:
May Page 22; Section V Section A, Beneficiary Demographics — Required fields are as follows:
2015 2.1.1; Section A
and Section B v' Date of Request
. v" Medicaid ID — Only those with active Medicaid are eligible for PCS. Eligibility
revised to read ] . ) ) )
status is verified prior to the processing of any request for an independent
assessment
v" Demographic Information - Beneficiary name, date of birth, contact information
v" ACH PASRR number (beneficiaries who reside in an Adult Care Home setting
only)
v" Indication if the beneficiary has an active Adult Protective Services Case
V Section B, Beneficiary’s Conditions that Result in Need for Assistance with ADLs—
Required fields are as follows:
v" Medical diagnosis with corresponding complete current diagnosis code
v Indication if the diagnosis listed impacts the beneficiary’s ability to perform their ADLs -
Diagnoses must impact ADLs or the request for an independent assessment will not be
processed(Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, section 5.4.2)
v Date of Onset
v Indicate expected duration of ADL limitation
v" Check if the beneficiary is medically stable
v Check if 24-hour caregiver availability is required
Optional Attestation — If the criteria listed in this section is applicable to the
beneficiary, the Practitioner should hand initial each line item that applies for
consideration in the assessment for PCS; typed initials are not accepted.
May Page 22 and Page | Note: Diagnosis Header Codes will not be accepted. The complete current
2015 23; Section 2.1.1; | diagnosis code ex. XXX.X or XXX.XX associated with the identified medical diagnosis

NOTE (s) and
Section C revised
to read

must be present.
V Section C, Practitioner Information— Required fields are as follows:

e Date of Last Visit to Referring Practitioner— The beneficiary must have seen
their PCP within the last 90 days to be eligible for PCS
e Attesting Practitioner Name and NPI#
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e Practice Information — Name, NPI#, and contact phone number

e Practitioner Attestation for Medical Need — Signature, Credentials, and Date —
Must be signed by a MD, NP, or PA. If credentials are not included or cannot be
verified, the request will not be processed.

NOTE: A PCS provider may assist a beneficiary in the completion of the 3051 form,

but responsibility of submission of the form to LHC-NC rests with the beneficiary

and the referring practitioner.

May Page 23; 2.1.2 Have an ACH Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) number on file*
2015 Expedited Request
for Personal Care
Services; V 3
revised to read
May Page 23;2.1.2 NOTE: *PASRR is required for beneficiaries seeking admission to an Adult Care
2015 Expedited Request | Home licensed under G.S. 131 D-2.4.
for Personal Care
Services; NOTE
revised
May Page 23; 2.1.2 An Adult Protective Services (APS) Worker; or
2015 Expedited Request
for Personal Care
Services; NOTE
revised; second
bullet
May Page 23; “The “If eligibility requirements are met, a hospital discharge planner, skilled nursing
2015 Expedited facility discharge planner or Adult Protective Services (APS) worker may request an
Assessment Expedited Assessment by faxing a completed Request for an Independent
Completion Assessment for PCS 3051 form (see section 2.1.1 for complete criteria) to Liberty
Process” Heading; | Healthcare at 919-322-5942 or 855-740-0200 (toll free) followed by a call to LHC-NC
first para revised at 855-740-1400.”
May Page 24; Personal | “If a beneficiary is provisionally approved for PCS through the expedited
2015 Care Services assessment process, but is determined not to be Medicaid eligible, Liberty
Provisional Healthcare will hold the authorization for up to 60 calendar days.”
Approval; first
para; third
sentenced to
word addition
May Page 24;2.1.3 ... A denial notification will be sent to the beneficiary and a copy is faxed to the
2015 Incomplete New practitioner.

Requests and
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Denials; first para
revised and
bullets eliminated;
revised to read

May Page 24;2.1.3 Diagnosis does not impact the ADLs
2015 Incomplete New
Requests and
Denials; second
para; bulleted
item added
May Page 25; first para | ...”or caregiver status that causes the need for assistance to increase or decrease.
2015 revised to read For any change of status that is due to a change in medical condition, a Change of
Status Medical request may be submitted by a practitioner only. For any change in
status that is due to a change in the beneficiary’s environmental condition, location,
or caregiver status, the beneficiary, beneficiary’s family, or legally responsible
person; residential provider, home care provider; or beneficiary’s physician may
submit a Change of Status Non-Medical request A Medical and Non-Medical Change
of Status request may be submitted anytime by the approved referring entity when
appropriate.”
May Page 25; 2.2.1 2.2.1 Completing a Change of Status Medical Request
2015 Completing a
Change of Status
Request; title
change
May Page 25;2.2.1 “A Change of Status Medical Request may only be submitted by a practitioner any
2015 Completing a time a beneficiary has a change in medical condition and their treating practitioner

Change of Status
Medical Request;
revised

feels an increase or decrease in PCS should be evaluated. In order to submit a
Change of Status Medical request, the practitioner must complete the Request for
Independent Assessment for PCS form (3051) and fax or mail a copy to Liberty
Healthcare.

The following sections are required fields that should be completed when submitting
a COS Medical Request:

v" Section A, Beneficiary Demographics — Required fields are as follows:

e Date of Request

e Medicaid ID — Only those with active Medicaid are eligible for PCS.
Eligibility status is verified prior to the processing of any request for an
independent assessment

e Demographic Information - Beneficiary name, date of birth, contact
information

e Indication if the beneficiary has an active Adult Protective Services Case
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v" Section B, Beneficiary’s Conditions that Result in Need for Assistance with ADLs —
Required fields are as follows:
e Medical diagnosis with corresponding complete current diagnosis code
e Indication if the diagnosis listed impacts the beneficiary’s ability to
perform their ADLs - Diagnoses must impact ADLs or the request for an
independent assessment will not be processed(Clinical Policy 3L,
section 5.4.2)
e Date of Onset
e Indicate expected duration of ADL limitation
e Check if the beneficiary is medically stable
o Check if 24-hour caregiver availability is required
Optional Attestation — If the criteria listed in this section is applicable to the
beneficiary, the Practitioner should hand initial each line item that applies for
consideration in the assessment for PCS; typed initials are not accepted.

Note: Diagnosis Header Codes will not be accepted. The complete current
diagnosis code ex. XXX.X or XXX.XX associated with the identified medical diagnosis
must be present.

v" Section C, Practitioner Information — Required fields are as follows:

e Date of Last Visit to Referring Practitioner— The beneficiary must have
seen their PCP within the last 90 days in order to process a COS Medical
Request

e Attesting Practitioner Name and NPI#

e Practice Information — Name, NPI#, and contact phone number

e Practitioner Attestation for Medical Need — Signature, Credentials, and
Date — Must be signed by a MD, NP, or PA. If credentials are not
included or cannot be verified, the request will not be processed.

