

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

JOSH STEIN GOVERNOR DEVDUTTA SANGVAI

SECRETARY

April 1, 2025

Courtney Miller, Director CMS/Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services Medicaid & CHIP Operations Group 601 East 12th Street Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106

SUBJECT: State Plan Amendment

Title XIX, Social Security Act Transmittal #2025-0012

Dear Mr. Scott:

Please find attached an amendment for North Carolina's State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act for the Medical Assistance Program.

This state plan change will revise the effective date of the per diem methodology for Personal Care Services provided in Adult Care Homes (ACH) from January 1, 2024 to April 1, 2025, and add verbiage to include congregate settings, specific to the 3L-1 Clinical Coverage Policy. The proposed effective date for the SPA is April 1, 2025.

Your approval of this state plan amendment is requested. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact me or Ashley Blango at (919) 812-6145.

Sincerely,

Jay Ludlan

DocuSigned by:

Jay Ludlam
Deputy Secretary

Enclosures

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE STATE NORTH CAROLINA

PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES

23. Any other Medical Care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, specified by the Secretary.

PERSONAL CARE SERVICES

Personal Care Services are reimbursed under the authority of 42 CFR 440.167 and when provided as defined in Attachment 3.1-A.1, Page 19, of this State Plan.

Effective January 1, 2021, providers subject to Electronic Visit Verification (EVV) as required by Section 12006 1903(l) of the 21st Century CURES Act, must be registered with the State's EVV solution or procure an alternative compliant EVV solution to receive reimbursement, as per PCS Clinical Coverage Policy No: 3L.

The agency's fee schedule rate of \$3.88 per 15 minutes was set as of August 1, 2017. Effective January 1, 2018 the fee schedule rate is \$3.90 per 15 minutes. Effective January 1, 2021, in adherence to EVV, payment for Personal Care Services (PCS) reimbursement shall be increased by ten percent (10%) above the rate in effect per fifteen (15) minute increment.

Effective July 1, 2023, the PCS fee schedule rate is established at \$5.96 per 15-minute increment.

Effective April 1, 2025, the fee schedule rate for PCS provided in an in-home residential setting shall be reimbursed in 15-minute increment units. PCS provided in Adult Care Homes (ACH) and congregate settings, specific to the 3L-1 Clinical Coverage Policy, shall be reimbursed on a daily per diem basis. The congregate setting rate shall be the hourly equivalent to the 15-minute increment rate in effect on April 1, 2025, over a 24-hour period, with a maximum of 130 hours per month.

Rates are published on the North Carolina Medicaid Fee Schedule site https://ncdhhs.servicenowservices.com/fee_schedules, and are effective for services provided on or after the published date.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, the state-developed fee schedule rate is the same for both governmental and non-governmental providers of Personal Care Services.

TN. No. <u>25-0012</u> Supersedes TN. No. <u>23-0025</u>

Approval Date:

Eff. Date: 04/01/2025