
 

 

 

 
 

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
 

ROY COOPER KODY H. KINSLEY 
GOVERNOR SECRETARY 

WWW.NCDHHS.GOV 

TEL 919-855-4800 • FAX 919-715-4645 

LOCATION: 101 BLAIR DRIVE • ADAMS BUILDING • RALEIGH, NC 27603 

MAILING ADDRESS: 2001 MAIL SERVICE CENTER • RALEIGH, NC 27699-2000 

AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY / AFFIRMATIVE ACTION EMPLOYER 

 
        March 18, 2022 

 

 

 

James Scott, Director 

Division of Program Operations 

Department of Health & Human Services 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 

601 East 12th Street Room 355 

Kansas City, Missouri 64106 

 

SUBJECT: State Plan Amendment 

  Title XIX, Social Security Act 

  Transmittal #2022-0004 

 

Dear Mr. Scott: 

 

Please find attached an amendment for North Carolina’s State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act for the 

Medical Assistance Program.  The affected page is Attachment 4.19-B, Section 5, Page 1b. 

This state plan amendment will allow Medicaid to move the authority for the per member per month enhanced 

management fees for primary care providers participating in the Carolina Access program from the Primary Care Case 

Management section of the State Plan to the Physician reimbursement section of the Medicaid State Plan.   

Your approval of this state plan amendment is requested.  If you have any questions or concerns, please contact me or 

Betty J. Staton at 919-538-3215. 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

Kody H. Kinsley 

Secretary 

 

Enclosures 
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Attachment 4.19-B 

Section 5, Page 1b 

 

State Plan Under Title XIX of the Social Security Act 

Medical Assistance Program 

State:  North Carolina 

 

 

Medical Home Fee for Carolina ACCESS and Advanced Medical Home (AMH) Program 

 

This program will be administered under Physician Services and will be provided by Medicaid primary 

care providers (PCPs) who are enrolled in the Carolina ACCESS/AMH program. 

 

Under Authority of 4.19-B, Section 5 page 1, DHB shall set forth medical home fees to providers 

enrolled in the Carolina ACCESS/AMH program. 

 

Effective January 1, 2022, all Carolina ACCESS/AMH practices will receive a per member per month 

(PMPM) payment to support care management services for all not-partial benefit eligibility groups who 

are eligible for all state plan services and assigned to that practice: 

 

Carolina ACCESS/AMH practices must meet all necessary practice requirements as determined by the 

Department, including: 

• Enroll in NC Medicaid 

• Sign Carolina ACCESS Agreement with DHB 

• Provide primary care services, including certain preventative and ancillary services (ex. Family 

Medicine, OB/GYN, Psychiatry/Neurology, Internal Medicine, Pediatric) 

• Manage patient-clinician relationship 

• Offer a minimum of 30 hours/week of direct patient care operational hours 

• Provide access to services and medical advice 24 hours/day, 7 days/week 

• Refer to other providers for services not covered by PCP Offer interpretation services (at no cost 

to patient) 

 

The Medical Home Rates for this program will be as follows: 

• For non-Cherokee Indian Hospital Authority (CIHA) practices: 

• For all non-Aged, Blind, and disabled enrolled beneficiaries: $2.50 PMPM 

• For all Aged, Blind, and disabled enrolled beneficiaries: $5.00 PMPM 

• For Cherokee Indian Hospital Authority (CIHA) practices: $61.65 PMPM 
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