Section D, Change of Status: Medical-The requesting practitioner must complete
this section providing a detailed description of the specific change in medical
condition and the impact the change has on the beneficiary’s ability to perform
their ADLs.

May
2015

Page 26 and Page
27;2.2.2
Completing a
Change of Status
Non-Medical
Request; section
revised to read

2.2.2 Completing a Change of Status Non-Medical Request

Providers who are registered to use the Provider Interface of QiRePort may
complete a Change of Status Non-Medical request and submit the form online
through the portal. All other requestors may complete the Request for an
Independent Assessment for Personal Care Services (3051) form and fax or mail a
copy to Liberty Healthcare.

When submitting the 3051 form, the requestor must complete page 3 only, filling
out the top demographic section and section E with the required fields being as
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follows:

v" Beneficiary Demographics — Required fields are as follows:
e Date of Request
e Medicaid ID — Only those with active Medicaid are eligible for PCS.
Eligibility status is verified prior to the processing of any PCS request
form.

e Demographic Information - Beneficiary name, date of birth, contact
information

v" Section E, Change of Status: Non-Medical — Required fields are as follows:

Request By along with Requestor Name
PCS Provider NPI#, Name, and Phone
Reason for non-medical change requiring a reassessment checked

Non-medical change described in detail and how the change impacts
the beneficiary’s ability to perform ADLs

Note: DMA or its designee retains sole discretion in approving or denying requests to
conduct a change of status reassessment. It is important that the description section
include documentation of the change in the beneficiary’s medical condition,
informal caregiver availability, environmental condition that affects the individual’s
ability to self-perform, the time required to provide the qualifying ADL assistance
and the need for reassessment. Change of status assessments are face-to-face
assessments that are conducted by the designated IAE.

May Page 27; 2.2.2; 2.2.3 Incomplete Change of Status Requests and Denials
2015 revised #
May 2.3 Change of A PCS beneficiary has the right to change their PCS provider at any time. Only the
2015 Provider (COP) beneficiary or a caregiver who has Power of Attorney or Legal Guardianship for the
Requests; first beneficiary can submit a Change of Provider request. A COP request may be
para revised to submitted using the 3051 form or the beneficiary may call the Customer
read Support Center for Liberty Healthcare of NC at 855-740-1400.
May Page 28;2.3.1 If the beneficiary wishes to change his/her provider, only approved persons may
2015 Completing a call the Customer Support Center with Liberty Healthcare at 919-322-5944 or 855-
Change of 740-1400 (toll free) to make this request.
Provider Request
via Phone; first
sentence, word
change
May Page 28; 2.3.2 Though strongly encouraged to call the Customer Support Center for all COP
2015 Completing a requests, a beneficiary may also submit their Change of Provider request by using

Change of
Provider Request
via the 3051

the 3051 form.

NOTE: Only in cases where a beneficiary is moving from one facility to another

127 |Page




Form; revised to
read

may the facility submit a Change of Provider request on behalf of the beneficiary.

When submitting the 3051 form, the beneficiary must complete page 3 only,
filling out the top demographic section and section F with the required fields
being as follows:

v" Beneficiary Demographics — Required fields are as follows:
e Date of Request
e Medicaid ID — Only those with active Medicaid are eligible for PCS.
Eligibility status is verified prior to the processing of any PCS request
form.
e Demographic Information - Beneficiary name, date of birth, contact
information
v" Section F, Change of Provider Request — Required fields are as follows:
e ‘Requested by’ indicated, along with name and contact information
e Reason for Provider Change
e Beneficiary’s Preferred Provider Section, including:
= Setting Type
= Agency Name, Address, and Phone
= PCS Provider NPI#
=  Facility License # and Date if applicable

May Page 29; 2.3.3 A new assessment shall not be required unless a change of status has occurred. The
2015 Processing the IAE shall furnish the new provider with a copy of the assessment and the new
Completed service authorization. The new PCS Provider shall develop and implement a service
Change of plan within 3 business days of receiving notice of service authorization or by the
Provider and date requested by the beneficiary, whichever is later (Clinical Policy 3L, section
Provider 5.4.11).
Acceptance;
second para
revised to read
May Page 30; 2.4 To initiate the process for consideration of additional safeguard hours in addition to
2015 Requesting the base maximum allowance of PCS (80 hours), a beneficiary must have his/her
Additional Primary Care Physician or Attending Physician complete the optional attestation
Safeguards; portion in Section B of the 3051 form in addition to the required sections
second para depending on type of request. Additional Safeguards may be requested with a new
revised and V's request or a change of status medical.
eliminated
May Page 30; bottom “It is important for the Primary Care Physician or Attending Physician completing
2015 of page, last para | the request to note any pertinent medical diagnoses that may have caused the
revised to read need for additional safeguards.”
May Page 30 and Page | “NOTE: At the discretion of DMA or LHC-NC, additional medical documentation may
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2015 31; NOTE revised be requested in order to validate the physician attestation. A beneficiary does NOT
to read have to be a current PCS recipient in order to be considered for additional
safeguards.”
May Page 31; Chapter Change of Status Medical/Non-Medical Assessment
2015 3 The
Independent
Assessment; 4t
bullet revised to
read
May Page 32; Change Change of Status Medical/Non-Medical Assessment
2015 of Status title
revised to read
May Page 34; 3.2 On the day of the scheduled appointment and before conducting the assessment,
2015 Conducting the the Independent Assessor will review the Medicaid PCS Beneficiary Participation
Independent Guide with the beneficiary. This form outlines the rights the beneficiary has
Assessment; regarding the independent assessment and their responsibility to fully participate in
second para completing the assessment (please see Appendix B for the complete form).
revised to read Following the review of the Participation Guide, the beneficiary will be asked to sign
a consent form that gives the Assessor permission to conduct the independent
assessment.
May Page 45; Chapter | Once a beneficiary who has been deemed eligible is awarded hours under the PCS
2015 6; 6.1 Prior program following an assessment or a settlement through the appeals process, a

Approval; revised
to read

‘Prior Approval’ (PA) is issued. The PA will reflect the total hours awarded monthly
for PCS. In accordance with Clinical Policy 3L, section 5.2.2, in order to be approved
for PCS payment, the beneficiary shall:

v Obtain a Physician Referral; and attestation, when applicable;

v" Obtain an ACH PASRR screen if seeking admission to, or residing in, an adult
care home licensed under G.S. 131D-2.4;

v Receive an independent assessment from the IAE;

v" Meet minimum program admission requirements;

v" Obtain a service authorization for a specified number of PCS hours per
month; and

v" Obtain an approved service plan from the provider.

