

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

JOSH STEIN GOVERNOR DEVDUTTA SANGVAI Secretary

March 20, 2025

James Scott, Director Division of Program Operations Department of Health & Human Services Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 601 East 12th Street Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106

SUBJECT: State Plan Amendment Title XIX, Social Security Act Transmittal #2025-0014

Dear Mr. Scott:

Please find attached an amendment for North Carolina's State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act for the Medical Assistance Program.

This state plan change will change to revise hospital readmission review requirements from 30 days to 72 hours to align with Clinical Policy. The proposed effective date for the SPA is January 1, 2025.

Your approval of this state plan amendment is requested. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact me or Ashley Blango at (919) 812-6145.

Sincerely,

DocuSigned by: 06565C1C2A8E4C8

Jay Ludlam Deputy Secretary

Enclosures

Attachment 4.19-A Page 24

State Plan Under Title XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance Program State: <u>North Carolina</u>

Payments for Medical and Remedial Care and Services: Inpatient Hospital

SPECIAL SITUATIONS

(a) In order to be eligible for inpatient hospital reimbursement under this hospital inpatient reimbursement plan, a patient must be admitted as an inpatient and stay past midnight in an inpatient bed. The only exceptions to this requirement are those admitted inpatients who die or are transferred to another acute care hospital on the day of admission. Hospital admissions prior to 72 hours after a previous inpatient hospital discharge are subject to review by the Division of Medical Health Benefits.

Services for patients admitted and discharged on the same day and who are discharged to home or to a non-acute care facility must be billed as outpatient services. In addition, patients who are admitted to observations status do not qualify as inpatients, even when they stay past midnight. Patients in observation status for more than 30 hours must either be discharged or converted to inpatient status.

(b) Outpatient services provided by a hospital to patients within the 24-hour period prior to an inpatient admission in the same hospital that are related to the inpatient admission shall be bundled with the inpatient billing.

HOSPITALS TRANSFERRING PATIENTS

(c) When a patient is transferred between hospitals, the transferring hospital shall receive a pro-rated per diem payment equal to the normal DRG payment divided by the ALOS (Average Length of Stay) for the DRG multiplied by the patient's actual length of stay at discharge. When the patient's actual length of stay equals or exceeds the average length of stay for the DRG at discharge, the transferring hospital receives the full DRG payment. Transfers are eligible for cost outliers if they meet the cost outlier criteria defined on Attachment 4.19-A, page 5, section (f). Hospitals transferring patients are eligible for day outliers if they meet the day outlier criteria defined on Attachment 4.19-A, section (g). The final discharging hospital shall receive the full DRG payment. Hospitals determined to be eligible for both cost or day outliers, will receive whichever is greater.

(d) Discharge of a hospital inpatient is considered to be a transfer under paragraph (c) above when the patient's discharge is assigned to one of the following listed below: