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STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Roy COOPER KoDY H. KINSLEY
GOVERNOR SECRETARY

September 13, 2023

James Scott, Director

Division of Program Operations
Department of Health & Human Services
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
601 East 12th Street Room 355

Kansas City, Missouri 64106

SUBJECT:  State Plan Amendment
Title XIX, Social Security Act
Transmittal #2023-0025

Dear Mr. Scott:

Please find attached an amendment for North Carolina’s State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act
for the Medical Assistance Program.

This State Plan Change will revise the PCS rate effective July 1, 2023, $6.20, and implement a per diem
reimbursement methodology for Personal Care Services provided in residential settings.

Effective January 1, 2024, the fee schedule rate for PCS provided in an in-home residential setting shall be
reimbursed in 15- minute increment units. Adult Care Homes (ACH) shall be reimbursed on a daily per diem
basis. The ACH rate shall be the hourly equivalent to the 15-minute increment rate in effect on January 1, 2024,
over a 24-hour period, with a maximum of 130 hours per month.

The proposed effective date of the SPA is July 01, 2023.

Your approval of this state plan amendment is requested. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact
me or Betty J. Staton at (919) 538-3215.

Sincerely,

DocuSigned by:

Jay (udlam

06565C1C2A8F4C8...
Jay Ludlam
Deputy Secretary

Enclosures



Attachment 4.19-B
Section 23, Page 6

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
STATE NORTH CAROLINA

PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES

23.

Any other Medical Care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law,
specified by the Secretary.

PERSONAL CARE SERVICES

Personal Care Services are reimbursed under the authority of 42 CFR 440.167 and when provided as defined in
Attachment 3.1-A.1, Page 19, of this State Plan.

Effective January 1, 2021, providers subject to Electronic Visit Verification (EVV) as required by Section 12006 1903(1)
of the 21st Century CURES Act, must be registered with the State’s EVV solution or procure an alternative compliant
EVYV solution to receive reimbursement, as per PCS Clinical Coverage Policy No: 3L.

The agency’s fee schedule rate of $3.88 per 15 minutes was set as of August 1, 2017. Effective January 1, 2018 the fee
schedule rate is $3.90 per 15 minutes. Effective January 1, 2021, in adherence to EVV, payment for Personal Care
Services (PCS) reimbursement shall be increased by ten percent (10%) above the rate in effect per fifteen (15) minute
increment.

Effective July 1, 2023, the PCS fee schedule rate is established at $6.20 per 15-minute increment.

Effective January 1, 2024, the fee schedule rate for PCS provided in an in-home residential setting shall be reimbursed in
15- minute increment units. Adult Care Homes (ACH) shall be reimbursed on a daily per diem basis. The ACH rate shall
be the hourly equivalent to the 15-minute increment rate in effect on January 1, 2024, over a 24-hour period, with a
maximum of 130 hours per month.

Rates are published on the North Carolina Medicaid Fee Schedule site
https://ncdhhs.servicenowservices.com/fee_schedules, and are effective for services provided on or after the published
date.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, the state-developed fee schedule rate is the same for both governmental and non-
governmental providers of Personal Care Services.

TN. No. 23-0025
Supersedes Approval Date: Eff. Date: 07/01/2023
TN. No. 21-0002
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