EPSDT Additional Requirements for PCS:

Medicaid may authorize services that exceed the PCS service limitations if
determined to be medically necessary under EPSDT based on the following
documents submitted by the provider before PCS is rendered:

v" Work and School verification for the beneficiary’s caregiver, legal guardian,
or power of attorney. PCS may not cover all time requested by caregiver for
work and school that exceed full-time hours.

v Verification from the Exceptional Children’s program per county if PCS is
being requested in school setting.
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v Health record documentation from the beneficiary’s physician, therapist, or
other licensed practitioner; and

v" Physician documentation of primary caregiver’s limitation that would
prevent the caregiver from caring for the beneficiary.

May Page 46; Prior DMA has authorized retroactive prior approval for PCS that were approved on or
2015 Approval Effective | afterJanuary 1, 2013. Retroactive prior approval will only be applied to initial
Dates; first para requests for PCS. The retroactive effective date for authorization will be jche request
date on the Request for Independent Assessment for Personal Care Services 3051
revised to read form, provided the date is not more than 10 calendar days from the date that the
Independent Assessment Entity (IAE), Liberty Healthcare, received a completed
request form. If the request is received by Liberty Healthcare more than 10 calendar
days from the request date on the request form, the authorization will be effective
the date Liberty Healthcare received the form. If the initial request is missing
information, the received date will not be effective until the correct information is
provided to process the referral.
May Page 47; 6.2 NOTE: A beneficiary may have been approved for PCS and a prior approval
2015 Reimbursement; awarded, but if their Medicaid is not active, or does not provide coverage for PCS,
NOTE; added or they have since been enrolled in another state program that cannot be
statement of administered in conjunction with PCS, reimbursement will be denied. Providers
policy shall verify each Medicaid beneficiary’s eligibility each time a service is rendered.
May Page 49; 6.3 3. Does the modifier on the PA match the modifier assigned in NC Tracks? (verify
2015 Denied Claims; through the QiRePort Provider Portal)
numbers 3 and 5
grammar revised 5. Am | billing within the approved effective dates? (verify in NC Tracks)
to read
May Page 51 and 52 Replacement of NEW FORM — EFFECTIVE 2/1/2015 (“Request for Independent
2015 revised form and | Assessment for Personal Care Services (PCS) Attestation of Medical Need”)
Appendix B
May Page 66; Appendix | Important: This provider manual will be updated with the finalized 3L policy June 1,
2015 D: Clinical 2015
Coverage Policy
3L; important
notice added
May Page 105; “Appendix F: Provider Resources and Contact Information:”
2015 Appendix F; title
addition
July Cover Effective date changed from May 2015 to July 2015
2015
July Table of Contents | Plan of Care (POC) changed to Online Service Plan
2015 1.12
July Table of Contents | [Title] “Change of Ownership”
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2015 1.14 added

July Table of Contents | Section 1.15 added

2015 1.15

July Table of Contents; | Appendix F changed to read: “Provider Resources and Contact Information”

2015 Appendices

July Page 6; Additional | Second and Third bullet changed to read: “The residential setting has received

2015 general program inspection conducted by the Division of Health Service Regulation (DHSR):” and
requirements third bullet reads: “The place of service is safe for the beneficiary to receive PCS
include and for an aide to provide PCS;”

July Page 8; #13 The word “authorized” changed to read: “identified”

2015

July Page 9; #11 The words “or mental health disorders” inserted

2015

July Page 11; Chapter | Changed to read: “Providers shall not bill for Medicaid PCS services provided by an

2015 1; #4 individual with any of the following convictions on the criminal background check

conducted in accordance with 7.10 (d.1) of Clinical Coverage Policy 3L:

July Page 11; Chapter | 4cis removed from policy

2015 1:4c

July Page 13; The RN #5 is removed from policy

2015 Supervisor Shall;
#5

July Page 15; 1.10 Staff | Revised last sentence to read: “Competency training and evaluations of the

2015 Development and | required competencies for In-Home and Residential Aides must provide
Training; 1 competency training and evaluations as specified in 10A NCAC 13F and 13G, and,
paragraph 10A NCAC 27G”

July Page 16; 1.12 PCS | Revised to change:

2015 On-line Service

Plan

7. Once the provider organization completes the service plan, the service plan
must be validated by the Provider Interface for consistency with the IAE
assessment, and related requirements for the service plan content.

8. Note: For EPSDT beneficiaries, the provider organization must complete the
service plan based on the DMA nurse review of the assessment and documents
provided in accordance with Subsection 5.2.3. DMA nurse guidance will be provided
to the provider organization prior to acceptance of the referral and in the service
plan.

9. i. The PCS service plan must be developed, and validated within seven (7)
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business days of the Provider accepting receiving the IAE referral.

10. j. The provider organization shall obtain the written consent in the form of
the signature of the beneficiary or their legally responsible person within 14
business days of the validated service plan. The written consent of the service plan
must be printed out and uploaded into the Provider Interface;

11. k. The provider shall make a copy of the validated service plan available to
the beneficiary or their legally responsible person within three (3) business of a
verbal request.

12. I. The PCS service plan is not a plan of care as defined by the applicable
state licensure requirements that govern the operation of the provider
organizations. Provider organizations are expected to complete a separate plan of
care in accordance to licensure requirements as specified in 10ANCAC 13J, 10A
NCAC 13F and 13G, and 10A NCAC 27G.

13. m. Provider organizations may enter PCS service plan revisions in the
Provider Interface at any time as long as the changes do not alter the aide tasks or
need frequencies identified in the corresponding IAE assessment;

n. Provider organizations may continue to request a Change of Status Review, as
described in Subsection 5.4.6b, by the IAE if there has been a significant change
that affects the beneficiary’s need for PCS since the last assessment and service
plan. Any Change of Status reassessment requires a new PCS service plan
documented in QiRePort;

0. Provider organizations shall be reimbursed only for PCS authorized hours and
services specified and scheduled in the validated PCS service plan; and,

p. Prior approval for PCS hours or units is not granted until the on-line PCS service
plan is entered into and validated by the Provider Interface.

July Page 18; 1.14 New section added, “Change of Ownership”

2015

July Page 19 Heading revised to read: “1.15 QiRePort — Provider Interface Overview”

2015

July Page 28; second Revised to read: “The new PCS Provider shall develop and implement a

2015 paragraph; last service plan within 7 business days of accepting the referral (Clinical Policy 3L,
sentence section 5.4.11).”

July Page 38; bullet Revised reason reads: “The beneficiary account in NC Tracks now reflects as

2015 “Notice of Denial PCS ineligible due to the Medicaid status or that they are receiving duplicate

in Services”, last
reason

services making them ineligible for PCS.”
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July Page 47;6.3 Revised to read: “ Did | complete a service plan for the most current
2015 Denied Claims; #1 assessment for the beneficiary? (verify in QiRePort)
July Page 55; Medicaid Updated form replaced prior version
2015 Personal Care
Services
Beneficiary
Participation
Guide
July Page 91-111; Prior policy replaced with updated policy amended June 10, 2015
2015 Table of Contents
July Page 117, Appendix change from ‘G’ to ‘F’
2015 Appendix
Sept. Page 1; Date Month changed to September for version control
2015
Sept. Page 16; Section Details were added for exceptions to drafting a Service Plan within QiRePort
2015 1.12
Sept. Page 19; Section New Section Added
2015 1.14 “Change of
Ownership”
Sept. Page 20; Section New Section Added
2015 1.15 “Internal
Quality
Improvement
Program”
Sept. Page 20; Section Section number changed from 1.15 to 1.16
2015 1.16 “Provider
Interface Overview”
Sept. Page 104; Appendix | New Appendix, Inserted the ‘DMA 3136 Internal Quality Improvement Program Attestation
2015 F Form and Instructions’
Sept. Page 107: Appendix | Appendix letter changed from F to G
2015 G
Aug. Page 9, Intro. — ‘PCS | Add #13. “Independent medical information does not validate the assessment, PCS hours
2016 Non-Covered Tasks may be reduced, denied, or terminated based on the additional information”.
and Services’
Aug. Page 13, Section 1.7 | Additional criteria added, bullet points 1 - 8
2016 PCS Aides
Aug. Page 17, Section Note: If an agency fails to complete their service plan and the beneficiary is discharged,

1.12 PCS Online

changes providers, or becomes deceased, DMA will not authorize retro PA’s for the
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2016 Service Plan beneficiary as PA’s will not be released until the service plan has been completed and
beneficiary/legal guardian consent is required for service plan approval.
Aug. Page 21, Section Bullet add — “Receive electronic notification of upcoming annual assessments for
2016 1.16 QiRePort — beneficiaries”.
Provider Interface
Overview
Aug. Page 25, Section Criteria Add — “Be an individual served through the transition to community living initiative”,
2016 2.1.2 Expedited being submitted by “An approved LME-MCO Transition Coordinator”.
Request for PCS
Aug. Page 32, Section 2.5 | New section added.
2016 — Reconsideration
Request for Initial
Authorization for
PCS
Aug. Page 33, Section New section added.
2016 2.5.2-The
Reconsideration
Process
Aug. Page 35, Chapter 3 Added section titled ‘Reconsideration Assessment’
2016 —The Independent
Assessment
Aug. Page 36, Section 3.1 | Language add — “After receipt, the Scheduling Coordinator (SC) will attempt to reach the
2016 The Assessment beneficiary and/or an identified third party, or if in a facility, the facility director or persons
Scheduling Process responsible for scheduling such assessments and schedule the assessment.”
Aug. Page 41, Section 4.2 | NOTE: Providers are expected to accept/reject referrals within 2 business days. If the PA’s
2016 Responding to a end for a beneficiary and the PCS Provider did not accept within 2 business days of the
Referral referral, DMA will not authorize retro pay for the lapsed time period.
Aug. Page 48, Section 6.1 | EpSDT Additional Requirements for PCS, bullet add and note - Any other independent
2016 Prior Approval records that address ADL abilities and need for PCS.
NOTE: If additional information does not validate the assessment, PCS hours may be
reduced, denied, or terminated based on additional records.
Aug. Page 49, Section 6.1 | PA Effective Dates, adds for Reconsideration and note add - NOTE: Providers are expected
2016 Prior Approval to accept/reject referrals within 2 business days. If the PA’s end for a beneficiary and the
PCS Provider did not accept within 2 business days of the referral, DMA will not authorize
retro pay for the lapsed time period.
Aug. Appendix G Changed to ‘DMA 3114 Request for Reconsideration of PCS Authorization Form and
2016 Instructions’
Aug. Appendix H Changed from Gto H
2016
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Aug. Page 7, note added Once the beneficiary turns 21 years of age, their approved EPSDT hours will cease and PCS

2017 will end. A new 3051 form should be mailed to the Independent Assessment Entity PRIOR to
the 21t birthday in order for the beneficiary to be assessed and if approved, PCS to continue
after they turn 21.

Aug. Page 19, Section Prior Approval (PA) Effective Dates and PASRR, table updated

2017 1.13

Aug. Page 25, Section If eligibility requirements are met, a hospital discharge planner, skilled nursing facility

2017 212 discharge planner, Adult Protective Services (APS) worker, or LME-MCO Transition
Coordinator...

Aug. Page 33, Section 2.6 | New section added

2017

Aug. Page 50, Section Prior Approval Effective Dates; changed from 10 days to 30 days. Updated examples.

2017 6.1

Aug. Appendix B

2017 Medicaid PCS Beneficiary Participation Guide; form updated

Aug. Appendix D

2017 Clinical Coverage Policy 3L; updated

Jan. Provider Manual —

2019 Cover Page January 2019

Jan. Provider Manual — o ) _ . o

2019 All Pages Replace Division of Medical Assistance (DMA) with NC Medicaid

Jan. Table of Contents, o . ' ' .

2019 Section 1.13 Replace Pre-Admission Screening and Annual Resident Review (PASRR) with Referral
Screening Verification Process

Jan. Table of Contents

2019 Added Chapter 7: Internal Quality Improvement Program

Jan. Appendix D

2019 Clinical Coverage Policy 3L updated

Jan. Appendix E

2019 NC Medicaiid-3085 Form and Instructions-updated

Jan. Appendix F

2019 NC Medicaiid-3136 Form and Instructions-updated

Jan. Page 6, Additional .

