North Carolina providers that participate in Medicaid may be eligible to receive federal relief as a result of lost revenue or new expenses relating to the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency. On June 8, 2020, the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) announced a targeted distribution for Medicaid providers that have not yet received payment from the Provider Relief Fund.
CARES Act Provider Relief Fund Webcast
HHS is hosting webcasts at 2 p.m. on Tuesday, June 23, 2020 and Thursday, June 25, 2020 to provide information about the application process for providers. To pre-register for the webcast, visit: https://www.hhs.gov/coronavirus/cares-act-provider-relief-fund.
Information for Medicaid Providers
Eligible providers will receive at least 2% of reported annual gross revenue from patient care. North Carolina providers may qualify and are encouraged to apply if they meet all the following criteria:
- Providers have directly billed Medicaid for health care related services during the period of January 2018 to May 31, 2020;
- Continue to provide patient care after January 31, 2020; and
- Did not receive a payment from either distribution of the CARES Act Provider Relief General Allocation
Providers can apply by July 20, 2020, to receive payments. More information about eligibility can be found here.
Checklist for Medicaid Providers Eligible for Federal Relief
- Review the instructions for applications for federal relief for Medicaid providers.
- Prepare required documentation to submit with the application. Providers will need:
- The applicant’s most recent federal income tax return.
- The applicant’s Employer’s Quarterly Federal Tax Return on IRS Form 941 for Q1 2020, Employer's Annual Federal Unemployment (FUTA) Tax Return on IRS Form 940, or a statement explaining why the applicant is not required to submit either form (e.g. no employees.
- The applicant’s FTE Worksheet
- If required, the Gross Revenue Worksheet
- Complete all application fields, following the previous instructions.
- Go to the Application Portal and sign-in or create a new portal ID.
- Upload your application, required documentation and follow any additional prompts in the portal.
- After providers receive payment, they must log back into the same portal and sign an attestation confirming receipt of the funds and agree to the Terms and Conditions within 90 days of ACH payment or 90 days of check payment issuance. The Payment Portal will guide you through the attestation process to accept or reject the funds.
Key Federal Funding Available for Health Care Providers and Hospitals to Address COVID-19