
 
 
 
 
 

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
 

ROY COOPER KODY H. KINSLEY 
GOVERNOR SECRETARY 

 

 

 

September 15, 2023 

 

James Scott, Director 

Division of Program Operations 

Department of Health & Human Services 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 

601 East 12th Street Room 355 

Kansas City, Missouri 64106 

 

SUBJECT: State Plan Amendment 

  Title XIX, Social Security Act 

  Transmittal #2023-0027 

 

Dear Mr. Scott: 

 

Please find attached an amendment for North Carolina’s State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act 

for the Medical Assistance Program.    

       

This State Plan Change will increase Medicaid Private Duty Nursing (PDN) rates to thirteen dollars ($13.00) 

per 15-minute increment. 

 

The proposed effective date of the SPA is July 01, 2023. 

     

Your approval of this state plan amendment is requested.  If you have any questions or concerns, please contact 

me or Betty J. Staton at (919) 538-3215. 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

Jay Ludlam 

Deputy Secretary 

 

 

Enclosures 

DocuSign Envelope ID: 05050961-4398-463E-946C-DD12A7C5242F



Attachment 4.19-B 
Section 8, Page 1 

 

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
State: NORTH CAROLINA 

 

PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICE 
 

 
8. Private Duty Nursing Services (PDN) 

 
A. Private duty nursing services are reimbursed at the lower of billed customary charges or 

an established hourly rate. Effective October 1, 2002, this rate is adjusted annually by the 
percentage change in the rate for a skilled nursing visit by a home health agency. 
Effective November 1, 2010, the RN rate is paid at Fee Schedule and will be billed with a 
code and modifier as defined in Clinical Policy, Attachment 3.1-A-1. 

 
Effective January 1, 2022, the PDN fee schedule rate will increase to 
$11.25 per 15-minute increment.  
Effective July 1, 2023, the PDN fee schedule rate will increase to $13.00 per 15-minute 
increment.  
 
PDN rates are published on the Division of Health Benefits website,  
https://ncdhhs.servicenowservices.com/fee_schedules.  Except as otherwise noted in the 
plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private 
providers.  

 
 

B. Effective October 1, 1993, payment for Private Duty Nursing Medical Supplies, except 
those related to provision and use of DME shall be reimbursed at the lower of a 
provider’s billed customary charges or the maximum fee established for certified home 
health agencies. If a new item is not covered by the DME program and Medicare 
allowable is available, the rate will be set at the Medicare allowable amount available to 
the Division of Medical Assistance. Fees will be established based on average, 
reasonable charges if a Medicare allowable amount cannot be obtained for a particular 
supply item. The Medicare allowable amounts will be those amounts based on the 
Market Basket Index available to the Division of Medical Assistance as of July 1 of each 
year. 

 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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