2019 general program Eleventh bullet changed to read: “Have been screened for Serious Mental lliness (SMI). All

requirements
include

Medicaid beneficiaries referred to or seeking admission into an Adult Care Home licensed
under G.S. 131D-2.4 must be referred to an LME-MCO for the Referral Screening Verification
Process (RSVP). Adult Care Home providers licensed under G.S. 131 D-2.4 will not receive

PCS assessment or prior approval to bill PCS without verification of a Referral Screening ID.
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Jan.

Page 8, PCS Non-

#6 changed to read: “Instrumental Activities of Daily Living”

2019 Covered Tasks and
Services, PCS does
NOT include the
following services
Jan. Page 8, PCS Non- ' o ) )
2019 Covered Tasks and Revised note to read: A beneficiary may not receive PCS and another substantially
Services equivalent Federal or State funded service. Examples of equivalent services include but are
not limited to home health aide services and in-home aide services in the Community
Alternatives Programs (CAP/Disabled Adults, CAP/Children, CAP/Choice, and CAP
Innovations and Private Duty Nursing (PDN).
Jan. Page 8, Medicaid ) ) ) o ) )
2019 does not cover #4. The PCS is provided at a location other than the beneficiary’s primary private residence
Personal Care or residential setting, except when EPSDT requirements are met as listed in Subsection 2.2;
Services (PCS) when
Jan. Page 9, Role of the ) _
2019 PCS Provider Sentence 2, 4, 5, 6 Revised: The NC Department of Health & Human Services (DHHS)
Stakeholder Group | convenes on a bi-monthly basis with community stakeholders to engage and seek their
input. The meetings are designed to share project status, gather input, and identify next
steps. Stakeholder meetings are held bi-monthly on the third Thursday of the month 1:00
p.m.-3:00 p.m. Meeting agendas, handouts, and minutes are available for download on the
PCS webpage at https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/programs-services/long-term-
care/personal-care-services. Items and concerns you would like addressed during the
stakeholder meetings should be submitted at least two weeks in advance of the regularly
scheduled meetings with a notation “FOR STAKEHOLDER MEETING.”
Jan. Page 9, Role of the " _ o
2019 Independent 5% bullet: Change publish to publishing
Assessment Entity
(IAE)
Jan. Page 11, Section )
2019 1.1 General 3y revised: A residential facility licensed under Chapter 122C of the General Statutes and
Requirements defined under 10A NCAC 27G as a supervised living facility for two or more adults whose
primary diagnosis is mental illness, a developmental disability, or substance use disorder.
Jan. Page 15: Section
2019 110 NC Medicaid website update: https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/providers/programs-
services/long-term-care/personal-care-services
Jan. Page 15: Section
2019 1.11, Revised first Providers shall develop an online PCS service plan through the Provider Interface. The

paragraph

following requirements for the online PCS service plan must apply.
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Jan.

Page 15: Section

All IAE referrals are transmitted to provider organizations through the Provider Interface.

2019 1.11 Added #1
No mailed or faxed referrals are provided;
Jan. Page 15: Section
2019 111 Renumbered statements 2-15
Jan. Page 16: Section L ) o )
2019 1.11, #8, Note NOTE: For EPSDT beneficiaries, the provider organization must complete the service plan
revised to read based on the NC Medicaid-nurse review of the assessment and documents provided in
accordance with Subsection 5.2.3.
Jan. Page 18: Section ) o
2019 1.13, Heading Referral Screening ID Verification Process (RSVP)
revised
Jan. Page 17: Section ) o ) ) o ) )
2019 1.12, Added RSVP The Referral Screening Verification Process (RSVP) is a review of any individual who is being

Process

considered for admission into a Medicaid Certified Adult Care Home. As required by the US
Department of Justice Settlement Agreement effective November 1, 2018, individuals
requesting admission to Adult Care Homes (ACH) must be pre-screened for serious mental

illness (SMI).

Clinical Coverage Policy 3L (3.2.3b) requires that any Medicaid beneficiary who is referred to
or seeking admission to Adult Care Homes licensed under G.S. 131D-2.4 and requesting
Personal Care Services (PCS) be screened for serious mental illness through referral to an
LME-MCO for the Referral Screening Verification Process (RSVP). Adult Care Home
providers licensed under G.S. 131D-2.4 will not receive a PCS assessment or prior approval

without verification of a Referral Screening ID.
Referral Screening ID Verification Process

Liberty Healthcare will verify a Referral Screening has been submitted on every new ACH
PCS request. Verification is confirmed through the Social Serve system. If unable to verify a
Referral Screening ID (RS ID) through the Social Serve system, Liberty will call the facility in
an attempt to obtain a RS ID. If a RS ID is not required, Liberty Healthcare will request the
admission date (if prior to 1/1/13) through a copy of an FL2 or any other documentation
that reflects the admission date or have the facility confirm they are a 5600a or 5600c.

If unable to obtain an RS ID within 3 business days of the PCS request, Liberty will send a
letter of denial for PCS to the beneficiary. If the beneficiary still wishes to be considered for
PCS, they may submit a new request after they have obtained a RS ID.
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Referral Submitted

Option#1: URL
https://www.socialserve.c
om/nc/rsvp

Option #2: Paper version can
be mailed or faxed to the
following locations:

Mailing Address:

Attention Mental Health Section -
RSVP Mail Service Center 3001
Raleigh, NC 27699-3001

Liberty will
review new
request and if
valid, will
verify if a
Referral
Screening ID
(RS ID) exists
for the

beneficiary.

If RSID is
present, the
valid new
request will
be processed.
IfnoRSIDis
present, a
technical
denial will be
issued.

FAX#: 919-508-0953

NOTE: Beneficiaries who reside in a 5600a or 5600c facility do no not require an RS ID.
Beneficiaries who have a previous ACH PASRR prior to 11/1/18 for an ACH and enter a
medical or psychiatric hospital, an acute or sub-acute rehabilitation facility, or a long-term
acute care hospital for medical or psychiatric treatment, and return to the ACH after
treatment, do not need an additional screen through the RSVP unless there has been a
significant change in psychiatric or medical status (for those with SMI/SPMI). Beneficiaries
who requested to transfer from one ACH to another AND already have an ACH PASRR prior
to 11/1/18 can transfer if they are medically and psychiatrically stable without an RS ID.

To learn more about RSVP requirements, visit https://www.ncdhhs.gov/about/department-
initiatives/transitions-community-living-initiative.

Prior Approval (PA) Effective Dates and RSVP

If a RS ID is effective on the date the PCS request is received or prior, PAs will be effective
the date the request is received. If the RS ID is received within 3 days from the request
received date, then the PAs will become effective the date the RS ID became effective;
please see the following table for further detail:

Jan. Page 19, Section

2019 1.13 Prior Approval Updated table with new effective dates for RSVP
table

Jan. Page 20, Section

2019 1.13, 6 para Submission of the NC Medicaid- 3051 Request for Independent Assessment form
revised does not guarantee commitment to award or authorize PCS. Each issue will be

reviewed case by case.

Jan. Page 20, Section

2019 1.13, 7 para, last | 219-855-4050.
sentence, phone
number corrected

Jan. Page 20, Section It is required that all PCS providers have an established Internal Quality

2019 1.14, 1% para Improvement Program. The Quality Improvement Program should measure quality
revised of care, service problems, and beneficiary satisfaction. The PCS provider is required

to attest to an established Internal Quality Improvement Program annually (section
7.7 of Clinical Coverage Policy 3L). An NC Medicaid-3136 Internal Quality
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Improvement Program Attestation Form must be completed by December 31°* of
each year and sent to NC Medicaid. When completing the 3136 form, the provider
must attest that they have implemented and are in compliance with the following:

Jan. Page 23, Section “ der for the NC Medicaid-3051._."
n order for the edicaid-
2019 2.1.1, first para eal
Jan. Page 24, Section RS D ber (beneficiari h idei Adult Care H tti ly)
° eneficiaries who reside in an Adult Care Home setting on
2019 | 2.1.1, Section A, number { s ony
4% pullet, 5t e Indication if the beneficiary has an active Adult Protective Services Case.
bullet
fan. Page 24, Section Medical diagnosis with di let t ICD-10 diagnosi
° edical diagnosis with corresponding complete curren - iagnosis
2019 2.1.1, Section B, & P 8 P &
1st bullet, 4t code for each diagnosis
bullet e Indication of expected duration of ADL limitation
Jan. Page 25, Section . _—_
2019 212 39y Have a Referral Screening ID number on file
Jan. Page 25, Section . . i .
2019 2.1.2, 4% bullet Capitalize- Transition to Community Living Initiative
Jan. Page 25, Section i . N . -
. NOTE:*RS ID is required for beneficiaries seeking admission to an Adult Care Home
2019 2.1.2, Revised
Note: licensed under G.S. 131 D-2.4
Jan. Page 25, Section , _— . .
NOTE: Expedited assessments for beneficiaries seeking placement in an ACH (not
2019 2.1.2, The
Expedited 5600s) will require an RS ID for the processing of an expedited request.
Assessment
Completion
Process, 1% para,
Note revised
Jan. Page 27, Section o - . . .
. Indication if the beneficiary has an active Adult Protective Services Case
2019 2.2.1, Section A,
4% pullet
Jan. Page 27, Section . . . . . .
. Medical diagnosis with corresponding complete current ICD-10 diagnosis code
2019 2.2.1, Section B,
1st bullet
Jan. Page 27, Section . . . - .
2019 Date of Last Visit to Referring Practitioner—The beneficiary must have seen their

2.2.1, Section C,
1st bullet

PCP within the last 90 days from the date Liberty receives the completed form, in

order to process a COS Medical Request
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Jan. Page 35, Chapter . . . .
2019 In accordance with Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, section 5.4.2,once ordered by the
3, 1% para, 1°
sentence beneficiary’s physician, the PCS assessment shall be performed by an IAE Assessor
at the beneficiary’s primary private residence or residential facility.
Jan. Page 36, Turning NOTE: PAs approved under EPSDT will end on the 21% birthday. A lapse in service
2019 21 Assessment, will occur if a new 3051 is received AFTER the 21 birthday and PAs will not be
Note added made retro to cover the lapsed period. In order to prevent a lapse in service, the
beneficiary should submit a new NC Medicaid-3051 form 30 days PRIOR to their 21
birthday to the IAE.
Jan. Page 36, . . I
. . A beneficiary, 21 years of age or older, who receives an initial approval for more
2019 Reconsideration
Request, 1° than 0, but less than 80 hours per month may submit a Request for Reconsideration
sentence revised of PCS Authorization form to the IAE if they do not agree with the initial level of
service determined
Jan. Page 40, Section “The A il foll by ph "
2019 4.1 #4, 2 e Assessor will follow up by phone.....
sentence
Jan. Page 44, Chapter “The following | t to the benefici ="
2019 5 Revised heading e following is sent to the beneficiary only:
Jan. Page 47, Section thin eight d ¢ the date of th "
2019 5.5, No Lapse in (within eight days of the date of the notice)
Service
Jan. Page 49, Chapter | General Dynamics Information Technology (GDIT) is the current designated
2019 6: Billing, 1%t para | contractor responsible for the processing of all Medicaid claims, which includes
claims for PCS. NC Tracks is the Medicaid billing system used by GDIT to receive and
process all claims.
Jan. Page 49, Section v’ Obtain an Referral Screening ID if seeking admission to, or residing in, an
2019 6.1, 2™V adult care home licensed under G.S. 131D-2.4;
Jan. Page 50, Prior If a beneficiary requesting admission to an Adult Care Home, Licensed under G.S.
2019 Approval Effective | 131D-2.4, has not been referred to a LME-MCO for the Referral Screening
dates. 2M para Verification Process (RSVP), retroactive prior approval does not apply. PCS
<P authorization will be made effective the date beneficiary receives their RS ID.
Jan. Page 51, Section .
2019 6.2 Table updated 8/1/2017-12/31/17 $3.88 per 15 minutes ($15.52 per hour)
1/1/2018-current $3.90 per 15 minutes (15.60 per hour)
Jan. Page 52, Section NOTE: PAs will not be made retro if a service plan is not completed timely and/or
2019 the beneficiary is discharged or becomes deceased prior to completion of the

6.3, #1 Note

service plan if outside of the 7 day allotted period to complete the service plan.
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added

Jan. Page 54, Chapter Chapter 7: Internal Quality Improvement Program
2019 7 — new chapter
added In accordance to Clinical Coverage Policy 3L Section 7.7 Internal Quality

Improvement Program,

Providers serving beneficiaries receiving PCS are required to complete and adhere
to an organizational Quality Improvement Plan or set of quality improvement
policies and procedures.

What is Quality Improvement?

“Quality improvement (Ql) is a systematic, formal approach to the analysis of
practice performance and efforts to improve performance”. — American Academy of
Family Physicians

Understanding and properly implementing Ql is essential to a well-functioning
agency or facility, and is necessary for any agency or facility interested in improving
efficiency, beneficiary safety and satisfaction, and clinical outcomes.

7.1 Establishing a Quality Improvement Program

Here are 6 steps to help kick start any Quality Improvement Program:

7. Establish a culture of quality in your agency or facility. Your organization,
processes, and procedures should support and be integrated with your Ql
efforts. The culture of an agency, attitudes, behaviors, and actions, reflect
how passionately the team embraces quality. The Ql culture looks different
for every agency/facility, but may include establishing dedicated Ql teams,
holding regular QI meetings, or creating policies around your QI goals.

8. Determine and prioritize potential areas for improvement. You will need
to identify and understand the ways in which your agency/facility could
improve. Examine your client population (e.g., to identify barriers to care or
groups of high-risk patients) and your agency/facility operations (e.g., to
identify management issues such as low morale or poor communication).

9. Collect and analyze data. Data collection and analysis lie at the heart of
quality improvement. Your data will help you understand how well your
systems work, identify potential areas for improvement, set measurable
goals, and monitor the effectiveness of change. It’s important to collect
baseline data before you begin a Ql project, commit to regular data
collection, carefully analyze your results throughout the project, and make
decisions based on your analysis.

10. Communicate your results. Quality improvement efforts should be
transparent to your staff, physicians, and beneficiaries. Communicate your
project needs, priorities, actions, and results to everyone (beneficiaries
included). When a project is successful, celebrate and acknowledge that
success.
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11. Commit to ongoing evaluation. Quality improvement is an ongoing
process. A high-functioning agency/facility will strive to continually improve
performance, revisit the effectiveness of interventions, and regularly solicit
beneficiary and staff feedback.

12. Spread your successes. Share lessons learned with others to support wide-
scale, rapid improvement that benefits all beneficiaries and the health care
industry as a whole.

Source: American Academy of Family Physicians,
https://www.aafp.org/practice-management/improvement/basics.html

Quality Improvement Models and Tools

Quality improvement models present a systematic, formal framework for
establishing QI processes in your agency/facility. Examples of common Ql models
include the following:

e Model for Improvement, Plan-Do-Study-Act:

o Plan - Develop the Ql plan as related to the organization’s
priorities, mission, goals, population served, services provided and
customer needs. Always consider external or regulatory
requirements.

o Do - Implement the plan as a defined map or guide for the
organization-wide Quality Program. Document identified problems
and unexpected events observed.

o Study - Ask questions such as —

= Did we do what we said we were going to do? Why or why
not?

» What are the results?

= How can we improve?

=  What is working really well?

*» What needs to be modified?

o Act- Act on what was learned —

= Revise the plan as needed,;

» Monitor the plan on a regular and defined basis;

= Determine if the plan was successful at meeting or
exceeding your expectations;

= Address the items that need improvement;

= Communicate results; and

= Evaluate or update quarterly.

NOTE: Per Clinical Coverage Policy 3L 7.7(a), a PCS Provider is required to develop
and update, at least quarterly, an organizational quality improvement plan or set of
quality improvement policies and procedures that describe the PCS CQl program
and activities.

e Six Sigma: is a method of improvement that strives to decrease variation
and defects.
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https://www.aafp.org/practice-management/improvement/basics.html

e Lean:is an approach that drives out waste and improves efficiency in work
processes so that all work adds value.

Sources:
American Academy of Family Physicians, https://www.aafp.org/practice-
management/improvement/basics.html

Institute for Healthcare Improvement, http://www.ihi.org/

American Society for Quality, https://asq.or

7.2 Quality Improvement and PCS

In accordance with Clinical Coverage Policy 3L, section 7.7 (e), PCS Providers shall
submit by December 31 of each year an attestation that they are in compliance
with a — d of the 7.7 subsection. This requirement should be fulfilled by completing
the NC Medicaid-3136 Quality Improvement Attestation Form (see appendix F for
form sample). When completing the form, the PCS Provider is attesting that they
shall —

e. Develop, and update at least quarterly, an organizational
Quality Improvement Plan or set of quality improvement
policies and procedures that describe the PCS CQl program and
activities;

f. Implement an organizational CQl Program designed to identify
and correct the quality of care and quality of service problems;

g. Conduct at least annually a written beneficiary PCS satisfaction
survey for beneficiaries and their legally responsible person;
and

h. Maintain complete records of all CQl activities and results.

7.2.5 Developing an Organizational Quality Improvement Plan
What is a quality improvement plan?

A quality improvement plan is a detailed work plan of an
organization’s activities of quality improvement. A quality
improvement plan should explain how your organization
manages, deploys, and reviews quality services. It should be
updated regularly and include your organization’s quality
priorities and how you measure your performance/improvement.

Key Elements for an Effective Ql Plan

The plan should describe:
v The mission, values, goals and objectives;
v How the organization will select, manage and monitor all
Ql projects;
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7.2.6

v' Methodologies that will be used;

v' Communication to staff on the plan, any updates and
results; and

v Staff training and education.

Common Barriers that Impact an Effective Ql Plan

When any of the following cease to exist in an organization, the
effectiveness of its quality improvement plan may be jeopardized

Resources (financial, staff, etc.)
Ongoing communication and feedback
Periodic re-evaluation

Staff interest or training
Accountability of the QI Committee
Focus on QI priorities/changes

AN NI NI NI N

Implementing your CQl Plan

Once you have developed your Ql plan, you are ready to pick a
project and implement your plan.

Picking a Ql Project

In order to identify a project in which to execute your Ql plan,
you will first need to outline the following —

1.Determine priorities based on your customer needs
2.Determine the sample size

3.ldentify the Ql committee and assign roles and responsibilities
4.Establish process for achieving customer input

5.Determine key measurement

6.Evaluate and communicate results

Ensuring compliance to clinical coverage policy should always be
on your list of Ql projects. There are several requirements
outlined in Clinical Coverage Policy 3L that providers must adhere
to in order to maintain compliance and prevent consequences of
violation and/or fail an internal audit. Here are some suggested
Ql projects that focus on Clinical Coverage Policy compliance: —

v Required Aide Training — How do you ensure your aides
are compliant in the following areas —

o Beneficiary Rights;

o Confidentiality and privacy practices;

o Personal care skills, such as assistance with the

following ADLs:

= Bathing
= Dressing
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=  Mobility

= Toileting

= Eating

o In-home and Residential Care Aides providing

services to beneficiaries receiving hours in
accordance with Session Law 2013-306, have
training or experience in caring for individuals
who have a degenerative disease characterized
by irreversible memory dysfunction, that attacks
the brain and results in impaired memory,
thinking, and behavior, including gradual memory
loss, impaired judgment, disorientation,
personality change, difficulty in learning, and the
loss of language skills.

NOTE: Providers shall submit an attestation to NC
Medicaid that they are in compliance with this
requirement. The attestation form (NC Medicaid-
-3085) and instructions are located on the NC
Medicaid PCS webpage.

o Documentation and reporting of beneficiary
accidents and incidents;

o Recognizing and reporting signs of abuse and
neglect; and

o Infection control.

v' Documentation of Supervisory Visits - Documentation
on Supervisory visits is audited based on PCS Clinical
Coverage Policy Section 7.10 b. (1-9); The in-home PCS
provider shall ensure that a qualified RN Nurse Supervisor
conducts a RN Supervisor visit to each beneficiary’s
primary private residence location every 90 calendar days
(Note: a seven calendar day grace period is allowed). Two
visits within 365 calendar days must be conducted when
the in-home aide is scheduled to be in the primary
private residence.

For this project, you will want to lay out how you ensure
the RN Supervisor has done the following:

o Confirm that the in-home aide is present or has
been present as scheduled during the preceding
90 calendar days;

o Validate that the information documented on the
aide’s service log accurately reflects his or her
attendance and the services provided;
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o Evaluate the in-home aide’s performance;

o Identify any changes in the beneficiary’s
condition and need for PCS that may require a
change of status review;

o Request a change of status review if the
beneficiary’s service plan exceeds or no longer
meets the beneficiary’s needs for ADL assistance;

o Identify any new health or safety risks that may
be present in the primary private residence;

o Evaluate the beneficiary’s satisfaction with
services provided by the in-home aide and the
services performed by the home care agency;

o Review and validate the in-home aide’s service
records to ensure that:

1. Documentation of services provided is
accurate and complete;

2. Services listed in the service plan have
been implemented;

3. Deviations from the service plan are
documented;

4. Dates, times of service, and services
provided are documented on a daily
basis;

5. Separate logs are maintained for each
beneficiary;

6. All occasions when the beneficiary is not
available to receive services or refused
services for any reason are documented
in the service record along with the
reason the beneficiary was not available
or refused services; and

7. Logs are signed by the in-home aide and
the beneficiary after services are
provided on a weekly basis

o Document all components of the supervisory
visits: the date, arrival and departure time,
purpose of visit, findings and supervisor’s
signature.

Other sample projects may include —

= Conducting self-audits, measuring results, improve, and
repeat;

= Analyze your timeliness for conducting discharges;

= Evaluate if service plans are done and uploaded timely; or

= Conduct aide competency testing.

7.2.7 Conducting an Annual Survey

Satisfaction surveys are a valuable tool for continued feedback
that allow PCS Providers to serve their clients and meet their
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7.2.8

needs. Surveys are a way to help Providers gain an understanding
of their client’s expectations and concerns so that service can be
improved.

When designing a survey, you should focus your questions
around how well the service your agency provides meet your
client’s needs or how satisfied they are with different aspects of
the service you offer. The feedback can highlight problems that
you were not aware of, giving you the opportunity to respond
and take remedial action.

Sample Questions for a Satisfaction Survey -

= Was a plan of care reviewed and approved by you before
starting services?

= Does the aide arrive at his/her scheduled time on the
appropriate scheduled days?

= |sthe aide polite and professional at all times?

= Does the aide assist with all approved services as indicated
in your plan of care?

= |s our agency responsive to your questions and needs?

= How would you rate the customer service provided by our
agency?

Per clinical coverage policy 3L, the satisfaction survey must be
presented in written form. Here are some suggestions on how to
provide a survey in written form —

=  Mail a survey to the beneficiary and provide a self-
addressed envelope for return;

= Provide the written survey in hand when the aide provides
services; or

=  Provide the written survey in hand when the nurse
conducts their quarterly visits.

Maintaining Complete Records

Keeping good records is very important to any business. Whether
required or not, good record keeping results in several benefits
for your business, some of which are as follows-

=  Gives you the information you need to run your business
and help it grow;

= Helps identify the strengths and weaknesses in your
business;

= Helps manage changes and improvements in your business;

= Assists in the management and monitoring for compliance
of various policies; and
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= Allows quick access to records in case you are selected for a
NC Medicaid internal audit or an audit by the Office of
Compliance/Program Integrity (OCPI).

Business records can be maintained manually or electronically.
Make sure the system that is used is easy to manage, well
organized, and kept up to date, rather than letting the
paperwork pile up.

7.3 Completing the 3136 Form

PCS Providers shall submit the Internal Quality Improvement Program Attestation
Form 3136 to NC Medicaid by December 31st of each year certifying compliance
with “a@” through “d” of Clinical Coverage Policy 3L Section 7.7.A copy of this form
with instructions can be found in Appendix F. To ensure the form will be accepted
at time of submission, it is important that the form be filled out in its entirety;
forms cannot be processed with missing information. When completing the form,
PCS Providers should:

v Indicate which of the general Provider cohort designations fit their
organization.

v' Complete all fields of the ‘Submitter Information’ section, printing clearly.

v Review each requirement before initialing each item individually in the area
provided.

v’ Initial items “a” through “d” to certify compliance of Clinical Coverage Policy
3L Section 7.7.

v' Complete signature and date.

NOTE: Forms should not be submitted prior to the completion of requirements
which include continuous quality improvement programs and activities conducted
at least quarterly.

Key Points to Remember —

= The 3136 form is required to be submitted to NC Medicaid by December
31t EACH year;

= There is no standard regarding the format of the required documents;

= All documents are not required to be submitted to NC Medicaid, just the NC
Medicaid-3136 Form; and

= Providers who are non-compliant with submission of the NC Medicaid-3136
are subject to audit by NC Medicaid and referral to OCPI.

Jan. Page 67, Appendix

2019 B, updated web https://files.nc.gov/ncdma/documents/files/3L 4.pdf
link

Jan. Page 72, Appendix | .

2019 D Clinical Coverage Policy 3L; updated
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Jan.

Page 107 Appendix

NC Medicaid-3085 PCS Training Attestation Form and Instructions; updated

2019 E

Jan. Page 109 Appendix

2019 F NC Medicaid-3136 Internal Quality Improvement Form and Instructions; updated
Jan. Page 113 Appendix

2019 H Provider Resources and Contact Information; updated
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